DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 4/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 11-15 are amended.
Claim 10 is canceled.
Claims 16-20 are newly added.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 4/15/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, and 14 have overcome the objections to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, and 14 previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed on 1/15/2026.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 9 has overcome the 112(b) Rejection to claim 9 previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed on 1/15/2026.
Applicant’s cancellation of claim 10 renders the 112(b) Rejection of claim 10 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 1/15/2026 moot and have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 9, and 11 (pages 10-14) in a reply filed 4/15/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 14, and 19 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claims 4 and 19, it is suggested to replace “or” with “and” (in line 7 of claim 4 and in line 6 of claim 19) to avoid ambiguity and for clarity of the limitations by using a preferred form of “comprising one more of: A and B” rather than “comprising one more of: A or B”.
In claim 14, it is suggested to remove a duplicate “and” in 5 to read:
“14. The network apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second configuration further comprises one or more of:
The resynchronization assistance information indicating the at least one neighboring cell having a link to the second gateway;
a post-switchover random access channel (RACH) occasion; and
a threshold time before the transition time.” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deenoo et al. (WO 2020/092561 A1, hereinafter Deenoo).
Regarding claim 1:
Deenoo teaches a method (see, Deenoo: Fig. 10) performed by a User Equipment (UE) (e.g., WTRU), the method comprising:
receiving a first configuration from a mobile communication network comprising a satellite, a first gateway to which the satellite is connected, and a second gateway, wherein the first configuration indicates a transition period required by the satellite connected to the first gateway for feeder link switchover to the second gateway, and wherein the transition period (e.g., T+x) is defined by a transition time (e.g., T) and a transition duration (e.g., x) (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4 and para. [0002], “Method and apparatus for receiving a broadcast configuration indicating when a change in a radio access network (RAN) function termination occurs, for example, by providing a timer value. The broadcast configuration may be received from a satellite, blimp or other moving transmitter. A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”’; para. [0099], “The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or suspend a random- access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be preconfigured. The value of x may be a function of time taken to complete a random access procedure, for example, a 2-step random access procedure or 4-step random access procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of time taken to complete another procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of the round trip time (RTT) for transmission between the WTRU and the network. The RTT may be a multiple of the estimated and/or observed RTT. Additionally or alternatively, it may correspond to the observed HARQ RTT, for example, the time from the reception of the first grant for a new transmission until the time the WTRU determines that the HARQ process has successfully completed. In another example, the WTRU may be configured to suspend scheduling request transmission or retransmission at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x. Similarly, other MAC control transmissions may be suspended when a satellite switch event is upcoming. Whether or not the WTRU performs any of the above functions may be a configuration aspect of the WTRU.”);
receiving, from the mobile communication network, a second configuration (e.g., transient configuration) comprising resynchronization assistance information that includes a set of cell identities (e.g., see, Deenoo: para. [00108], neighbor list) for at least one neighboring cell (e.g., target cell) (see, Deenoo: para. [0113], “the WTRU may be configured to trigger a mobility procedure when an indication of presence or transmission of a special system information or update thereof is received. Such system information may be specific to a group mobility event, may include parameters to apply upon a feeder link switch event, may include a transient configuration, may include parameters to apply upon handover to the target cell and/or may include minimal configuration needed to synchronize with the target cell.”);
suspending communication with the mobile communication network at the transition time (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4 and para. [0002], “If a wireless transmit/ receive unit (WTRU) detects a change in RAN function termination, the WTRU may suspend any uplink data transmissions, apply the transient configuration”; para. [0099], “a WTRU may be configured to delay, suppress or refrain from performing at least certain UL transmissions, such as those associated with MAC procedures, when a satellite switch event is upcoming. … The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or suspend a random-access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be preconfigured. … the WTRU may be configured to suspend scheduling request transmission or retransmission at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x.”); and
resuming communication with the mobile communication network after expiry of the transition duration (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4 and para. [0002], “The WTRU may synchronize with the target cell and apply the layer 2 behavior.”; para. [00102], “a WTRU may be configured to implicitly receive the indication of the time instance via a status of a counter. … The WTRU may be configured to perform a reconfiguration associated with satellite mobility when the count value reaches zero.”; para. [00152], “The WTRU may apply the transient configuration 1014 and may transmit the preamble 1016 to a target cell. The WTRU may then synchronize with the target cell 1018 and apply 1020 the L2 behavior.”) by resynchronizing to the at least one neighboring cell (i.e., target cell) based on the second configuration (see, Deenoo: para. [0005], “A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior. If a WTRU detects a change in RAN function termination, the WTRU may suspend any uplink data transmissions, apply the transient configuration and transmit the preamble to a target cell. The WTRU may synchronize with the target cell and apply the layer 2 behavior.”).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Deenoo further teaches wherein receiving the first configuration comprises receiving the transition duration via higher layer signaling (see, Deenoo: para. [0096], “a WTRU may receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration with a trigger condition associated with a future time instance or offset thereof. The time instance may correspond the time when a change of satellite takes place. The time instance may be indicated using one or more of the methods described below. The WTRU may apply a stored reconfiguration at a time instance configured in the serving cell.”), the method further comprising receiving downlink control information (DCI) that indicates the transition time, wherein a type of DCI received is based at least in part on a type of cell serving the UE (see, Deenoo: para. [00112], “In other embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on an indication provided in in short DCI messages addressed to a P-RNTI. For example, one or more bits may be reserved in the short messages on the PDCCH to indicate the occurrence and type of satellite mobility events.”).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Deenoo further teaches wherein receiving the first configuration comprises receiving the transition duration and the transition time via group-common downlink control information (see, Deenoo: para. [00111], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to monitor for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order addressed to a pre-defined radio network identifier (RNTI). In one example, the RNTI may be associated with a group of WTRUs which may be located within a spot beam. In another example, the RNTI may be cell specific applicable to all WTRUs in the cell. For example, the RNTI may be predefined for a mobility event, for example, using one of the values from OxFFFO-OxFFFD. The WTRU may determine that a satellite mobility event has occurred when the PDCCH order is received with the predefined RNTI. In some embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to apply a stored reconfiguration when a PDCCH order associated with a mobility event is received. The RNTI may be associated with a specific configuration. For example, the WTRU may use the RNTI value to determine what configuration to apply for the mobility event. The WTRU may be configured with a plurality of RNTIs for a given cell ID and/or satellite.”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Deenoo further teaches wherein resuming communication with the mobile communication network comprises performing a random-access channel (RACH) procedure (see, Deenoo: para. [0098], “The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or suspend a random- access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be preconfigured. The value of x may be a function of time taken to complete a random access procedure, for example, a 2-step random access procedure or 4-step random access procedure.”) and wherein the second configuration further comprises one or more of: the resynchronization assistance information indicating the at least one neighboring cell having a link to the second gateway (see, Deenoo: para. [00137], “the WTRU may be configured to set various transmission parameters of an initial transmission at the activation time of a mobility procedure which may involve a change of satellite in a Low Earth orbit satellite (LEOS) and/or a Medium Earth orbit satellite MEOS scenario and/or a change of a serving gateway during a feeder-link switch.”; para. [00108], “the WTRU 718 may be configured with N measurement object lists and may be configured to determine one measurement object list from the plurality of the lists based on WTRU location which may be associated with a spot beam 704-708 illuminated by a satellite 702, in embodiments. For example, the WTRU 718 may select and apply a neighbor list 1 712 for measurements when served by spot beam 1 704. Neighbor list 1 712 may indicate gNBs 712A-712D.”); or a post-switchover RACH occasion (see, Deenoo: para. [00120], “With a change in spot beam, WTRUs being served may be configured to perform an action, for example, to perform RACH transmission.”; para. [00126], “the WTRU may be configured to apply special RACH configurations during execution of a mobility event. The mobility event may be triggered based on network signaling or based on location and/or time based triggered.”).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the resynchronization assistance information further includes a corresponding synchronization raster point for each cell identity (see, Deenoo: para. [00108], “the WTRU 718 may be configured with N measurement object lists and may be configured to determine one measurement object list from the plurality of the lists based on WTRU location which may be associated with a spot beam 704-708 illuminated by a satellite 702, in embodiments. For example, the WTRU 718 may select and apply a neighbor list 1 712 for measurements when served by spot beam 1 704. Neighbor list 1 712 may indicate gNBs 712A-712D. The WTRU 718 may further be implicitly configured to reconfigure the measurement object list upon moving to a different spot beam. For example, when the WTRU 718 moves to a location illuminated by spot beam 2 706, the WTRU may apply neighbor list 2 714. Neighbor list 2 714 may indicate gNBs 714A-714D. When the WTRU 718 moves to spot beam N 708, the WTRU may apply neighbor list N 716. Neighbor list N 716 may indicate gNBs 716A-716C.”), wherein receiving the resynchronization assistance information comprises receiving via one of: dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, common RRC signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), broadcast signal, group-common Downlink Control Information (DCI), or some combination thereof (see, Deenoo: para. [0005], “A method and apparatus for receiving a broadcast configuration indicating when a change in a RAN function termination occurs is provided, for example, by a timer value. The broadcast configuration may be received from a satellite, blimp or other moving transmitter. A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”; para. [0096], “a WTRU may receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration with a trigger condition associated with a future time instance or offset thereof.”; Claim 1; para. [00112], “In embodiments, the WTRU may determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on receiving an indication in the paging message. In some embodiments, such paging message may indicate the type of satellite mobility, for example, whether the satellite mobility is a non-transparent satellite mobility type or a cell transparent satellite mobility type. In other embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on an indication provided in in short DCI messages addressed to a P-RNTI. For example, one or more bits may be reserved in the short messages on the PDCCH to indicate the occurrence and type of satellite mobility events.”).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 5.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the resynchronization assistance information further comprises location information indicating a geographical area where the resynchronization assistance information is valid (see, Deenoo: para. [00118], “The WTRU may be preconfigured with a layer 2 (L2) behavior based on the time and/or location triggers. For example, the WTRU may determine the extent of L2 and/or layer 3 (L3) context persistence based on the broadcast indication. Additionally or alternatively, the WTRU may determine the extent of L2/L3 context persistence based on the broadcast indication. In bent pipe architectures, the WTRU may be configured to perform layer (L) resynchronization, while maintaining the radio bearers. In regenerative architectures, the WTRU may be indicated via a broadcast configuration of whether the MAC layer needs to be reset or if RLC and/or PDCP layer need to re-established.”).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the second configuration further indicates a set of candidate RACH groups, each RACH group assigned with a different post-switchover RACH occasion, the method further comprising selecting a candidate RACH group in a random manner and performing random access procedure at a post-switchover RACH occasion corresponding to the selected candidate RACH group (see, Deenoo: para. [00130], “The WTRU may be configured with multiple RACH configurations, and the WTRU may select a subset of the RACH configurations based on a potential timing advance. The WTRU may determine the potential timing advance based on, for example, WTRU location information or satellite ephemeris information.”; para. [00126], “the WTRU may be configured to apply special RACH configurations during execution of a mobility event. The mobility event may be triggered based on network signaling or based on location and/or time based triggered. In a further embodiment, the WTRU may be configured to apply the special RACH configuration for specific target cells, for example, towards an incoming satellite or aircraft”).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the second configuration further indicates a RACH preamble to use at the post-switchover RACH occasion (see, Deenoo: para. [0005], “The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior. If a WTRU detects a change in RAN function termination, the WTRU may suspend any uplink data transmissions, apply the transient configuration and transmit the preamble to a target cell. The WTRU may synchronize with the target cell and apply the layer 2 behavior.”; para. [00124], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured with one or more special RACH occasions in addition to regular RACH occasions. Alternatively, the WTRU may be configured with two sets of special RACH occasions or with a special or dedicated RACH configuration that may be applied instead of the special RACH occasions. The special RACH configuration may enable increased opportunities for preamble transmission and may provide increased RACH capacity to address the need for a potentially large number of WTRUs executing mobility events. This approach may be beneficial as different time and frequency domain RACH resources may provide better isolation and may not suffer from high cross correlations issues associated with usage of different root sequences to increase RACH capacity. This embodiment may be employed when a satellite and/or WTRU has knowledge of satellite movement and may recognize that handover is imminent. The resources dedicated to the RACH configuration may be resources which would have otherwise been used for other data and control resources.”; para. [00127], “the WTRU may determine its RACH occasion and/or preamble as a function of one or more parameters associated with its dedicated configuration.”).
Regarding claim 9:
Deenoo teaches a User Equipment (UE) (e.g., WTRU) for wireless communication comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor (see, Deenoo: Fig. 1B, WTRU 102, Processor 118) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first configuration from a mobile communication network comprising a satellite (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, non-GEO satellite 404), a first gateway (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, GW1, 410) to which the satellite is connected, and a second gateway (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, GW2, 420), wherein the first configuration comprises a transition period required by the satellite connected to the first gateway for feeder link switchover to the second gateway, and wherein the transition period (e.g., T+x) is defined by a transition time (e.g., T) and a transition duration (e.g., x) (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4 and para. [0002], “Method and apparatus for receiving a broadcast configuration indicating when a change in a radio access network (RAN) function termination occurs, for example, by providing a timer value. The broadcast configuration may be received from a satellite, blimp or other moving transmitter. A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”’; para. [0099], “The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or suspend a random- access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be preconfigured. The value of x may be a function of time taken to complete a random access procedure, for example, a 2-step random access procedure or 4-step random access procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of time taken to complete another procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of the round trip time (RTT) for transmission between the WTRU and the network. The RTT may be a multiple of the estimated and/or observed RTT. Additionally or alternatively, it may correspond to the observed HARQ RTT, for example, the time from the reception of the first grant for a new transmission until the time the WTRU determines that the HARQ process has successfully completed. In another example, the WTRU may be configured to suspend scheduling request transmission or retransmission at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x. Similarly, other MAC control transmissions may be suspended when a satellite switch event is upcoming. Whether or not the WTRU performs any of the above functions may be a configuration aspect of the WTRU.”);
receive a second configuration from the network, wherein the second configuration comprises a threshold time (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, transition threshold 412) before the transition time (e.g., T) (see, Deenoo: para. [0095], “The WTRU may be configured with a time instance after which the WTRU may not assume that the current serving gNB (e.g., satellite) is available for communication.”, i.e., transition threshold); para. [00134], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured with ephemeris data associated with a measurement object. For example, the WTRU may start measurements associated with that measurement object when the satellite location is within a preconfigured threshold based on the ephemeris data information associated with the measurement object. This may correspond to the location and/or time at which incoming satellite transmissions are expected to be received.”); and
initiate a handover procedure to a new cell (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, gNB2, 422) when the threshold time before the transition time is reached, wherein the new cell is not associated with the satellite (see, Deenoo: para. [0124], “This embodiment may be employed when a satellite and/or WTRU has knowledge of satellite movement and may recognize that handover is imminent.”; para. [00126], “the WTRU may be configured to apply special RACH configurations during execution of a mobility event. The mobility event may be triggered based on network signaling or based on location and/or time based triggered.”), wherein initiating the handover procedure comprises selecting the new cell (i.e., target cell) based on link measurements from a set of neighboring cells and expected beam dwelling time for the set of neighboring cells (see, Deenoo: para. [0113], “the WTRU may be configured to trigger a mobility procedure when an indication of presence or transmission of a special system information or update thereof is received. Such system information may be specific to a group mobility event, may include parameters to apply upon a feeder link switch event, may include a transient configuration, may include parameters to apply upon handover to the target cell and/or may include minimal configuration needed to synchronize with the target cell.”; para. [0152], “The WTRU may apply the transient configuration 1014 and may transmit the preamble 1016 to a target cell. The WTRU may then synchronize with the target cell 1018 and apply 1020 the L2 behavior.”; para. [00108], “the WTRU 718 may be configured with N measurement object lists and may be configured to determine one measurement object list from the plurality of the lists based on WTRU location which may be associated with a spot beam 704-708 illuminated by a satellite 702, in embodiments. For example, the WTRU 718 may select and apply a neighbor list 1 712 for measurements when served by spot beam 1 704. Neighbor list 1 712 may indicate gNBs 712A-712D. The WTRU 718 may further be implicitly configured to reconfigure the measurement object list upon moving to a different spot beam. For example, when the WTRU 718 moves to a location illuminated by spot beam 2 706, the WTRU may apply neighbor list 2 714. Neighbor list 2 714 may indicate gNBs 714A-714D. When the WTRU 718 moves to spot beam N 708, the WTRU may apply neighbor list N 716. Neighbor list N 716 may indicate gNBs 716A-716C.”; para. [00109], “the WTRU may be configured to trigger a start of a neighbor measurement as a function of WTRU location. For example, the WTRU may be configured to start taking one or more neighbor measurements when the WTRU enters a spot beam at the edges of a satellite footprint. The WTRU may be configured to take measurements based on a next spot beam entered from a previous spot beam. In this way, directional movement of the WTRU may trigger measurement taking.”).
Regarding claim 11:
Deenoo teaches a network apparatus (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, non-GEO satellite 404) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, a memory of the satellite 404, not shown); and at least one processor (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, a processor of the satellite 404, not shown) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network apparatus to: perform to similar features to claim 1 from the perspective of the satellite of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 11.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the transition period is indicated by a current serving Radio Access Network (RAN) node to a group of UEs that are affected by switchover (see, Deenoo: para. [0002], “A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”), wherein transmitting the first configuration comprises sending the transition time and transition duration via one or more of: dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, common RRC signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), broadcast signal, group-common Downlink Control Information (DCI), or some combination thereof (see, Deenoo: para. [0005], “A method and apparatus for receiving a broadcast configuration indicating when a change in a RAN function termination occurs is provided, for example, by a timer value. The broadcast configuration may be received from a satellite, blimp or other moving transmitter. A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”; para. [0096], “a WTRU may receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration with a trigger condition associated with a future time instance or offset thereof.”; Claim 1; para. [00112], “In embodiments, the WTRU may determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on receiving an indication in the paging message. In some embodiments, such paging message may indicate the type of satellite mobility, for example, whether the satellite mobility is a non-transparent satellite mobility type or a cell transparent satellite mobility type. In other embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on an indication provided in in short DCI messages addressed to a P-RNTI. For example, one or more bits may be reserved in the short messages on the PDCCH to indicate the occurrence and type of satellite mobility events.”).
Regarding claim 13:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 11.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the transition time is UE specific and is different for different UEs in the first cell, wherein the at least one processor further configured to cause the network apparatus to determine a UE-specific transition time for a particular UE based upon mobility of the particular UE and a network connection of the particular UE (see, Deenoo: para. [0120], “The embodiments illustrated by FIG. 8 are shown over two time instants T1 800 and T2 802. At time instant T1, satellite 1 804 is moving 804A along with satellite 2 806 in a same movement direction 806A. Satellite 2 services WTRUs of a spot beam 808A. At time T2, satellite 1 804 and satellite 2 806 may move 804B, 806B such that spot beam 808B becomes served by satellite 1 804. With a change in spot beam, WTRUs being served may be configured to perform an action, for example, to perform RACH transmission. If each WTRU performs RACH at a same time occasion, a resource conflict may occur. Thus, a WTRU may instead apply a transient configuration, for example, which assists in RACH or provides for an improved RACH mechanism.”).
Regarding claim 14:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 11.
Claim 14 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 5. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 15:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 14.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network apparatus to group UEs in the first cell, wherein the post-switchover RACH occasion is for a group of UEs, wherein the groups are selected to ensure that a number of UEs attempting for RACH procedure does not exceed a certain threshold (see, Deenoo: para. [0124], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured with one or more special RACH occasions in addition to regular RACH occasions. Alternatively, the WTRU may be configured with two sets of special RACH occasions or with a special or dedicated RACH configuration that may be applied instead of the special RACH occasions. The special RACH configuration may enable increased opportunities for preamble transmission and may provide increased RACH capacity to address the need for a potentially large number of WTRUs executing mobility events. This approach may be beneficial as different time and frequency domain RACH resources may provide better isolation and may not suffer from high cross correlations issues associated with usage of different root sequences to increase RACH capacity. This embodiment may be employed when a satellite and/or WTRU has knowledge of satellite movement and may recognize that handover is imminent. The resources dedicated to the RACH configuration may be resources which would have otherwise been used for other data and control resources.”).
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is directed towards a user equipment (UE) (see, Deenoo: Fig. 1B, WTRU 102) for wireless communication comprising: at least one memory (see, Deenoo: Fig. 1B, Non-Removable Memory 130); and at least one processor (see, Deenoo: Fig. 1B, Processor 118) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is directed towards the UE of claim 16 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is directed towards the UE of claim 16 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed towards the UE of claim 16 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards the UE of claim 19 that is further limited to similar features to claim 5. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471