DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 3/26/2026, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-14, 17, 21 and 24 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 7 and 14 being independent. Claims 1, 4-7, 14 and 21 have been amended. Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 19, 20, 22, 23 have been cancelled. Claim 24 has been added. This Action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 4/28/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 35 USC 101 and the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of the claims made in the Non-Final Rejection dated 1/7/2026, applicant’s argument filed 3/26/2026 has been fully considered and is persuasive. These rejections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/26/2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
On page 14 of the arguments, the applicant argues that Rune does not concern causes of CHO or CPAC, rather it concerns causes of measurements.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As explained in the cited [0414], at least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change. In addition, [0150] explains events involving reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) trigger/cause execution of the conditional handover, and this paragraph has been added to the rejection for clarification purposes only, indicating conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event. Therefore, Rune teaches this limitation and the similar limitation found in the other independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Rune, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0318941), hereafter Rune.
*Note: The equivalent teachings from US Provisional application 63/062,319, to which US PG Publication 2023/0318941 has priority, are found in Pg. 55, lines 28-34 and Pg. 57, line 1 through Pg. 60, lines 1-15. Also, please note the claimed invention recites a number of embodiments and limitations in the alternative. An absence of specific art citations for any single limitation should be interpreted as an indication that said limitation has not been invoked, and not a comment on whether the limitation is taught by any reference of record.
Regarding claim 1, Rune teaches
a method for configuration, executed by a network-side device, comprising:
configuring a terminal to report related information of Conditional Handover (CHO) or Conditional Pscell Addition or Change (CPAC)
([0414] The method begins at step 2602 of FIG. 26A with determining configuration information indicating one or more QoE measurements to be performed by a wireless device. At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change); and
receive the related information of the CHO or CPAC reported by the terminal
([0414] The method begins at step 2602 of FIG. 26A with determining configuration information indicating one or more QoE measurements to be performed by a wireless device. At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0420] Turning to FIG. 26C, certain embodiments receive one or more QoE measurement reports from the wireless device at step 2612. The one or more QoE measurement reports are based on the one or more QoE measurements performed by the wireless device),
wherein the related information of the CHO or CPAC comprises one or more of:
an event triggering situation for configured CHO or CPAC, wherein a plurality of events are configured for the CHO or CPAC, and the event triggering situation for configured CHO or CPAC comprises one of:
the configured CHO or CPAC being not triggered;
only one event being triggered for the configured CHO or CPAC
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event));
one or multiple triggered events for the configured CHO or CPAC
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event)); or
whether one or multiple events for the configured CHO or CPAC are triggered
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event));
1 bit, or an identifier, ID, of a CHO candidate cell, wherein the 1 bit indicates that cell selection is performed after Radio Link Failure, RLF, or CHO failure occurs to the terminal and the CHO candidate cell is selected by performing the cell selection, and the ID of the CHO candidate cell is an ID of a CHO candidate cell that is selected by performing cell selection after RLF, or CHO failure occurs to the terminal;
an event triggering situation for the configured CPAC when the RLF occurs to the terminal in a Master Cell Group (MCG), wherein a plurality of events are configured for the CPAC, and the event triggering situation for the configured CPAC comprises one of:
the configured CPAC being not triggered;
only one event being triggered for the configured CPAC;
one or multiple triggered events for the configured CPAC; or
whether one or multiple events for the configured CPAC are triggered;
at least a running situation of a first timer or a number of Radio Link
Control (RLC) retransmissions when performing the CHO or CPAC or when the CHO or CPAC is successful.
Regarding claim 4, Rune teaches the method of claim 1,
further comprising:
performing at least the CHO configuration optimization or the RA configuration optimization according to the related information of the CHO and CPAC
([0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0421] At step 2614, the method uses the one or more QoE measurement reports received from the wireless device. For example, the one or more QoE measurement reports may be used for network configuration optimizations, and increased awareness of the users' experienced service quality. Certain embodiments further comprise applying the optimization information at the network node and/or sending the optimization information to be applied by the wireless device).
Regarding claim 6, Rune teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein receiving the related information of the CHO or CPAC reported by the terminal comprises:
sending a first request to the terminal
([0410] Certain embodiments send the one or more QoE measurement reports to the network according to a reporting format requested by the network);
receiving the related information of the CHO or CPAC reported by the terminal according to the first request
([0410] Certain embodiments send the one or more QoE measurement reports to the network according to a reporting format requested by the network
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change); or,
receiving the related information of the CHO or CPAC initiatively reported by the terminal
([0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0421] At step 2614, the method uses the one or more QoE measurement reports received from the wireless device); or,
receiving a notification message sent by the terminal, the notification message indicating that the terminal has the related information of the CHO or CPAC;
sending a second request to the terminal according to the notification message; and
receiving the related information of the CHO or CPAC reported by the terminal according to the second request.
Regarding claim 7, Rune teaches
a method for information reporting, executed by a terminal, comprising:
reporting related information of Conditional Handover (CHO) or Conditional Pscell Addition or Change (CPAC) to a network-side device
([0414] The method begins at step 2602 of FIG. 26A with determining configuration information indicating one or more QoE measurements to be performed by a wireless device. At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0416] Certain embodiments may send the wireless device information indicating a reporting format for the wireless device to use when sending one or more QoE measurement reports to the network, as shown in step 2606. The reporting information may be sent with the configuration information),
wherein the related information of the CHO or CPAC comprises one or more of:
an event triggering situation for configured CHO or CPAC, wherein a plurality of events are configured for the CHO or CPAC, and the event triggering situation for configured CHO or CPAC comprises one of:
the configured CHO or CPAC being not triggered;
only one event being triggered for the configured CHO or CPAC
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event));
one or multiple triggered events for the configured CHO or CPAC
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event)); or
whether one or multiple events for the configured CHO or CPAC are triggered
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event));
1 bit, or an identifier, ID, of a CHO candidate cell, wherein the 1 bit indicates that cell selection is performed after Radio Link Failure, RLF, or CHO failure occurs to the terminal and the CHO candidate cell is selected by performing the cell selection, and the ID of the CHO candidate cell is an ID of a CHO candidate cell that is selected by performing cell selection after RLF, or CHO failure occurs to the terminal;
an event triggering situation for the configured CPAC when the RLF occurs to the terminal in a Master Cell Group (MCG), wherein a plurality of events are configured for the CPAC, and the event triggering situation for the configured CPAC comprises one of:
the configured CPAC being not triggered;
only one event being triggered for the configured CPAC;
one or multiple triggered events for the configured CPAC; or
whether one or multiple events for the configured CPAC are triggered; and
at least a running situation of a first timer or a number of Radio Link
Control (RLC) retransmissions when performing the CHO or CPAC or when the CHO or CPAC is successful.
Regarding claim 10, Rune teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising:
acquiring configuration information of the network-side device, the configuration information configured to configure the terminal to report the related information of the CHO or CPAC
([0414] The method begins at step 2602 of FIG. 26A with determining configuration information indicating one or more QoE measurements to be performed by a wireless device. At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0416] Certain embodiments may send the wireless device information indicating a reporting format for the wireless device to use when sending one or more QoE measurement reports to the network, as shown in step 2606. The reporting information may be sent with the configuration information).
Regarding claim 11, Rune teaches the method of claim 7,
wherein the network-side device comprises one of:
a network management function,
a Trace Collection Entity (TCE)
([0266] The method may be performed by a network node, such as a gNB, eNB. O&M entity, MCE/TCE, or other network node. For example, in certain embodiments, processing circuitry 170 of network node 160 may be configured to perform the steps of the method. The method begins at step 2401 with sending configuration information to a wireless device), or
a base station
([0266] The method may be performed by a network node, such as a gNB, eNB. O&M entity, MCE/TCE, or other network node. For example, in certain embodiments, processing circuitry 170 of network node 160 may be configured to perform the steps of the method. The method begins at step 2401 with sending configuration information to a wireless device).
Regarding claim 13, Rune teaches the method of claim 7,
wherein reporting the related information of the CHO or CPAC to the network-side device comprises:
receiving a first request sent by the network-side device, and reporting the related information of the CHO or CPAC to the network-side device according to the first request
([0410] Certain embodiments send the one or more QoE measurement reports to the network according to a reporting format requested by the network
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change); or,
initiatively reporting the related information of the CHO or CPAC to the network-side device
([0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0421] At step 2614, the method uses the one or more QoE measurement reports received from the wireless device); or,
sending a notification message, the notification message indicating that the terminal has the related information of the CHO or CPAC, receiving a second request sent by the network-side device; and
reporting the related information of the CHO or CPAC to the network-side device according to the second request.
Regarding claim 14, Rune teaches
a network-side device
([0266] The method may be performed by a network node, such as a gNB, eNB. O&M entity, MCE/TCE, or other network node), comprising:
a processor
([0266] Processing circuitry 170 of network node 160 may be configured to perform the steps of the method);
a memory
([0267] memories); and
a program stored in the memory and executable by the processor
([0267] Processors, memories computer programs or instructions for carrying out respective tasks, procedures, computations, outputs, and/or displaying functions, and so on, as such as those that are described herein),
wherein the processor is configured to:
configure a terminal to report related information of Conditional Handover (CHO) or Conditional Pscell Addition or Change (CPAC)
([0414] The method begins at step 2602 of FIG. 26A with determining configuration information indicating one or more QoE measurements to be performed by a wireless device. At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0416] Certain embodiments may send the wireless device information indicating a reporting format for the wireless device to use when sending one or more QoE measurement reports to the network, as shown in step 2606. The reporting information may be sent with the configuration information
[0421] At step 2614, the method uses the one or more QoE measurement reports received from the wireless device. For example, the one or more QoE measurement reports may be used for network configuration optimizations, and increased awareness of the users' experienced service quality. Certain embodiments further comprise applying the optimization information at the network node and/or sending the optimization information to be applied by the wireless device); and
receive the related information of the CHO or CPAC reported by the terminal
([0414] The method begins at step 2602 of FIG. 26A with determining configuration information indicating one or more QoE measurements to be performed by a wireless device. At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0420] Turning to FIG. 26C, certain embodiments receive one or more QoE measurement reports from the wireless device at step 2612. The one or more QoE measurement reports are based on the one or more QoE measurements performed by the wireless device),
wherein the related information of the CHO or CPAC comprises one or more of:
an event triggering situation for configured CHO or CPAC, wherein a plurality of events are configured for the CHO or CPAC, and the event triggering situation for configured CHO or CPAC comprises one of:
the configured CHO or CPAC being not triggered;
only one event being triggered for the configured CHO or CPAC
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event));
one or multiple triggered events for the configured CHO or CPAC
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event)); or
whether one or multiple events for the configured CHO or CPAC are triggered
([0150] Triggering of the execution of the handover may e.g., involve, or consist of, reception of the Handover Command (i.e., the RRCReconfiguration message triggering handover execution) in the UE, or, in the case of a Conditional Handover, fulfillment of a handover execution condition
[0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
(Conditional Handover or PSCell change triggered by event));
1 bit, or an identifier, ID, of a CHO candidate cell, wherein the 1 bit indicates that cell selection is performed after Radio Link Failure, RLF, or CHO failure occurs to the terminal and the CHO candidate cell is selected by performing the cell selection, and the ID of the CHO candidate cell is an ID of a CHO candidate cell that is selected by performing cell selection after RLF, or CHO failure occurs to the terminal;
an event triggering situation for the configured CPAC when the RLF occurs to the terminal in a Master Cell Group (MCG), wherein a plurality of events are configured for the CPAC, and the event triggering situation for the configured CPAC comprises one of:
the configured CPAC being not triggered;
only one event being triggered for the configured CPAC;
one or multiple triggered events for the configured CPAC; or
whether one or multiple events for the configured CPAC are triggered; and
at least a running situation of a first timer or a number of Radio Link
Control (RLC) retransmissions when performing the CHO or CPAC or when the CHO or CPAC is successful.
Regarding claim 17, Rune teaches
a terminal, comprising: a processor; a memory; and a program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, the program implementing steps of the method of claim 7 when the program is executed by the processor
([0265] The method may be performed by a wireless device, such as wireless device 160 (e.g., UE 200) described above. For example, in certain embodiments, processing circuitry 120 (e.g., processor 201 in UE 200) may be configured to perform the steps of the method
[0267] Processors, memories computer programs or instructions for carrying out respective tasks, procedures, computations, outputs, and/or displaying functions, and so on, as such as those that are described herein).
Regarding claim 21, Rune teaches the network-side device of claim 14,
wherein the processor is further configured to:
perform at least the CHO configuration optimization or the RA configuration optimization according to the related information of the CHO and CPAC
([0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0421] At step 2614, the method uses the one or more QoE measurement reports received from the wireless device. For example, the one or more QoE measurement reports may be used for network configuration optimizations, and increased awareness of the users' experienced service quality. Certain embodiments further comprise applying the optimization information at the network node and/or sending the optimization information to be applied by the wireless device).
Regarding claim 24, Rune teaches the method of claim 7,
wherein the related information of the CHO or CPAC is used for the network device to perform at least CHO configuration optimization or RA configuration optimization
([0414] At least one of the one or more mobility events is one of Conditional Handover, PSCell change
[0421] At step 2614, the method uses the one or more QoE measurement reports received from the wireless device. For example, the one or more QoE measurement reports may be used for network configuration optimizations, and increased awareness of the users' experienced service quality. Certain embodiments further comprise applying the optimization information at the network node and/or sending the optimization information to be applied by the wireless device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rune, in view of Fang, et al (KR 20220143672 A), hereafter Fang.
Regarding claim 5, Rune teaches the method of claim 1.
Rune does not teach
wherein receiving the related information of the CHO or CPAC reported by the terminal comprises:
receiving an RRC reestablishment request message or a RLF report sent by the terminal in a connected state or in a process of changing to the connected state, the RRC reestablishment request message or the RLF report comprising the related information of the CHO or CPAC; or,
receiving a message A sent by the terminal in a process of performing two-step RA to the target cell, the message A comprising the related information of the CHO or CPAC.
In the same field of endeavor, Fang teaches
wherein receiving the related information of the CHO or CPAC reported by the terminal comprises:
receiving an RRC reestablishment request message or a RLF report sent by the terminal in a connected state or in a process of changing to the connected state, the RRC reestablishment request message or the RLF report comprising the related information of the CHO or CPAC; or,
receiving a message A sent by the terminal in a process of performing two-step RA to the target cell, the message A comprising the related information of the CHO or CPAC
(Pg. 9, line 27 Step 2: UE reports successful HO related information including HO type (e.g., CHO) and two-step RACH related information to the target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Rune, which includes network optimization, to include Fang’s teaching of network optimization, using two-step random access, for the benefit of performing corresponding optimization (e.g., for HO and/or RACH) according to handover related information (see Pg. 10, lines 32 and 33).
Regarding claim 12, Rune teaches the method of claim 7.
Rune does not teach
wherein reporting the related information of the CHO or CPAC to the network-
side device comprises:
sending an RRC reestablishment request message or a RLF report in a connected state or in a process of changing to the connected state, the RRC reestablishment request message or the RLF report comprising the related information of the CHO or CPAC; or,
sending a message A in a process of performing two-step RA to the target cell, the message A comprising the related information of the CHO or CPAC.
In the same field of endeavor, Fang teaches
wherein reporting the related information of the CHO or CPAC to the network-
side device comprises:
sending an RRC reestablishment request message or a RLF report in a connected state or in a process of changing to the connected state, the RRC reestablishment request message or the RLF report comprising the related information of the CHO or CPAC; or,
sending a message A in a process of performing two-step RA to the target cell, the message A comprising the related information of the CHO or CPAC
(Pg. 9, line 27 Step 2: UE reports successful HO related information including HO type (e.g., CHO) and two-step RACH related information to the target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Rune, which includes network optimization, to include Fang’s teaching of network optimization, using two-step random access, for the benefit of performing corresponding optimization (e.g., for HO and/or RACH) according to handover related information (see Pg. 10, lines 32 and 33).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang, et al (US PG Publication 20230078307), hereafter Zhang teaches mobility enhancements, based on receiving a conditional handover (CHO) configuration and a conditional primary secondary cell addition or change (CPAC) configuration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641