DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 8, 10-13, 15, 16, 18-20, 22, 23, 27, 29 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 14, 24, 28 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15, 19 of copending Application No. 17449012 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
As to claim 1, 24: 17449012 teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device, the method comprising: receiving, from a second wireless communication device, one or more signals associated with a beam parameter (claim 15, claim 19); determining, at each of plurality of locations, a signal measurement for at least one received signal of the one or more received signals (claim 15, claim 19); and determining, based at least in part on an p-th percentile signal measurement and a q-th percentile signal measurement of the signal measurements at the plurality of locations (claim 15, claim 19), whether the second wireless communication device satisfies an interference condition (claim 15, claim 19).
As to claim 14, 28: 17449012 teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising: selecting a channel access configuration for transmitting a communication signal in an unlicensed frequency band using a transmission beam (claim 15, claim 19), wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an p-th percentile signal measurement and a q-th percentile signal measurement of signal measurements associated with the transmission beam (claim 15, claim 19), wherein the signal measurements include one signal measurement at each of a plurality of locations (claim 15, claim 19); and transmitting, based on the channel access configuration and using the transmission beam, the communication signal in the unlicensed frequency band (claim 15, claim 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claim 1, 24
Claim(s) 1, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931) in view of Romijn (US-20070210961).
As to claim 1, 24: Kuru teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device, the method comprising: receiving, from a second wireless communication device, one or more signals associated with a beam parameter ([0064] SINR distribution measures obtained via beamformed signals); determining, at … , a signal measurement for at least one received signal of the one or more received signals (abstract, [0065] distribution measures obtained by terminal device); and determining, based at least in part on an p-th percentile signal measurement and a q-th percentile signal measurement of the signal measurements at the plurality of locations ([0060, 66] SINR distribution measurements reported by terminal device to access node), whether the second wireless communication device satisfies an interference condition ([0005, 50, 52, 60] produce SINR measurement report; 1dB granularity).
Kuru may not explicitly teach each of a plurality of locations. However, Romijn teaches each of a plurality of locations (fig.2 [0037]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement plurality of locations, taught by Romijn, into the SINR measurement, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve accuracy and provide spatial characterization . In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Romijn and Kuru in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Independent Claim 14, 28
Claim(s) 14, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931) in view of Lauridsen (WO-2022152378-A1), Romijn (US-20070210961).
As to claim 14, 28: Kuru teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising: … , wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an p-th percentile signal measurement and a q-th percentile signal measurement of signal measurements associated with the transmission beam … (abstract, [0065] distribution measures obtained by terminal device).
Kuru may not explicitly teach selecting a channel access configuration for transmitting a communication signal in an unlicensed frequency band using a transmission beam … and transmitting, based on the channel access configuration and using the transmission beam, the communication signal in the unlicensed frequency band. However, Lauridsen teaches selecting a channel access configuration for transmitting a communication signal in an unlicensed frequency band using a transmission beam … and transmitting, based on the channel access configuration and using the transmission beam, the communication signal in the unlicensed frequency band (17:12-29 In an embodiment, the terminal device determines at least one threshold for selecting a random access configuration, compares the measured received signal strength with the at least one threshold and selects the first random access configuration or the second random access configuration further on the basis of the comparison).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement determining a channel access configuration based on measurements, taught by Lauridsen, into the measurement report, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable communications over the channel. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Lauridsen and Kuru in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Kuru may not explicitly teach wherein the signal measurements include one signal measurement at each of a plurality of locations. However, Romijn teaches wherein the signal measurements include one signal measurement at each of a plurality of locations (fig.2 [0037]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement plurality of locations, taught by Romijn, into the SINR measurement, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve accuracy and provide spatial characterization . In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Romijn and Kuru in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931) in view of Romijn (US-20070210961).
As to claim 2: Romijn teaches the method of claim 1.
Romijn may not explicitly teach However, Kuru teaches wherein the plurality of locations is associated with a spherical coverage of the second wireless communication device (fig.2 [0037]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement plurality of locations, taught by Romijn, into the SINR measurement, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve accuracy and provide spatial characterization . In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Romijn and Kuru in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931), Romijn (US-20070210961) in view of Kim (US-6639554).
As to claim 3: Kuru teaches the method of claim 1.
Kuru may not explicitly teach wherein the determining the signal measurement at each of the plurality of locations comprises: determining the signal measurement at a respective azimuth angle and a respective elevation angle with respect to the second wireless communication device. However, Kim teaches wherein the determining the signal measurement at each of the plurality of locations comprises: determining the signal measurement at a respective azimuth angle and a respective elevation angle with respect to the second wireless communication device (abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement elevation and azimuth angle in signal measurement, taught by Kim, into the measurement report, taught by Kuru , in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and provide improved spatial information and interference measurement. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Kim and Kuru in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931), Romijn (US-20070210961), Kim (US-6639554) in view of Deng (US-20190104549).
As to claim 4: Kuru teaches the method of claim 3.
Although Kim teaches azimuth and elevation angles, Kuru may not explicitly teach wherein the azimuth angles and the elevation angles associated with the plurality of locations are based on an operating parameter of the second wireless communication device. However, Deng teaches wherein the azimuth angles and the elevation angles associated with the plurality of locations are based on an operating parameter of the second wireless communication device ([0148] An mWTRU may form one or more narrow receive antenna patterns and initiate receive sweeping per the sweeping pattern, periodicity and other configuration parameters according to the mWTRU capability and network configurations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement implementing operation parameters in beamforming, taught by Deng, into the measurement report, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and perform signal measurements. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Kuru and Deng in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931), Romijn (US-20070210961) in view of Yang (US-20220150844).
As to claim 5: Kuru teaches the method of claim 1.
Kuru may not explicitly teach wherein the determining the signal measurement at each of the plurality of locations comprises: determining an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) for the at least one received signal. However, Yang teaches wherein the determining the signal measurement at each of the plurality of locations comprises: determining an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) for the at least one received signal ([0132] When a vehicular terminal capable of performing communication in an operating band (eg, n260) including 39 GHz transmits a signal, when the CDF is calculated by measuring the EIRP of the terminal in the full sphere around the terminal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement EIRP, taught by Yang, into the measurement report, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and obtain interference measurements. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Kuru and Yang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 6, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931), Romijn (US-20070210961) in view of He (US-6330429).
As to claim 6, 26: Kuru teaches the method of claim 1.
Kuru may not explicitly teach further comprising: determining the p-th percentile signal measurement and the q-th percentile signal measurement of the signal measurements at the plurality of locations based on a cumulative distribution function (CDF) of the signal measurements at the plurality of locations. However, He teaches further comprising: determining the p-th percentile signal measurement and the q-th percentile signal measurement of the signal measurements at the plurality of locations based on a cumulative distribution function (CDF) of the signal measurements at the plurality of locations (4:30-41, 5:4-17).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement CDF, taught by He, into the measurement report, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and provide full distribution of measurements. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Kuru and He in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931) in view of Romijn (US-20070210961).
As to claim 9: Kuru teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of a value of p for the p-th percentile signal measurement or a value of q for the q-th percentile signal measurement is based on an operating parameter associated with the second wireless communication device ([0064] SINR distribution measures obtained via beamformed signals).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931) in view of Lauridsen (WO-2022152378-A1), Romijn (US-20070210961).
As to claim 17: Kuru teaches the method of claim 14, wherein at least one of a value of p for the p-th percentile signal measurement or a value of q for the q-th percentile signal measurement of the signal measurements at the plurality of locations is based on an operating parameter of the wireless communication device ([0064] SINR distribution measures obtained via beamformed signals).
Claim(s) 21, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931), Lauridsen (WO-2022152378-A1), Romijn (US-20070210961) in view of Li (US-20190141702).
As to claim 21, 30: Kuru teaches the method of claim 14, 28.
Kuru may not explicitly teach wherein the transmitting the communication signal comprises: transmitting, based on the channel access configuration, the communication signal using the transmission beam without performing channel sensing. However, Li teaches wherein the transmitting the communication signal comprises: transmitting, based on the channel access configuration, the communication signal using the transmission beam without performing channel sensing ([0010, 89, 99]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement non channel sensing channel access, taught by Li, into the communication system, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce latency and complexity. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Kuru and Li in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuru (US-20220038931), Romijn (US-20070210961) in view of Kim (US-6639554), Yang (US-20220150844).
As to claim 25: Kuru teaches the first wireless communication device of claim 24,
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the signal measurement at each of the plurality of locations is configured to: determine the signal measurement at a respective azimuth angle and a respective elevation angle with respect to the second wireless communication device (abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement elevation and azimuth angle in signal measurement, taught by Kim, into the measurement report, taught by Kuru , in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and provide improved spatial information and interference measurement. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Kim and Kuru in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Kuru may not explicitly teach and determine an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) for the at least one received signal. However, Yang teaches and determine an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) for the at least one received signal ([0132] When a vehicular terminal capable of performing communication in an operating band (eg, n260) including 39 GHz transmits a signal, when the CDF is calculated by measuring the EIRP of the terminal in the full sphere around the terminal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement EIRP, taught by Yang, into the measurement report, taught by Kuru, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and obtain interference measurements. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Kuru and Yang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
/ANDREW C OH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466