Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner with draws the claim interpretation and the rejection of Claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-13, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakashima (US Patent Pub. # 2019/0391650).
As to claim 1, Nakashima teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising;
a central processing unit (CPU) (controller 501) configured to (Para 39):
control oscillation (vibration) 5of an oscillation actuator (front vibration device 100 and rear vibration device 600) that transmits the oscillation (vibration) to a camera operator (user) (Para 33, 49, 100, wherein
the oscillation (vibration) is controlled based on image-capturing-environment information (rotational operation member 102, the exposure dial 13, the power button 14, the mode dial 15, the zoom lever 16, the release button 17, and the rear operation unit 21 is operated) regarding an environment (different modes) of an image captured by an image-capturing apparatus (camera 10) (Para 49 and 69). Applicant’s Specification teaches it possible to set an image-capturing environment, such as selecting an underwater shooting mode for setting the quality in shooting with camera, and selecting a glove mode for setting a touch-panel sensitivity. Further, a touch operation performed on the display 53 makes it possible to set, for example, a shutter speed, a frame rate upon consecutive shooting, the selection of a shutter mechanism, on/off of a sound mode, and on/off of an oscillation mode (Para 81). Nakashima teaches the vibration device 100 to generate the vibration in the grip portion in response to the user's operation on a plurality of operation members (102, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 21) at locations different from that of the grip portions (101, 50a, 23c). Thereby, this embodiment can provide the user with an operation sense for his operation of a plurality of (multiple) operation members using a small number of vibration devices 100 (one vibration device 100 in this embodiment) (Para 69).
the image-capturing apparatus (10) includes a camera body (front cover unit 11), the camera body (11) includes the oscillation actuator (100 and 600) and an imaging sensor (image sensor 126), and the imaging sensor (126) captures the image of a subject (object image) (Para 27 and 43).
As to claim 2, Nakashima teaches wherein the oscillation (vibration) is further controlled based on at least one of an image-capturing- setting information (rotational operation member 102, the exposure dial 13, the power button 14, the mode dial 15, the zoom lever 16, the release button 17, and the rear operation unit 21 is operated) that is set by the camera operator (user) or a state information (on / off or zoom position) regarding a state of the image-capturing apparatus, and the oscillation (vibration) indicates information related to the image-capturing apparatus (10) (Para 49 and 69).
As to claim 3, Nakashima teaches wherein the information related to the image-capturing apparatus(10) includes at least one of operation information (operation of the operation member) regarding an operation (rotational operation member 102, the exposure dial 13, the power button 14, the mode dial 15, the zoom lever 16, the release button 17, and the rear operation unit 21 is operated) of the image-capturing apparatus (10), reminder information, operation information (operation of the operation member) regarding an operation of an attachment device (interchangeable lens 200) that is attached to the camera body, or image-capturing information (exposure dial 13) that is acquired by the imaging sensor (126) (Para 30, 69, 71, and 110).
As to claim 4, Nakashima teaches wherein the operation information regarding the operation (operation of the operation member) of the image-capturing apparatus (10) includes information regarding a state in which the subject is in focus (detecting the rotational operation of the rotational operation ring 210 through the rotation detector 1033, the controller 501 causes a lens-side vibration device driver 139 to output a drive signal to the lens-side vibration device 220, and causes the lens-side vibration device 220 to generate the vibration), information regarding start of an exposure on the imaging sensor, and information regarding completion of the exposure vibration provided in the grip portion in response to the user operation of a plurality of operation members (210, 13, 14, 15, 16, release button 17, and 21) (Para 86-88 and 110).
As to claim 11, Nakashima teaches wherein a plurality of attachment devices (different interchangeable lens) including the attachment device (interchangeable lens 200) is attached to the image-capturing apparatus (camera 1000), wherein each attachment device (200) of the plurality of attachment devices (different interchangeable lens) is different (different) from remaining attachment devices of the plurality of attachment devices (different interchangeable lens), and the CPU (501) is further configured to control the oscillation (vibration) of the oscillation actuator (lens-side vibration device 220, 100, 600), wherein oscillation (vibration) indicating the operation information regarding an operation (rotational operation) of the attachment device (200) differs based on the attachment device (200) of the plurality of the attachment devices (different interchangeable lens) (Para 86 and 90).
As to claim 12, Nakashima teaches wherein the CPU (501) is further configured to control that first oscillation (100) and second oscillation (600), which respectively indicate different pieces of information related to the image-capturing apparatus(10), are distinguishable by the camera operator (user) (Para 110-112).
As to claim 13, Nakashima teaches wherein the image-capturing-setting information (rotational operation member 102, the exposure dial 13, the power button 14, the mode dial 15, the zoom lever 16, the release button 17, and the rear operation unit 21 is operated) includes at least one of a setting of a shutter speed (exposure dial 13 for setting an exposure value), a setting of a frame rate (motion image capturing mode), a setting of a single-shooting mode (automatic still image capturing mode) or a consecutive-shooting mode (motion image capturing mode), or a setting of the environment (15) of the captured image (Para 30, 49, and 69).
As to claim 15, Nakashima teaches wherein the image-capturing apparatus (10) includes a zoom lens (zoom unit 116), and the CPU (501) is further configured to control the oscillation (vibration) of the oscillation actuator (220, 100, 600) based on specific oscillation provided at a time of a driving process of the zoom lens (116) (Para 40 and 110).
As to claim 18, Nakashima teaches wherein the CPU (501) is further configured to control next oscillation (vibration) of the oscillation actuator (220, 100, 600) based on oscillation information regarding oscillation (vibration) of the image-capturing apparatus (10) (Para 110-112).
As to claims 19 and 20, these claims differ from claim 1 only in that the claim 1 is an information processing apparatus claim whereas claims 19 and 20 are an information processing method claim and a program claim. Thus claim 19 and 20 are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (US Patent Pub. # 2019/0391650) in view of Matsuki (US Patent Pub. # 2014/0359438).
As to claim 5, note the discussion above in regards to claims 1-4. Nakashima does not teach wherein the image-capturing apparatus includes a shutter button that is operated as half-pressed and fully pressed, and the CPU is further configured to: control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator which indicates the state in which the subject is in focus, wherein the oscillation is based on operation of the shutter button as half-pressed; control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator, which indicates the start of the exposure, wherein the oscillation is based on operation of in response to the shutter button as fully pressed; and control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator, which indicates the completion of the exposure, wherein the oscillation is based on the operation of the shutter button as the fully pressed. Matsuki teaches wherein the image-capturing apparatus (mobile information device 1) includes a shutter button (capture icon 105) that is operated as half-pressed (half-press) and fully pressed (fully pressed), and the CPU (operation controller 124) is further configured to: control the oscillation (vibration) of the oscillation actuator (haptic feedback arrangement 102) which indicates the state in which the subject is in focus (focusing operation), wherein the oscillation (vibration) is based on operation of the shutter button as half-pressed (half-press); control the oscillation (vibration) of the oscillation actuator (124), which indicates the start of the exposure (time before and after the image-capturing operation), wherein the oscillation (vibration) is based on operation of in response to the shutter button as fully pressed (fully pressed); and control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator, which indicates the completion of the exposure (time before and after the image-capturing operation), wherein the oscillation (time during the image-capturing operation) is based on the operation of the shutter button as the fully pressed (fully pressed) (Para 91-96). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an image-capturing operation as taught by Matsuki to the camera of Nakashima, to providing the user with a positive feel of manipulation (Para 96 of Matsuki).
Claims 6, 8, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (US Patent Pub. # 2019/0391650) in view of Cheong (US Patent Pub. # 2014/0192247).
As to claim 6, note the discussion above in regards to claims 1-4. Nakashima does not teach wherein the CPU is further configured to control the oscillation of the oscillation device which indicates the state in which the subject is in focus, and the oscillation differs based on a focal length of the oscillation. Cheong teaches wherein the CPU (control unit 160) is further configured to control the oscillation (vibration) of the oscillation device (haptic device module 180) which indicates the state in which the subject is in focus (focus adjustment), and the oscillation (vibration) differs (calculate at least one of a proper intensity, a pattern, or a direction of the haptic feedback so that the current preview image) based on a focal length (distance to face measurement or zooming in/out) of the oscillation (vibration) (Para 35, 68-70). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a face recognition as taught by Cheong to the camera of Nakashima, to provide guidance information for focus adjustment in a haptic feedback form to adjust a focus if the subject is not correctly focused (Para 69 of Cheong).
As to claim 8, note the discussion above in regards to claims 1-3. Nakashima does not teach wherein at a time of exposure on the imaging sensor, the CPU is further configured to control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator to set off. Cheong teaches wherein at a time of exposure (shutter button input signal for control of camera operation and a key input signal for camera settings) on the imaging sensor, the CPU (control unit 160) is further configured to control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator to set off (the terminal 100 does not provide haptic feedback if the corresponding mode is not selected, but does provide haptic feedback if the haptic-based guidance mode is selected) (Para 29). Cheong teaches the input unit 120 may be configured with various input means such as a keyboard, keypad, or key button according to its compatibility with the terminal 100. Further, the input unit 120 may be configured in a touch map form outputting to a touch screen if the display unit 140 is installed with a touch screen (Para 29). Examiner analyzes the haptic feedback if the corresponding mode can be turned on or off by touching the input button. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a haptic feedback mode is not selected as taught by Cheong to the camera of Nakashima, to activate, by the electronic device, at least one of the one or more haptic devices, based on the determined one or more of the desired position, orientation, or movement (Para 11 of Cheong).
As to claim 9, Cheong teaches wherein a drive signal of oscillation indicating the reminder information (input signal for selecting a haptic-based guidance mode) includes a first signal (haptic feedback mode is not selected) that is not given out in a case where an oscillation mode for the oscillation actuator is off (haptic feedback mode is not selected) or a second signal (display shows in input is off) that is given out in a case where the oscillation mode is off (haptic feedback mode is not selected), the CPU (160) is further configured to: receive, at the time of the exposure on the imaging sensor, the reminder information (input signal for selecting a haptic-based guidance mode) that includes the first signal (haptic feedback mode is not selected); control the oscillation actuator to generate the oscillation indicating the reminder information after completion of the exposure on the imaging sensor (haptic feedback mode is selected), receive, at the time of the exposure on the imaging sensor device (haptic feedback mode is selected), the reminder information that includes the second signal (display shows input is off); and control the oscillation actuator to generate the oscillation indicating the reminder information (haptic feedback mode is selected) at the time of the exposure on the imaging device (Para 29). Applicant’s Specification teaches [0293] A drive signal for oscillation indicating reminder information includes a signal that is not given out when the oscillation mode is off or a signal that is given out when the oscillation mode is off. [0294] A drive signal for oscillation that indicates information indicating that a remaining battery life is shortened includes a signal that is not given out when the oscillation mode is off. Cheong teaches the user can turn on or off the haptic feedback mode (Para 29). Cheong teaches input unit 120 may generate an input signal for selecting a haptic-based guidance mode. One skilled in the art would analyze the input unit would show the user if the mode was on or off.
As to claim 16, note the discussion above in regards to claim 1. Nakashima does not teach wherein the CPU is further configured to control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator based on oscillation sound produced due to-the oscillation device. Cheong teaches wherein the CPU (160) is further configured to control the oscillation (vibrations) of the oscillation actuator (180) based on oscillation sound (guide or effect sounds predefined according to the pattern of each of the various haptic feedback outputs) produced due to-the oscillation device (180) (Para 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a haptic feedback output as taught by Cheong to the camera of Nakashima, to activate, by the electronic device, at least one of the one or more haptic devices, based on the determined one or more of the desired position, orientation, or movement (Para 11 of Cheong).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (US Patent Pub. # 2019/0391650) in view of Kim (US Patent Pub. # 2014/0192217).
As to claim 7, note the discussion above in regards to claims 1-3. Nakashima does not teach wherein the image-capturing information includes information that the captured image that is acquired by the imaging sensor is a normal image or an error image, and the CPU is further configured to control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator to indicate that oscillation corresponding to acquisition of the error image is different from oscillation corresponding to acquisition of the normal image. Kim teaches wherein the image-capturing information (eyes closed) includes information that the captured image that is acquired by the imaging sensor (image sensor of the camera 120) is a normal image (eyes open) or an error image (eyes closed), and the CPU (120) is further configured to control the oscillation (vibration indicator) of the oscillation actuator to indicate that oscillation corresponding to acquisition of the error image (eyes closed) is different from oscillation (no vibration) corresponding to acquisition of the normal image (eyes open) (Para 49-51 and 65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an error warning as taught by Kim to the camera of Nakashima, to provides an improved method of photographing for a person who cannot identify a subject, such as a blind person, or in a situation that the subject cannot be identified (Para 11 of Kim).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (US Patent Pub. # 2019/0391650) in view of Tadano (US Patent Pub. # 2020/0068098).
As to claim 10, note the discussion above in regards to claims 1-3. Nakashima does not teach wherein the reminder information includes at least one of information regarding a remaining life of a battery that serves as a drive power supply to drive the image-capturing apparatus, or information regarding the image-capturing-environment information. Tadano teaches wherein the reminder information includes at least one of information regarding a remaining life of a battery (remaining amount of the battery) that serves as a drive power supply (battery 7) to drive the image-capturing apparatus (shooting apparatus 1), or information regarding the image-capturing-environment information (battery life) (Para 304 and 308). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a method to notify of the shooter the shortage of the remaining amount of the battery as taught by Tadano to the camera of Nakashima, to notify of the shooter the shortage of the remaining amount of the battery (Para 308 of Tadano).
14. (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the state information includes at least one of type information regarding a type of the attachment device, form information regarding a form of the attachment device, holding-state information regarding a state in which the camera operator holds the image-capturing apparatus, or information regarding a remaining life of a drive power supply to drive the image-capturing apparatus and power consumption of the camera body.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (US Patent Pub. # 2019/0391650) in view of Tadano (US Patent Pub. # 2020/0068098) in view of Cheong (US Patent Pub. # 2014/0192247).
As to claim 14, not the discussion above in regards to claim 1. Nakashima teaches the state information includes at least one of type information regarding a type of the attachment device (interchangeable lens 200), form information regarding a form of the attachment device (Para 79 -84). Nakashima does not teach holding-state information regarding a state in which the camera operator holds the image-capturing apparatus, or information regarding a remaining life of a drive power supply to drive the image-capturing apparatus and power consumption of the camera body. Tadano teaches information regarding a remaining life (remaining amount of the battery) of a drive power supply to drive the image-capturing apparatus and power consumption of the camera body(1) and power consumption of the camera body (1) (Para 304 and 308). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a method to notify of the shooter the shortage of the remaining amount of the battery as taught by Tadano to the camera of Nakashima, to notify of the shooter the shortage of the remaining amount of the battery (Para 308 of Tadano). Cheong teaches a holding-state information regarding a state (contact sensor signal can be collected according to an area gripped) in which the camera operator holds (grip) the image-capturing apparatus (100) (Para 43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a contact sensor signal can be collected according to an area gripped as taught by Cheong to the camera of Nakashima in view of Tadano, to activate, by the electronic device, at least one of the one or more haptic devices, based on the determined one or more of the desired position, orientation, or movement (Para 11 of Cheong).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima (US Patent Pub. # 2019/0391650) in view of Fujinawa (US Patent Pub. # 2014/0104453).
As to claim 17, note the discussion above in regards to claim 1. Nakashima does not teach wherein the image-capturing apparatus includes a mechanical shutter, and the CPU is further configured to control the oscillation of the oscillation actuator based on specific oscillation obtained in a case where the mechanical shutter is operated. Fujinawa teaches wherein the image-capturing apparatus (camera system 100) includes a mechanical shutter (focal plane shutter 323), and the CPU (camera system control section 327) is further configured to control the oscillation (vibration) of the oscillation actuator (vibrator 331) based on specific oscillation (vibration) obtained in a case where the mechanical shutter (323) is operated (Para 129, 130, 132, 152, and 153). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a focal plane shutter as taught by Fujinawa to the camera of Nakashima, to provide a tactile notification section that notifies a user in a tactile manner concerning whether the specific object is in a predetermined region of the captured image or not based on recognition by the object recognition section (Para 7 of Fujinawa).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER K PETERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 12/18/2025