Claim Status
Claims 1, 5, and 15-18 have been amended. Claims 13-14, and 21-22 has been cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, 15-20 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to amendment filed 06/16/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument of the remarks which recites:
“Sekine does not mention controlling the chamber to reach the target temperature within a predetermined time period. Sekine is merely preventing dew condensation on the inner walls of the incubator, and only adjusts heating power instantaneously based on measured ambient temperature without any closed-loop control logic targeting target-temperature achievement within a fixed duration.”
Examiner disagrees and notes that Sekine teaches the incubation chamber being maintained at a predetermined temperature, and that the heater power is controlled based on period T, support is found [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again.
“Chandra is designed for semiconductor die thermal monitoring, to manage the heat issue, as disclosed in para[0005], and the inventive purpose diverges drastically from the CO2 incubator multi-surface partition heating control of the present invention. A PHOSITA would have no reasonable motivation to adapt Chandra’s standalone temperature extrapolation into Sekine’s heating framework with additional remaining-time restriction for secondary power correction…. First, Chandra contains no concept of target temperature. Chandra’s thermal management is designed for passive heat dissipation of semiconductor chips instead of active heating to a predefined target temperature, which is the core control objective of the present invention. Second, the time variable in Chandra’s formula stands for an arbitrary sampling interval rather than the remaining control period defined as the total preset target-reaching time minus elapsed operation time. The claimed remaining time originates from the fixed heating task deadline unique to the target-oriented control of the present invention.”
Examiner disagrees and notes that in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve accuracy of the temperature management system as supported by Chandra [0005] provide the thermal mitigation functions to manage the heat issue. In light of the substantive amendments made in the amendment, a new prior art rejection is necessitated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 11-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine et al. (US20180016540, herein Sekine), in view of Chandra (US20160124475, herein Chandra).
Regarding claim 1, Sekine teaches A method for power allocation in a carbon dioxide incubator provided with heating wires on multiple inner surfaces of the carbon dioxide incubator ([0004] controlling electric power supplied to the three heating elements so as to maintain the temperature of the water in the recess lower than the temperature in the incubation chamber, [0023] the incubator 1 is used as a CO2 incubator), comprising: according to a current temperature and a target temperature of a box body of the carbon dioxide incubator ([0005] This incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0003] the inside of the incubation chamber may be maintained at a predetermined temperature (37 degrees C., for example) and also at predetermined humidity (95% RH, for example) based on the predetermined temperature, [0036] each of the temperature and humidity, detected by a sensor or the like, in a region of the incubation chamber 4 stands at a value within a desired range and electric power is stably supplied to each of the heaters 26A-26F, the temperatures of the multiple inner faces forming the incubation chamber 4 are not necessarily completely uniform ), determining a power index ([0009] a control unit that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the plurality of heating units. The control unit periodically and repeatedly changes the magnitude of electric power supplied to the plurality of heating units, at timing different for each of the plurality of inner faces, [0032] a power supply unit 28 that supplies electric power; and a control unit 30 that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heaters); in case where the current temperature is less than or equal to the target temperature, according to the power index ([0003] controlling the heater, the inside of the incubation chamber may be maintained at a predetermined temperature (37 degrees C., for example) and also at predetermined humidity (95% RH, for example) based on the predetermined temperature, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0007] the temperature of a partial region in the incubation chamber may be relatively lower than the temperature therearound. In this case, dew condensation may be caused on the wall surface in the region of which the temperature is relatively lower than the temperature therearound) , determining a heating strategy for each inner surface of the carbon dioxide incubator by looking up a table; and according to the heating strategy for each inner surface, adjusting at least one or more of the power and the start-stop time of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment) after a first set period, obtaining a first current temperature and a temperature change rate of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator; … according to a difference between … current temperature and the target temperature, adjusting at least one of an output period and the power of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment).
Sekine does not teach according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature; in case where the second…current temperature is less than a target temperature, … the second… wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period
Chandra teaches according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature ([0031] the temperature prediction module 310 predicts the temperatures based on the stored information from the temperature history memory 350. In one example, the temperature prediction module 310 comprises a circuit configured to predict temperatures of a location for a plurality of time instances based on measured temperatures); in case where the second…current temperature is less than a target temperature, … the second… wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period ([0024] The diagram 200 illustrates that the on-die temperatures are sampled or scheduled to be sampled (e.g., by the temperature sensors 1-10) at time instances T(0), T(1), T(2), T(3), T(4), etc. In one example, the times instances at which the temperatures are sampled or measured may be between fixed intervals or may be interrupt driven. The sampling intervals or interrupts may be based on the measured or predicted temperatures (presented below). For example, in a case where high temperatures are measured or predicted, the sampling rate may be reduced or interrupted more frequently for measuring the temperatures, [0027] the predicted temperatures 210 may be determined based on a rate of change of the measured temperatures and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures. For example, the temperature change between T(0) and T(1) is ΔT1, and the temperature change between T(1) and T(2) is ΔT2. A rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, ΔT1 over the interval T1 or ΔT2 over the interval T2. A rate of change of the above rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, a change between ΔT1 and ΔT2 over a relevant time period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sekine’s teaching of a control unit that adjusts the heating units based on measured temperatures Chandra’s teaching of using the measured temperature values and temperature change rate to predict a second temperature. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a control unit that adjusts the heating units based on measured and calculated/predicted temperatures. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve accuracy of the temperature management system as supported by Chandra [0005] provide the thermal mitigation functions to manage the heat issue.
Regarding claim 3, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the according to the power index, determining the heating strategy for each inner surface of the carbon dioxide incubator by looking up the table comprises: according to a pre-set power table, determining the power of the heating wires on each inner surface corresponding to the power index ((Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment, [0046] The control unit 30 controls electric power supplied to each of the multiple heaters 26A-26F so as to repeatedly change the temperature distribution on the multiple inner faces at predetermined timing);
Regarding Claim 4, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 3, wherein the according to the heating strategy for each inner surface, adjusting at least one or more of the power and the start-stop time of the of the surface comprises: according to the power of the heating wires on each inner surface, adjusting the power of the heating wires on each inner surface to the set power (Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment;).
Regarding claim 5, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 1, after according to the heating strategy for each inner surface, adjusting at least one or more of the power and the start-stop time of the heating wires on each inner surface, further comprising: after a first set period, obtaining a first current temperature and a temperature change rate of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator;… current temperature is less than a target temperature, according to a difference between the … current temperature and the target temperature, adjusting the power of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment;):
Sekine does not teach according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature; in case where the second …; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period; wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises: calculating T2=Tl+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T1 is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate.
Chandra teaches according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature ([0031] the temperature prediction module 310 predicts the temperatures based on the stored information from the temperature history memory 350. In one example, the temperature prediction module 310 comprises a circuit configured to predict temperatures of a location for a plurality of time instances based on measured temperatures) ; in case where the second…; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period ([0024] The diagram 200 illustrates that the on-die temperatures are sampled or scheduled to be sampled (e.g., by the temperature sensors 1-10) at time instances T(0), T(1), T(2), T(3), T(4), etc. In one example, the times instances at which the temperatures are sampled or measured may be between fixed intervals or may be interrupt driven. The sampling intervals or interrupts may be based on the measured or predicted temperatures (presented below). For example, in a case where high temperatures are measured or predicted, the sampling rate may be reduced or interrupted more frequently for measuring the temperatures, [0027] the predicted temperatures 210 may be determined based on a rate of change of the measured temperatures and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures. For example, the temperature change between T(0) and T(1) is ΔT1, and the temperature change between T(1) and T(2) is ΔT2. A rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, ΔT1 over the interval T1 or ΔT2 over the interval T2. A rate of change of the above rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, a change between ΔT1 and ΔT2 over a relevant time period) ; wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises ([0032] the temperatures may be predicted based on an extrapolation a rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., a velocity of temperature change) and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., an acceleration of temperature change). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the as least-square methods, which minimizes the sum of the squares of the errors (e.g., differences between the predicted temperatures and the measured temperatures). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the Kalman filters, which produce statistically-optimal (estimated) temperatures based on the measured temperatures. With each update of the measured temperatures, the predicted temperatures may be recalculated based on the updated measured temperatures): calculating T2=Tl+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T1 is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate ([0037]-[0038] The rate of temperature change (e.g., the velocity of temperature change) may be used to predict temperature at a future time instances by the following equation: T n+x=(ΔT/Δt)n ×Δt n+x, Here, T represents temperature; t represents time; n represents a present or past time instance, and n+x represents a time instance in the future.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sekine’s teaching of a control unit that adjusts the heating units based on measured temperatures Chandra’s teaching of using the measured temperature values and temperature change rate to predict a second temperature. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a control unit that adjusts the heating units based on measured and calculated/predicted temperatures. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve accuracy of the temperature management system as supported by Chandra [0005] provide the thermal mitigation functions to manage the heat issue.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sekine and Chandra teach The method according to claim 5, wherein the according to the difference between the second current temperature and the target temperature, adjusting the power of the heating wires on each inner surface comprises: according to a pre-set correspondence, determining a target power of the heating wires on each inner surface corresponding to the difference; and according to the target power of the heating wires, adjusting the power of the heating wires on each inner surface to the corresponding power (Sekine, Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment).
Regarding claim 8, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 1, after according to the current temperature and the target temperature of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator, determining the power index, further comprising: in case where the current temperature is greater than the target temperature, determining the temperature control strategy for each inner surface of the carbon dioxide incubator according to the power index by looking up the table; and according to the temperature control strategy for each inner surface, reducing at least one or more of the power and the output period of the heating wires on each inner surface (Sekine, Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment;).
Regarding claim 11, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the according to the power index, determining the heating strategy for each inner surface of the carbon dioxide incubator by looking up the table comprises: according to a pre-set time table, determining an output period of the heating wires on each inner surface corresponding to the power index (Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment;).
Regarding claim 12, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 11, wherein the according to the heating strategy for each inner surface, adjusting at least one or more of the power and the start-stop time of the heating wires on each inner surface comprises: according to the output period of the heating wires on each inner surface, controlling the start-stop time of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment;).
Regarding claim 15, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 3, after according to the heating strategy for each inner surface, adjusting at least one or more of the power and the start-stop time of the heating wires on each inner surface, further comprising: after a first set period, obtaining a first current temperature and a temperature change rate of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator…; current temperature is less than the target temperature, according to a difference between the second current temperature and the target temperature, adjusting the power of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment;)
Sekine does not teach according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature; in case where the second…; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period; wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises: calculating T2=T1+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T1 is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate.
Chandra teaches according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature ([0031] the temperature prediction module 310 predicts the temperatures based on the stored information from the temperature history memory 350. In one example, the temperature prediction module 310 comprises a circuit configured to predict temperatures of a location for a plurality of time instances based on measured temperatures); in case where the second…; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period ([0024] The diagram 200 illustrates that the on-die temperatures are sampled or scheduled to be sampled (e.g., by the temperature sensors 1-10) at time instances T(0), T(1), T(2), T(3), T(4), etc. In one example, the times instances at which the temperatures are sampled or measured may be between fixed intervals or may be interrupt driven. The sampling intervals or interrupts may be based on the measured or predicted temperatures (presented below). For example, in a case where high temperatures are measured or predicted, the sampling rate may be reduced or interrupted more frequently for measuring the temperatures, [0027] the predicted temperatures 210 may be determined based on a rate of change of the measured temperatures and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures. For example, the temperature change between T(0) and T(1) is ΔT1, and the temperature change between T(1) and T(2) is ΔT2. A rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, ΔT1 over the interval T1 or ΔT2 over the interval T2. A rate of change of the above rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, a change between ΔT1 and ΔT2 over a relevant time period); wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises ([0032] the temperatures may be predicted based on an extrapolation a rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., a velocity of temperature change) and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., an acceleration of temperature change). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the as least-square methods, which minimizes the sum of the squares of the errors (e.g., differences between the predicted temperatures and the measured temperatures). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the Kalman filters, which produce statistically-optimal (estimated) temperatures based on the measured temperatures. With each update of the measured temperatures, the predicted temperatures may be recalculated based on the updated measured temperatures): calculating T2=T1+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T1 is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate ([0037]-[0038] The rate of temperature change (e.g., the velocity of temperature change) may be used to predict temperature at a future time instances by the following equation: T n+x=(ΔT/Δt)n ×Δt n+x, Here, T represents temperature; t represents time; n represents a present or past time instance, and n+x represents a time instance in the future.)
Regarding claim 16, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 4, after according to the heating strategy for each inner surface, adjusting at least one or more of the power and the start-stop time of the heating wires on each inner surface, further comprising: after a first set period, obtaining a first current temperature and a temperature change rate of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator; …current temperature is less than the target temperature, according to a difference between the… current temperature and the target temperature, adjusting the power of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment)
Sekine does not teach according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature; in case where the second…; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period; wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises: calculating T2=T L+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T l is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate.
Chandra teaches according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature ([0031] the temperature prediction module 310 predicts the temperatures based on the stored information from the temperature history memory 350. In one example, the temperature prediction module 310 comprises a circuit configured to predict temperatures of a location for a plurality of time instances based on measured temperatures); in case where the second…; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period([0024] The diagram 200 illustrates that the on-die temperatures are sampled or scheduled to be sampled (e.g., by the temperature sensors 1-10) at time instances T(0), T(1), T(2), T(3), T(4), etc. In one example, the times instances at which the temperatures are sampled or measured may be between fixed intervals or may be interrupt driven. The sampling intervals or interrupts may be based on the measured or predicted temperatures (presented below). For example, in a case where high temperatures are measured or predicted, the sampling rate may be reduced or interrupted more frequently for measuring the temperatures, [0027] the predicted temperatures 210 may be determined based on a rate of change of the measured temperatures and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures. For example, the temperature change between T(0) and T(1) is ΔT1, and the temperature change between T(1) and T(2) is ΔT2. A rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, ΔT1 over the interval T1 or ΔT2 over the interval T2. A rate of change of the above rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, a change between ΔT1 and ΔT2 over a relevant time period); wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises: ([0032] the temperatures may be predicted based on an extrapolation a rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., a velocity of temperature change) and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., an acceleration of temperature change). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the as least-square methods, which minimizes the sum of the squares of the errors (e.g., differences between the predicted temperatures and the measured temperatures). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the Kalman filters, which produce statistically-optimal (estimated) temperatures based on the measured temperatures. With each update of the measured temperatures, the predicted temperatures may be recalculated based on the updated measured temperatures) calculating T2=T L+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T l is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate ([0037]-[0038] The rate of temperature change (e.g., the velocity of temperature change) may be used to predict temperature at a future time instances by the following equation: T n+x=(ΔT/Δt)n ×Δt n+x, Here, T represents temperature; t represents time; n represents a present or past time instance, and n+x represents a time instance in the future.).
Regarding claim 17, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 11,
after according to the heating strategy for each inner surface, adjusting at least one or more of the power and the start-stop time of the heating wires on each inner surface, further comprising: after a first set period, obtaining a first current temperature and a temperature change rate of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator; …current temperature; in case where the … current temperature is less than the target temperature, according to a difference between the second current temperature and the target temperature, adjusting the output period of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment)
Sekine does not teach according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period; wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises: calculating T2=T1+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T1 is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate.
Chandra teaches according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second ([0031] the temperature prediction module 310 predicts the temperatures based on the stored information from the temperature history memory 350. In one example, the temperature prediction module 310 comprises a circuit configured to predict temperatures of a location for a plurality of time instances based on measured temperatures); wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period ([0024] The diagram 200 illustrates that the on-die temperatures are sampled or scheduled to be sampled (e.g., by the temperature sensors 1-10) at time instances T(0), T(1), T(2), T(3), T(4), etc. In one example, the times instances at which the temperatures are sampled or measured may be between fixed intervals or may be interrupt driven. The sampling intervals or interrupts may be based on the measured or predicted temperatures (presented below). For example, in a case where high temperatures are measured or predicted, the sampling rate may be reduced or interrupted more frequently for measuring the temperatures, [0027] the predicted temperatures 210 may be determined based on a rate of change of the measured temperatures and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures. For example, the temperature change between T(0) and T(1) is ΔT1, and the temperature change between T(1) and T(2) is ΔT2. A rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, ΔT1 over the interval T1 or ΔT2 over the interval T2. A rate of change of the above rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, a change between ΔT1 and ΔT2 over a relevant time period); wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises ([0032] the temperatures may be predicted based on an extrapolation a rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., a velocity of temperature change) and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., an acceleration of temperature change). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the as least-square methods, which minimizes the sum of the squares of the errors (e.g., differences between the predicted temperatures and the measured temperatures). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the Kalman filters, which produce statistically-optimal (estimated) temperatures based on the measured temperatures. With each update of the measured temperatures, the predicted temperatures may be recalculated based on the updated measured temperatures): calculating T2=T1+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T1 is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate ([0037]-[0038] The rate of temperature change (e.g., the velocity of temperature change) may be used to predict temperature at a future time instances by the following equation: T n+x=(ΔT/Δt)n ×Δt n+x, Here, T represents temperature; t represents time; n represents a present or past time instance, and n+x represents a time instance in the future.).
Regarding claim 18, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 12, after according to the heating strategy for each inner surface, adjusting at least one or more of the power and the start-stop time of the heating wires on each inner surface, further comprising: after a first set period, obtaining a first current temperature and a temperature change rate of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator; … current temperature is less than the target temperature, according to a difference between the second current temperature and the target temperature, adjusting the output period of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment;):
Sekine does not teach according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature; in case where the second…; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period; wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises: calculating T2=T1+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T l is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate.
Chandra teaches according to the first current temperature, the temperature change rate, and a remaining period, calculating a second current temperature ([0031] the temperature prediction module 310 predicts the temperatures based on the stored information from the temperature history memory 350. In one example, the temperature prediction module 310 comprises a circuit configured to predict temperatures of a location for a plurality of time instances based on measured temperatures); in case where the second…; wherein the remaining period is a difference between a set period to reach the target temperature and the first set period ([0024] The diagram 200 illustrates that the on-die temperatures are sampled or scheduled to be sampled (e.g., by the temperature sensors 1-10) at time instances T(0), T(1), T(2), T(3), T(4), etc. In one example, the times instances at which the temperatures are sampled or measured may be between fixed intervals or may be interrupt driven. The sampling intervals or interrupts may be based on the measured or predicted temperatures (presented below). For example, in a case where high temperatures are measured or predicted, the sampling rate may be reduced or interrupted more frequently for measuring the temperatures, [0027] the predicted temperatures 210 may be determined based on a rate of change of the measured temperatures and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures. For example, the temperature change between T(0) and T(1) is ΔT1, and the temperature change between T(1) and T(2) is ΔT2. A rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, ΔT1 over the interval T1 or ΔT2 over the interval T2. A rate of change of the above rate of change of temperatures may be, for example, a change between ΔT1 and ΔT2 over a relevant time period); wherein the according to the first current temperature and the temperature change rate, calculating the second current temperature comprises ([0032] the temperatures may be predicted based on an extrapolation a rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., a velocity of temperature change) and/or a rate of change of the rate of change of the measured temperatures (e.g., an acceleration of temperature change). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the as least-square methods, which minimizes the sum of the squares of the errors (e.g., differences between the predicted temperatures and the measured temperatures). In another example, the temperature prediction module 310 may predict the temperatures using the Kalman filters, which produce statistically-optimal (estimated) temperatures based on the measured temperatures. With each update of the measured temperatures, the predicted temperatures may be recalculated based on the updated measured temperatures): calculating T2=T1+txV; wherein T2 is the second current temperature, T l is the first current temperature, t is the remaining period, and V is the temperature change rate ([0037]-[0038] The rate of temperature change (e.g., the velocity of temperature change) may be used to predict temperature at a future time instances by the following equation: T n+x=(ΔT/Δt)n ×Δt n+x, Here, T represents temperature; t represents time; n represents a present or past time instance, and n+x represents a time instance in the future).
Regarding claim 19, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 3, after according to the current temperature and the target temperature of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator ([0005] This incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0003] the inside of the incubation chamber may be maintained at a predetermined temperature (37 degrees C., for example) and also at predetermined humidity (95% RH, for example) based on the predetermined temperature, [0036] each of the temperature and humidity, detected by a sensor or the like, in a region of the incubation chamber 4 stands at a value within a desired range and electric power is stably supplied to each of the heaters 26A-26F, the temperatures of the multiple inner faces forming the incubation chamber 4 are not necessarily completely uniform), determining the power index ([0009] a control unit that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the plurality of heating units. The control unit periodically and repeatedly changes the magnitude of electric power supplied to the plurality of heating units, at timing different for each of the plurality of inner faces, [0032] a power supply unit 28 that supplies electric power; and a control unit 30 that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heaters), further comprising: in case where the current temperature is greater than the target temperature, determining the temperature control strategy for each inner surface of the carbon dioxide incubator according to the power index by looking up the table; and according to the temperature control strategy for each inner surface, reducing the power of the heating wires on each inner surface (Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment;).
Regarding claim 20, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 11, after according to the current temperature and the target temperature of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator ([0005] This incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0003] the inside of the incubation chamber may be maintained at a predetermined temperature (37 degrees C., for example) and also at predetermined humidity (95% RH, for example) based on the predetermined temperature, [0036] each of the temperature and humidity, detected by a sensor or the like, in a region of the incubation chamber 4 stands at a value within a desired range and electric power is stably supplied to each of the heaters 26A-26F, the temperatures of the multiple inner faces forming the incubation chamber 4 are not necessarily completely uniform ), determining the power index ([0009] a control unit that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the plurality of heating units. The control unit periodically and repeatedly changes the magnitude of electric power supplied to the plurality of heating units, at timing different for each of the plurality of inner faces, [0032] a power supply unit 28 that supplies electric power; and a control unit 30 that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heaters), further comprising: in case where the current temperature is greater than the target temperature ([0003] controlling the heater, the inside of the incubation chamber may be maintained at a predetermined temperature (37 degrees C., for example) and also at predetermined humidity (95% RH, for example) based on the predetermined temperature, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0007] the temperature of a partial region in the incubation chamber may be relatively lower than the temperature therearound. In this case, dew condensation may be caused on the wall surface in the region of which the temperature is relatively lower than the temperature therearound), determining the temperature control strategy for each inner surface of the carbon dioxide incubator according to the power index by looking up the table; and according to the temperature control strategy for each inner surface, reducing the output period of the heating wires on each inner surface(Fig. 5-9, [0045] The control unit 30 according to the fifth embodiment provides control so that electric power supplied to the heater 26B is less than electric power supplied to each of the other heaters. Accordingly, heating near the top board, where the temperature tends to rise, can be restrained, so that the temperatures within the incubation space can be made more uniform, [0034] The timing t1-t6 is different from each other. Also, the period T of the repetitive change of electric power may not necessarily be the same for all the heaters. For example, a period T′ of part of the heaters may be made different from the period T of the other heaters. Further, the period T of a heater may not necessarily be always the same. For example, after electric power is changed with a period T1, it may be changed with a period T2 (T2≠T1) and then changed with the period T1 again, [0035] changing the magnitude of electric power means changing the state between that where electric power is not supplied (OFF) and that where a predetermined amount of electric power is supplied (ON); however, it is not limited to such changing. For example, it may be changing the state between that where a first amount (greater than zero) of electric power is supplied and that where a second amount, greater than the first amount, of electric power is supplied, [0015] FIG. 5 is a timing chart that shows variation of the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heating units according to a first embodiment) .
Claim(s) 2, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine et al. (US20180016540, herein Sekine), in view of Hugh et al. (US20020047311, herein Hugh).
Regarding claim 2, Sekine teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the according to the current temperature and the target temperature of the box body of the carbon dioxide incubator, ([0003] controlling the heater, the inside of the incubation chamber may be maintained at a predetermined temperature (37 degrees C., for example) and also at predetermined humidity (95% RH, for example) based on the predetermined temperature, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device, [0007] the temperature of a partial region in the incubation chamber may be relatively lower than the temperature therearound. In this case, dew condensation may be caused on the wall surface in the region of which the temperature is relatively lower than the temperature therearound) determining the power index comprises: obtaining the current temperature ([0009] a control unit that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the plurality of heating units. The control unit periodically and repeatedly changes the magnitude of electric power supplied to the plurality of heating units, at timing different for each of the plurality of inner faces, [0032] a power supply unit 28 that supplies electric power; and a control unit 30 that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the heaters, [0005] incubator also comprises a temperature detection device for detecting a temperature within the incubation chamber and is configured to control each of the multiple heating elements based on the detection result of the temperature detection device);
Sekine does not teach and inputting the current temperature and the target temperature into a PID algorithm and outputting the power index
Hugh teaches and inputting the current temperature and the target temperature into a PID algorithm and outputting the power index ([0085] Heaters 340 and 342 are controlled by microprocessor 300 to produce a desired heat output. Specifically, microprocessor 300 is programmed to implement an adaptive proportional-integral-derivative control algorithm, responsive to temperature readings from temperature sensor 314, to control the temperature inside the incubator. A particular suitable algorithm is the ISA “ideal algorithm for closed loop PID control”. This control algorithm generates a value indicative of the heater power that should be applied at any given time to properly control the temperature of the incubator. This heater power is represented by a percentage of maximum heat, [0019] The closed-loop temperature control is calibrated for operation at a predetermined line voltage, such as 90 Volts RMS, and in operation generates a heater power fraction indicating the fraction of full heater power to be applied to the chamber. The control circuit determines a ratio of the root-mean-square amplitude of the measured line voltage to (90) 2. Then, a revised heater power fraction is obtained by dividing the heater power fraction demanded by the closed-loop temperature control system by the computed ratio. The heater then generates the revised heater power fraction of its maximum heat output. As a result, the closed-loop temperature control system will obtain a consistent heat output from the heater independent of variations in line voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sekine’s teaching of a control unit that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the plurality of heating units with Hugh’s teaching of using a control algorithm responsive to measure temperatures. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a control unit that uses a control algorithm responsive to measure temperatures that controls the magnitude of electric power supplied to each of the plurality of heating units. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve the accuracy of the system by incorporating an algorithm.
Regarding claim 9, Sekine teaches A device for power allocation in a carbon dioxide incubator, comprising a processor…, wherein the processor is configured to execute the method for power allocation in a carbon dioxide incubator according to claim 1 when executing the program instructions ([0014] FIG. 4 is a block diagram that shows a configuration of a control unit that controls the heating units).
Sekine does not teach and a memory storing program instructions
Hugh teaches and a memory storing program instructions ([0071] microprocessor 300 makes use of a number of lookup tables found in a memory 330. These tables include motor control lookup tables 331 and 332, [0122] In step 528, microprocessor 300 retrieves from memory 330 a stored curve from a table 336)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sekine’s teaching of a control unit that controls the heating units with Hugh’s teaching of a memory storing control look up tables. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a control unit that controls the heating units and a memory that stores the control look up tables. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated have a memory to maintain integrity of the data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
(US20180002650) discloses carbon dioxide incubator and cell culture method
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117