DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumgartner (WO 2009/026488 A2).
With respect to claims 1 and 19, Baumgartner discloses a process for steam cracking wherein the heating of feedstock fractions in the coils and the pyrolysis residence time in the coils is controlled by adjustment of the feed rate per coil. A higher feed rate per coil is used for the heavy feedstock fraction as that results in a lower pyrolysis residence time and a lower coil outlet temperature. For the coils where the lighter feedstock fraction is pyrolyzed, a lower feed rate per coil is used as it results in a higher residence time and a higher coil outlet temperature (see Baumgartner, page 5, line 5 to page 23, line 22; and Examples 1B and 2B). Thus, Baumgartner discloses controlling a feed rate of the first hydrocarbon feed introduced into the one or more radiant coils disposed within the first segment based, at least in part, on a composition of the first hydrocarbon feed and the first coil outlet temperature.
The steam cracking system of Baumgartner comprises a steam cracker comprising a firebox having at least one radiant coil and at least one burner disposed within a second segment of the firebox, wherein the one or more radiant coils in the first segment are configured to receive a first hydrocarbon feed via a first feed control valve and produce a first steam cracker effluent having a first coil outlet temperature, the one or more radiant coils in the second segment being configured to receive a second hydrocarbon feed via a second feed control valve and produce a second steam cracker effluent having a second coil outlet temperature, the one or more burners in the first and second segments being configured to operate at substantially the same firing rate such that an amount of heat produced by each of the one or more burners in the first and second segments is substantially the same, and the first and second feed control valves are configured to independently adjust a feed rate of the first and second hydrocarbon feeds introduced into the one or more radiant coils in the first and second segments, respectively, to independently adjust the first and second coil outlet temperatures of the first and second steam cracker effluents, respectively (see Baumgartner, Figs. 1-3 and accompanying text). According to Baumgartner, the same dilution steam to feed ratio is assumed for the light and heavy fractions (see Baumgartner, page 15, lines 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7-9, 15, 21, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner (WO 2009/026488 A2). Alternatively, claims 2-4, 7-9, 15, 21, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner (WO 2009/026488 A2) in view of Zhao (US 2009/0022635).
With respect to claims 2-4, 7-9, 15, 21, 24, and 25, see discussion supra at paragraph 4. The remaining limitations are disclosed or, at the very least, suggested among the various embodiments of Baumgartner (see Baumgartner, page 5, line 22 to page 22, line 22; page 19, line 32 to page 21, line 11; claims 1-13; and Examples 1B and 2B). Alternatively, the subject matter of these claims is disclosed or, at the very least, suggested among the various embodiments of Baumgartner as previously cited in combination with the teachings of Zhao (see, e.g., Zhao, paragraphs [0002], [0036], [0039]; Figs. 1-7 and accompanying text; and claims 1-23) (see discussion infra at paragraph 11).
Claims 5, 6, 10-14, 16-18, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner (WO 2009/026488) in view of Zhao (US 2009/0022635) and Brewer (WO 01/55280 A1). Alternatively, claims 5, 6, 10-14, 16-18, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner (WO 2009/026488) in view of Zhao (US 2009/0022635), Brewer (WO 01/55280 A1), and Pickett (US 2022/0119716).
With respect to claims 5, 6, 10-14, 16-18, 20, 22, and 23, it is noted that determining an appropriate amount of steam or an appropriate feed composition falls within the routine skills of the ordinary practitioner working in the art (see, e.g., Brewer, page 3, fourth and fifth paragraphs; page 7, second and fourth paragraphs; and page 9, second and third paragraphs). The provision of a dividing wall disposed between the first segment and the second segment is an known engineering design option for furnaces such as that of Baumgartner (see, e.g., Zhao, Figs. 4 and 5 with accompanying text). Moreover, it is obvious to the skilled person that a furnace operating in twin cell arrangement, one cell may be decoked whereas the other cell continues production (see, e.g., Zhao, paragraph [0036]). Furthermore, Zhao discloses a steam cracking process and corresponding system wherein by virtue of segregated sectors of the furnace 200, the flow rate of a single sector may be adjusted without adversely impacting the temperature of an adjacent sector to any significant degree (see Zhao, Figs. 1-7; and paragraph [0039]). Thus, the olefin yields may be maximized for each sector of the furnace. Segregating the convection and radiant sections of the furnace into sectors may be particularly advantageous if hydrocarbon feeds 232 of varying compositions (e.g., hydrocarbon feeds having different cracking temperatures) are distributed through different sectors of the furnace 200. The feed rate is controlled based at least in part on the composition and coil outlet temperature. Moreover, according to Zhao, when one sector of the furnace 200 undergoes decoking, the remaining sectors may continue to crack the hydrocarbon feed, consequently maximizing on-stream time and minimizing decoking cycles (see Zhao, paragraph [0036]).
Finally, under the alternative grounds for rejection, Pickett discloses that when two types of feed are cracked in the same firebox, to control the cracking severity, one feed is selected as the primary feed. The primary feed coil outlet temperature set the individual burner firing duty. The other feed (i.e. secondary feed) in the same firebox necessarily has the same individual burner duty. The secondary feed cracking severity, coil outlet temperature, has to be adjusted by the feed rate. Higher feed rate will give lower coil outlet temperature and vice versa. The firing duty of the individual burner can be the same within the firebox 102. The heating temperature for both of the feedstocks is based on the outlet temperature of the first hydrocarbon feedstock. The outlet temperature of the second hydrocarbon feedstock is controlled by a feed rate of the second hydrocarbon feed. Even though both hydrocarbon feeds are cracked in the same firebox, coil outlet temperature of the primary feed can be used to control burner firing duty and the feed rate of the secondary feed can be used to control burner firing duty and the feed rate of the secondary feed can be used to control the coil outlet temperature of the secondary feed. Thus, the target cracking severity levels of both feedstocks can be achieved (see Pickett, paragraphs [0007]-[0012]; and Fig. 1 with accompanying text).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Jo (US 5,567,305) and Balashanmugam (US 2018/0156772). Jo discloses wherein computer control of cracking furnaces is well known in the art (see Jo, column 6, lines 31-39). Balashanmugam discloses the relationship between coil outlet temperature and feed rate (see Balashanmugam, paragraph [0170]).
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771