Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2023/0308141) (hereinafter Wang) in view of Astrom et al (US 2023/0246674) (hereinafter Astrom).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method performed by a base station for communicating with multiple user equipments (UEs) using an adaptive phase- changing device (APD) (see Wang, Fig. 7) the method comprising:
configuring (e.g., a reflection of the first device 03) for a wireless signal used to transmit a multi-UE communication to the multiple UEs (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0175], e.g., the communication between a base station 01 and three UEs 02, and p. [0176], e.g., the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UEs 02);
selecting a surface configuration for a surface of the APD (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., the plurality of reflection units in the first device 03 may be divided into three areas: S1, S2, and S3);
directing the APD to apply the surface configuration to the surface (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., the plurality of reflection units in the first device 03 may be divided into three areas: S1, S2, and S3. S1 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, S2 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02b, and S3 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02c); and
transmitting the wireless signal carrying the multi-UE communication towards the surface of the APD (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186-0187], e.g., the first device 03 may simultaneously reflect, in a same reflection time unit, the signals transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, between the base station 01 and the UE 02b, and between the base station 01 and the UE 02c).
However, Wang does not expressly disclose the method comprising: selecting a surface configuration for a surface of the APD that transforms an incident wireless signal into a reflected wireless signal with a spatially modified beam width relative to the incident wireless signal;
Astrom discloses the above recited limitations (see Astrom, Fig. 8, p. [0076], e.g., The controller 24 may sense a beam width of an incident signal and, knowing the physical extent of the reflective surface 20, send a number to the network node 18 indicating the maximum number of different beams that can be reflected at different angles by the reconfigurable reflective surface 20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Astrom’s teachings into Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide information that relates to the passive reconfigurable reflective surface capabilities to reflect incoming radio waves on one or more radio resources in different directions as suggested by Astrom.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 1, wherein selecting the surface configuration for the surface further comprises: receiving a unicast transmission from at least one UE of the multiple UEs using the surface of the APD and a unicast surface configuration for the surface (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0175-0176], e.g., the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is a); and selecting the surface configuration based on the unicast surface configuration (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., S1 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02a).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 2, wherein selecting the surface configuration based on the unicast surface configuration further comprises: identifying a first reflection angle at the APD surface when configured with the unicast surface configuration and selecting, as the surface configuration, a multi-UE- communication surface configuration that configures the APD surface with a second reflection angle that is within a threshold value of the first reflection angle; or deactivating one or more configurable surface elements used by the unicast surface configuration (see Astrom, p. [0074], e.g., the rIS 20 communicates its ability or inability to adapt to one or more configuration states).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 1,further comprising: selecting, as the multiple UEs, a group of UEs based on a respective UE-location of each UE in the multiple UEs (see Wang, p. [0176], e.g., location relationships between each UE 02 and the base station 01 are different, corresponding states are different when the reflection unit of the first device 03 reflects a signal for each UE 02. It is assumed that when the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is a; when the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02b, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is b; and when the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02c, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is c).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 1,wherein transmitting the wireless signal carrying the multi-UE communication further comprises: transmitting at least a first unicast transmission to a first UE of the multiple UEs (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0175-0176], e.g., the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is a) and a second unicast transmission to a second UE of the multiple UEs using the wireless signal (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., S1 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02a).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 1,wherein the surface configuration is a first surface configuration, the multiple UEs is a first group of UEs (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., the plurality of reflection units in the first device 03 may be divided into three areas: S1, S2, and S3; S1 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, S2 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02b); and the method further comprises: selecting a second surface configuration for a second group of UEs different from the first group of UEs based on apportioning access to the APD between the first group of UEs and the second group of UEs (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., the plurality of reflection units in the first device 03 may be divided into three areas: S1, S2, and S3; S3 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02c);
Regarding claim 8, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 7, wherein selecting the second surface configuration based on apportioning access to the APD further comprises: selecting the second surface configuration based on at least one of: time-partitioned access to the APD; or panel-partitioned access to the surface of the APD (see Astrom, p. [0073], e.g., a given rIS 20 installation may be partitioned into sub-spaces).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 1,wherein transmitting the wireless signal carrying the multi-UE communication further comprises: transmitting broadcast information, the transmitting the broadcast information including: transmitting one or more system information blocks, SIBs (see Astrom, p. [0077], e.g., Fig. 8, block S118, e.g., associating step i.e. determining cell ID of the network node 18, reading master information block (MIB)/system information block (SIB) information, etc.) ; transmitting an evolved multimedia broadcast multicast services (eMBMS) message; or transmitting a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) message; or transmitting paging information.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 1,wherein selecting the surface configuration further comprises selecting a beam-sweeping pattern that includes a set of surface configurations, and wherein directing the APD to apply the surface configuration to the surface further comprises: directing the APD to apply each surface configuration of the set of surface configurations to the surface in succession (see Wang, p. [0157], e.g., the adjustment information in the setting instruction may include a beam adjustment state, and the beam adjustment state may be related to a quantity of beams and a beam angle of a reflected signal of the first device, and p. [0337]).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 10, further comprising: selecting a repeat time-duration; and directing the APD to repeat the beam-sweeping pattern based on the repeat time-duration (see Wang, p. [0119], e.g., a first device with a strong processing capability, duration required for switching a state of the first device from the current state to the first state is very short (for example, the required duration is less than duration of one time unit), and p. [0122], e.g., the processing time unit is used to enable the first device to switch a state).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses an apparatus comprising: a processor; and computer-readable storage media comprising instructions, executable by the processor (see Wang, p. [0376], to direct the apparatus to;
configure a communication path to include an adaptive phase-changing device (APD) for a wireless signal used to transmit a multi-UE communication to multiple user equipments (UEs) (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0175], e.g., the communication between a base station 01 and three UEs 02, and p. [0176], e.g., the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UEs 02);
select a surface configuration for a surface of the APD (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., the plurality of reflection units in the first device 03 may be divided into three areas: S1, S2, and S3);
direct the APD to apply the surface configuration to the surface (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., the plurality of reflection units in the first device 03 may be divided into three areas: S1, S2, and S3. S1 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, S2 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02b, and S3 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02c); and
transmit the wireless signal carrying the multi-UE communication towards the surface of the APD (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186-0187], e.g., the first device 03 may simultaneously reflect, in a same reflection time unit, the signals transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, between the base station 01 and the UE 02b, and between the base station 01 and the UE 02c).
However, Wang does not expressly disclose the method comprising: select a surface configuration for a surface of the APD that transforms an incident wireless signal into a reflected wireless signal with a spatially modified beam width relative to the incident wireless signal.
Astrom discloses the above recited limitations (see Astrom, Fig. 8, p. [0076], e.g., The controller 24 may sense a beam width of an incident signal and, knowing the physical extent of the reflective surface 20, send a number to the network node 18 indicating the maximum number of different beams that can be reflected at different angles by the reconfigurable reflective surface 20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Astrom’s teachings into Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide information that relates to the passive reconfigurable reflective surface capabilities to reflect incoming radio waves on one or more radio resources in different directions as suggested by Astrom.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions to select the surface configuration for the surface are executable by the processor to direct the apparatus to: receive a unicast transmission from at least one UE of the multiple UEs using the surface of the APD and a unicast surface configuration for the surface (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0175-0176], e.g., the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is a); and select the surface configuration based on the unicast surface configuration (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., S1 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02a).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the instructions to select the surface configuration based on the unicast surface configuration are executable by the processor to direct the apparatus to: identify a first reflection angle at the APD surface when configured with the unicast surface configuration and select, as the surface configuration, a multi-UE- communication surface configuration that configures the APD surface with a second reflection angle that is within a threshold value of the first reflection angle; or deactivate one or more configurable surface elements used by the unicast surface configuration (see Astrom, p. [0074], e.g., the rIS 20 communicates its ability or inability to adapt to one or more configuration states).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to direct the apparatus to: select, as the multiple UEs, a group of UEs based on a respective UE-location of each UE in the multiple UEs (see Wang, p. [0176], e.g., location relationships between each UE 02 and the base station 01 are different, corresponding states are different when the reflection unit of the first device 03 reflects a signal for each UE 02. It is assumed that when the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is a; when the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02b, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is b; and when the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02c, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is c).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions to transmit the wireless signal carrying the multi-UE communication are executable by the processor to direct the apparatus to: transmit at least a first unicast transmission to a first UE of the multiple UEs (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0175-0176], e.g., the first device 03 reflects the signal transmitted between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, a state corresponding to the reflection unit is a) and a second unicast transmission to a second UE of the multiple UEs using the wireless signal (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., S1 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02a).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the surface configuration is a first surface configuration, the multiple UEs is a first group of UEs (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., the plurality of reflection units in the first device 03 may be divided into three areas: S1, S2, and S3; S1 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02a, S2 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02b), and the instructions are further executable by the processor to direct the apparatus to: select a second surface configuration for a second group of UEs different from the first group of UEs based on apportioning access to the APD between the first group of UEs and the second group of UEs (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0186], e.g., the plurality of reflection units in the first device 03 may be divided into three areas: S1, S2, and S3; S3 is used to reflect the signal between the base station 01 and the UE 02c).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom and further in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0201654) (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom do not expressly disclose the method as recited in claim 5, wherein transmitting at least the first unicast transmission and the second unicast transmission using the wireless signal further comprises: transmitting the first unicast transmission and the second unicast transmission using a same time slot for the first unicast transmission and the second unicast transmission, a first frequency allocation for the first unicast transmission, and a second frequency allocation for the second unicast transmission, wherein the first frequency allocation and the second frequency allocation are different.
Lee discloses the above recited limitations (see Lee, p. [0004], e.g., the WTRU has to transmit PSSCH/PSCCH and transmit/receive PSFCH in the same time slot, and p. [0146-0147], and [0177], e.g., A WTRU may transmit PSFCHs in different frequency allocations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s teachings into the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom. The suggestion/motivation would have been to adjust the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for a transmission to avoid a collision between the WTRU's PSSCH/PSCCH transmission and PSFCH transmission(s) from one or more other WTRUs as suggested by Lee.
Regarding claim 19, the combined teaching of Wang, Astrom and Lee disclose the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the instructions to transmit at least the first unicast transmission and the second unicast transmission using the wireless signal are executable by the processor to direct the apparatus to: transmit the first unicast transmission and the second unicast transmission using a same time slot for the first unicast transmission and the second unicast transmission, a first frequency allocation for the first unicast transmission, and a second frequency allocation for the second unicast transmission, wherein the first frequency allocation and the second frequency allocation are different (see Lee, p. [0004], e.g., the WTRU has to transmit PSSCH/PSCCH and transmit/receive PSFCH in the same time slot, and p. [0146-0147], and [0177], e.g., A WTRU may transmit PSFCHs in different frequency allocations).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom and further in view of Wong et al (US 2019/0173561) (hereinafter Wong).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom disclose the method as recited in claim 11, further comprising: directing the APD to apply and maintain a respective surface configuration of the set of surface configurations for a respective periods (see Wang, Fig. 7, p. [0177], e.g., the reflection time unit is a time unit A1, a time unit A2, and a time unit A3, and p. [0178-0180], e.g., the base station communicates with a UE1 in the time unit A1, a phase matrix of the first device is set to φ1).
However, the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom do not expressly disclose the method as recited in claim 11, further comprising: apportioning the repeat time-duration into multiple sub-periods.
Wong discloses the above recited limitations (see Wong, p. [0049], e.g., the common channels are beam swept over 4 different possible beam directions (angles), namely D1, D2, D3 and D4, and the beam position is changed over four consecutive time periods, T0, T1, T2 and T3 (the time periods T0, T1, T2 and T3 thus forming respective portions of a periodically repeating time duration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wong’s teachings into the combined teaching of Wang and Astrom. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce interference resulting from the use of beam sweeping in a network of cells as suggested by Wong.
Regarding claim 13, the combined teaching of Wang, Astrom and Wong disclose the method as recited in claim 12, wherein apportioning the repeat time-duration into multiple sub-periods further comprises: sharing at least one sub-period of the multiple sub-periods to a second base station (see Wong, p. [0049], e.g., the common channels are beam swept over 4 different possible beam directions (angles), namely D1, D2, D3 and D4, and the beam position is changed over four consecutive time periods, T0, T1, T2 and T3 (the time periods T0, T1, T2 and T3 thus forming respective portions of a periodically repeating time duration, and p. [0046-0048], e.g., The first and second portions of the periodically repeating time duration are set such that, for at least one of the first and second predetermined geographical regions, when the UE 400 is located within at least a portion of the at least one of the first and second predetermined geographical regions).
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477