DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendment filed 28 November 2025 wherein: claims 1 and 3 are amended; claims 1-3 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks (page 5, first line through page 7, last line), filed 28 November 2025, have been fully considered.
Examiner acknowledges the prior drawing and specification objections have been overcome by amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §§ 102-103 rejections of claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim 3
Claim 3 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “apparatus” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function, and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, this limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) as corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1 and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections — 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1 and 3
Claims 1 and 3 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Jones (US 2003/0155121 A1) in view of Bissonnette (US 2009/0194275 A1).
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, the preamble recitation “for compensated formation evaluation” does not limit the structure of the claimed apparatus because no limitations in the body of the claim are directed to compensation, a formation, or evaluation. The preamble recitation is therefore merely a statement of intended use that results in no structural difference, is not considered a limitation, and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02.
Jones discloses an apparatus comprising:
an outer housing (14) (¶¶ 34-43; Figs. 1-3);
an inner housing (31) disposed within the outer housing 14);
an emitter (30) disposed within the inner housing (31);
a first sensor (long spaced detector 50) disposed within the inner housing (31);
a first window (36) in the outer housing (14), positioned about the emitter (30), to permit signals from the emitter (30) to pass out of the outer housing (14);
a second window (54) in the outer housing (14), positioned about the first sensor (50), to permit signals to reach the first sensor (50) from out of the outer housing (14); and
a second sensor (short spaced detector 40) disposed within the inner housing (31) (¶¶ 34-43; Figs. 1-3).
Jones does not expressly disclose a fluid annulus between the outer housing and the inner housing.
Bissonnette discloses a well-logging tool (¶¶ 2-8) comprising a fluid annulus (46) between an outer housing (38) and an inner housing (36; ¶¶ 30-32, 40; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to have modified the invention of Jones in view of the teachings of Bissonnette to include a fluid annulus between the outer housing and the inner housing.
One would have been motivated to do so to gain an advantage recited in Bissonnette of achieving desired fluid control during well logging (Bissonnette, ¶¶ 2-8, 30-32, 40).
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, the preamble recitation “for formation evaluation to compensate for noise” does not limit the structure of the claimed apparatus or limit a claimed method step because no limitations in the body of the claim are directed to compensation, a formation, or evaluation. The preamble recitation is therefore merely a statement of intended use that results in no structural or manipulative difference, is not considered a limitation, and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02.
Jones modified teaches a method for configuring the apparatus of claim 1, comprising (element labels in Jones): positioning a sensor (40 or 50) in an inner housing (31) of the apparatus within a shielded portion of an outer housing (14) of the apparatus (i.e., the stabilizer 14 is inherently shielding at all portions except for low Z windows 36, 38, and 54; the sensors 40 and 50 are within these portions (Jones, ¶¶ 34-43; Figs. 1-3).
Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Bissonnette as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor (US 4,641,028 A).
Regarding claim 2, Jones modified teaches a method for use of the apparatus of claim 1, comprising: recording measurements from the first sensor (50) and the second sensor (40) (Jones, ¶¶ 34-43).
Jones modified does not expressly disclose adjusting a measurement of the first sensor using a second measurement of the second sensor.
Taylor discloses an apparatus comprising an emitter (11), a first source (long spaced detector 18), and a second source (short spaced detector 17), wherein a method for use of the apparatus comprises recording measurements (col. 2, l. 44 - col. 3, l. 30; col. 4, ll. 23-49: “The long spaced curve output sensitivity value is multiplied by the ratio 2.0 to give a new value of the output sensitivity of the long spaced curve, which is comparable to the sensitivity of the short spaced curve … By establishing the ratio of 2.00 to 1, and adjusting the output sensitivity (increasing) of the long spaced curve 38', the new value of the output sensitivity of the long spaced curve 38' is comparable with the sensitivity of the short spaced curve 39. Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to have further modified the invention of Jones in view of the teachings of Taylor to include adjusting a measurement of the first sensor using a second measurement of the second sensor.
One would have been motivated to do so to gain an advantage recited in Taylor of matching sensitivities of the detectors (Taylor: col. 4, ll. 23-49).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ellis (US 4,048,495 A) discloses a technique for determining the density of an earth formation with a logging sonde including a gamma ray source and two gamma ray detectors spaced at different distances from the source, wherein the count rate of the short-spaced detector is measured in two energy ranges covering back-scattered gamma rays which have undergone relatively low and high attenuations respectively, a first density correction is determined from the difference between the apparent density derived from the count rate of the long-spaced detector and the density derived from the count rate of the short-spaced detector in the energy range covering gamma rays with relatively low attenuation, a second density correction is determined from the difference between the densities derived from the two short-spaced detectors' count rates, and these two density corrections are added to the apparent density to give the true formation density (Abstract).
Givens (US 4,180,727 A) discloses a gamma-gamma density logging tool employs a gamma-ray source and a pair of gamma-ray detectors, wherein a first detector receives only natural gamma rays from the formations surrounding the borehole, a second detector receives both natural gamma rays and scattered gamma rays from the formations surrounding the borehole, and the count rate from the second detector is modified by the count rate of the first detector to provide for a density measurement that is corrected for the effects of natural gamma radiation from radioactive ore-bearing zones in the formations (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Blake C. Riddick, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/BLAKE C RIDDICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884