DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 6/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amended claim 1 now requires the inclusion of a fluoropolymer, and is therefore differentiated from the composition of Lian. This is not found persuasive because Groups I to III of the amended claims lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a composition comprising a polyamide, a fluoropolymer, glass fibers, antioxidant, and additive, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art. See the rejections over Wang, CN104356645, and He, CN105038218, discussed later in this Action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/18/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/14/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Applicant did not provide a copy of the cited reference to Xing et al, Polymer-Plastics Technology and Engineering. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered with respect to this reference.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they contain text that is illegible. For both Fig. 1 and Fig.2, the text along the y-axis and inside the graph is faint and blurred such that it is either difficult to read or illegible. See also Fig. 2 which includes a second graph as an insert of the main graph; however, the text and line of the insert graph is to faint to be clearly read. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2: Claim 2 is reproduced below.
As written, the number of components and the recited number of amounts of components are not equal, as there are 6 components and 7 separate amounts.
Note the phrase “0.15% w/w, 0-2% w/w, 0.3% w/w”; given its placement before the word “and” this phrase would be expected to recite the amounts of antioxidant and additives. Was the claim intended to recite a range for the amount of antioxidant that was inadvertently broken up by the insertion of the amount of lubricant? Alternatively, the inclusion of any one of the values 0.15% w/w, 0-2% w/w, and 0.3% w/w in the claim could be interpreted to have been done in error. It is therefore unclear what the required amounts of antioxidant and additive are.
Regarding claim 3: Claim 3 contains the trademarks/trade names Maranyl, Ultramid, Zytel, Akromid, Durethan, Frianyl, and Vydyne. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe species of the claimed polyamide (i.e., a material/product) and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Further note that claim 3 states that the polyamide is “selected from a group containing” the recited species. The transitional term “containing” is synonymous with “comprising” and is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements (MPEP § 2111.03(I)). In contrast, a Markush group is required to be a closed group of alternatives; i.e., the selection is made from a group consisting of the recited species. A Markush grouping that requires a material be selected from an open list of alternatives is indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be covered by the claim (MPEP §2173.05(h)(I)). The recitation of a Markush group using the open term “containing” therefore renders claim 3 indefinite.
Regarding claim 4: Claim 4 contains the trademarks/trade names Inolub, Teflon, Fluon, Hostaflon, and Polyflon. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe species of fluoropolymer (i.e., a material/product) and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite; see Ex parte Simpson cite earlier in this Action.
Furthermore, note that claim 4 states that the fluoropolymer is “selected from a group containing” the recited species. The recitation of a Markush grouping using the open term “containing” renders the claim indefinite (MPEP §2173.05(h)(I)).
Regarding claim 5: Claim 5 contains the trademarks/trade names Irganox 1098 and Irgafos 168. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe species of antioxidant (i.e., a compound/product) and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite; see Ex parte Simpson cite earlier in this Action.
Furthermore, note that claim 5 states that the antioxidants are “selected from a group containing” the recited species. The recitation of a Markush grouping using the open term “containing” renders the claim indefinite (MPEP §2173.05(h)(I)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang, CN104356645.
The examiner notes that a machine translation of Wang was used to prepare this Action.
Wang discloses an alloy comprising a blend of 55 to 60 wt% polyamide 66 (PA66), corresponding to the claimed polyamide (for claims 1, 3); 10 to 15 wt% polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), corresponding to the claimed fluoropolymer (for claims 1, 4); 25 to 30 wt% glass fiber, corresponding to the claimed glass fiber (for claim 1); 0.4 to 0.8% antioxidant, corresponding to the claimed antioxidant (for claim 1), and 0.2 to 0.5 wt% lubricant, corresponding to the claimed additive (for claim 1).
Regarding claim 5: The prior art antioxidant is a combination of antioxidant 1076 and antioxidant 168 (page 2: lines 31-32). As noted above, claim 5 recites the open term “containing”. As the prior art compounds are both antioxidants, they are both interpreted to fall within the scope of the group “containing” the recited antioxidants.
Example 3 discloses an alloy composition comprising about 60% PA66, about 12% PTFE, about 28.6 % glass fibers, about 0.4% antioxidant, and about 0.4% lubricant, wherein said alloy composition is prepared by combining the PA66, PTFE, antioxidant, and lubricant in an extruder followed by addition of the glass fibers through a side feeding port (page 3: lines 18-26).
Regarding the claimed pigment: Note that the phrase “a desired amount” reads on a composition comprising 0 wt% pigment when coloring is not desired. The prior art composition therefore corresponds to the claimed invention comprising 0 wt% pigment (for claim 1).
Wang is silent regarding the properties of ignition temperature, tensile strength, and coefficient of friction; however, it is reasonably expected that these properties are met by the prior art.
“[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same…" as that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP § 2112).
The prior art Example 3 discloses a composition that appears to be identical to the claimed invention and is made via similar process of first combining all components other than the glass fibers in an extruder followed by addition of the glass fibers through a side feeder as taught by the instant specification. As the prior art alloy appears to be the same as the claimed invention, it is reasonably expected that its properties would necessarily be the same as claimed and inherently be not different from those of the claimed composition. The burden is therefore shifted to the applicant to provide evidence that the properties used to define the claimed composition would not be present in the alloy disclosed by Wang.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over He, CN105038218.
The examiner notes that a machine translation of He was used to prepare this Action.
He discloses a polyamide 66 (PA66) composite material comprising PA66, a dimension stabilizer, a wear resisting agent, and antioxidant, and a lubricant (abstract). See Example 3 of He (see Table in 0042 of original document).
Regarding the claimed polyamide: The composition of Example 3 comprises PA66EPR27, which is reported to be a PA66 (for claim 3) (page 3: line 4), corresponding to the claimed polyamide (for claim 1). Based on the amounts of each component listed in the Table, it is calculated that the composition of Example 3 contains about 45 wt% PA66 (for claim 2).
Regarding the claimed fluoropolymer: The composition of Example 3 comprises PTFE (for claim 4), corresponding to the claimed fluoropolymer (for claim 1). Based on the amounts of each component listed in the Table, it is calculated that the composition of Example 3 contains about 10 wt% PTFE (for claim 2).
Regarding the claimed glass fiber: The composition of Example 3 comprises ERS200-13-T635B, which is reported to be a commercial glass fiber (page 3: lines 5-7). Based on the amounts of each component listed in the Table, it is calculated that the composition of Example 3 contains about 30 wt% glass fibers (for claim 2).
Regarding the claimed antioxidant: The composition of Example 3 comprises antioxidants 1098 and 168 from BASF (page 3: line 25), corresponding to the claimed antioxidant (for claim 1). Note that Irganox 1098 and Irgafos 168 are tradenames for antioxidants sold by BASF; the prior art therefore teaches the claimed compounds (for claim 5).
Regarding the claimed additive: The composition of Example 3 comprises the lubricant BM50-001 (page 3: line 26), corresponding to the claimed additive (for claim 1).
Regarding the claimed pigment: As discussed earlier in this Action, the phrase “a desired amount” reads on 0 wt% when a pigment is not desired. The composition of Example 3 therefore corresponds to the claimed composition which does not contain a pigment (for claim 1).
Regarding the claimed tensile strength: The composition of Example 3 has a tensile strength of 170 MPa-i.e., about 1734 kg/cm2 (for claim 1).
Wang is silent regarding the properties of ignition temperature and coefficient of friction; however, it is reasonably expected that these properties are met by the prior art.
As discussed in the previous paragraphs, the prior art teaches a composition which appears to be the same as the claimed composition. It is therefore reasonably expected that its properties would necessarily be the same as claimed and inherently be not different from those of the claimed composition. The burden is therefore shifted to the applicant to provide evidence that the properties used to define the claimed composition would not be present in the alloy disclosed by He; see In re Fitzgerald cited earlier in this Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, CN104356645.
As discussed earlier in this Action, Wang discloses an alloy comprising a blend of 55 to 60 wt% PA66, 10 to 15 wt% PTFE, 25 to 30 wt% glass fiber, 0.4 to 0.8% antioxidant, and 0.2 to 0.5 wt% lubricant. Note that the claimed ranges for the amounts of PA66, PTFE, glass fibers, and lubricant are all entirely encompassed by the claimed ranges for the amounts of polyamide, fluoropolymer, glass fibers, and additive, respectively.
Wang is silent regarding the production of an alloy comprising 0.15% w/w antioxidant.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation"; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
The prior art discloses an alloy which is required to contain PA66, PTFE, glass fibers, and lubricant in the same amounts as the claimed invention. The sole difference between the claimed invention and the alloy of Wang is the amount of antioxidant. One of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that an antioxidant is an additive that is included in polymer compositions to adjust their resistance to oxidative damage; the amount of antioxidant is therefore a result effective variable. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of antioxidant in the alloy of Wang through routine experimentation to alter the resistance to oxidation as needed.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, CN104356645, as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above, and further in view of Kim et al, EP3138879.
As discussed earlier in this Action, Wang discloses an alloy comprising a blend of 55 to 60 wt% PA66, 10 to 15 wt% PTFE, 25 to 30 wt% glass fiber, 0.4 to 0.8% antioxidant, and 0.2 to 0.5 wt% lubricant.
Regarding the claimed use of the pigment zinc sulfide: As currently written, the claimed invention recites the use of “a desired amount” of pigment; this limitation reads on the use of 0 wt% pigment as discussed earlier in this Action. The alloy of Wang therefore corresponds to the claimed composition comprising 0 wt% zinc sulfide.
Wang is silent regarding the use of fatty bisamide wax.
Kim discloses a glass fiber-reinforced PA66 composition (abstract) which is used in vehicle applications (0003). Kim teaches that it was known in the art to use ethylene bis stearamide-i.e., a fatty bisamide wax- as a lubricant in such compositions. Kim further teaches that it was known that the inclusion of such waxes improves flowability of the composition during processing and dispersibility of the glass fibers (¶0015).
Wang and Kim both disclose glass fiber reinforced compositions based on PA66 that are used in vehicle applications. As taught by Kim, it was known in the art that ethylene bis stearamide could be used as a lubricant in such compositions. As noted above, the alloy of Wang includes a lubricant. Barring a showing of evidence demonstrating unexpected results, it therefore would have been obvious to modify the composition of Wang by using ethylene bis stearamide as the lubricant with the reasonable expectation of obtaining a final alloy having improved flowability during processing and dispersibility of the glass fibers as taught by Kim.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, CN105038218.
The examiner notes that a machine translation of He was used to prepare this Action.
As discussed earlier in this Action, Example 3 of He discloses a composite material comprising PA66, glass fibers as a dimension stabilizer, PTFE as a wear resisting agent, antioxidants 1098 and 168, and a lubricant (abstract). Based on the amounts in the Table, the composition of Example 3 comprises about 45 wt% PA66 (for claim 2); about 10 wt% PTFE (for claim 2); about 30 wt% glass fibers (for claim 2), and about 4.0 wt% additives (for claim 2) other than antioxidants.
He is silent regarding the production of an alloy comprising 0.15% w/w antioxidant.
The prior art discloses an alloy which contains PA66, PTFE, glass fibers, and additives in the same amounts as the claimed invention. The sole difference between the claimed invention and the alloy of He is the amount of antioxidant. One of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that an antioxidant is an additive that is included in polymer compositions to adjust their resistance to oxidative damage; the amount of antioxidant is therefore a result effective variable. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of antioxidant in the alloy of He through routine experimentation to alter the resistance to oxidation as needed; see In re Aller cited earlier in this Action.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, CN105038218, as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above, and further in view of Kim et al, EP3138879.
As discussed earlier in this Action, He discloses a composition comprising a blend of PA66, PTFE, glass fiber, antioxidant, and lubricant.
Regarding the claimed use of the pigment zinc sulfide: As currently written, the claimed invention recites the use of “a desired amount” of pigment; this limitation reads on the use of 0 wt% pigment as discussed earlier in this Action. The composition of He therefore corresponds to the claimed composition comprising 0 wt% zinc sulfide.
He is silent regarding the use of fatty bisamide wax.
As discussed earlier in this Action, Kim teaches that it was known in the art to use ethylene bis stearamide-i.e., a fatty bisamide wax- as a lubricant in glass fiber-reinforced PA66 composition. Kim further teaches that it was known that the inclusion of such waxes improves flowability of the composition during processing and dispersibility of the glass fibers (¶0015).
He and Kim both disclose glass fiber reinforced compositions based on PA66. As taught by Kim, it was known in the art that ethylene bis stearamide could be used as a lubricant in such compositions. As noted above, the composition of He includes a lubricant. Barring a showing of evidence demonstrating unexpected results, it therefore would have been obvious to modify the composition of He by using ethylene bis stearamide as the lubricant with the reasonable expectation of obtaining a final composition having improved flowability during processing and dispersibility of the glass fibers as taught by Kim.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY S LENIHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765