DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20170045795 A1).
As per claim 1, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), comprising: a privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) comprising an electrically controllable optically active material 215 and at least to electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) electrically connected to the electrically controllable optically active material 215; a frame 810 surrounding at least a portion of the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4), the frame 810 comprising at least two complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8) configured to electrically engage (see paragraph 8) the at least to electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) electrically connected to the electrically controllable optically active material 215; and a controller (see paragraph 84) electrically connected to the at least two complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8), wherein the controller (see paragraph 84) is configured to: provide power (see paragraph 10) to the electrically controllable optically active material 215 via the at least two complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8) after the at least two electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) electrically connected to the electrically controllable optically active material 215 electrically engage (see paragraph 8) the at least two complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8) of the frame 810, and refrain from providing power (see paragraph 10) to the electrically controllable optically active material 215 after the after the at least two electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) electrically connected to the electrically controllable optically active material 215 are electrically disengaged (see paragraph 104, 141) from the at least two complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8).
As per claim 2, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the at least two electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) comprise a first electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and a second electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and the at least two complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8) comprise a first complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8, see paragraph 39) and a second complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8, see paragraph 39), the first electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and the second electrical connector (see paragraph 39) being electrically shorted (see paragraph 129) together when the first electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and the second electrical connector (see paragraph 39) are disengaged (see paragraph 104, 141) from the first complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8, see paragraph 39) and the second complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8, see paragraph 39).
As per claim 3, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the first electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and the second electrical connector (see paragraph 39) are angled toward each other such that when the privacy glazing structure (see paragraph 46) is moved out of electrical contact (shown in figure 8) relative to the frame 810, the first electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and the second electrical connector (see paragraph 39) are in electrical contact (shown in figure 8).
As per claim 4, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) comprises a third electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and the frame 810 comprises a third complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8, see paragraph 39) configured to electrically engage (see paragraph 8) the third electrical connector (see paragraph 39), the system (see paragraph 10) further comprising a switch (see paragraph 107) electrically connected to the third complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8, see paragraph 39) and the controller (see paragraph 84), the switch (see paragraph 107) configured to activate or deactivate the electrically controllable optically active material 215 via the controller (see paragraph 84) after the third complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8, see paragraph 39) has engaged the third electrical connector (see paragraph 39).
As per claim 5, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) comprises a third electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and a fourth electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and the frame 810 comprises a third contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8) and a fourth contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8), the third contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8) and the fourth contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8) configured to electrically engage (see paragraph 8) the third electrical connector (see paragraph 39) and the fourth electrical connector (see paragraph 39) respectively, the system (see paragraph 10) further comprising a switch (see paragraph 107) electrically connected to one of the third contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8) or the fourth contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8) and further electrically connected to a switching (see paragraph 107) input of the controller (see paragraph 84), the controller (see paragraph 84) electrically connected to the other one of the third contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8) and the fourth contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8), the controller (see paragraph 84) configured to provide power (see paragraph 10) to the electrically controllable optically active material 215 via the two or more contact pads 527 after the two or more contact pads 527 engage the two or more electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) of the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) and after the switching (see paragraph 107) input is activated by the switch (see paragraph 107).
As per claim 6, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the at least two electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) comprise pins (see paragraph 65), and the at least to complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8) comprise contact pads 527.
As per claim 7, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) comprises a housing (along 805) and wherein the two or more pins (see paragraph 65) are spring 830 loaded pins (see paragraph 65) retained within the housing (along 805) of the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4).
As per claim 8, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein each of the two or more pins (see paragraph 65) comprise a plunger (along 835 end portion) and a spring 830 retained within a barrel (along contact portion of 825) of the housing (along 805), each of the plungers (along 835 end portion) comprising a shoulder (adjacent to 830) configured to retain the plungers (along 835 end portion) in the barrel (along contact portion of 825)s of the housing (along 805), the housing (along 805) comprising a conductive path (see paragraph 92) configured to electrically short the shoulder (adjacent to 830)s of each of the plungers (along 835 end portion) when the two or more pins (see paragraph 65) are in an extended position (as shown in figure 7).
As per claim 9, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the two or more pins (see paragraph 65) have different lengths (see paragraph 73).
As per claim 10, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the first pin, second pin, third pin, and fourth pin (see paragraph 63) are staggered (see paragraph 73) and wherein the first contact pad, the second contact pad, the third contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8), and the fourth contact pad (shown in figure 7 or 8) are staggered (see paragraph 73) and configured to receive the staggered (see paragraph 73) pins (see paragraph 65).
As per claim 11, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), further comprising: a first pane of transparent material 205; and a second pane of transparent material (see paragraph 39); wherein the electrically controllable optically active material 215 is positioned between the first pane of transparent material 205 and the second pane of transparent material (see paragraph 39), the electrically controllable optically active material 215 being positioned between a first electrode layer 210 and a second electrode layer 220; and wherein the controller (see paragraph 84) is electrically connected to the first electrode layer 210 and the second electrode layer 220 via the at least two electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) and the at least two complementary electrical connector (shown in figure 7 or 8), the controller (see paragraph 84) configured to provide power (see paragraph 10) to the first electrode layer 210 and the second electrode layer 220 after the two or more contact pads 527 receive the at least two electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) of the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4).
As per claim 15, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the first pane of transparent material 205 and the second pane of transparent material (see paragraph 39) are each laminate panes (shown in figure 3) comprising a pair of glass substrates (see paragraph 39) laminated together (shown in figure 3).
As per claim 16, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the controller (see paragraph 84) is further configured to receive input from a user control (see paragraph 10) located outside of a privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) defined by the first pane of transparent material 205, the second pane of transparent material (see paragraph 39), and the electrically controllable optically active material 215.
As per claim 17, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10), wherein the electrically controllable optically active material 215 is a liquid crystal material (see paragraph 38).
As per claim 18, Brown teaches a method, for removing power (see paragraph 10) from an electrically controllable optically active material 215 of a security privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) comprising: moving a privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) comprising an electrically controllable optically active material 215 relative to a frame 810 which surrounds at least a portion of the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4); and electrically disengaging two or more male electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) of a privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) with two or more corresponding female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) of a frame 810 surrounding at least a portion of the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4), the two or more female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) electrically connected to a controller (see paragraph 84), the controller (see paragraph 84) configured to provide power (see paragraph 10) to the electrically controllable optically active material 215 via the two or more male electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) and the two or more female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39); wherein electrically disengaging the two or more male electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) from the two or more corresponding female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) removes power (see paragraph 10) from the electrically controllable optically active material 215 and creates a short between the two more male electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39).
As per claim 19, Brown teaches a method, wherein the short created by electrically disengaging the two or more male electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) from the two or more corresponding female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) dissipates electrical charge within the electrically controllable optically active material 215.
As per claim 20, Brown teaches a method, for providing power (see paragraph 10) to an electrically controllable optically active material 215 of a security privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) comprising: moving a privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) comprising an electrically controllable optically active material 215 relative to a frame 810 which surrounds at least a portion of the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4); electrically engaging two or more male electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) of a privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4) with two or more corresponding female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) of a frame 810 surrounding at least a portion of the privacy structure (300, see paragraph 3-4), the two or more female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) electrically connected to a controller (see paragraph 84), the controller (see paragraph 84) configured to provide power (see paragraph 10) to the electrically controllable optically active material 215 via the two or more male electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) and the two or more female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39); wherein the electrical engagement between the two or more male electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) and the two or more corresponding female electrical connectors (825, see paragraph 39) closes a circuit (see paragraph 7) with the controller (see paragraph 84) and provides power (see paragraph 10) to the electrically controllable optically active material 215.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20170045795 A1).
As per claim 12, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10.
Brown does not teach, wherein the controller is supplied by a supply voltage and wherein the supply voltage ranges from 100 V to 250 V.
Brown discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the controller is supplied by a supply voltage and wherein the supply voltage ranges from 100 V to 250 V. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to wherein the controller is supplied by a supply voltage and wherein the supply voltage ranges from 100 V to 250 V, the motivation would have been to ensure compliance with the proper electrical operating conditions, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 13, Brown teaches a system (see paragraph 10).
Brown does not teach, wherein an operating voltage of the controller is greater than or equal to 50 V.
Brown discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an operating voltage of the controller is greater than or equal to 50 V. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to wherein an operating voltage of the controller is greater than or equal to 50 V, the motivation would have been to ensure compliance with the proper electrical operating conditions, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As per claim 14, The prior art does not disclose or suggest: further comprising: a third pane of transparent material; and a spacer positioned between the second pane of transparent material and the third pane of transparent material to define a between-pane space, the spacer sealing the between-pane space from gas exchange with a surrounding environment and holding the second pane of transparent material a separation distance from the third pane of transparent material.
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831