Pursuant to communications filed on 09/12/2023, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits wherein claims 1-13 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2023; 11/01/2023; 12/19/2024 and 09/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns / lines numbers or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner has also cited references in PTO-892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
1. – a reserving section …In claims 1 and 4.
2. – a receiving part …In claim 1.
3. – a delivering part …In claim 1.
3. – a plurality of support members …In claims 1, 5-13.
3. – a transfer unit…In claim 1.
3. – an abnormality-managing unit …In claims 1-3, 5-11, 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Must et al (US 20200361711 - From IDS - “Must”) in view of Clancy et al (WO 2020/221767 - From IDS – “Clancy”).
Regarding claim 1, Must discloses a pickup and delivery or selling apparatus that is transportable (e.g., Automated Outdoor Terminal For Storage And Handover Of Online Orders And A Method To Operate The Terminal- see figures 1-4), the apparatus comprising:
a reserving section in which an article can be reserved (e.g., see the space between the shelf posts 403 that serve as storage for totes 100 as shown in figure 7);
a receiving part in which the article to be reserved in the reserving section is received (e.g., see figs 3A-3B: user console 600 comprising at least an input device for receiving an input from a user for loading or retrieving one or more grocery orders – see [0022, 0045]);
a delivering part in which the article is delivered (e.g., see figs 3A-3B: user console 600 comprising at least an input device for receiving an input from a user for loading or retrieving one or more grocery orders – see [0022, 0045]);
a plurality of support members each used for supporting the article in the reserving section (see fig. 7: totes 100; see [0067] disclosing the automated grocery terminal uses standard grocery totes 100 to store goods inside the terminal. In certain embodiments, the totes may come in different sizes preferably based on their depth, but also the length may differ. According to a preferred embodiment, to accommodate totes with different lengths different sized tote frames may be used. The frame may also be adjustable for different sized totes. The frame is also called here receptacle.);
a transfer unit configured to transfer the support members each supporting the article between the reserving section and either the receiving part or the delivering part (e.g., see figure 4: loader 200, mast 400, bottom/top rail 402/504, etc. – see [0017, 0023-0024]; see also fig.9-11); and
Must teaches substantially the claimed invention, but does not expressly teach an abnormality-managing unit configured to perform a predetermined response to an abnormality occurring in the support members.
However, in the same field of endeavour or analogous art, Clancy teaches the claimed features implemented in a system where food products are handle, and further teaching the use of an abnormality-managing unit (e.g., cleaning unit 502) configured to perform a predetermined response to an abnormality occurring in the support members (e.g. containers 401 and bins 10) (see at least page 5- third paragraph; see page 6- second paragraph; page 23- second paragraph; and page 26- fourth paragraph – all these sections disclosing the contamination detection (i.e. abnormality) and then execution of the cleaning operation).
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Must to include the idea of an abnormality-managing unit configured to perform a predetermined response to an abnormality as taught by Clancy for the benefit of having the control unit comprising a determining unit arranged to determine whether the container is contaminated based on the received image and a commanding unit arranged to, when the determining unit determines that the container is contaminated, direct the container to a cleaning unit.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Must in view of Clancy discloses as discussed in claim 1. Must is silent to disclose, (claim 2) wherein the abnormality-managing unit does not perform the predetermined response while a function of the pickup and delivery or selling is suspended in the pickup and delivery or selling apparatus. (claim 3) wherein the abnormality-managing unit does not perform the predetermined response while the pickup and delivery or selling apparatus is transported.
However, Clancy teaches at figure 3- step S303, if the control unit does not detect contamination, then the container may be direct to a filling unit in which new products may be placed in the container. Similarly, direction to the filling unit may be performed by the control unit controlling the conveying means, diverting means pushing means of the like. See motivation to combine as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Must in view of Clancy discloses as discussed in claim 1. Must further discloses wherein: the article is fruits and vegetables (e.g. frozen groceries and dairy products), pharmaceutical products, or processed foods (e.g. frozen groceries); and
the reserving section freezes or refrigerates the article for storage (see [0054] the terminal contains more than two zones, e.g. A, B and C. The at least two zones are separated from each other by insulated walls 501 and sliding doors 502. These temperature zones may be selected to be adjusted to anywhere from −18° C. to +15° C. According to some embodiments, temperature of one or more zones may also kept at ambient temperature. According to one preferred embodiment, one zone has a temperature adjusted to −18° C. for storage of frozen groceries and one zone has a temperature adjusted to +2° C. for storage of dairy products and such.).
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 10, Must in view of Clancy discloses as discussed in claim 1. Must is silent to disclose (claim 5) further comprising: an abnormality-detecting unit configured to detect the abnormality of the support members, the abnormality-managing unit performs the predetermined response to the support members having the abnormality detected by the abnormality-detecting unit. (claim 6) wherein the abnormality-managing unit includes a washing unit configured to wash the support members having the abnormality. (claim 10) wherein: the abnormality-detecting unit detects contamination of the support members; and the abnormality-managing unit washes the support members having the contamination detected by the abnormality-detecting unit or replaces the support members having the contamination detected by the abnormality-detecting unit with the support members without the abnormality.
However, Clancy teaches the control unit 100 is arranged to automatically detect contamination in the container 401 and direct the container to the cleaning unit 502 when required or permit the container 401 to continue to the filling unit 501. Therefore, the imaging unit 201 is arranged to image the container 401. The image of the container 401 is received by the control unit 100 which is arranged to determine whether the container 401 is contaminated. If the control unit 100 determines that the container 401 is not contaminated then the control unit 100 may be arranged to direct the container 401 to the filling unit 501 to be filled with products. However, if the container 401 is determined to be contaminated then the control unit 100 is arranged to direct the container 401 to the cleaning unit 502 to be cleaned. See motivation to combine as set forth above in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not disclose the combination of limitations found in Claims 7-9 and 11-13. The combination of the claimed limitations are novel and found to be allowable over the prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate or make obvious the Applicant's claimed invention. A hypothetical prior art rejection would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892.
/JAIME FIGUEROA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656