DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/IB2022/052121 filed on 3/9/2022.
PCT/IB2022/052121 has a provisional application 63/158,790 filed on 3/9/2021.
The present application does not claim for foreign priority.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 9/11/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, and 14 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, and 14, it is suggested to remove the quotation marks (“) when defining the acronyms for simplicity and for clarity, for example, “UE” to UE, “DCI” to DCI, “RACH procedure” to RACH procedure, “RACH occasion” to RACH occasion, “RRC” to RRC, “MAC” to MAC, “CE” to CE, “RAN” to RAN, “RACH” to RACH, etc.
In claim 14, it is suggested to change “from” to “to” in line 2 and remove “and” in 5 to read:
“The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the transceiver further transmits a second configuration to the at least one UE, said second configuration comprising at least one of:
resynchronization assistance information indicating at least one neighboring cell having a link to the second gateway;
a post-switchover random access channel ("RACH") occasion; and
a threshold time before the transition time.” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 recites a limitation “the first satellite” in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is also rejected because they are directly or indirectly dependent upon the rejected claim 9, as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deenoo et al. (WO 2020/092561 A1, hereinafter Deenoo).
Regarding claim 1:
Deenoo teaches a method (see, Deenoo: Fig. 10) at a User Equipment (“UE”) (e.g., WTRU) comprising:
receiving a first configuration from a mobile communication network comprising a satellite, a first gateway to which the satellite is connected, and a second gateway, said first configuration indicating a transition period required by the satellite connected to the first gateway for feeder link switchover to the second gateway, the transition period (e.g., T+x) defined by a transition time (e.g., T) and a transition duration (e.g., x) (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4 and para. [0002], “Method and apparatus for receiving a broadcast configuration indicating when a change in a radio access network (RAN) function termination occurs, for example, by providing a timer value. The broadcast configuration may be received from a satellite, blimp or other moving transmitter. A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”’; para. [0099], “The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or suspend a random- access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be preconfigured. The value of x may be a function of time taken to complete a random access procedure, for example, a 2-step random access procedure or 4-step random access procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of time taken to complete another procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of the round trip time (RTT) for transmission between the WTRU and the network. The RTT may be a multiple of the estimated and/or observed RTT. Additionally or alternatively, it may correspond to the observed HARQ RTT, for example, the time from the reception of the first grant for a new transmission until the time the WTRU determines that the HARQ process has successfully completed. In another example, the WTRU may be configured to suspend scheduling request transmission or retransmission at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x. Similarly, other MAC control transmissions may be suspended when a satellite switch event is upcoming. Whether or not the WTRU performs any of the above functions may be a configuration aspect of the WTRU.”);
suspending communication with the mobile communication network at the transition time (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4 and para. [0002], “If a wireless transmit/ receive unit (WTRU) detects a change in RAN function termination, the WTRU may suspend any uplink data transmissions, apply the transient configuration”; para. [0099], “a WTRU may be configured to delay, suppress or refrain from performing at least certain UL transmissions, such as those associated with MAC procedures, when a satellite switch event is upcoming. … The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or suspend a random-access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be preconfigured. … the WTRU may be configured to suspend scheduling request transmission or retransmission at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x.”); and
resuming communication with the mobile communication network after expiry of the transition duration (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4 and para. [0002], “The WTRU may synchronize with the target cell and apply the layer 2 behavior.”; para. [0102], “a WTRU may be configured to implicitly receive the indication of the time instance via a status of a counter. … The WTRU may be configured to perform a reconfiguration associated with satellite mobility when the count value reaches zero.”).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Deenoo further teaches wherein receiving the first configuration comprises receiving the transition duration via higher layer signaling (see, Deenoo: para. [0096], “a WTRU may receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration with a trigger condition associated with a future time instance or offset thereof. The time instance may correspond the time when a change of satellite takes place. The time instance may be indicated using one or more of the methods described below. The WTRU may apply a stored reconfiguration at a time instance configured in the serving cell.”), the method further comprising receiving downlink control information (“DCI”) that indicates the transition time, wherein a type of DCI received is based at least in part on a type of cell serving the UE (see, Deenoo: para. [00112], “In other embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on an indication provided in in short DCI messages addressed to a P-RNTI. For example, one or more bits may be reserved in the short messages on the PDCCH to indicate the occurrence and type of satellite mobility events.”).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Deenoo further teaches wherein receiving the first configuration comprises receiving the transition duration and the transition time via group-common downlink control information (see, Deenoo: para. [00111], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to monitor for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order addressed to a pre-defined radio network identifier (RNTI). In one example, the RNTI may be associated with a group of WTRUs which may be located within a spot beam. In another example, the RNTI may be cell specific applicable to all WTRUs in the cell. For example, the RNTI may be predefined for a mobility event, for example, using one of the values from OxFFFO-OxFFFD. The WTRU may determine that a satellite mobility event has occurred when the PDCCH order is received with the predefined RNTI. In some embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to apply a stored reconfiguration when a PDCCH order associated with a mobility event is received. The RNTI may be associated with a specific configuration. For example, the WTRU may use the RNTI value to determine what configuration to apply for the mobility event. The WTRU may be configured with a plurality of RNTIs for a given cell ID and/or satellite.”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Deenoo further teaches wherein resuming communication with the mobile communication network comprises performing a random-access procedure (“RACH procedure”) (see, Deenoo: para. [0098], “The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or suspend a random- access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be preconfigured. The value of x may be a function of time taken to complete a random access procedure, for example, a 2-step random access procedure or 4-step random access procedure.”), the method further comprising receiving a second configuration from the network (see, Deenoo: para. [00124], “the WTRU may be configured with one or more special RACH occasions in addition to regular RACH occasions. Alternatively, the WTRU may be configured with two sets of special RACH occasions or with a special or dedicated RACH configuration that may be applied instead of the special RACH occasions.”), said second configuration comprising at least one of: resynchronization assistance information indicating at least one neighboring cell having a link to the second gateway (see, Deenoo: para. [00137], “the WTRU may be configured to set various transmission parameters of an initial transmission at the activation time of a mobility procedure which may involve a change of satellite in a Low Earth orbit satellite (LEOS) and/or a Medium Earth orbit satellite MEOS scenario and/or a change of a serving gateway during a feeder-link switch.”; para. [00108], “the WTRU 718 may be configured with N measurement object lists and may be configured to determine one measurement object list from the plurality of the lists based on WTRU location which may be associated with a spot beam 704-708 illuminated by a satellite 702, in embodiments. For example, the WTRU 718 may select and apply a neighbor list 1 712 for measurements when served by spot beam 1 704. Neighbor list 1 712 may indicate gNBs 712A-712D.”); and a post-switchover random access channel occasion (“RACH occasion”) (see, Deenoo: para. [00120], “With a change in spot beam, WTRUs being served may be configured to perform an action, for example, to perform RACH transmission.”; para. [00126], “the WTRU may be configured to apply special RACH configurations during execution of a mobility event. The mobility event may be triggered based on network signaling or based on location and/or time based triggered.”).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the resynchronization assistance information comprises a set of cell identities for the at least one neighboring cell and a corresponding synchronization raster point for each cell identity (see, Deenoo: para. [00108], “the WTRU 718 may be configured with N measurement object lists and may be configured to determine one measurement object list from the plurality of the lists based on WTRU location which may be associated with a spot beam 704-708 illuminated by a satellite 702, in embodiments. For example, the WTRU 718 may select and apply a neighbor list 1 712 for measurements when served by spot beam 1 704. Neighbor list 1 712 may indicate gNBs 712A-712D. The WTRU 718 may further be implicitly configured to reconfigure the measurement object list upon moving to a different spot beam. For example, when the WTRU 718 moves to a location illuminated by spot beam 2 706, the WTRU may apply neighbor list 2 714. Neighbor list 2 714 may indicate gNBs 714A-714D. When the WTRU 718 moves to spot beam N 708, the WTRU may apply neighbor list N 716. Neighbor list N 716 may indicate gNBs 716A-716C.”), wherein receiving the resynchronization assistance information comprises receiving via one of: dedicated Radio Resource Control (“RRC”) signaling, common RRC signaling, Medium Access Control (“MAC”) Control Element (“CE”), broadcast signal, group-common Downlink Control Information (“DCI”), or some combination thereof (see, Deenoo: para. [0005], “A method and apparatus for receiving a broadcast configuration indicating when a change in a RAN function termination occurs is provided, for example, by a timer value. The broadcast configuration may be received from a satellite, blimp or other moving transmitter. A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”; para. [0096], “a WTRU may receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration with a trigger condition associated with a future time instance or offset thereof.”; Claim 1; para. [00112], “In embodiments, the WTRU may determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on receiving an indication in the paging message. In some embodiments, such paging message may indicate the type of satellite mobility, for example, whether the satellite mobility is a non-transparent satellite mobility type or a cell transparent satellite mobility type. In other embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on an indication provided in in short DCI messages addressed to a P-RNTI. For example, one or more bits may be reserved in the short messages on the PDCCH to indicate the occurrence and type of satellite mobility events.”).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 5.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the resynchronization assistance information further comprises location information indicating a geographical area where the resynchronization assistance information is valid (see, Deenoo: para. [00118], “The WTRU may be preconfigured with a layer 2 (L2) behavior based on the time and/or location triggers. For example, the WTRU may determine the extent of L2 and/or layer 3 (L3) context persistence based on the broadcast indication. Additionally or alternatively, the WTRU may determine the extent of L2/L3 context persistence based on the broadcast indication. In bent pipe architectures, the WTRU may be configured to perform layer (L) resynchronization, while maintaining the radio bearers. In regenerative architectures, the WTRU may be indicated via a broadcast configuration of whether the MAC layer needs to be reset or if RLC and/or PDCP layer need to re-established.”).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the second configuration further indicates a set of candidate RACH groups, each RACH group assigned with a different post-switchover RACH occasion, the method further comprising selecting a candidate RACH group in a random manner and performing random access procedure at a post-switchover RACH occasion corresponding to the selected RACH group (see, Deenoo: para. [00130], “The WTRU may be configured with multiple RACH configurations, and the WTRU may select a subset of the RACH configurations based on a potential timing advance. The WTRU may determine the potential timing advance based on, for example, WTRU location information or satellite ephemeris information.”; para. [00126], “the WTRU may be configured to apply special RACH configurations during execution of a mobility event. The mobility event may be triggered based on network signaling or based on location and/or time based triggered. In a further embodiment, the WTRU may be configured to apply the special RACH configuration for specific target cells, for example, towards an incoming satellite or aircraft”).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 4.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the second configuration further indicates a RACH preamble to at the post-switchover RACH occasion (see, Deenoo: para. [0005], “The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior. If a WTRU detects a change in RAN function termination, the WTRU may suspend any uplink data transmissions, apply the transient configuration and transmit the preamble to a target cell. The WTRU may synchronize with the target cell and apply the layer 2 behavior.”; para. [00124], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured with one or more special RACH occasions in addition to regular RACH occasions. Alternatively, the WTRU may be configured with two sets of special RACH occasions or with a special or dedicated RACH configuration that may be applied instead of the special RACH occasions. The special RACH configuration may enable increased opportunities for preamble transmission and may provide increased RACH capacity to address the need for a potentially large number of WTRUs executing mobility events. This approach may be beneficial as different time and frequency domain RACH resources may provide better isolation and may not suffer from high cross correlations issues associated with usage of different root sequences to increase RACH capacity. This embodiment may be employed when a satellite and/or WTRU has knowledge of satellite movement and may recognize that handover is imminent. The resources dedicated to the RACH configuration may be resources which would have otherwise been used for other data and control resources.”; para. [00127], “the WTRU may determine its RACH occasion and/or preamble as a function of one or more parameters associated with its dedicated configuration.”).
Regarding claim 9:
Deenoo teaches a User Equipment (“UE”) apparatus (e.g., WTRU) comprising:
a transceiver (see, Deenoo: Fig. 1B, WTRU 102, Transceiver 120) that: receives a first configuration from a mobile communication network comprising a satellite (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, non-GEO satellite 404), a first gateway (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, GW1, 410) to which the satellite is connected, and a second gateway (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, GW2, 420), said first configuration comprising a transition period required by the satellite connected to the first gateway for feeder link switchover to the second gateway, the transition period (e.g., T+x) defined by a transition time (e.g., T) and a transition duration (e.g., x) (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4 and para. [0002], “Method and apparatus for receiving a broadcast configuration indicating when a change in a radio access network (RAN) function termination occurs, for example, by providing a timer value. The broadcast configuration may be received from a satellite, blimp or other moving transmitter. A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”’; para. [0099], “The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or suspend a random- access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be preconfigured. The value of x may be a function of time taken to complete a random access procedure, for example, a 2-step random access procedure or 4-step random access procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of time taken to complete another procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of the round trip time (RTT) for transmission between the WTRU and the network. The RTT may be a multiple of the estimated and/or observed RTT. Additionally or alternatively, it may correspond to the observed HARQ RTT, for example, the time from the reception of the first grant for a new transmission until the time the WTRU determines that the HARQ process has successfully completed. In another example, the WTRU may be configured to suspend scheduling request transmission or retransmission at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x. Similarly, other MAC control transmissions may be suspended when a satellite switch event is upcoming. Whether or not the WTRU performs any of the above functions may be a configuration aspect of the WTRU.”); and
receiving a second configuration from the network, said second configuration comprising a threshold time (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, transition threshold 412) before the transition time (e.g., T) (see, Deenoo: para. [0095], “The WTRU may be configured with a time instance after which the WTRU may not assume that the current serving gNB (e.g., satellite) is available for communication.”, i.e., transition threshold); para. [00134], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured with ephemeris data associated with a measurement object. For example, the WTRU may start measurements associated with that measurement object when the satellite location is within a preconfigured threshold based on the ephemeris data information associated with the measurement object. This may correspond to the location and/or time at which incoming satellite transmissions are expected to be received.”); and
a processor (see, Deenoo: Fig. 1B, WTRU 102, Processor 118) that initiates a handover procedure to a new cell (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, gNB2, 422) when the threshold time before the transition time is reached, wherein the new cell is not associated with the first satellite (see, Deenoo: para. [0124], “This embodiment may be employed when a satellite and/or WTRU has knowledge of satellite movement and may recognize that handover is imminent.”; para. [00126], “the WTRU may be configured to apply special RACH configurations during execution of a mobility event. The mobility event may be triggered based on network signaling or based on location and/or time based triggered.”).
Regarding claim 10:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 9.
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein initiating the handover procedure comprises selecting the new cell based on link measurements from a set of neighboring cells and expected beam dwelling time for the set of neighboring cells (see, Deenoo: para. [00112], “In embodiments, the WTRU may determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on receiving an indication in the paging message. In some embodiments, such paging message may indicate the type of satellite mobility, for example, whether the satellite mobility is a non-transparent satellite mobility type or a cell transparent satellite mobility type. In other embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on an indication provided in in short DCI messages addressed to a P-RNTI. For example, one or more bits may be reserved in the short messages on the PDCCH to indicate the occurrence and type of satellite mobility events.”; para. [00113], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to trigger a mobility procedure, for example, a reconfiguration with synchronization procedure, when a specific system information message is received. For example, the WTRU may be configured to trigger a mobility procedure when an indication of presence or transmission of a special system information or update thereof is received. Such system information may be specific to a group mobility event, may include parameters to apply upon a feeder link switch event, may include a transient configuration, may include parameters to apply upon handover to the target cell and/or may include minimal configuration needed to synchronize with the target cell. The WTRU may be further configured with a dedicated RRC configuration upon successful synchronization with the target cell. The WTRU may be configured to acquire such system information as soon as it is transmitted or updated. The WTRU may be configured to apply the system information at a time configured by the system information. For example, such time may correspond to the timing of the satellite switch and/or feeder link switch. In some embodiments, such system information may be associated with an RNTI different than the SI-RNTI, for example, a reserved RNTI.”).
Regarding claim 11:
Deenoo teaches a network apparatus (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, non-GEO satellite 404) in a mobile communication network that contains a satellite (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, non-GEO satellite 404), a first gateway (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, GW1, 410) to which the satellite is connected, and a second gateway (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, GW2, 420), the apparatus comprising: a transceiver (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, a transceiver of the satellite 404, not shown); and a processor (see, Deenoo: Fig. 4, a processor of the satellite 404, not shown) configured to perform to similar features to claim 1 from the perspective of the satellite of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 11.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the transition period is indicated by a current serving Radio Access Network (“RAN”) node to a group of UEs that are affected by switchover (see, Deenoo: para. [0002], “A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”), wherein transmitting the first configuration comprises sending the transition time and transition duration via one or more of: dedicated Radio Resource Control (“RRC”) signaling, common RRC signaling, Medium Access Control (“MAC”) Control Element (“CE”), broadcast signal, group-common Downlink Control Information (“DCI”), or some combination thereof (see, Deenoo: para. [0005], “A method and apparatus for receiving a broadcast configuration indicating when a change in a RAN function termination occurs is provided, for example, by a timer value. The broadcast configuration may be received from a satellite, blimp or other moving transmitter. A dedicated configuration may also be received from the serving cell. The dedicated configuration may include a preamble, a transient configuration and an indication of a layer 2 behavior.”; para. [0096], “a WTRU may receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration with a trigger condition associated with a future time instance or offset thereof.”; Claim 1; para. [00112], “In embodiments, the WTRU may determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on receiving an indication in the paging message. In some embodiments, such paging message may indicate the type of satellite mobility, for example, whether the satellite mobility is a non-transparent satellite mobility type or a cell transparent satellite mobility type. In other embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to determine an upcoming satellite mobility event based on an indication provided in in short DCI messages addressed to a P-RNTI. For example, one or more bits may be reserved in the short messages on the PDCCH to indicate the occurrence and type of satellite mobility events.”).
Regarding claim 13:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 11.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the transition time is UE specific and is different for different UEs in the first cell, wherein the processor further determines a UE-specific transition time for a particular UE based upon mobility of the particular UE and a network connection of the particular UE (see, Deenoo: para. [0120], “The embodiments illustrated by FIG. 8 are shown over two time instants T1 800 and T2 802. At time instant T1, satellite 1 804 is moving 804A along with satellite 2 806 in a same movement direction 806A. Satellite 2 services WTRUs of a spot beam 808A. At time T2, satellite 1 804 and satellite 2 806 may move 804B, 806B such that spot beam 808B becomes served by satellite 1 804. With a change in spot beam, WTRUs being served may be configured to perform an action, for example, to perform RACH transmission. If each WTRU performs RACH at a same time occasion, a resource conflict may occur. Thus, a WTRU may instead apply a transient configuration, for example, which assists in RACH or provides for an improved RACH mechanism.”).
Regarding claim 14:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 11.
Claim 14 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 5. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 15:
As discussed above, Deenoo teaches all limitations in claim 14.
Deenoo further teaches wherein the processor further groups UEs in the first cell, wherein the RACH occasion is for a group of UEs, wherein the groups are selected to ensure that a number of UEs attempting for RACH procedure does not exceed a certain threshold (see, Deenoo: para. [0124], “In embodiments, the WTRU may be configured with one or more special RACH occasions in addition to regular RACH occasions. Alternatively, the WTRU may be configured with two sets of special RACH occasions or with a special or dedicated RACH configuration that may be applied instead of the special RACH occasions. The special RACH configuration may enable increased opportunities for preamble transmission and may provide increased RACH capacity to address the need for a potentially large number of WTRUs executing mobility events. This approach may be beneficial as different time and frequency domain RACH resources may provide better isolation and may not suffer from high cross correlations issues associated with usage of different root sequences to increase RACH capacity. This embodiment may be employed when a satellite and/or WTRU has knowledge of satellite movement and may recognize that handover is imminent. The resources dedicated to the RACH configuration may be resources which would have otherwise been used for other data and control resources.”).
Conclusion
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471