DETAILED ACTION
All previous objections and rejections not reiterated herein were overcome by claim amendments and arguments, filed June 26th, 2026, have been fully considered and found persuasive. As such all objections and rejections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO 2004/000302 A1 to Gokaraju et. al. (herein after Gokaraju’302; cited in the office action dated April 14th, 2026) in view of Yang et. al. ((2021), Resveratrol inhibits the replication of severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) in cultured Vero cells, Phytotherapy Research, 35, 1127 – 1129; cited in the office action dated April 14th, 2026).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 6 –9, Gokaraju’302 teach that free radicals play a major role in the progression of a wide range of pathological disorders such as brain disfunction, cancer, cardiovascular disease and inflammation (page1 paragraph 2). Moreover, Gokaraju’302 teach that Antioxidants and superoxide scavengers are also found to control the harmful effect of free radicals in biological systems (page 1 paragraph 2). Additionally, Gokaraju’302 teach that novel resveratrol analogs of the general formula I
show improved and better antioxidative action than naturally occurring resveratrol (page 2 paragraph 2). Specifically, Gokaraju’302 teach compound 3 wherein R=R1=OH, R2=R3=H of chemical name 5-[(1E)-2-(3,4,5-trihydroxyphenyl)vinyl]-benzene1,2,3-triol and the structure
as one of the preferred compounds of the invention, which is the (E ) or trans formation, and thus 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene (page 3 paragraph 2). Furthermore, Gokaraju’302 teach that the compounds, which include preferred compound 3, may be used in pharmaceutical compositions as an antioxidant or free radical scavenger (abstract). Likewise, Gokaraju’302 teach that compound 3 had a superoxide scavenging activity as defined by an IC50 value of 0.9 µg/mL which was shown to have the highest antioxidant activity (page 15 Table I) when using conventional methods like McCord and Fridovich in an assay mixture that contains phosphate buffer (claims 3 and 6 – 7), EDTA, NBT and riboflavin (page 14 paragraph 2).
However, Gokaraju’302 fails to teach preparation wherein the 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is formulated into an amount that is effective for at least one of: inhibiting SARS-CoV-2 is inhibiting replication of SARS-CoV-2, for preventing the cytopathic effect of an active virus replication of SARS-CoV-2, or preventing viral infections with SARS-CoV-2 through airborne channels (claim 1). Moreover, Gokaraju’302 fails to teach preparation wherein 3, 3', 4, 4', 5, 5' -Hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is formulated in an amount of from about 100 μg to about 10 g, in an amount of from about 1 mg to about 1 g, in an amount of from 10 mg to 500 mg, or in an amount of from about 20 mg to about 300 mg (claims 8 – 9).
Nevertheless, Yang et. al. teach that the emergence of the novel coronavirus designated as the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) at the end of 2019 has triggered an ongoing pandemic of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) globally (page 1127 column 1 paragraph 1). Yang et. al. teach that the current antiviral drugs, such as, remdesivir, ribavirin, penciclovir, lopinavir/ritonavir, chloroquine, have serious side effects along with limited efficacy to reduce the severity and mortality of COVID-19 (page 1127 column 1 paragraph 1). Moreover, Yang et. al. teach that Resveratrol (3,4,5-trihydroxy-trans-stilbene, RES), displays potential effects to suppress replication of several viruses including dengue virus (DENV), Zika virus (ZIKV), as well as influenza virus (page 1127 column 1 paragraph 1). Furthermore, Yang et. al. teach that RES significantly inhibited the replication of SARS-CoV-2 with an EC50 (half-maximal effective concentration) of 4.48 μM (page 1127 column 2 paragraph 1). Additionally, Yang et. al. teach that RES is classified as a food supplement with excellent safety tracking record in treating various chronic illness and immunomodulatory disorders in large doses up to 600 mg per day with no serious adverse events are observed (page 1129 column 1 paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the preparation of Gokaraju’302 that contains 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene in view of Yang et. al. that is to formulate the preparation to include up to 600 mg of 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene or in an amount that is effective for inhibiting replication of SARS-CoV-2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the prior art taught that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is better than resveratrol as an antioxidant agent. Moreover, the prior art establishes that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is a better stilbene alternative to resveratrol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is known to be a better antioxidant than resveratrol as such if resveratrol was capable of inhibited the replication of SARS-CoV-2 with an EC50 (half-maximal effective concentration) of 4.48 μM; then it would be reasonable to one of ordinary skill in the art that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene would have a better EC50 value.
Furthermore, while claims 8 – 9 recite a preparation wherein 100 µg to 10 g of 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is used as taught by the prior art of Yang et. al. RES is classified as a food supplement with excellent safety tracking record in treating various chronic illness and immunomodulatory disorders in large doses up to 600 mg per day with no serious adverse events are observed. Therefore, if 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is known to be a better antioxidant than resveratrol as such if resveratrol it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene can be formulated in an amount of up to 600 mg which lies within the ranges recited by claims 8 – 9. Thus, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claims 4 – 5, and 10 – 11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO 2004/000302 A1 to Gokaraju et. al. (herein after Gokaraju’302; cited in the office action dated April 14th, 2026) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 6 – 9 above, and further in view of International Publication Number WO 2021/204520 A1 to Dobmeyer et. al. (herein after Dobmeyer’520; cited in the office action dated April 14th, 2026).
The teachings of Gokaraju’302 as they relate to claim 1, from which claims 4 – 5, and 10 – 11 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, Gokaraju’302 fails to teach preparation wherein the preparation is for oral, sublingual, intramuscular, subcutaneous, nasal, oral mucosa, bronchial, pulmonary, skin, peritoneum or rectum administration (claim 4); wherein the preparation is provided as an inhalable and/or aerosol composition or as a nasal or oral spray and/or as sublingual films or tablets and/or as lollipops (claim 5); wherein the preparation is contained in a metered dose inhaler, in a dry powder inhaler, or in a nebulizer (claim 10); or wherein the preparation contains the compound in 0.001 % to 50% w/v, in 0.01 % to 20% w/v, in 0.1 % to 20% w/v, or in 1 % to 20% w/v (claim 11).
Nevertheless, Dobmeyer’520 teach a composition consisting essentially of an effective amount of a source of a resveratrol derivative, an effective amount of a vitamin D, and an acceptable excipient for the prevention of an acute respiratory distress syndrome and/or an acute lung injury caused by SARSCoV-2 (page 1 lines 8 – 11). Moreover, Dobmeyer’520 teach that critically ill COVID-19 patients often develop acute respiratory distress syndrome and acute lung injury (ARDS/ALI)(page 1 lines 14 – 15). Specifically, Dobmeyer’520 teach another aspect of the invention wherein resveratrol is administered for the prevention of an asymptomatic or mild viral infection of the respiratory system by the coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2), wherein an effective amount of resveratrol is administered locally to the to the respiratory system, preferably by inhalation, in particular by a nasal or throat spray (claims 4 – 5) (page 3 lines 25 – 28). Additionally, Dobmeyer’520 teach that it is well known that resveratrol (IA) is almost insoluble in water and has stability issues (page 4 line 19).
Moreover, Dobmeyer’520 teach that a resveratrol derivative is selected from the group consisting of synthetically produced hydroxylated stilbenes (page 8 line10 –11). Furthermore, Dobmeyer’520 teach that the compositions can comprise 0. 001 to 10 % (claim 11) by weight of a resveratrol derivative (page 8 line 19). Likewise, Dobmeyer’520 teach that compositions comprising a resveratrol derivative can be formulated in a form suitable for inhalational administration by an inhaler selected from the group consisting of nasal sprays, oral sprays, throat sprays, propellant-free soft mist inhalers, in particular the Respimat®, pressurized metered dose inhalers (p-MDI) (claims 5 and 10) and dry powder inhalers (DPI) (page 9 lines 6 – 8). Specifically, Dobmeyer’520 teach that Resveratrol (RSV) in the form of an aqueous phospholipid formulation comprising 2 wt.-% of resveratrol (claim 11) and 13 wt. -% of phospholipids were orally administered to K18-hACE2 transgenic mouse, infected with SARS-CoV-2 to group 5, 6, and 7 at 30 mg, 45 mg, and 60 mg of RSV (page 15 line 29 and page 16 lines 16-21 and Table I). Moreover, Dobmeyer’520 teach that group 7 that received 60 mg of RSV had a percent survival rate of 62.5 % (page 17 Table I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the preparation of Gokaraju’302 that contains 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene in view of Dobmeyer’520 that is to formulate the preparation to include 60 mg of 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene for oral/ or inhalation administration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the prior art taught that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is better than resveratrol as an antioxidant agent. Moreover, the prior art establishes that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is a better stilbene alternative to resveratrol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is known to be a better antioxidant than resveratrol as such if resveratrol was capable of having a 62.5 % survival rate in SARS-CoV-2; then it would be reasonable to one of ordinary skill in the art that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene would have a better survival rate.
Claims 14 – 15, and 17 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO 2021/204520 A1 to Dobmeyer et. al. (herein after Dobmeyer’520) in view of International Publication Number WO 2004/000302 A1 to Gokaraju et. al. (herein after Gokaraju’302; cited in the office action dated April 14th, 2026).
Regarding claims 14 – 15, and 17 – 21, Dobmeyer’520 Dobmeyer’520 teach a composition consisting essentially of an effective amount of a source of a resveratrol derivative, an effective amount of a vitamin D, and an acceptable excipient for the prevention of an acute respiratory distress syndrome and/or an acute lung injury caused by SARSCoV-2 (claim 14) (page 1 lines 8 – 11). Moreover, Dobmeyer’520 teach that critically ill COVID-19 patients often develop acute respiratory distress syndrome and acute lung injury (ARDS/ALI)(page 1 lines 14 – 15). Specifically, Dobmeyer’520 teach another aspect of the invention wherein resveratrol is administered for the prevention of an asymptomatic or mild viral infection of the respiratory system by the coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2), wherein an effective amount of resveratrol is administered locally to the to the respiratory system, preferably by inhalation (claim 15), in particular by a nasal or throat spray (claim 17) (page 3 lines 25 – 28). Additionally, Dobmeyer’520 teach that it is well known that resveratrol (IA) is almost insoluble in water and has stability issues (page 4 line 19).
Moreover, Dobmeyer’520 teach that a resveratrol derivative is selected from the group consisting of synthetically produced hydroxylated stilbenes (page 8 line10 –11). Furthermore, Dobmeyer’520 teach that the compositions can comprise 0. 001 to 10 % (claim 21) by weight of a resveratrol derivative (page 8 line 19). Likewise, Dobmeyer’520 teach that compositions comprising a resveratrol derivative can be formulated in a form suitable for inhalational administration by an inhaler selected from the group consisting of nasal sprays, oral sprays, throat sprays, propellant-free soft mist inhalers, in particular the Respimat®, pressurized metered dose inhalers (p-MDI) (claim 20) and dry powder inhalers (DPI) (page 9 lines 6 – 8). Specifically, Dobmeyer’520 teach that Resveratrol (RSV) in the form of an aqueous phospholipid formulation comprising 2 wt.-% of resveratrol (claim 21) and 13 wt. -% of phospholipids were orally administered to K18-hACE2 transgenic mouse, infected with SARS-CoV-2 to group 5, 6, and 7 at 30 mg, 45 mg, and 60 mg (claims 18 – 19) of RSV (page 15 line 29 and page 16 lines 16-21 and Table I). Moreover, Dobmeyer’520 teach that group 7 that received 60 mg of RSV had a percent survival rate of 62.5 % (page 17 Table I).
However, Dobmeyer’520 fail to teach a method for the treatment and prevention of COVID-19 in a human subject comprising administering 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene (claim 14).
Nevertheless, Gokaraju’302 teach that free radicals play a major role in the progression of a wide range of pathological disorders such as brain disfunction, cancer, cardiovascular disease and inflammation (page 1 paragraph 2). Moreover, Gokaraju’302 teach that antioxidants and superoxide scavengers are also found to control the harmful effect of free radicals in biological systems (page 1 paragraph 2). Additionally, Gokaraju’302 teach that novel resveratrol analogs of the general formula I
show improved and better antioxidative action than naturally occurring resveratrol (page 2 paragraph 2). Specifically, Gokaraju’302 teach compound 3 wherein R=R1=OH, R2=R3=H of chemical name 5-[(1E)-2-(3,4,5-trihydroxyphenyl)vinyl]-benzene1,2,3-triol and the structure
as one of the preferred compounds of the invention (page 3 paragraph 2). Furthermore, Gokaraju’302 teach that the compounds, which include preferred compound 3, may be used in pharmaceutical compositions as an antioxidant or free radical scavenger (abstract). Likewise, Gokaraju’302 teach that compound 3 had a superoxide scavenging activity as defined by an IC50 value of 0.9 µg/mL which was shown to have the highest antioxidant activity (page 15 Table I) when using conventional methods like McCord and Fridovich in an assay mixture that contains phosphate buffer, EDTA, NBT and riboflavin (page 14 paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Dobmeyer’520 for a method of treating SARSCoV-2 in view Gokaraju’302 that is to use 3, 3', 4, 4', 5, 5' – hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene instead of resveratrol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because resveratrol (IA) is almost insoluble in water and has stability issues and show improved and better antioxidative action than naturally occurring resveratrol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because compound 3, that is 3, 3', 4, 4', 5, 5' – hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene had the highest antioxidant activity compared to resveratrol.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO 2021/204520 A1 to Dobmeyer et. al. (herein after Dobmeyer’520; cited in the office action dated April 14th, 2026) and International Publication Number WO 2004/000302 A1 to Gokaraju et. al. (herein after Gokaraju’302; cited in the office action dated April 14th, 2026) as applied to claims 14 – 15, and 17 – 21 above, and further in view of Yang et. al. ((2021), Resveratrol inhibits the replication of severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) in cultured Vero cells, Phytotherapy Research, 35, 1127 – 1129; cited in the office action dated April 14th, 2026).
The teachings of Dobmeyer’520 and Gokaraju’302 as they relate to claim 14, from which claim 16 depends, is given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, the prior art of Dobmeyer’520 and Gokaraju’302 fails to teach a method wherein the 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is administered in an amount that is effective for at least one of: inhibiting SARS-CoV-2 is inhibiting replication of SARS-CoV-2, for preventing the cytopathic effect of an active virus replication of SARS-CoV-2, or preventing viral infections with SARS-CoV-2 through airborne channels (claim 16).
Nevertheless, Yang et. al. teach that the emergence of the novel coronavirus designated as the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) at the end of 2019 has triggered an ongoing pandemic of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) globally (page 1127 column 1 paragraph 1). Yang et. al. teach that the current antiviral drugs, such as, remdesivir, ribavirin, penciclovir, lopinavir/ritonavir, chloroquine, have serious side effects along with limited efficacy to reduce the severity and mortality of COVID-19 (page 1127 column 1 paragraph 1). Moreover, Yang et. al. teach that Resveratrol (3,4,5-trihydroxy-trans-stilbene, RES), displays potential effects to suppress replication of several viruses including dengue virus (DENV), Zika virus (ZIKV), as well as influenza virus (page 1127 column 1 paragraph 1). Furthermore, Yang et. al. teach that RES significantly inhibited the replication of SARS-CoV-2 with an EC50 (half-maximal effective concentration) of 4.48 μM (page 1127 column 2 paragraph 1). Additionally, Yang et. al. teach that RES is classified as a food supplement with excellent safety tracking record in treating various chronic illness and immunomodulatory disorders in large doses up to 600 mg per day with no serious adverse events are observed (page 1129 column 1 paragraph 1).
Therefore, , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Dobmeyer’520 for a method of treating SARSCoV-2 in view Gokaraju’302 that is to use 3, 3', 4, 4', 5, 5' – hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene instead of resveratrol in further view of Yang et. al. that is in an amount that is effective for inhibiting replication of SARS-CoV-2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the prior art taught that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is better than resveratrol as an antioxidant agent. Moreover, the prior art establishes that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is a better stilbene alternative to resveratrol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is known to be a better antioxidant than resveratrol as such if resveratrol was capable of inhibited the replication of SARS-CoV-2 with an EC50 (half-maximal effective concentration) of 4.48 μM; then it would be reasonable to one of ordinary skill in the art that 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene would have a better EC50 value.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 26th, 2026, with regards to the prior art rejections of claims 1, 3 – 11, and 14 – 21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the examiner used hindsight reconstruction to equate the “superoxide scavenging activity,” in Gokaraju’302 with the effectiveness in inhibition of SARS-CoV-2 virus. See applicants remarks page 8 paragraph 3 – 4.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). As taught above, the prior art of Gokaraju’302 teach that novel resveratrol analogs of the general formula I
, which include compound 3 wherein R=R1=OH, R2=R3=H of chemical name 5-[(1E)-2-(3,4,5-trihydroxyphenyl)vinyl]-benzene1,2,3-triol and the structure
show improved and better antioxidative action than naturally occurring resveratrol (page 2 paragraph 2). Furthermore, the prior art of Yang et. al. teach that resveratrol (3,4,5-trihydroxy-trans-stilbene, RES), significantly inhibited the replication of SARS-CoV-2 with an EC50 (half-maximal effective concentration) of 4.48 μM (page 1127 column 2 paragraph 1). Thus, the prior art of Gokaraju’302 establishes that compound 3 which is 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene is a stronger antioxidant effect then RES and Yang et. al. teach that RES was capable of inhibiting replication of SARS-CoV-2. Therefore, it would have been obvious not hindsight, to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the better stilbene in a method of treating SARS-CoV-2.
Applicant argues that the results in the present invention refer to TCID testing with SARS-CoV-2 virus which is completely different from the test than the superoxide scavenging activity taught by Gokaraju’302. See applicants remarks page 8 paragraph 6.
The examiner contends that the use of a differing assay to determine the efficacy of the compound against SARS-CoV-2 is irrelevant since the result, which is the inhibition of the viral replication of SARS-CoV-2, and active step of the method, that is, through the administration of 3, 3’, 4, 4’, 5, 5’-hexahydroxy-trans-stilbene was taught by the prior art of Gokaraju’302 and Yang et. al.. Therefore, the prior art rejections of claims 1, 3 – 11, and 14 – 21 are deemed proper, maintained, and made final.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3 – 11, and 14 – 21 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682