Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that:
“The Applicant submits that Kataoka does not expressly or inherently describe at least, for example, the newly presented feature of "the stator base includes a plate- shaped portion that covers an opening of the rotor base," as recited in amended independent claim 1.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
Kataoka discloses that the stator base includes a plate-shaped portion that covers an opening of the rotor base (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, they are discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Applicant further asserts that:
“However, the Applicant's Specification describes "[t]he present disclosure proposes a brushless motor that can be downsized," See Applicant's Specification at ¶ [0004]. A person of ordinary skill in the field of the Applicant's invention would not look at the disclosure of Lee at the time the invention was made, to combine it with the other references as suggested in the Office Action. Therefore, the Applicant respectfully submits that the rationale proffered to combine the teachings of Kataoka, Furuse, Ohno, and Lee is based on hindsight, and is thus improper.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a brushless motor that can be downsized) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, they are discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, it is discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kataoka (US
2015/0015104).
As to claim 1, Kataoka discloses a brushless motor (Paragraph 0151), comprising: a stator core (30; Fig. 2) that faces a magnet in a radial direction (Fig. 2); a rotor base (53; Fig. 2) configured to support the magnet ((51; Fig. 2), wherein the rotor base surrounds the stator core (Fig. 2); a first bearing and a second bearing (62 and 63; Fig. 2), wherein the first bearing is configured to rotatably support the rotor base (62; Fig. 2), the second bearing is configured to rotatably support the rotor base (63; Fig. 2), the stator core is between the first bearing and the second bearing in an axial direction (Fig. 2); and a stator base configured to support the stator core (Fig. 2), wherein the stator base includes a plate-shaped portion that covers an opening of the rotor base (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka and further
in view of Furuse (US 2003/0048034) and Ohno (US 2022/0170507).
As to claim 3, Kataoka discloses the brushless motor according to claim 1, further comprising:
the stator base (35; Fig. 2) includes a cylindrical portion, the shaft is in the cylindrical portion, an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports the first bearing, and an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports the second bearing, and the second bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft.
Kataoka fails to disclose a shaft integrated with the rotor base; an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports the first bearing, and an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports the second bearing, and the second bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft.
Furuse, however, discloses a shaft formed to be integrated with the rotor base (Paragraph 0037;
Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka with a
shaft formed to be integrated with the rotor base, as disclosed by Furuse, in order to improve efficiency
and simplify assembly.
Ohno, however, discloses an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports the second bearing (Fig. 3 of Ohno), and an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports the second bearing, and the second bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft (Fig. 3 of Ohno).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka with an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports the second bearing, and an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports the second bearing, and the second bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft, as disclosed by Ohno in order to improve the reliability of bearings in a motor (Paragraph 0007 of Ohno).
As to claim 9, Kataoka discloses the brushless motor according to claim 1, further comprising;
the stator base (35; Fig. 2) includes a cylindrical portion, the shaft is in the cylindrical portion, an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports each of the first bearing and the second bearing, the first bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft, and the second bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft.
Kataoka fails to disclose a shaft integrated with the rotor base; and an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports each of the first bearing and the second bearing, the first bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft, and the second bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft.
Furuse, however, discloses a shaft integrated with the rotor base (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka with a
shaft formed to be integrated with the rotor base, as disclosed by Furuse, in order to improve efficiency
and simplify assembly.
Ohno, however, discloses an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports each of the first bearing and the second bearing (Fig. 3 of Ohno), the first bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft (Fig. 3 of Ohno), and the second bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft (Fig. 3 of Ohno).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka with an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion supports each of the first bearing and the second bearing, the first bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft, and the second bearing is further configured to rotatably support the shaft, as disclosed by Ohno in order to improve the
reliability of bearings in a motor (Paragraph 0007 of Ohno).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka, Furuse, Ohno as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2022/0135179).
As to claim 4, the combination of Kataoka, Furuse, and Ohno disclose the brushless motor
according to claim 3.
Kataoka fails to disclose the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion includes a first
portion, a second portion, and a first step portion, the first portion has an outer diameter larger than an inner diameter of the stator core, the second portion has an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the stator core, and the first step portion is located between the first portion and the second portion, and the stator core is in contact with the first step portion.
Lee, however, discloses the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion includes a first
Portion (Fig. 3a of Lee), a second portion (Fig. 3a of Lee), and a first step portion (Fig. 3a of Lee), the first portion has an outer diameter larger than an inner diameter of the stator core (Fig. 3a of Lee), the second portion has an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the stator core (Fig. 3a of Lee), and the first step portion is located between the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 3a of Lee), and the stator core is in contact with the first step portion (Fig. 3a of Lee).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka with the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion includes a first portion, a second portion, and a first step portion, the first portion has an outer diameter larger than an inner diameter of the stator core, the second portion has an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the stator core, and the first step portion is located between the first portion and the second portion, and the stator core is in contact with the first step portion, as disclosed by Lee, in order to maximize space efficiency while supporting the stator core.
As to claim 5, the combination of Kataoka, Furuse, Ohno, and Lee disclose the brushless motor
according to 4.
Kataoka fails to disclose the outer diameter of the second portion is larger than an inner
diameter of the first bearing.
Lee, however, discloses the outer diameter of the second portion is larger than an inner
diameter of the first bearing (Fig. 3a of Lee).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka, Furuse, and Ohno with the outer diameter of the second portion is larger than an inner diameter of the first bearing, as disclosed by Lee, in order to improve space management.
Kataoka fails to disclose the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion includes a third
portion and a second step portion, the third portion has an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the first bearing, and the second step portion is located between the second portion and the third portion, and the first bearing is in contact with the second step portion.
Ohno, however, discloses the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion includes a third portion and a second step portion (Fig. 3 of Ohno), the third portion has an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the first bearing (Fig. 3 of Ohno), and the second step portion is located between the second portion and the third portion (Fig. 3 of Ohno), and the first bearing is in contact with the second step portion (Fig. 3 of Ohno).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka, Furuse, and Lee with the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion includes a third portion and a second step portion, the third portion has an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the first bearing, and the second step portion is located between the second portion and the third portion, and the first bearing is in contact with the second step portion, as disclosed by Ohno, in order to allow for a bearing to rest against for better stability.
As the combination of Kataoka, Furuse, Ohno, and Lee is made, it would result in a second step
portion located between the second portion and the third portion.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka, Furuse, Ohno,
as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Iwata (US 2022/0316487).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kataoka, Furuse and Ohno disclose the brushless motor
according to claim 3.
Kataoka fails to disclose a retaining member located on a surface of the second bearing, wherein the surface of the second bearing is located opposite the first bearing, and the retaining member is configured to prevent removal of the shaft from the cylindrical portion.
Iwata, however, discloses a retaining member located on a surface of the second bearing (Fig. 1
of Iwata), wherein the surface of the second bearing is located opposite the first bearing, and the retaining member is configured to prevent removal of the shaft from the cylindrical portion (Fig. 1 of Iwata).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka, Furuse,
and Ohno with a retaining member located on a surface of the second bearing, wherein the surface of the second bearing is located opposite the first bearing, and the retaining member is configured to prevent removal of the shaft from the cylindrical portion, as disclosed by Iwata, in order to prevent shaft displacement and maintain alignment.
As to claim 7, the combination of Kataoka, Furuse, Ohno and Iwata disclose the brushless motor
according to claim 6.
Kataoka fails to disclose the retaining member is further configured to apply a preload to each of the first bearing and the second bearing.
Ohno, however, discloses the retaining member is further configured to apply a preload to each of the first bearing and the second bearing (Paragraph 0075-0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka and
Furuse with the retaining member is further configured to apply a preload to each of the first bearing and the second bearing, as disclosed by Ohno, in order to prevent misalignment and enhance life of the bearings.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and in view of Iwata (US
2022/0316487).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kataoka disclose the brushless motor according to claim 1.
Kataoka fails to disclose the rotor base includes a plurality of through holes, and the plurality of through holes exposes a part of the first bearing in the axial direction.
Iwata, however, discloses the rotor base includes a plurality of through holes, and the plurality of through holes exposes a part of the first bearing in the axial direction (Fig. 1 of Iwata).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brushless motor of Kataoka with the rotor base includes a plurality of through holes, and the plurality of through holes exposes a part of the first bearing in the axial direction, as disclosed by Iwata, in order to improve heat dissipation and weight reduction.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834