DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 27 May 2026, has been entered and carefully considered.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are amended.
Claims 2, 10, 15 and 16 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-14 and 17-23 are currently pending.
The outstanding objection to Claim 19 is withdrawn.
The outstanding rejection of Claims 1, 3-9, 11-14 and 17-23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to Claims 1, 9 and 17.
The outstanding rejection of Claims 1, 3-9, 11-14 and 17-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to Claims 1, 9, and 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5 June 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0361122), in view of Lei et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20220104109), hereinafter Lei.
Regarding Claim 17, Zheng discloses a terminal (Figure 17 – terminal device), comprising:
a processor (Figure 17 – processor 1702); and
a memory configured to store a processor-executable instruction (Figure 17 – memory 1703; paragraph 0287 – the memory stores instructions for execution by the processor); wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a first initial bandwidth part (BWP) pair (paragraph 0186 – an initial BWP incudes an initial uplink BWP and an initial downlink BWP (i.e., pair));
wherein the first initial BWP pair comprises a first initial uplink BWP and a first initial downlink BWP (paragraph 0186 – an initial BWP includes an initial uplink BWP and an initial downlink BWP (i.e., pair)); and
wherein a capability of the first type of terminal is lower than a capability of a second type of terminal (paragraph 0139 – a first-type terminal is an NR-light terminal device which is also referred to as a NR REDCAP device and the second type terminal is a non-NR-light terminal device (i.e., non-REDCAP)), and the second type of terminal corresponds to a second initial downlink BWP (paragraph 0262 and Figure 12 – the second-type corresponds to a frequency resource of a second initial downlink BWP).
However, Zheng does not disclose bandwidths of the first initial uplink BWP and the first initial downlink BWP of the first initial BWP pair are less than or equal to a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is determined according to a bandwidth supported by a first type of terminal or wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor a second type of information in the second initial downlink BWP; and during a process of accessing a network, determine configuration information of the first initial BWP pair based on the second type of information. In an analogous art, Lei discloses this. Specifically, Lei discloses at Figure 4 and paragraphs 0211-0217 that the bandwidth of the initial BWP pair (420 and 425) is less than the carrier bandwidth 405 and does not exceed an expected maximum bandwidth capability supported by reduced capability UEs. Further, the respective BWPs can be configured via control information, where each of the respective BWPs of the resource configuration are included within a carrier bandwidth of the respective network or serving cell (paragraph 0212) during an initial access procedure (paragraphs 0216-0217). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng and Lei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow reduced capability UEs to receive master information blocks and system information blocks (refer to paragraph 0004 of Lei).
Claim 1 is directed to a method (performed by a terminal) comprising the same steps as the terminal of Claim 17. Therefore, Claim 1 is rejected for the same reasoning as applied to Claim 17.
Claim 18 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the BWP configuration method according to claim 1. As presented above, the combination of Zheng and Lei discloses the method of Claim 1 (as performed by the terminal in Claim 17) and further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Zheng at Figure 17 – memory 1703; paragraph 0287 – the memory stores instructions for execution by the processor).
Regarding Claim 9, Zheng discloses a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration method, performed by a network device (Figures 1 and 2 – terminal devices communicate with a network device; paragraph 0262 – the network device configures BWPs for a terminal device) and comprising:
determining a first initial BWP pair (paragraph 0186 – an initial BWP incudes an initial uplink BWP and an initial downlink BWP (i.e., pair));
wherein the first initial BWP pair comprises a first initial uplink BWP and a first initial downlink BWP (paragraph 0186 – an initial BWP includes an initial uplink BWP and an initial downlink BWP (i.e., pair)); and
wherein a capability of the first type of terminal is lower than a capability of a second type of terminal (paragraph 0139 – a first-type terminal is an NR-light terminal device which is also referred to as a NR REDCAP device and the second type terminal is a non-NR-light terminal device (i.e., non-REDCAP)), and the second type of terminal corresponds to a second initial downlink BWP (paragraph 0262 and Figure 12 – the second-type corresponds to a frequency resource of a second initial downlink BWP) and;
However, Zheng does not disclose bandwidths of the first initial uplink BWP and the first initial downlink BWP of the first initial BWP pair are less than or equal to a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is determined according to a bandwidth supported by the first terminal or the second initial downlink BWP is configured to carry a second type of information which is configured to be monitored by a terminal and configured for the terminal to determine configuration information of the first initial BWP pair. In an analogous art, Lei discloses this. Specifically, Lei discloses at Figure 4 and paragraphs 0211-0217 that the bandwidth of the initial BWP pair (420 and 425) is less than the carrier bandwidth 405 and does not exceed an expected maximum bandwidth capability supported by reduced capability UEs. Further, the respective BWPs can be configured via control information, where each of the respective BWPs of the resource configuration are included within a carrier bandwidth of the respective network or serving cell (paragraph 0212) during an initial access procedure (paragraphs 0216-0217). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng and Lei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow reduced capability UEs to receive master information blocks and system information blocks (refer to paragraph 0004 of Lei).
Regarding Claim 19, Zheng discloses a network device (Figures 1 and 2 – terminal devices communicate with a network device), comprising:
a processor (the Office submits that the network devices shown in Figures 1 and 2 inherently comprise a processor); and
a memory configured to store a processor-executable instruction (the Office submits that the network devices shown in Figures 1 and 2 inherently comprise a memory storing processor-executable instructions); wherein the processor is configured to perform the BWP configuration method according to claim 9 (the combination of Zheng and Lei discloses the method of Claim 9 as presented above).
Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a network device, cause the network device to perform the BWP configuration method according to claim 9. As presented above, the combination of Zheng and Lei discloses the method of Claim 9 and further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Zheng at Figures 1 and 2 - the Office submits that the network devices shown in Figures 1 and 2 inherently comprise a memory storing processor-executable instructions).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Zheng and Lei further discloses in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal, determining to switch to a second initial BWP pair, and measuring a synchronization signal block (SSB) (paragraph 0217 of Lei - in cases where the SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP, the reduced-capability UE may switch to the initial downlink BWP to measure the SSB). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Zheng and Lei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow reduced capability UEs to receive master information blocks and system information blocks (refer to paragraph 0004 of Lei).
Claims 3, 4, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng and Lee, as applied to Claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Rastegardoost et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0210806), hereinafter Rastegardoost.
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, the combination of Zheng and Lei disclose the limitations of Claims 1 and 9, as described above. However, the aforementioned references do not disclose the first initial uplink BWP is configured to carry information corresponding to the first type of terminal, the information being at least one of: first physical random access channel (RPACH) information, a first uplink data transmission, or first uplink control information. In an analogous art, Rastegardoost discloses this. Specifically, Rastegardoost discloses at paragraph 0274 –Identification of RedCap UEs may be done during Msg1 (PRACH) transmission. The options may comprise separate initial UL BWP, and/or separate PRACH resources, and/or PRACH preamble partitioning. The Office notes that claim language a first uplink data transmission, or first uplink control information are claimed in the alternative to the PRACH information and are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Zheng/Lei and Rastegardoost. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for differentiated parameters and treatment between RedCap and legacy UEs and maintain system performance (see paragraphs 0273-0274 of Rastegardoost).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, the combination of Zheng and Lei disclose the limitations of Claims 1 and 9, as described above. However, the aforementioned references do not disclose the second initial uplink BWP is configured to carry information corresponding to the second type of terminal, the information being at least one of: second RPACH information, a second uplink data transmission, or second uplink control information. In an analogous art, Rastegardoost discloses this. Specifically, Rastegardoost discloses, at paragraph 0273, – legacy UE PRACH transmissions. The Office notes that claim language a second uplink data transmission, or second uplink control information are claimed in the alternative to the PRACH information and are not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Zheng/Lei and Rastegardoost. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for differentiated parameters and treatment between RedCap and legacy UEs and maintain system performance (see paragraphs 0273-0274 of Rastegardoost).
Claims 5-7, 13, 14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng and Lei, as applied to Claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Orsino et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0119898), hereinafter Orsino.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Zheng and Lei discloses the limitations of Claim 1, as described above. Zheng further discloses in response to the terminal being a first type of terminal (Figure 12 and paragraphs 0139 – a first-type terminal is an NR-light terminal device which is also referred to as a NR REDCAP device), monitoring … the first initial downlink BWP (Figure 12 and paragraph 0262 – monitoring the first initial BWP for configuration information), the second type of information is a system message (paragraph 0125 – the terminal device reads system information included in system information blocks). However, the aforementioned references do not disclose the first type of information is a random access message corresponding to the first type of terminal. In an analogous art, Orsino discloses this. Specifically, Orsino discloses an idle/inactive UE can perform random access in an initial UL/DL BWP (paragraph 0045). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng / Lei and Orsino. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve device power and reduce unnecessary control signaling (paragraphs 0006 and 0015 of Orsino).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Zheng, Lei and Orsino further discloses in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal, during a process of accessing a network, performing at least one of a random access or a radio resource control (RRC) connection in the first initial BWP pair based on the configuration information of the first initial BWP pair (Orsino at paragraphs 0042-0043 – BWPs can be configured in RRC connected state). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine further combine Zheng / Lei and Orsino. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve device power and reduce unnecessary control signaling (paragraphs 0006 and 0015 of Orsino).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Zheng and Lei discloses the limitations of Claim 1, as described above. However, the aforementioned references do not disclose in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal and the first type of terminal being in an idle state, monitoring a paging message based on the second initial downlink BWP. In an analogous art, Orsino discloses this. Specifically, Orsino discloses an idle/inactive UE can monitor for system information and paging information in an initial DL BWP (paragraph 0044). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng / Lei and Orsino. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve device power and reduce unnecessary control signaling (paragraphs 0006 and 0015 of Orsino).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Zheng and Lei discloses the limitations of Claim 9, as described above. Zheng further discloses the first initial downlink BWP is configured to carry at least one of a first type of information or a second type of information (Figure 12 and paragraph 0262 – monitoring the first initial BWP for configuration information); and the second type of information is a system message (paragraph 0125 – the terminal device reads system information included in system information blocks). However, the aforementioned references do not disclose the first type of information is a random access message corresponding to the first type of terminal. In an analogous art, Orsino discloses this. Specifically, Orsino discloses an idle/inactive UE can perform random access in an initial UL/DL BWP (paragraph 0045). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng / Lei and Orsino. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve device power and reduce unnecessary control signaling (paragraphs 0006 and 0015 of Orsino).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Zheng and Lei discloses the limitations of Claim 9, as described above. However, the aforementioned references do not disclose sending a paging message based on the second initial downlink BWP. In an analogous art, Orsino discloses this. Specifically, Orsino discloses an idle/inactive UE can monitor for system information and paging information in an initial DL BWP (paragraph 0044). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng / Lei and Orsino. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve device power and reduce unnecessary control signaling (paragraphs 0006 and 0015 of Orsino).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Zheng, Lei and Orsino further discloses in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal and the first type of terminal being in an idle state, monitoring a paging message based on the second initial downlink BWP (Orsino paragraph 0044 - an idle/inactive UE can monitor for system information and paging information in an initial DL BWP). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Zheng / Lei and Orsino. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve device power and reduce unnecessary control signaling (paragraphs 0006 and 0015 of Orsino).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Zheng, Lei and Orsino further discloses in response to the terminal being a first type of terminal, determining to switch to a second initial BWP pair, and measuring a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Lei at paragraph 0217 - in cases where the SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP, the reduced-capability UE may switch to the initial downlink BWP to measure the SSB). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng with Lei. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow reduced capability UEs to receive master information blocks and system information blocks (refer to paragraph 0004 of Lei).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Zheng, Lei, and Orsino further discloses sending a paging message based on the second initial downlink BWP (Orsino at paragraph 0044 - an idle/inactive UE can monitor for system information and paging information in an initial DL BWP). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Zheng / Lei and Orsino. One would have been motivated to do so in order to conserve device power and reduce unnecessary control signaling (paragraphs 0006 and 0015 of Orsino).
Conclusion
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472