DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-12, 15-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-12, 15-18, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limp et al. (US Pub. 2017/0347143) in view of Cho (US Pub. 2017/0336955), herein referenced as Limp and Cho, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Limp discloses “A media content favoriting method, comprising: playing first media content by a playing control … ([0016], [0029], Figs. 1, 3, 7, i.e., users select movie content to be displayed on any appropriate devices capable of receiving and presenting content to a user);
displaying a media content favoriting control which comprises a first input area and a media information display area of second media content, in a case where the first media content is played between a first time point and a second time point by the playing control, the second media content corresponding to a first segment between the first time point of the first media content and the second time point of the first media content, a duration of the first segment being less than a duration of the first media content; the second media content is first audio content corresponding to a first video segment, and the first input area being for triggering a favoriting operation of the second media content; and performing the favoriting operation on the second media content in response to detecting an input signal from the first input area.” ([0028]-[0029], [0043], Figs. 1, 3, 7, i.e. music 304 is playing in the background of a scene of a program being watched by a user and a notification 306 is displayed over the media content indicating the name and artist. The user might be able to perform an action with respect to the notification, such as adding the song to an account or playlist of the user. Similarly, a notification 706 is displayed that provides to a viewer information about a song playing in the background. A first icon 708 indicates to the user that the user can save information for the notification. Various other options exist as well, such as to add the song to a wishlist or playlist. In other words, the system provides the user a way to add songs playing in the background of a scene to a wishlist or playlist (i.e., “favoriting operation”) using on screen icons).
Limp teaches playing selected movie content, however fails to explicitly disclose a playing control in an interactive interface.
Cho teaches the technique of providing a playing control in an interactive interface ([0090], [0144]-[0146], [0155], Figs. 10, 16, i.e., displaying multimedia content in video mode with a progressive bar). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a playing control in an interactive interface as taught by Cho, to improve the supplemental content with active media system of Limp for the predictable result of providing on-screen visual control for controlling media playback.
Regarding claim 2, Limp discloses “wherein: the first media content comprises first video media content, and the first segment comprises a first video segment of the first video media content.” ([0028], Figs. 1, 3, 7, i.e., displaying a scene of a program).
Regarding claim 3, Limp fails to disclose “wherein the media content favoriting control further comprises a second input area, and the media content favoriting method further comprises: after playing the first media content by the playing control, playing the first media content by the playing control from the first time point in response to detecting an input signal from the second input area.”
Cho teaches the technique of providing wherein the media content favoriting control further comprises a second input area, and the media content favoriting method further comprises: after playing the first media content by the playing control, playing the first media content by the playing control from the first time point in response to detecting an input signal from the second input area ([0224]-[0228], Figs. 10, 16, 22, 26-27, i.e., when a user selects any one of the key scenes in the SC window, a playback time point of the video data may be shifted to an EV time of the selected key scene). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the media content favoriting control further comprises a second input area, and the media content favoriting method further comprises: after playing the first media content by the playing control, playing the first media content by the playing control from the first time point in response to detecting an input signal from the second input area as taught by Cho, to improve the supplemental content with active media system of Limp for the predictable result of providing the viewer the convenience of selecting different playback points without having to manually search the media content.
Regarding claim 4, Limp fails to disclose “determining a playing time point at which the first media content is played by the playing control in response to detecting an input signal from the second input area; and after playing the first media content by the playing control from the first time point, displaying a cancel control in the playing control, and playing the first media content from the playing time point by the playing control in response to detecting a triggering operation on the cancel control.”
Cho teaches the technique of determining a playing time point at which the first media content is played by the playing control in response to detecting an input signal from the second input area ([0224]-[0228], Figs. 10, 16, 22, 26-27, i.e., when a user selects any one of the key scenes in the SC window, a playback time point of the video data may be shifted to an EV time of the selected key scene. Further still, the progress bar displays the current playing time point); and after playing the first media content by the playing control from the first time point, displaying a cancel control in the playing control, and playing the first media content from the playing time point by the playing control in response to detecting a triggering operation on the cancel control ([0155], [0252], Figs. 10, 16, 22, 26-27, i.e., viewers are provided various user inputs such as pause and stop).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of determining a playing time point at which the first media content is played by the playing control in response to detecting an input signal from the second input area; and after playing the first media content by the playing control from the first time point, displaying a cancel control in the playing control, and playing the first media content from the playing time point by the playing control in response to detecting a triggering operation on the cancel control as taught by Cho, to improve the supplemental content with active media system of Limp for the predictable result of providing the viewer the convenience of selecting different playback points without having to manually search the media content.
Regarding claim 7, Limp discloses “… the media content favoriting method further comprises: after playing the first media content by the playing control, displaying a set of media information comprising media information of the second media content in response to detecting an input signal ...” ([0017], [0028]-[0029], [0036], Figs. 3, 5, i.e., supplemental content 506 related to video content 504 is displayed in response to a user selection).
Limp fails to explicitly disclose wherein the media content favoriting control further comprises a third input area.
Cho teaches the technique of providing wherein the media content favoriting control further comprises a third input area ([0205]-[0206], Figs. 20-21, i.e., when a user selects the second text section while the first key section and all of the text sections are being displayed as shown in FIG. 20, the second key scene may be displayed as shown in FIG. 21). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the media content favoriting control further comprises a third input area as taught by Cho, to improve the supplemental content with active media system of Limp for the predictable result of providing additional areas for interactivity thereby enhancing the viewing experience.
Regarding claim 8, Limp discloses “after displaying the set of the media information, performing a favoriting operation on third media content in the set of the media information in response to detecting a favoriting operation on the third media content, the third media content corresponding to a second segment between a third time point of the first media content and a fourth time point of the first media content.” ([0017], [0028]-[0029], [0036], Figs. 3, 5, i.e., supplemental content 506 related to video content 504 is displayed in response to a user selection. The user is provided the option to “Buy it” (favoriting operation) to purchase media content. It is noted that the supplemental content changes based on different scenes occurring in the video content).
Regarding claim 9, Limp fails to disclose “playing the first media content from the third time point by the playing control in response to detecting a play operation on the third media content in the set of the media information, and determining a playing time point of the first media content by the playing control; and after playing the first media content from the third time point, displaying a cancel control in the playing control and playing the first media content from the playing time point by the playing control in response to detecting a triggering operation on the cancel control.”
Cho teaches the technique of playing the first media content from the third time point by the playing control in response to detecting a play operation on the third media content in the set of the media information, and determining a playing time point of the first media content by the playing control ([0224]-[0228], Figs. 10, 16, 22, 26-27, i.e., when a user selects any one of the key scenes in the SC window, a playback time point of the video data may be shifted to an EV time of the selected key scene. Further still, the progress bar displays the current playing time point); and after playing the first media content from the third time point, displaying a cancel control in the playing control and playing the first media content from the playing time point by the playing control in response to detecting a triggering operation on the cancel control ([0155], [0252], Figs. 10, 16, 22, 26-27, i.e., viewers are provided various user inputs such as pause and stop).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of playing the first media content from the third time point by the playing control in response to detecting a play operation on the third media content in the set of the media information, and determining a playing time point of the first media content by the playing control; and after playing the first media content from the third time point, displaying a cancel control in the playing control and playing the first media content from the playing time point by the playing control in response to detecting a triggering operation on the cancel control as taught by Cho, to improve the supplemental content with active media system of Limp for the predictable result of providing the viewer the convenience of shifting different playback points without having to manually search the media content.
Regarding claim 11, Limp discloses “An electronic device, comprising: a memory configured to store computer readable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the computer-readable instructions to cause the electronic device ([0054], [0061], Fig. 9) to implement a media content favoriting method comprising: playing first media content by a playing control… ([0016], [0029], Figs. 1, 3, 7, i.e., users select movie content to be displayed on any appropriate devices capable of receiving and presenting content to a user);
displaying a media content favoriting control which comprises a first input area and a media information display area of second media content in a case where the first media content is played between a first time point and a second time point by the playing control, the second media content corresponding to a first segment between the first time point of the first media content and the second time point of the first media content, a duration of the first segment being less than a duration of the first media content, the second media content is first audio content corresponding to a first video segment, and the first input area being for triggering a favoriting operation of the second media content; and performing the favoriting operation on the second media content in response to detecting an input signal from the first input area.” ([0028]-[0029], [0043], Figs. 1, 3, 7, i.e. music 304 is playing in the background of a scene of a program being watched by a user and a notification 306 is displayed over the media content indicating the name and artist. The user might be able to perform an action with respect to the notification, such as adding the song to an account or playlist of the user. Similarly, a notification 706 is displayed that provides to a viewer information about a song playing in the background. A first icon 708 indicates to the user that the user can save information for the notification. Various other options exist as well, such as to add the song to a wishlist or playlist. In other words, the system provides the user a way to add songs playing in the background of a scene to a wishlist or playlist (i.e., “favoriting operation”) using on screen icons).
Limp teaches playing selected movie content, however fails to explicitly disclose a playing control in an interactive interface.
Cho teaches the technique of providing a playing control in an interactive interface ([0090], [0144]-[0146], [0155], Figs. 10, 16, i.e., displaying multimedia content in video mode with a progressive bar). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a playing control in an interactive interface as taught by Cho, to improve the supplemental content with active media system of Limp for the predictable result of providing on-screen visual control for controlling media playback.
Regarding claim 12, Limp discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a computer ([0054], [0061], Fig. 9), cause the computer to implement the media content favoriting method comprising:
playing first media content by a playing control … ([0016], [0029], Figs. 1, 3, 7, i.e., users select movie content to be displayed on any appropriate devices capable of receiving and presenting content to a user);
displaying a media content favoriting control which comprises a first input area and a media information display area of second media content, the second media content corresponding to a first segment between a first time point of the first media content and a second time point of the first media content, a duration of the first segment being less than a duration of the first media content, the second media content comprising the first video segment or first audio content corresponding to the first video segment, and the first input area being for triggering a favoriting operation of the second media content; and performing the favoriting operation on the second media content in response to detecting an input signal from the first input area.” ([0028]-[0029], [0043], Figs. 1, 3, 7, i.e. music 304 is playing in the background of a scene of a program being watched by a user and a notification 306 is displayed over the media content indicating the name and artist. The user might be able to perform an action with respect to the notification, such as adding the song to an account or playlist of the user. Similarly, a notification 706 is displayed that provides to a viewer information about a song playing in the background. A first icon 708 indicates to the user that the user can save information for the notification. Various other options exist as well, such as to add the song to a wishlist or playlist. In other words, the system provides the user a way to add songs playing in the background of a scene to a wishlist or playlist (i.e., “favoriting operation”) using on screen icons).
Limp teaches playing selected movie content, however fails to explicitly disclose a playing control in an interactive interface.
Cho teaches the technique of providing a playing control in an interactive interface ([0090], [0144]-[0146], [0155], Figs. 10, 16, i.e., displaying multimedia content in video mode with a progressive bar). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a playing control in an interactive interface as taught by Cho, to improve the supplemental content with active media system of Limp for the predictable result of providing on-screen visual control for controlling media playback.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, Limp discloses “wherein the processor is configured to: display the media content favoriting control in a case where the first media content is played between the first time point and the second time point by the playing control.” ([0028]-[0029], [0043], Figs. 1, 3, 7, i.e. music 304 is playing in the background of a scene of a program being watched by a user and a notification 306 is displayed over the media content indicating the name and artist. The user might be able to perform an action with respect to the notification, such as adding the song to an account or playlist of the user. Similarly, a notification 706 is displayed that provides to a viewer information about a song playing in the background. A first icon 708 indicates to the user that the user can save information for the notification. Various other options exist as well, such as to add the song to a wishlist or playlist. In other words, the system provides the user a way to add songs playing in the background of a scene to a wishlist or playlist (i.e., “favoriting operation”) using on screen icons).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Claims 6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limp in view of Cho and in further view of Li (US Pub. 2014/0075310), herein referenced as Li.
Regarding claim 6, Limp discloses “prompting that the second media content is added into favorites through a dynamic effect in response to detecting the input signal from the first input area…” ([0043], Fig. 7, i.e., adding the song to a wishlist or playlist using the user's hand 710 or fingertip to make a motion that pushes or drags the notification towards the appropriate icon to save or delete the notification).
The combination fails to disclose prohibiting the second media content from being played completely when the first media content is played before the second time point by the playing control.
Li teaches the technique of prohibiting the second media content from being played completely when the first media content is played before the second time point by the playing control ([0026], Figs. 1-4, i.e., the user may “drag" the indicator 130 to various locations along the scroll bar 120. If for instance, the user drags the indicator to a time point prior to the end of the user-excerpt but after the beginning of the excerpt, the excerpt would be prohibited from playing completely). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique prohibiting the second media content from being played completely when the first media content is played before the second time point by the playing control as taught by Li, to improve the supplemental content with active media system of Limp for the predictable result of adding the excerpt to their favorite excerpt listing and also permitting the user to select their desired playback position.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 December 30, 2025