DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to a amendments and remarks filed 03 August 2026. Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heitmann (EP 1 191 711 A2) see attached machine translation in view of Ryan (US 9,301,267 B2).
Regarding claim 1 Heitmann discloses a method for synchronizing timing clocks in wireless communication between a first wireless device being a timing master
- measuring by the first wireless device a phase offset between its internal clock and a reference clock ([0007] disclosing the base stations are synchronized to a clock provided by the higher layer switching system (i.e. a reference clock); Fig. 1, VST2, BS 2.3; [0023] switching system part VST2; [0024] VST2 and BS 2.3 seen as a wireless device; Fig. 1, the number 3 placed in a circle, [0014], [0016] and [0024] disclosing the base station measures the phase difference between its radio frame and the radio frame of the other base station serving as a “reference clock supplying” interface),
- transmitting by the first wireless device data indicative of said measured phase offset to the second wireless device (Fig. 1, VST1, BS 1.3 seen as the second wireless device; [0025] disclosing base station 2.3 transmits the measured value to VST1 for phase adjustment of the associated base stations),
- receiving by the second wireless device said data indicative of said measured phase offset from the first wireless device (Fig. 1, VST1, BS 1.3 seen as the second wireless device; [0025] disclosing base station 2.3 transmits the measured value to VST1 for phase adjustment of the associated base stations),
- measuring by the second wireless device a phase offset between its internal clock and the reference clock (Fig. 1, VST1, BS 1.3 seen as the second wireless device; [0014], [0016] and [0024] while this disclosure is with respect to measuring by BS 2.3, it is implicit in the disclosure that the measurements of phase offset can be performed by BS 2.3 serving as the “reference clock supplying” interface), and
- adjusting by the second wireless device the phase offset between its internal clock and the reference clock in response to said data indicative of said measured phase offset from the first wireless device ([0025] disclosing phase adjustment information provided to the base station by the associated switching device; [0027] disclosing the phase difference is provided to VST1 specifically to the VST1; [0009] disclosing “a constant phase offset must be determined and adjusted, which requires a high system frequency agreement between the switching system components), so as to ensure that the second wireless device provides the same phase offset between its internal clock and the reference clock as the phase offset between the internal clock of the first wireless device and the reference clock (The broadest reasonable interpretation of this feature is the intended result of the steps recited in the method and is not considered a limitation of the invention because one of ordinary skill in the art of synchronization would understand that the steps already recited in the claim operates to achieve the intended result; further attention is called to [0009] disclosing “a constant phase offset must be determined and adjusted, which requires a high system frequency agreement between the switching system components).
Heitmann does not disclose the following; however, Ryan suggests, wherein the first and second wireless devices have common access to a reference network clock via a network connection, and wherein the reference network clock is external to the first and second wireless devices (Col. 5, lines 9-43 disclosing internal clock frequencies of the baseband module 216 and radio module 214 can be synchronized with a grandmaster clock of a primary reference clock (PRC) module using a hierarchical master-salve architecture to distribute the grandmaster clock of the PRC module to the various modules of the communication environment 100; for example, the baseband module 216 directly connected to the PRC module can act as a slave to the PRC module while acting as master to one or more radio modules 214 ( e.g., two radio modules 214 corresponding to the first and second wireless devices); Fig. 2, 214, 216, 218, Col. 6, lines 44-46 disclosing “By utilizing the hierarchical master-slave architecture, the generated reference clock will be frequency locked to the grandmaster clock of the PRC module.”; Col. 6. Lines 36-48 and Col. 6, line 57 – Col. 7 line 9 disclosing, the radio modules 214 can synchronize their internal reference clocks to the grandmaster clock of the PRC module by receiving over Ethernet connection 218 the reference clock which is frequency locked to the grandmaster clock of the PRC module) which suggests modifying Heitmann’s reference clock to the reference network clock of Ryan. Ryan discloses “With continued reference to FIG. 2, and as discussed above, the hierarchical master-slave architecture for clock distribution can be implemented to synchronize the internal reference clock frequencies of the various devices within the wireless communication environment 100. Following synchronization of the clock frequencies between, for example, the baseband module 216 and the radio module 214, a phase offset between respective clocks of the baseband module 216 and radio module 214 can exist. In other words, although the clocks of the baseband module 216 and radio module 214 can be operating at the same (or substantially the same) frequency, a timing error (phase offset) may exist between the internal reference clock in the baseband module 216 and the internal reference clock in the radio module 214.” (Col. 8, lines 12-25, Fig. 6, Col. 14, lines 1-44 disclosing a technique for correcting the phase differences ). That is to say, even when the grandmaster clock of the PRC module is distributed to all of the devices, phase offsets between the internal reference clocks of the various modules need to be corrected which can be performed in the manner disclosed by Heitmann with the distributed grandmaster clock of the PRC module in Ryan (i.e., reference network clock).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the hierarchical master-slave architecture to distribute the grandmaster clock of the PRC module in Ryan (i.e., reference network clock) to the devices in the network of Heitmann in order to provide a common clock reference to all devices in the network by simply substituting the grandmaster clock of the PRC module for the clock that is supplied by the higher-level switching system as disclosed by Heitmann ([0007]) because substituting one known element for the other would have resulted in results that were predictable by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by the level of skill in the prior art references.
Regarding claim 2, Heitmann appears to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second wireless devices are arranged to communicate according to an IEEE 1588 compatible protocol (Fig. 1 LAN [0024], [0026] disclosing the switching system parts are connected via a LAN which appears to be an IEEE 1588 compatible protocol).
Regarding claim 3, Heitmann appears to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second wireless devices are arranged for wireless communication according to a DECT compatible protocol ([0011]).
Regarding claim 5, Heitmann appears to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the common reference network clock provides a common reference clock signal to both of the first and second wireless devices via a network connection (Fig. 1 LAN, [0024], [0026]).
Heitmann does not expressly disclose the following; however Ryan discloses via an Ethernet network connection (Col. 4, lines 24-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the Ethernet standard for the communication link in Heitmann because the teaching lies in Ryan that this can maintain the frequency and phase synchronization required by Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) or Open Base Station Architecture Initiative (OBSAI). (Col. 3, lines 57-64, Col. 4, lines 24-33).
Regarding claim 6, the claim is directed towards a wireless device comprising
- at least one RF transmitter and receiver circuit connected to an antenna, and
- an internal clock,
wherein the wireless RF device is configured to operate as the first or second wireless device according to the method according to claim 1. Heitmann appears to disclose the claimed structure (Fig. 1, VST2, BS 2.3 and citations with respect to claim 1 above); accordingly claim 6 is rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Heitmann appears to disclose the wireless device according to claim 6, wherein the wireless device is configured to switch between operating as the first wireless device and operating as the second wireless device (Fig. 1, VST1, BS 1.3 seen as the second wireless device; [0014], [0016] and [0024] while this disclosure is with respect to measuring by BS 2.3, it is implicit in the disclosure that the measurements of phase offset can be performed by BS 2.3 serving as the “reference clock supplying” interface).
Regarding claim 8, Heitmann appears to disclose the wireless device according to claim 6, being configured to communicate according to a DECT based protocol ([0011]).
Regarding claim 9, Heitmann appears to disclose the wireless device according to claim 8, being configured for one-way or two-way audio communication, such as configured for audio communication ([0002] DECT disclosed as mobile telecommunications; [0003] such as cordless telephones; [0004] cordless PBX exchanges; [0004]-[0005] disclosing communications via seamless handover; all of these features disclose one-way and two-way audio communication between the user and the base stations via messages conveyed over the disclosed LAN) according to an IEEE 1588 compatible protocol (Fig. 1 LAN [0024], [0026] disclosing the switching system parts are connected via a LAN which appears to be an IEEE 1588 compatible protocol).
Regarding claim 10, Heitmann appears to disclose the wireless device according to claim 9, being configured for audio communication according to the IEEE 1588 compatible protocol over a network connection (Fig. 1 LAN [0024], [0026] disclosing the switching system parts are connected via a LAN which appears to be an IEEE 1588 compatible protocol).
Heitmann does not expressly disclose the following; however Ryan discloses over an Ethernet network connection (Col. 4, lines 24-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the Ethernet standard for the communication link in Heitmann because the teaching lies in Ryan that this can maintain the frequency and phase synchronization required by Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) or Open Base Station Architecture Initiative (OBSAI). (Col. 3, lines 57-64, Col. 4, lines 24-33).
Regarding claim 11, Heitmann appears to disclose the wireless device according to claim 6, being one of: a live performance base station, a wireless microphone, a wireless headset, a wireless intercom device, a teleconference device, a wireless audio monitor, and a virtual reality device (Fig. 1 Base station BS 2.3).
Regarding claim 12, Heitmann appears to disclose a system comprising at plurality of wireless devices according to claim 6 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Heitmann appears to disclose the system according to claim 12, wherein the system is one of: a wireless headset, a wireless mouse, a wireless gaming controller, a wireless keyboard, a wireless microphone, a wireless loudspeaker, a wireless intercom system, a video system, and a Virtual Reality system (Fig. 1 Base station BS 2.3).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Andreas et al. “Precision Clock Synchronization the Standard IEEE 1588”, White Paper, Rev 1.2, Hirschman Automation and Control GmbH, Neckartenzlingen, Germany disclosing techniques for synchronizing switching devices in a LAN to a reference clock with the IEEE 1588 protocol (i.e. LAN as an IEEE 1588 compatible protocol) ; Haddad et al. (US Patent No. 10,404,447 B1) providing reference to a date as to when Andreas et al. is available as prior art.
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461