DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a protection level directory". This term is not defined in the specification, and is not seen as a term regularly understood in the art. It is unclear what the limitations of such a directory are. Applicant argues, in arguments filed 11 November 2025, that the term would be readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as a directory of protected level settings. The examiner disagrees, and has supplied a copy of a Google search of the term in the appendix of this office action which does not define it that way.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "where these exist". It is unclear what “these” refers to in the claim, and what the term means exactly. It could mean that the unencrypted data includes metadata and thumbnail data only if the metadata and thumbnail data exist. In this case, it is unclear if the encrypted files still need to contain some unencrypted data if no metadata or thumbnail data exists.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cidon et al., USPN 2014/0013112, in view of Runkis e al., USPN 2017/0262655.
With regard to claims 1, 6, and 9-14, Cidon discloses a method for preventing illegitimate access to readable data in files (0096, 0102), wherein the files are continuously kept as encrypted files while they are being stored or transferred (0010, 0221), and wherein access to the content of the files by a user includes the steps, when the user, from a dedicated computer device, clicks to open an encrypted file from a specific data storage monitored by a monitoring service, the file is immediately transferred as an encrypted file from the data storage to a specified folder/directory on the user's computer device (0231, 0356-0364, 0085, 0130), when the file is located on the user's computer device, a validator agent opens the file and checks a unique file identifier or origin location (0094, 0105, 0049, 0113, 0207) and the user's identity, computer device unique identifier and the user's access permissions relative to a protection level of the file (0130, 0108, 0113, 0115, 0263, 0241, 0109), if the validator agent confirms the check the validator agent requests a decryption key from monitoring service, decrypts and opens the file in a correct program as determined from the file, without any additional clicks by the user (0231, 0130, 0116, 0223), if the validator agent fails to confirm the check, the file is not decrypted and opened, and the user's access is denied and an alert signal is transmitted to the monitoring service (0213-0217, 0156), if the user clicks to save the file, the validator agent encrypts the file and transfers and stores it in the origin location on the data storage (0356-0366, 0085). Cidon does not disclose authenticating the user with at least the three factors of user credentials. Runkis discloses a method of protecting data that is being stored and transmitted (0002), similar to that of Cidon, and further discloses using three factor credential authentication to authenticate a user is a well-known practice (0118). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date to implement the three factor authentication of Runkis in the method of Cidon for the motivation of improved security from unauthorized access, a stated motivation of Cidon (0007, 0043) and Runkis (0002).
With regard to claims 2 and 3, Cidon in view of Runkis discloses the method of claim 1, and Runkis further discloses using a motherboard ID to identify a computer (0114, 0145). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date to implement the motherboard ID authentication of Runkis in the method of Cidon for the motivation of improved security from unauthorized access, a stated motivation of Cidon (0007, 0043) and Runkis (0002).
With regard to claim 4, Cidon in view of Runkis discloses the method of claim 1, and Cidon further discloses the validator agent's checks validates the user's access permissions relative to the protection level of the file according to a protection level directory (0261, 0262, 0173, 0156, 0170, 0025, 0207).
With regard to claim 5, Cidon in view of Runkis discloses the method of claim 1, and Cidon further discloses permissions and protection information are provided by the monitoring service (0113).
With regard to claim 7, Cidon in view of Runkis discloses the method of claim 1, and Cidon further discloses the files contain some unencrypted readable file data including metadata and file thumbnail data where these exist(0049, 0113, 0207).
With regard to claim 8, Cidon in view of Runkis discloses the method of claim 1, and Cidon further discloses incorporating data loss prevention (0006, 0099-0100).
With regard to claim 15, Cidon in view of Runkis discloses the method of claim 1, and Cidon further discloses the unique file identifier comprises a hash, a Globally Unique Identifier (GUID), or a Universally Unique Identifier (UUID) (0274, 0106, 0190, 0381-0384, 0263).
With regard to claim 16, Cidon in view of Runkis discloses the method of claim 1, and Cidon further discloses the correct program is determined from the file via one or more of a file type extension and file metadata (0130).
With regard to claim 17, Cidon in view of Runkis discloses the method of claim 1, and Cidon further discloses the user's computer device comprises a laptop computer or a smartphone (0095).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 11 November 2025, have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s argument regarding the 112 rejection of claim 4, the examiner addressed the argument above.
With regard to applicant’s argument that Cidon does not disclose a validator agent to handle the decryption and encryption, the examiner disagrees. Applicant quotes paragraph 0359 of Cidon and puts the words, “Modifying the file, by the management server”, in bold. The examiner points out that later, in that same paragraph, Cidon states, “wherein the modifications comprise flagging the modified file as to be handled by an agent that is hosted by a device of a user, wherein the agent is arranged to cooperate with a management server 2130.” This agent handles the file (0366), and reads on the validator agent.
Applicant further states in his arguments, “in the Detailed Description: "It is to be understood that the validator agent (130) is software residing and being executed on the user's computer device (140), c.f. FIG. 2." Thus, it is clear that the steps of claim 1 performed by the validator agent are executed on the user's computer device”. The examiner points out that the claims do not state that the validator agent is software residing and being executed on the user's computer device.
References Cited
Benson et al., USPN 2013/0179681, discloses a method using a three-factor credential to authenticate a user (0041).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434