DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that “Foster explains that "the transmitted pulses were apodized according to a cosine weighting function", which makes clear that apodization techniques according to this reference are based on electrically driving the array, which may include, for example, amplitude weighting of transmitted pulses and delay processing of annular elements”, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
On page 8 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues “Foster does not disclose that the backing has an annular shape” while at the same time acknowledging that Foster teaches “the backing is described as a highly attenuative molded puck machined to a concave surface complementary to a spherical PZT crystal, with holes drilled for electrically contacting the twelve annuli.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the term “puck” alone implies circular in form; thus, is annular shape.
On page 8 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that the Foster “reference does not disclose a backing-induced apparent-thickness change, resonant-property shift, or destructive-interference attenuation.” However, Foster teaches that “there are a number of vibrational modes present in addition to the thickness mode of vibration. The importance of these modes increases as the width to height (w/h) ratio of the annuli becomes small.”
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 101-104, 109, and 115 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et al. (NPL: Ultrasound in Med. & Bio. Vol. 15, No. 7, pp. 649-659, 1989) in view of Corl (Pub. No.: US 2014/0180128).
Consider claim 101, Foster discloses an ultrasonic transducer (page 654-655, Figs. 7, 8, ultrasound transducer), comprising:
a piezoelectric composite disc having resonant properties (pages 649, 655, spherical PZT (piezoelectric disk) crystal);
at least one electrode in electrical contact with the piezoelectric composite disc (page 655, electrodes on each surface of the spherical PZT crystal); and
an annular apodizing backing structure in acoustic contact with the piezoelectric composite disc (page 655, Fig. 7, backing molded formed of a puck with a concave surface complementary to the spherical PZT crystal for contact therewith wherein holes 0.25 mm in diameter were drilled for electrical leads to each of the 12 annuli of the PZT (see page 649) and transmitted pulses apodized (see page 654, Table 1), the annular apodizing backing structure having:
an inner perimeter (page 653, Table 1, Inner rad) and a corresponding inner thickness (page 657, annuli height);
an outer perimeter (page 653, Table 1, Outer rad) and a corresponding outer thickness (page 657, annuli height); and
an inclined surface forming a substantially continuous slope extending from the inner perimeter to the outer perimeter, the inner thickness being smaller than the outer thickness (page 655, Fig. 7, backing molded in the form of a puck with a concave with changing width to height (w/h) ratios), wherein the annular apodizing backing structure is configured to change an apparent thickness of the piezoelectric composite disc with respect to the resonant properties of the piezoelectric composite disc (page 657, Fig. 11, pulse degradation due to lateral modes in thin annuli), thereby allowing the ultrasonic transducer to generate an acoustic field comprising at least one substantially uniform near field portion (page 657, Fig. 12, when these waveforms are summed to produce the effective focused pulse, the result is really quite acceptable).
Foster does not specifically disclose the piezoelectric composite disc being of low-volume fraction.
Corl discloses the piezoelectric composite disc being of low-volume fraction (paragraph [0043], values for volume fraction of piezoelectric in single crystal composite range from 20% to 80% wherein a volume fraction of approximately 50% is commonly chosen).
Therefore, in order to provide for a good compromise in terms of performance, flexibility, and manufacturability, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the same technique as suggested by Corl wherein the piezoelectric composite disc being of low-volume fraction, see teaching found in Corl, paragraph [0043].
Consider claim 102, the combination of Foster and Corl discloses wherein the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc is in a 1 3 configuration (Corl, paragraph [0034], Fig. 3, transducer 150 includes a single crystal composite material (SCC) 301 commonly referred to as 1-3 composite).
Consider claim 103, the combination of Foster and Corl does not specifically discloses wherein the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc comprises 280 µm by 280 µm pillars distributed in a 2D matrix pattern having a pitch of about 480 µm in both lateral axes.
However, the combination of Foster and Corl discloses a single crystal composite material (SCC) 301 having pillars 320 of a single crystal piezoelectric material (Corl, paragraph [0034], Fig. 3) with lateral dimension of a single pillar of 18 µm and a thickness of 30 µm providing an aspect ratio of width to height of 0.6 (or less as Corl suggest) (Corl, paragraph [0037], Fig. 3); therefore, matching the aspect ratio of the claimed invention (280/480 = 0.58) and providing a matter of design choice wherein the arrangement would not modify the device operation, see MPEP 2144.04, VI., C.).
Therefore, in order to ensure that the efficient pillar mode of vibration predominates, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the same technique as suggested by Corl wherein the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc comprises 280 µm by 280 µm pillars distributed in a 2D matrix pattern having a pitch of about 480 µm in both lateral axes, see teaching found in Corl, paragraph [0037].
Consider claim 104, the combination of Foster and Corl discloses wherein the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc has an acoustic impedance included in a range extending from about 9 MR to about 13 MR (Corl, paragraph [0041], acoustic impedance as low as 5 MRayls or as high as 20 MRayls).
Consider claim 109, the combination of Foster and Corl discloses a 1/4 λ acoustic matching layer and an inductor connected in parallel with a piezocomposite of the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc, the inductor being configured to resonate with the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc, the annular apodizing backing structure, and the 1/4 λ acoustic matching layer, such that an impedance maximum is produced at about 1.5 MHz when a distal face of the transducer is air loaded (page 656, annular array tuned with a shunt inductor such that its phase was approximately zero at 4.5 MHz; thus, about 1.5 MHz as claimed. See Fig. 7 for piezoelectric composite disc, the annular apodizing backing structure, and the ¼ λ acoustic matching layer).
Consider claim 115, the combination of Foster and Corl discloses a matching layer, the matching layer having a thickness of about ¼ λ (page 655, matching layer having a thickness of λ/4).
Claim 105 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Foster and Corl in view of Lukacs et al. (Pat. No.: 7,230,368).
Consider claim 105, the combination of Foster and Corl does not specifically disclose wherein the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc has a thickness of about λ/2 at 1.5 MHz.
Lukacs discloses wherein the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc has a thickness of about λ/2 at 1.5 MHz (col. 7, lines 40-62, thickness of the piezoelectric layer is most commonly based on a thickness that ranges from λ /4 to λ/2 wherein metalized surfaces of the electrode layers having lower resistance at 1-100 MHz, see col. 7, line 63 thru col. 8, line 14).
Therefore, in order to based on the choice of backing layer and matching layer(s) and their respective acoustic impedance values that dictate the final thickness of the piezoelectric layer, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the same technique as suggested by Lukacs wherein the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc has a thickness of about λ/2 at 1.5 MHz, see teaching found in Lukacs, col. 7, lines 40-62.
Claim 106 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Foster and Corl in view of Inventor Unknown (Pub. No.: JP 2005537062 A).
Consider claim 106, the combination of Foster and Corl does not specifically disclose a ring-shaped printed circuit board having an inner diameter, wherein: the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc has an outer diameter, the inner diameter of the ring- shaped printed circuit board being larger than the outside diameter of the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc.
Inventor Unknown discloses a ring-shaped printed circuit board having an inner diameter (paragraph [0044], Fig. 6, flex circuit 32 forming an annular ring with inner diameter), wherein: the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc has an outer diameter (paragraphs [0044], [0045], Fig. 6, piezoelectric material 52 used to form transducer array 28 forming an annular ring with outer diameter), the inner diameter of the ring-shaped printed circuit board being larger than the outside diameter of the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc (paragraph [0044], Fig. 6).
Therefore, in order to provide for a transducer element for use with a catheter, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the same technique as suggested by Inventor Unknown in providing a ring-shaped printed circuit board having an inner diameter, wherein: the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc has an outer diameter, the inner diameter of the ring- shaped printed circuit board being larger than the outside diameter of the low-volume fraction piezoelectric composite disc, see teaching found in Inventor Unknown, paragraph [0045].
Claim 111 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Foster and Corl in view of Johnson et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0357882).
Consider claim 111, the combination of Foster and Corl does not specifically disclose wherein the annular apodizing backing structure has an acoustic impedance of about 2.8 MR.
Johnson discloses wherein the annular apodizing backing structure has an acoustic impedance of about 2.8 MR (paragraph [0074], in the case of the transducer array comprising piezoelectric transducers, the electroactive material layer (i.e., backing structure) may have an acoustic impedance ranging from 1.3-3.0 MRayls).
Therefore, in order to that the material is acoustically matched to the acoustic impedance of the transducer array, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the same technique as suggested by Johnson wherein the annular apodizing backing structure has an acoustic impedance of about 2.8 MR, see teaching found in Johnson, paragraph [0074].
Claim 113 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Foster and Corl in view of Hall et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0276248).
Consider claim 113, the combination of Foster and Corl does not specifically disclose wherein the ultrasonic transducer has a beam non- uniformity ratio of less than 3.5.
Hall discloses wherein the ultrasonic transducer has a beam non-uniformity ratio of less than 3.5 (paragraph [0029], ultrasonic transducer has a beam non-uniformity ratio of 3 or lower (e.g., about 3, 2.8, 2.6, 2.4, 2.2, 2, 1.8, 1.6, 1.4, 1.2, 1 or lower)).
Therefore, in order to provide decreasing hot spots on the surface of a patient's skin to provide a safer delivery to the patient, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the same technique as suggested by Hall wherein the ultrasonic transducer has a beam non- uniformity ratio of less than 3.5, see teaching found in Hall, paragraph [0029].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 107, and 112 and 114 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 107, the prior art of reference discloses acoustic layers; however, there is no teaching of a 2/3 lambda acoustic layer.
Regarding claim 112, the prior art of reference discloses a slope, but fails to disclose topics on the degree level of the slope.
Regarding claim 114, the prior art of reference fails to disclose the ultrasound transducer operating at 1.5 MHz.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gerald Johnson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797