DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “as an indent to from a level.” This should either be –to a level— or –from a level--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-5, 9, 11, 12, 16, 17 are rejected as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Scott-Scott US 4,343,611.
Regarding claim 1, Scott-Scott discloses a propulsion assembly 12 for a marine vessel, comprising;
a body including a duct 24 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft 26 at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 30, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades 34 and a boss which is supported to the shaft, and a circular rim 38, 36 to which radial ends of the propeller blades are attached; wherein:
a circumferential slot 44 is provided in the duct, opening inside the duct between the first end and the second end, wherein the circular rim is arranged to extend radially withing the circumferential slot; and
at least one gas inlet 42 arranged to open into the circumferential slot.
Figure 1- Scott-Scott Figure 2
If applicant does not agree that there are three rotor blades, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have three or however many rotor blades are desired in order to obtain the desired flow and power ratio, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
If applicant does not agree that there is a circular rim to which the radial ends of the propeller blades are attached, then Scott-Scott teaches that the propeller can have a complete rim (see figures 7 & 8, column 3, lines 21-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Scott-Scott with a complete rim as taught by figure 8 of Scott-Scott in order to strengthen the prop and make the rim-drive system more efficient.
Regarding claim 2, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott also teaches a space is arranged radially between a bottom of the slot 44 and outer surface of the circular rim 38, and (the at least one gas inlet 42 is arranged to open into the space.
Regarding claim 3, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott also teaches that the at least one gas inlet 20 is arranged to open into the space at its lowermost position. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the inlets at the bottom or any/all points in order to eliminate the most cavitation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott also teaches that the slot 44 is formed to the body by a radially inwardly extending circumferential projection (the portion of the duct around the slot) forming side walls of the circumferential slot.
Regarding claim 5, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Scott-Scott also teaches that the circumferential projection comprises: a first fairing at a first side of the circumferential propeller 30 and a second fairing at a second side of the propeller having the circumferential slot 44 between the fairings. In this case, any transitional feature of the slot, or the stators 40 can be considered the fairing.
Regarding claim 9, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott also teaches that at least one gas inlet includes a plurality of gas inlets 42 substantially evenly distributed to open into the circumferential slot 44, and the assembly comprises: a circumferentially extending gas plenum (ducting 20 leading to inlets 42) in connection with the body.
Regarding claim 11, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Scott-Scott also teaches that the gas plenum (ducting 20 leading to inlets 42) circumscribes the duct.
Regarding claim 12, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott also teaches that the propeller 30 is provided with a rim drive.
Regarding claim 16, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott also teaches that the propeller shaft 26 is a non-driven shaft.
Regarding claim 17, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott also teaches that the slot 44 is formed to the duct 24 as an indent from a level of an inner wall of the duct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6- 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott-Scott US 4,343,611.
Regarding claim 6, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Scott-Scott does not teach the particular recited shape, however it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the protrusion/duct slanted or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott does not explicitly teach four or more gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 10, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott does not explicitly teach more than 12 gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Scott-Scott does not teach that the gas inlets are evenly distributed having an angle of 5-30 degrees between the gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the inlets at an even spacing of 5-30 degrees, or whatever the number of inlets dictates, in order to obtain a consistent effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott-Scott US 4,343,611 in view of Jensen WO 2013/079584.
Regarding claim 18, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott does not teach that the propulsion assembly is a transverse tunnel thruster, wherein the duct of the propulsion assembly is a straight tube. Jensen teaches a propulsion assembly which is a transverse tunnel thruster, wherein the duct 2 of the propulsion assembly is a straight tube (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Cho by using it as a lateral thruster as taught by Jensen in order to increase maneuverability of the vessel to which it is attached.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott-Scott US 4,343,611 in view of Taylor US 4,831,297.
Regarding claim 20, Scott-Scott discloses/teaches the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Scott-Scott also teaches a nozzle duct 24 and the boss of the propeller 30 is connected to the shaft 26 in a support structure. Scott-Scott does not teach that the propulsion assembly is a steerable azimuthing thruster wherein the support structure extends radially from the shaft for coupling the azimuthing thruster to a vessel in a rotatable manner. Taylor teaches a propulsion assembly which is a steerable azimuthing thruster, wherein a support structure 80 extends radially from the shaft for coupling the azimuthing thruster to a vessel B in a rotatable manner (column 5, lines 32-49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Scott-Scott by rotatably attaching it to the vessel as taught by Taylor in order to increase maneuverability of the vessel.
Claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho US 5,607,329 in view of Jensen WO 2013/079584.
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a propulsion assembly 25 for a marine vessel, comprising;
a body including a duct 100 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft 104 at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 400, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades 406 and a boss 404 which is supported to the shaft, and a circular rim 410 to which radial ends of the propeller blades are attached; wherein:
a circumferential slot 130 is provided in the duct, opening inside the duct between the first end and the second end, wherein the circular rim is arranged to extend radially within the circumferential slot.
Figure 2- Cho Figure 3
Cho does not teach that the assembly further includes at least one gas inlet arranged to open into the slot. Jensen teaches a propulsion assembly for a marine vessel, comprising;
a body including a duct 2 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 4, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades 40 and a boss 5 which is supported to the shaft, and a circular rim 42 to which radial ends of the propeller blades are attached; wherein:
at least one gas inlet 21 is arranged to open onto the edges of the rim.
Figure 3- Jensen Figures 2 and 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Cho with the gas inlets (with or without rim extensions 43, 431) discharging onto the propeller rim as taught by Jensen in order to reduce cavitation and noise effects off the propeller. As modified, the gas inlets are arranged to open into the slot.
Regarding claim 2, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Cho also teaches that a space is arranged radially between a bottom of the circumferential slot and outer surface of the rim, and (as modified) the at least one gas inlet is arranged to open into the space.
Regarding claim 3, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen also teaches that the one gas inlet 21 is arranged to open into the space at its lowermost position. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the inlets at the bottom or any/all points in order to eliminate the most cavitation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Cho also teaches that the circumferential slot 130 is formed to the body by a radially inwardly extending circumferential projection (the portion of the duct around the slot) forming side walls of the circumferential slot.
Regarding claim 5, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Cho also teaches that the circumferential projection comprises: a first fairing at a first side of the propeller 400 and a second fairing at a second side of the propeller having the slot 130 between the fairings. In this case, any transitional feature of the slot can be considered the fairing.
Regarding claim 6, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Cho also teaches that the circumferential projection comprises: a first axial end and a second axial end, and an inner diameter of the projection is substantially equal to inner diameter of the duct at the first axial end, and an outer diameter of the projection is substantially equal to inner diameter of the duct at its first and second ends, and the inner diameter of the projection at its second axial end is less than outer diameter of the circular rim. See Cho figure 3- as the projection is considered part of the duct that surrounds the slot, it can be interpreted to meet the claim as written. Alternatively, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the protrusion/duct slanted or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 7, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen also teaches at least one gas inlet arranged to open into the slot. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not explicitly teach more than four gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 10, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not explicitly teach more than 12 gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Jensen does not teach that the gas inlets are evenly distributed having an angle of 5-30 degrees between the gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the inlets at an even spacing of 5-30 degrees, or whatever the number of inlets dictates, in order to obtain a consistent effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 12, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Cho also teaches that the propeller 400 is provided with a rim drive.
Regarding claim 13, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Cho also teaches that the propeller is provided with an electric motor wherein the rim 410 comprises: a rotor part of the motor and the body of the duct 100 is provided with a stator part 304 of the electric motor.
Regarding claim 16, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Cho also teaches that the propeller shaft 104 is a non-driven shaft.
Regarding claim 17, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Cho also teaches that the slot 130 is formed to the duct 100 as an indent from a level of an inner wall 126 of the duct.
Regarding claim 18, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Cho does not teach that the propulsion assembly is a transverse tunnel thruster, wherein the duct of the propulsion assembly is a straight tube. Jensen teaches that the propulsion assembly is a transverse tunnel thruster, wherein the duct 2 of the propulsion assembly is a straight tube (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Cho by using it as a lateral thruster as taught by Jensen in order to increase maneuverability of the vessel to which it is attached.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho US 5,607,329 in view of Jensen WO 2013/079584 and Angel US 7,575,490.
Regarding claim 9, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not teach that the at least one gas inlet includes a plurality of gas inlets substantially evenly distributed to open into the circumferential slot, and a circumferentially extending gas plenum in connection with the body. Angel teaches a propulsion assembly for a marine vehicle comprising:
a body including a duct 16 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 18, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades and a boss which is supported to the shaft; wherein:
at least one gas inlet 12d is arranged to open onto the edges of the rim; and
a circumferentially extending gas plenum 12 in connection with the body provided with a plurality of substantially evenly distributed gas inlets 12d.
Figure 4- Angel Figure 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Cho and Jensen by with a gas distribution plenum as taught by Angel in order to evenly distribute gas around the duct and increase effectiveness of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Cho, Jensen and Angel teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. As taught, the gas plenum 12 circumscribes the duct.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho US 5,607,329 in view of Jensen WO 2013/079584 and Taylor US 4,831,297.
Regarding claim 20, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Cho also teaches a nozzle duct 100 and the boss of the propeller is connected to the shaft 104 in a support structure. Cho does not teach that the propulsion assembly is a steerable azimuthing thruster wherein the support structure extends radially from the shaft for coupling the azimuthing thruster to a vessel in a rotatable manner. Taylor teaches a propulsion assembly which is a steerable azimuthing thruster, wherein a support structure 80 extends radially from the shaft for coupling the azimuthing thruster to a vessel B in a rotatable manner (column 5, lines 32-49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Cho and Jensen by rotatably attaching it to the vessel as taught by Taylor in order to increase maneuverability of the vessel.
Claims 1-8, 10, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubois US 6,109,985 in view of Jensen WO 2013/079584.
Regarding claim 1, Dubois teaches a propulsion assembly for a marine vessel, comprising;
a body including a duct 20 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft 24 at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 10, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades 12 and a boss 14 which is supported to the shaft, and a circular rim 16 to which radial ends of the propeller blades are attached; wherein:
a circumferential slot (within 28) is provided in the duct, opening inside the duct between the first end and the second end, wherein the circular rim is arranged to extend radially within the circumferential slot.
Figure 5- Dubois Figures 4 and 5
Dubois does not teach that the assembly further includes at least one gas inlet arranged to open into the circumferential slot. Jensen teaches a propulsion assembly for a marine vessel, comprising;
a body including a duct 2 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 4, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades 40 and a boss 5 which is supported to the shaft, and a circular rim 42 to which radial ends of the propeller blades are attached; wherein:
at least one gas inlet 21 is arranged to open onto the edges of the rim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Dubois with the gas inlets (with or without rim extensions 43, 431) discharging onto the propeller rim as taught by Jensen in order to reduce cavitation and noise effects off the propeller. As modified, the gas inlets are arranged to open into the slot.
Regarding claim 2, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dubois also teaches that a space is arranged radially between a bottom of the circumferential slot and outer surface of the rim, and (as modified) the at least one gas inlet is arranged to open into the space.
Regarding claim 3, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen also teaches that the at least one gas inlet 21 is arranged to open into the space at its lowermost position. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the inlets at the bottom or any/all points in order to eliminate the most cavitation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dubois also teaches that the circumferential slot (within 28) is formed to the body by a radially inwardly extending circumferential projection 30 forming the side walls of the circumferential slot.
Regarding claim 5, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Dubois also teaches that the circumferential projection comprises: a first fairing 32 at a first side of the propeller 10 and a second fairing 30 at a second side of the propeller having the slot (within 28) between the fairings.
Regarding claim 6, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Dubois does not teach the particular recited shape, however it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the protrusion/duct slanted or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 7, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen also teaches at least one gas inlet arranged to open into the slot. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not explicitly teach more than four gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 10, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not explicitly teach more than 12 gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Jensen does not teach that the gas inlets are evenly distributed having an angle of 5-30 degrees between the gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the inlets at an even spacing of 5-30 degrees, or whatever the number of inlets dictates, in order to obtain a consistent effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 15, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dubois also teaches that the propeller shaft 24 is a driven shaft.
Regarding claim 19, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Dubois also teaches that the propulsion assembly is a shaft line propulsion system, wherein the body of the duct 20 of the propulsion assembly is rigidly attached to a hull 26 of a vessel and the shaft 24 extends via a stern tube (the portion of the hull surrounding the shaft) through the hull of the vessel.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubois US 6,109,985 in view of Jensen WO 2013/079584 and Angel US 7,575,490.
Regarding claim 9, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not teach a circumferentially extending gas plenum in connection with the body provided with a plurality of substantially evenly distributed gas inlets arranged to open into the slot. Angel teaches a propulsion assembly for a marine vehicle comprising:
a body including a duct 16 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 18, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades and a boss which is supported to the shaft; wherein:
at least one gas inlet 12d is arranged to open onto the edges of the rim; and
a circumferentially extending gas plenum 12 in connection with the body provided with a plurality of substantially evenly distributed gas inlets 12d.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Dubois and Jensen by with a gas distribution plenum as taught by Angel in order to evenly distribute gas around the duct and increase effectiveness of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Dubois, Jensen and Angel teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. As taught, the gas plenum 12 circumscribes the duct.
Claims 1-8, 10, 12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber US 3,361,107 in view of Jensen WO 2013/079584.
Regarding claim 1, Weber teaches a propulsion assembly for a marine vessel, comprising;
a body including a duct 24 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft 38 at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 20, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades and a boss which is supported to the shaft, and a circular rim 22 to which radial ends of the propeller blades are attached; wherein:
a circumferential slot (between 36 and 34) is provided in the duct, opening inside the duct between the first end and the second end, wherein the circular rim is arranged to extend radially within the circumferential slot.
Figure 6- Weber Figures 2 and 3
Weber does not teach that the assembly further includes at least one gas inlet arranged to open into the slot. Jensen teaches a propulsion assembly for a marine vessel, comprising;
a body including a duct 2 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 4, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades 40 and a boss 5 which is supported to the shaft, and a circular rim 42 to which radial ends of the propeller blades are attached; wherein:
at least one gas inlet 21 is arranged to open onto the edges of the rim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Weber with the gas inlets (with or without rim extensions 43, 431) discharging onto the propeller rim as taught by Jensen in order to reduce cavitation and noise effects off the propeller. As modified, the gas inlets are arranged to open into the slot.
Regarding claim 2, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Weber also teaches that a space is arranged radially between a bottom of the circumferential slot and outer surface of the rim, and (as modified) the at least one gas inlet is arranged to open into the space.
Regarding claim 3, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen also teaches that the at least one gas inlet 21 is arranged to open into the space at its lowermost position. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the inlets at the bottom or any/all points in order to eliminate the most cavitation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Weber also teaches that the circumferential slot (between 36 and 34) is formed to the body by a radially inwardly extending circumferential projection (the portion of the duct around the slot) forming the side walls of the circumferential slot.
Regarding claim 5, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Weber also teaches that the circumferential projection comprises: a first fairing at a first side of the propeller and a second fairing at a second side of the propeller having the circumferential slot between the fairings. In this case, any transitional feature of the slot can be considered the fairing.
Regarding claim 6, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Weber does not teach the particular recited shape, however it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the protrusion/duct slanted or of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient in order to obtain the desired flow characteristics. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.Regarding claim 7, Cho and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen also teaches at least one gas inlet arranged to open into the slot. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 7, Dubois and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen also teaches at least one gas inlet arranged to open into the slot. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not explicitly teach more than four gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 10, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not explicitly teach more than 12 gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add multiple gas inlets in order to increase the effectiveness of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Jensen does not teach that the gas inlets are evenly distributed having an angle of 5-30 degrees between the gas inlets, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the inlets at an even spacing of 5-30 degrees, or whatever the number of inlets dictates, in order to obtain a consistent effect, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 12, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Weber also teaches that the propeller 20 is provided with a rim drive 14, 16, 18.
Regarding claim 16, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Weber also teaches that the propeller shaft 38 is a non-driven shaft.
Regarding claim 17, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Weber also teaches that the slot (between 36 and 34) is formed to the duct 24 as an indent from a level of the inner wall of the duct.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber US 3,361,107 in view of Jensen WO 2013/079584 and Angel US 7,575,490.
Regarding claim 9, Weber and Jensen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jensen does not teach a circumferentially extending gas plenum in connection with the body provided with a plurality of substantially evenly distributed gas inlets arranged to open into the slot. Angel teaches a propulsion assembly for a marine vehicle comprising:
a body including a duct 16 having a longitudinal axis, and a first end and a second end;
a support structure for a propeller including a propeller shaft at a center line of the duct;
a propeller 18, positioned into the duct and being attached to the propeller shaft, wherein the propeller includes at least three blades and a boss which is supported to the shaft; wherein:
at least one gas inlet 12d is arranged to open onto the edges of the rim; and
a circumferentially extending gas plenum 12 in connection with the body provided with a plurality of substantially evenly distributed gas inlets 12d.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the propulsion unit of Weber and Jensen by with a gas distribution plenum as taught by Angel in order to evenly distribute gas around the duct and increase effectiveness of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Weber, Jensen and Angel teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 9. As taught, the gas plenum 12 circumscribes the duct.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that “Scott-Scott's platform 38 is not attached to radial ends of its blades 36, 40” (page 9). This is not found persuasive as Scott-Scott teaches “The rotor has blades 34 which extend across the duct 24 and further driving blades 36 which are mounted on a platform 38 secured to the tips of the blades 34” (column 2, lines 30-33).
The applicant argues that “the gas passage 44 does not act as a circumferential slot and the nozzle guide vanes do not act as gas inlets” (page 10). The examiner disagrees, as 44 is a recessed feature around the inside of the duct (a slot) in which the rim of the propeller travels, and the guide vanes 42 are where gas is introduced (an inlet).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “Scott-Scott would have to discuss structural features to maintain a layer of air between its features identified as 36 and 12,” page 10) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims do not necessitate a “layer of air,” only that air in introduced.
Please also note that Scott-Scott teaches that air is introduced around the rim at the same pressure as the surrounding water (column 2, lines 49-51), meaning that there would be some degree of air cushion.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the applicant individually refers to Cho, Dubois and Weber, citing each as failing to teach an air gap about the propeller. Again noting that no air gap is required by the claims, the examiner responds that these base references are relied on for the teaching of a ducted propeller. Jensen is relied on for the teaching that air can be introduced to the rim of a ducted propeller to counteract cavitation effects. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand how this would benefit the rotors of Cho, Dubois and Weber.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Jensen teaches that air can be introduced to the rim of a ducted propeller to counteract cavitation effects. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand how this would benefit the rotors of Cho, Dubois and Weber.
In response to applicant’s argument that Dubois’s strip 28 is not a slot (page 12), the examiner clarifies that the slot was mapped to the space within strip 28.
In response to applicant’s argument that “Neither bearing surface 34 or 36 is a circumferential slot” (page 13), the examiner clarifies that the slot was mapped to the “space between 34 and 36.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615