DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 5/12/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/12/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers (UNITED KINGDOM 2105923.3 04/26/2021) required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements dated 9/11/2023 and 5/13/2026 have been considered and made of record.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “control system” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a control system” (ASCO controller)(¶[0066] of the instant specification)(a control device designed to manage solenoid valves, process actuators and pneumatic systems) in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, at line 1, “the pattern” lacks antecedent basis. I appears that claim 3 should depend from claim 2 and will be treated on its merits as though it depends from claim 2.
Claim 4 is included in this rejection because it depends from claim 3 and does not cure the deficiencies of claim 3.
Claims 11 and 12 are considered indefinite because the claim merely recites that the “system” is “further operable” without recitation of any further positively recited structure or further limitations of previously recited structures of the system. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be clearly determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzpatrick et al. (US 2020/0297911) (Attached PTO-892) in view of Vlassov et al. (US 2021/0190809) (Attached PTO-892).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Fitzpatrick et al. discloses:
A bioprocessing system (Figs. 1a-1d) operable to perform a predetermined bioprocessing operation therein, the reconfigurable bioprocessing system comprising:
a base unit (100, 130, 1200) comprising a plurality of valve actuators (valve assembly)(120), wherein at least one of the plurality of valve actuators is operable to releasably engage with at least part of a pinch valve cassette (single use kit)(1205)(¶[0031]) to control fluid flow through the pinch valve cassette, and wherein at least part of the pinch valve cassette is removably attachable to the base unit (¶[0010]-[0020] and [0068]; and
a control system (system controller) (¶[0017] and [0132]) operable to selectively actuate respective of said plurality of valve actuators to provide a valve configuration within the pinch valve cassette to enable the base unit and the pinch valve cassette together to perform the predetermined bioprocessing operation.
While the reference disclose the use of a control system to perform a predetermined bioprocessing operation, the reference does not specifically disclose that the control system is operable to selectively perform one of a predetermined set of bioprocessing operations.
The reference of Fitzpatrick et al. does disclose that the system is suitable for application in numerous processes for separating or accumulating small particles in a fluid suspension (¶[0147]-[0152]) and can be used for other applications (¶[0153]).
The reference of Vlassov et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide single use cassettes (cartridges)(¶[0290]) with identifiers and that it is known in the art to provide the control system with a set of different protocols (¶[0296]-[0300]) wherein the protocol performed is based on sensor data including that provided on the single use cassette.
In view of these teachings and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the control system of the primary reference of Fitzpatrick et al. to allow for the automated operation of the system to perform more than one protocol or bioprocessing operation as suggested by the disclosures of the reference of Fitzpatrick et al. and Vlassov et al.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, the valve system or actuators of the reference of Fitzpatrick et al. are provided in a plate attached to the base unit in a non-rectangular or non-square pattern (Fig. 1d).
With respect to claim 4, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum pattern of the arrangement of valve actuators while optimizing the operation of the system. Note: The rearrangement of parts is not considered a patentable distinction if the operation of the device is not modified (MPEP 2144.04,VI., C.)
With respect to claim 5, if the bioprocessing operations of the reference of Fitzpatrick et al. do not meet the limitations of claim 5, one of ordinary skill in the art would have envisioned that the system of Fitzpatrick et al. could be used for any of the bioprocessing operations recited in claim 5 in view of the disclose in Fitzpatrick et al. that the system could be used for other applications (¶[0153]).
With respect to claim 6, the valve actuators are operable as pinch valve actuators (¶[0068]).
With respect to claims 7-10, while the instant claims do not positively recite the pinch valve cassette as part of the claimed device, the reference of Fitzpatrick et al. clearly evidences that the system is structurally capable of being used with a cassette as encompassed in claims 7-10 in view of the single use kit (1205) disclosed by the reference of Fitzpatrick et al.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, the structure resulting from the combination of the references as disclosed above with respect to claim 1 would encompass a system that can automatically identify a cassette or cartridge and perform a specific bioprocessing operation based on a cassette identifier.
Conclusion
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB