DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2015/0232108 to Mosbach et al. in view of JP-08074900 (JP’900).
Re: claims 1, 5, 11, and 12. Mosbach et al. show in figure 5 brake disc for a railway vehicle, comprising: a disc body 4 or 5 that has a front or bottom surface and a back or top surface, the disc body being annular as shown in figure 4 and having a thickness as the disc body extends inward in a radial direction; and a plurality of fins 13 that are radially disposed on the back surface, at least
[AltContent: textbox (Convex portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
one of the fins 13 having a bolt hole 30 at a central portion of the fin in the radial direction as shown, wherein the disc body includes a plurality of projections 20 that are formed on a portion of the back surface as shown, the portion being positioned outward from the bolt hole in the radial direction as shown in figure 5, and the fins each include: a top surface that extends in the radial direction; and a convex portion, as labeled, that, as viewed in a section of the brake disc cut in the radial direction, protrudes inward in the radial direction from an imaginary plane passing an end portion of the top surface and an inner circumferential edge of the back surface, the end portion being one of both end portions of the top surface, whichever is positioned inward in the radial direction as shown, but is silent with regard to the thickness decreasing as the disc body extends inward in the radial direction.
JP’900 teaches in figure 14 the use of a brake disc having a body 11 in which the thickness decreases as the body extends inward in the radial direction as shown in the area of element 52.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disc body of Mosbach et al. to have decreased as the body extends inward in the radial direction, in view of the teachings of JP’900, in order to provide a means of reducing weight without sacrificing performance while resulting in less thermal stress to help reduce warping and/or cracking of the disc body.
Re: claims 2 and 6. Mosbach et al., as modified, teach in figure 4 of Mosbach et al., wherein the projections 20 are formed over the entire back surface.
Re: claims 3, 7, and 9. Mosbach et al., as modified, teach in figure 5 of Mosbach et al. wherein the fin 13 having the bolt hole includes a first groove 26 that is disposed outward from the bolt hole 30 in a radial direction and traverses the fin as best understood.
Re: claims 4, 8, and 10. Mosbach et al., as modified, teach in figure 5 of Mosbach et al. wherein the fin 13 having the bolt hole includes a second groove 27 that is disposed inward from the bolt hole 30 in a radial direction and traverses the fin as best understood.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant first argues that Mosbach fails to disclose or teach the convex portion limitation. As discussed in the interview summary mailed 7/17/26, even if Applicant's representative believed the imaginary plane was drawn incorrectly, Mosbach still shows the recited convex portion, as labeled on left figure 5 on pg. 8 of the agenda attached to the interview summary, that protrudes inward in the radial direction from the imaginary plane whether it's the imaginary line drawn in left figure 5 or right figure 5 of the agenda.
Next, Applicant argues that element 13 (cam 22) is not a fin. First, Examiner notes that she referred to element 13 as being a fin. Element 13 is clearly shown in figure 5 as extending from an inner circumferential side shown near the end of the lead line of 33 toward an outer circumferential side shown near the end of the lead line of 28 of the disc body. The fact that Mosbach indicates other element numbers as representing a fin does not preclude Examiner from considering element 13 as a fin. The structure of element 13 reads on the fin recitation as shown.
Finally, with regard to the argument that the combination merely applies to the structure of JP'900, Examiner notes that the argument considers the references individually instead of the combination as a whole. Examiner reiterates that the base reference, Mosbach, includes the limitation of the fins. It is the combination of the limitations that Mosbach possesses and the decreasing thickness teaching of JP'900 that teaches the claimed invention. While Applicant's representative argued that deceasing the thickness of Mosbach would result in a very small weight reduction, Examiner maintained that it is a reduction nonetheless which could still result in a cost savings. Further consideration will be given upon receipt of the official response.
The previously presented 112 rejections have been withdrawn in light of the most recent amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
mmb
August 2, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616