DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 15 September 2026 has been entered. Claims 8-14 are now pending in the application.
Amendments to the claims 1-7 to overcome the drawing objections and the informalities are acceptable. Therefore, the drawing and claim objections have been withdrawn.
Amendments to the claims 1-7 to overcome the rejections under U.S.C 112(b) have been fully considered and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 6-7 has been withdrawn. However, Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8:
line 7: “10kV” should read: -- 10 kV --
line 9: “so as to covert of the graphene” should read: -- so as to covert the graphene --
line 10: “the step of soaking being after” should read: -- the step of soaking being done after --
In claim 10, line 4: “step of introducing .” should read -- step of introducing the graphene oxide solution. --
In claim 12, line 1: “claim 8,wherein” should read -- claim 8, wherein --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8, lines 4-6, “electrospraying the graphene oxide solution from the feeding syringe onto both surfaces of a polyvinylidene (PVDF) nanofiber mat formed on a rotating drum so as to produce a graphene oxide coated nanofiber surface” renders claim indefinite because it is unclear how electrospraying the graphene oxide solution from the feeding syringe onto both surfaces of a polyvinylidene (PVDF) nanofiber mat. As best understood (see Fig. 1a below), the limitation deemed to read as electrospraying enables spraying only onto the surface of the polyvinylidene (PVDF) nanofiber mat 11 facing the feeding nozzle 14. Therefore, it is unclear how electrospraying the graphene oxide solution from a feeding syringe onto both surfaces of a polyvinylidene (PVDF) nanofiber mat formed on a rotating drum. What does “both surfaces” mean?
Further, what does “a polyvinylidene (PVDF) nanofiber mat formed on a rotating drum” mean. Would it be a polyvinylidene (PVDF) nanofiber mat fixed on an outer surface a rotating drum, or the like.
Claims 9-14 depend on claim 8. Therefore, claims 8-14 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz-Silva (US 20150111449) in view of Fei (Fei. L, et.al., Graphene Oxide Involved Air-Controlled Electrospray for Uniform, Fast, Instantly Dry, and Binder-Free Electrode Fabrication, Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2017, 9, 9738-9746).
[AltContent: textbox (drum)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (PVDF nanofiber mat)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (graphene oxide solution)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 12A, Cruz-Silva.
Regarding claim 8, Cruz-Silva teaches, a process for producing an electrode for use in a piezoelectric generator (see Note below), the process comprising:
introducing a graphene oxide solution (GO slurry, annotated Fig. 12A);
electrospraying the graphene oxide solution (see GO, annotated Fig. 12A, material can be dispersed by an array of techniques such as atomization, electrospraying, para. [0022]) onto both surfaces of a polyvinylidene (PVDF) nanofiber mat (a graphene oxide film coated onto a polyvinylidene fluoride nanofiber non-woven mat, Figs 12A and 12B, para. [0035]) formed on a rotating drum (see the drum in Fig. 12A) so as to produce a graphene oxide coated nanofiber surface (see Fig. 12 A), and
soaking the graphene oxide coated nanofiber surface in a hydrazine hydrate solution so as to convert of the graphene oxide coated nanofiber surface into a reduced graphene oxide coated nanofiber surface (graphene oxide slurry…was cast on top of a poly(vinylidenefluoride) nonwoven...and reduced 2h at 80 0C. in presence of 200 µL of hydrazine, para. [0064]), the step of soaking being after completion of the step of electrospraying such that the reduced graphene oxide coated nanofiber surface tightly wraps around and coats nanofibers of the PVDF nanofiber mat (see para. [0064]).
[AltContent: textbox (electrode)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Fig. 1, Fei.
Cruz-Silva does not teach, introducing a graphene oxide solution into a feeding syringe; or a high voltage source with a range of 10 kV and 40 kV. However, Fei teaches, a production method of an electrode (Title, Abstract and annotated Fig. 1) comprising: introducing a graphene oxide solution into a feeding syringe (Fig. 1, GO aqueous solution…electrospray was carried out under ambient condition… infusion syringe pump with a coaxial needle set, col. 1 and 2, page 9739), the electrospraying having a high voltage source with a range of 10 kV and 40 kV (working voltage was set at 20 kV, col. 2, page 9739).
Cruz-Silva teaches in Figs 12A and 12B, para. [0035], a graphene oxide film coated onto a polyvinylidene fluoride nanofiber non-woven mat. Fei teaches, producing an electrode comprising graphene oxide by electrospinning graphene oxide solution feeding through a syringe. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Fei, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify process of Cruz-Silva and to replace the graphene oxide slurry bar in Fig. 12A with a graphene oxide feeding syringe as Fei taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables manufacturing an electrode having improved power generation performance. Further, Electrospraying and electrospinning are done using the same setup (if applicant disagrees, see Fig. 6, col. 1, page 1041, Mokhtari (Electrospinning/electrospray of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF): piezoelectric nanofibers, The Journal of The Textile Institute, Vol. 107, No. 8, 1037–1055, 2016). Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in forming the electrode, and/or electrospraying the graphene oxide solution. Such a simple substitution of graphene oxide solution slurry bar with graphene oxide solution feeding syringe would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Note: Cruz-Silva teaches in Figs 12A and 12B, para. [0035] a graphene oxide film coated onto a polyvinylidene fluoride nanofiber non-woven mat, which has an identical structure as the electrode disclosed in claim 8. Therefore, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 9, Cruz-Silva in view of Fei teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 8. Modified Cruz-Silva does not teach, a distance and a solution feed rate. However, Fei further teaches, the process of claim 8, further comprising, exposing the PVDF nanofiber mat formed on the rotating drum to the graphene oxide solution from a distance of eight centimeters and a solution feed rate of 30 mL/h (working distance at 20 cm, solution feeding rate between 0.05 and 0.1 mL min−1, col. 2, page 9739, unless otherwise defined, selection of a working distance and the feed rate are of design choices). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Fei, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify process of Cruz-Silva and electrospray the graphene solution from a desired distance and with a speed so that it enables forming a uniform electrode structure.
Regarding claim 12, Cruz-Silva in view of Fei teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 8. Cruz-Silva further teaches, the process of claim 8,wherein the hydrazine hydrate solution is 0.3 molar (500 µL of hydrazine solution (65 wt %), para. [0060]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Fei, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify process of Cruz-Silva and to reduce the graphene solution using 0.3 molar hydrazine solution so that it enables forming reduced graphene oxide fibers having a desired diameter as Cruz-Silva disclosed in para. [0060].
Regarding claim 13, Cruz-Silva in view of Fei teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 8. Modified Cruz-Silva does not teach, a graphene electrode. However, Fei further teaches, a graphene electrode (see Title, Abstract, Fig. 1) produced by the process of claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. Claim 11 is allowable by virtue of its dependency.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 would be allowable for disclosing a process for producing an electrode for use in a piezoelectric generator, the process further comprising: mixing the graphene oxide solution with 0.5 mg/mL of graphene oxide by a Hummers' method in a solvent containing deionized water and 2-propanol by volume, the step of mixing being prior to the step of introducing.
Claim 14 would be allowable for disclosing a process for producing an electrode for use in a piezoelectric generator, wherein the piezoelectric nanogenerator structure is positioned between a pair of aluminum electrodes, wherein the graphene electrode is positioned in a middle of a spacer paper.
Though, prior art of record Fei teaches a graphene oxide solution prepared by Hummer method, Fei fails to teach, mixing the graphene oxide solution with 0.5 mg/mL of graphene oxide by a Hummers' method in a solvent containing deionized water and 2-propanol by volume, the step of mixing being prior to the step of introducing; or the piezoelectric nanogenerator structure is positioned between a pair of aluminum electrodes, wherein the graphene electrode is positioned in a middle of a spacer paper.
Prior art of record Cruz-Silva does not teach, preparing graphene oxide solution by Hummer method; or the piezoelectric nanogenerator structure is positioned between a pair of aluminum electrodes, wherein the graphene electrode is positioned in a middle of a spacer paper.
Therefore, claims 10 and 14 would be allowable. Claim 11 would be allowable by virtue of its dependency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729