DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 9/12/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 5, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24, 30-34 and 36-39 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 3/27/2025 has been considered except where lined through.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 15-16, 19, 24, 32, 34 and 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US2023/0081426A1 (2023-03-16), claims priority to 63/080,548 filed on 2020-09-18).
Zhang et al. teach compounds having the general formula I:
(abstract). Specifically, Zhang et al. teach compounds including, but not limited to,
(P-0031),
(P-0034) and
(P-0047) which read on the instantly claimed compound of formula (1) as well as the 18th compound of claim 34 (see Table 1A). Moreover, Zhang et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula I and a pharmaceutical acceptable carrier, as well as, a method of treating a disease or condition medicated by KRAS such as pancreatic cancer, lung cancer and colorectal cancer (see at least claims 74-82 of Zhang).
Note: Although there is reference to specific compounds taught by Zhang above, the listing does not represent an exhaustive list as there are numerous compounds taught by Zhang which anticipate the claimed generic formula I.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 15-16, 1819, 24, 32-34 and 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (US2023/0242544A1 (2023-08-03), claims priority to PCT/CN2020/0099104 filed on 2020-06-30).
Dai et al. teach compounds having the general formula I:
(abstract). Specifically, Dai et al. teach specific compounds including, but not limited to,
(cmpd 68) and
(cmpd 109) which reads on the instantly claimed compound of formula (I) and a compound within claim 34 (see Table A). Moreover, Dai et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula I and a pharmaceutical acceptable carrier, as well as, a method of treating a disease or condition medicated by KRAS such as pancreatic cancer, lung cancer and gastric cancer (see at least claims 50-61 of Dai et al. ).
Note: Although there is reference to a specific compound taught by Dai et al. above, the listing does not represent an exhaustive list as there are numerous compounds taught by Dai et al. which anticipate the claimed generic formula I.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 30-31 and 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwai et al. (WO2021/107160A1, 2021-06-03, claims priority to JP2019-216165, 2019-11-29).
Kwai et al. teach a compound having the generic formula 1:
(abstract). Specifically, Kwai et al. teach specific compounds encompassed by formula 1 including, but not limited to,
(cmpd 14) and
(cmpd 15) which read on the instantly claimed compounds of general formula I (page 152). Moreover, Kwai et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula 1 and a pharmaceutical acceptable carrier, as well as, a method of treating a disease or condition medicated by KRAS such as pancreatic cancer, lung cancer and gastric cancer (see at least claims 38-39 and paragraphs 0221 and 0244 of Kwai et al. ).
Note: Although there is reference to a specific compound taught by Kwai et al. above, the listing does not represent an exhaustive list as there are numerous compounds taught by Kwai et al. which anticipate the claimed generic formula I.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24, 30-34 and 36-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, 11, 15-17, 20-23 and 25-28 of copending Application No. 18550237 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application, specifically the compound of general formula I:
substantially overlap with the compounds of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 5, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24, 30-34 and 36-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 14-15, 19, 28-29, 31-32 and 45-52 of copending Application No. 18450847 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application, specifically the compound of general formula I:
substantially overlaps with the compounds of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626