DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Witelson (PGPub 20190284827).
Witelson teaches a pool cleaning robot that comprises: a housing (paragraph 0060); a power supply cable interface (figure 1, where 26 contacts 24) for interfacing with a power supply cable (26); wherein at least a part of the power supply cable is external to the housing (paragraph 0071); a power supply control unit (paragraph 0089), and a wireless charging interface (222, 242; paragraph 0131, 0134); wherein the power supply control unit is configured to control (a) a provision of power from the power supply cable to the wireless charging interface (via cable 26); and (b) a provision of power from the wireless charging interface to one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (via 224, 242).
With regards to claim 2, the wireless charging interface is configured to wirelessly charge (via 222/242) a rechargeable battery (505) via a battery wireless charging interface (paragraph 0107) when receiving the power from the power supply cable (figure 1; element 26).
With regards to claim 3, the wireless charging interface is further configured to provide power from the rechargeable battery; and wherein the power supply control unit is configured to control a provision of the power from the detachable rechargeable battery to the one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (when the battery is charged, the battery provides power to the elements of the robot).
With regards to claim 4, the robot comprises the battery.
With regards to claim 5, the rechargeable battery further comprises an additional battery wireless charging interface (figure 9 and 11).
With regards to claim 6, the additional battery wireless charging interface faces away from the pool cleaning robot (figure 9 and 11).
With regards to claim 8, the battery is non-detachable (it does not have be detached from the housing).
With regards to claim 9, the power from the power supply cable is provided by a floating unit (24).
With regards to claim 10, the power from the power supply cable is provided by an external power supply (28).
With regards to claim 11, Witelson teaches a method for power control, the method comprises: receiving power (a) by a power supply cable interface (figure 1, where 26 contacts 24) of a pool cleaning, and (b) from a power supply cable (26) that has at least a part that is external to a housing of the pool cleaning robot (paragraph 0071); and controlling, by a power supply control unit (paragraph 0089) of the pool cleaning robot, (a) a provision of power from the power supply cable to a wireless charging interface (via cable 26) of the pool cleaning robot; and (b) a provision of power from the wireless charging interface to one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (via 224, 242).
With regards to claim 12, the method comprises wirelessly charging, by the wireless charging interface (224 and 242), a rechargeable battery (505) via a battery wireless charging interface (paragraph 0107), when receiving the power from the power supply cable (26).
With regards to claim 13, providing power, by the wireless charging interface, from the rechargeable battery; and controlling, by the power supply control unit, a provision of the power from the detachable rechargeable battery to one or more power consuming elements of the pool cleaning robot (when the battery is charged, the battery provides power to the elements of the robot).
With regards to claim 14, the robot comprises the rechargeable battery.
With regards to claim 15, charging the battery, by an entity (24, 28) that is external to the pool cleaning robot, via an additional battery wireless charging interface (figure 9 and 11).
With regards to claim 16, the additional battery wireless charging interface faces away from the pool cleaning robot (figure 9 and 11).
With regards to claim 18, the battery is non-detachable (it does not have be detached from the housing).
With regards to claim 19, feeding the power supply cable by power from a floating unit (24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson (‘827).
Witelson teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the battery is detachable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Witelson so that the battery is detachable. This will allow for one battery to be charged while another battery is in use. Thus allowing the user to use the cleaning robot continuously without downtime for recharging.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson (‘827) in view of Porat (USPN 20060223394)
Witelson teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the power comes from a foldable solar panel. Porat teaches using a foldable solar panel (96; figure 6 and 7) to charge a robot pool cleaner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external power supply of Witelson with a foldable solar panel as taught by Porat to allow for using renewable and clean energy from the sun.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723