DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, 19, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Witelson (PGPub 20190284827).
Witelson teaches a pool cleaning robot (22, 24, 26, 28) that comprises: a housing (paragraph 0060); a power supply cable interface (figure 1, where 26 contacts 24) for interfacing with a power supply cable (26); wherein at least a part of the power supply cable is external to the housing (paragraph 0071); a power supply control unit (paragraph 0089), and a wireless charging interface (24, 222, 242; paragraph 0131, 0134); wherein the power supply control unit is configured to control (a) a provision of power from the power supply cable to the wireless charging interface (the power supply 28 supplies power to the wire charging interface 24 via cable 26); and (b) a provision of power from the wireless charging interface (24) to one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (the wireless charging interface provides power to the robot via 224, 242).
With regards to claim 2, the wireless charging interface is configured to wirelessly charge (via 222/242) a rechargeable battery (505) via a battery wireless charging interface (paragraph 0107) when receiving the power from the power supply cable (figure 1; element 26).
With regards to claim 3, the wireless charging interface is further configured to provide power from the rechargeable battery; and wherein the power supply control unit is configured to control a provision of the power from the detachable rechargeable battery to the one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (when the battery is charged, the battery provides power to the elements of the robot).
With regards to claim 4, the robot comprises the battery.
With regards to claim 5, the rechargeable battery further comprises an additional battery wireless charging interface (figure 9 and 11).
With regards to claim 6, the additional battery wireless charging interface faces away from the pool cleaning robot (figure 9 and 11).
With regards to claim 8, the battery is non-detachable (it does not have be detached from the housing).
With regards to claim 9, the power from the power supply cable is provided by a floating unit (24).
With regards to claim 10, the power from the power supply cable is provided by an external power supply (28).
With regards to claim 11, Witelson teaches a method for power control, the method comprises: receiving power (a) by a power supply cable interface (figure 1, where 26 contacts 24) of a pool cleaning, and (b) from a power supply cable (26) that has at least a part that is external to a housing of the pool cleaning robot (paragraph 0071); and controlling, by a power supply control unit (paragraph 0089) of the pool cleaning robot, (a) a provision of power from the power supply cable to a wireless charging interface (via cable 26) of the pool cleaning robot; and (b) a provision of power from the wireless charging interface to one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (via 224, 242).
With regards to claim 12, the method comprises wirelessly charging, by the wireless charging interface (224 and 242), a rechargeable battery (505) via a battery wireless charging interface (paragraph 0107), when receiving the power from the power supply cable (26).
With regards to claim 13, providing power, by the wireless charging interface, from the rechargeable battery; and controlling, by the power supply control unit, a provision of the power from the detachable rechargeable battery to one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (when the battery is charged, the battery provides power to the elements of the robot).
With regards to claim 14, the robot comprises the rechargeable battery.
With regards to claim 15, charging the battery, by an entity (24, 28) that is external to the pool cleaning robot, via an additional battery wireless charging interface (figure 9 and 11).
With regards to claim 16, the additional battery wireless charging interface faces away from the pool cleaning robot (figure 9 and 11).
With regards to claim 19, feeding the power supply cable by power from a floating unit (24).
With regards to claim 39, the power supply control unit is configured switch between (a) a first mode for the provision of power from the power supply cable to the wireless charging interface, and (b) a second mode for the provision of power from the wireless charging interface to the one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (the power supply can switch from supplying power to the wireless charging unit to the wireless charging unit supplying power to the robot housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson (‘827).
Witelson teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention including that the power supply cable interface is for interfacing with a power supply cable (46) for receiving power via a wired connection from the power supply cable (28 supplies power to 24 via cable 26); and the wireless charging interface (24) is configured to wirelessly charge a rechargeable battery (505) (claim 40). Witelson however fails to teach that the battery is detachably connected to the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Witelson so that the battery is detachable. This will allow for one battery to be charged while another battery is in use. Thus allowing the user to use the cleaning robot continuously without downtime for recharging.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson (‘827) in view of Porat (USPN 20060223394)
Witelson teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the power comes from a foldable solar panel. Porat teaches using a foldable solar panel (96; figure 6 and 7) to charge a robot pool cleaner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external power supply of Witelson with a foldable solar panel as taught by Porat to allow for using renewable and clean energy from the sun.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Witelson fails to teach a power supply control unit within the pool cleaning robot. In response, the pool cleaning robot of Witelson includes the power supply, the floating charger and the robot itself. All three elements make up the pool cleaning robot. There is nothing in the claim that would lead one of skill in the art to require the power supply control unit to be within the housing of the robot. Further, Witelson teaches dual charging features by having a wired charge from the power supply to the floating charger and then wireless charging from the floating charger to the robot housing.
The applicant argues that claim 1 requires the power supply cable to interface with the robot itself. In response, the claim does not require that the cable needs to contact the robot itself. Instead, the cable only needs to contact the wireless charging interface as stated in part (a) of claim 1. Part (b) of the claim only requires a connection from the wireless charger to the robot housing.
With regards to new claim 39, it is clear that the power control unit will be “on” to supply power via the cable to the wireless charging interface charge and then it will be “off” when the wireless charger charges the robot housing, thus having a switch like effect.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723