DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the securing element ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will assume the intent was “securing member”. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 2, 5, 6, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Grimm (DE 4101276)
In re Claims 1-2, 5 and 6, Grimm teaches a fastener (66) for securing to each other two profiled elements that are intersecting. These profiled elements intersect at the fastener, just and the applicants profile elements (18) intersect at their fastener(1) as is shown in Figure 3 of the instant application. The fastener comprises two half-fasteners (96,96) connected to each other by a connection of the fixed pivot type enabling one half-fastener to pivot with respect to the other about a pivot axis (134), each half-fastener including a securing member for securing a profile element that is inclined (can be angled by rotating about the rotation axis) with respect to the pivot axis. The inclination/angle of each securing member with respect to the pivot axis (134) is adjustable over a range between 0 and 90 degrees. The securing member is in the form of jaws delimited by two planar portions spaced apart. They are configured to hold the profiled element by attaching it into position (Annotated Figure 11)
In re Claims 7 and 9 Grimm teaches a curved surface comprising first elastically flexed profiled elements (49a,49b) and second elastically flexed profiled elements 49a,49b) intersecting each other and are secured to each other by fasteners (66,79a). They appear to be curved indicating a degree of elastic flexibility. The profiled elements are strips appear to be strips with rectangular cross sections and a constant width. (Figure 20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimm (DE 4101276) in view of Crooks (U.S. 4,182,086) or Niksic (U.S. 4,998,552) or Tripsianes (U.S. 6,276,095)
In re Claims 7,8, and 9 Grimm teaches a curved surface comprising first elastically flexed profiled elements (49a,49b) and second elastically flexed profiled elements 49a,49b) intersecting each other and are secured to each other by fasteners (66,79a). The profiled elements are strips appear to be strips with rectangular cross sections and a constant width. (Figure 20)
They appear to be curved indicating a degree of elastic flexibility. However, should the applicant disagree with this, the examiner notes that flexible curved frameworks made from intersecting profiles with some degree of elasticity are well known in the art. For example, Tripsianes teaches intersecting profiles (1-32) that flex elastically to form a curved framework. (Figures 1-5) Crooks also teaches a curved framework (12) made from intersecting profiles (18,20,22,24) that flex elastically. (Figures 1-3) Likewise, Niksic teaches intersecting profiles (15,26) that flex elastically to form a curved framework (10). (Figures 1-5)
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention for the profile elements disclosed by Grim to have an elastic flexibility. This will allow them to support shifting and dynamic loads that may be applied to them.
Grim does not disclose hollow profile elements however such are well known in the art and the examiner takes official notice of them. It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use hollow profile members in constructing a curved frame work in order to save on material costs and as a weight saving measure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach or adequately suggest a fastener for securing two profiled elements with the structural limitations of the two cheeks specified in these claims. There is no cogent reasoning that is unequivocally independent of hindsight that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art to obtain the applicant's invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued Grimm reference does not disclose a fastener that secures intersecting profile elements. The examiner first noted that the arguments are directed to the profile elements that have not even been positively. Furthermore, the Grimm profiled elements intersect at the fastener, just and the applicants profile elements (18) intersect at their fastener(1) as is shown in Figure 3 of the instant application. The applicant also argues that the Grimm reference does not teach securing elements that are inclined with respect to the pivot axis with an inclination that is intermediate between 0° and 90°. This argument has been addressed in the above rejection and annotation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM G BARLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633