Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the apical suture ring". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shahinpoor (US 6,464,655 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Shahinpoor discloses an implantable device for cardiac assistance by direct compression, comprising: a base forming a receptacle capable of receiving a lower part of a heart (col 6, ln 38-64; platform 1); a support for fixing the lower part of the heart to said base (col 6, ln 38-64; central platform 7), said support comprising a fixing arm and fasteners at the base, making it possible to adjust the position of said support on said base (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31; central platform stem 8, central platform slots and pins 7a/b, and support washers 15a/b); at least one finger extending longitudinally between a free upper first end and a curved lower second end inside the base, said finger being mounted on said base by virtue of a first pivot connection (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31; figure 1; compression fingers 3); a contact interface mounted adjustably and movably on said free end so that said interface can exert an adjustable pressure on a localized area of the epicardium, when said finger is moved by a tilting movement about said pivot connection (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31; see figure 1; central platform slots and corresponding central platform pin 7a/b); means for actuating the tilting movement of said finger about said pivot connection (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31; via actuation cable 9); and a unit for controlling said actuating means (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31; see figure 1; control mechanisms via elements 12a/b).
Regarding claim 2, Shahinpoor discloses the means for actuating the tilting movement of said at least one finger about said pivot connection include a connecting rod and a sliding member one of the ends of which is in a second pivot connection with said connecting rod, itself in a third pivot connection with the lower second end of said finger, the other end of the sliding member being connected by means of a rigid or semi-rigid cable to a linear actuator belonging to the control unit (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 62, shown in figures 1 and 5a-b).
Regarding claim 7, Shahinpoor discloses the support for fixing the lower part of the heart to the base comprises an area for fastening the apical suture ring (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31;figure 1, where Examiner considers the central platform to be capable of fastening an apical suture ring).
Regarding claim 8, Shahinpoor discloses the support for fixing the lower part of the heart to the base comprises at least one sensor for measuring the intracardiac pressure (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31).
Regarding claim 10, Shahinpoor discloses the contact interface is fixed on the free first end of its finger by means of a fastener cooperating with a groove made in said end, so as to adjust the position of said interface along said end (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Shahinpoor discloses the interface for contact of each finger with the epicardium is equipped with at least one sensor making it possible for example to measure the contact pressure (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 31).
Regarding claim 12, Shahinpoor discloses the computer is connected to an assembly of sensors internal or external to the cardiac assistance device, in order to adapt the frequency and the intensity of the contact pressure exerted by the first end of the fingers on the epicardium (col 6, ln 38-col 7, ln 62).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 5, and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 4/3/2026