DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 11-12 in office action mailed 5/14/2025 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to US 5431761 to Holztrager. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “means for coupling to the information physical carrier” and claim 12 recites “means for connecting to additional support devices”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5431761 to Holztrager in view of US 5477645 to Bauer.
Regarding claim 1, Holztrager teaches a support device (exhibit display booth comprising a plurality of slatwall exhibit panels hinged together (figure 1)) comprising: an exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4, figure 1), comprising a track element (spaced profiles or support members 6 defining a groove 8 therebetween); a cursor element (support shelves 10 or other supporting members (not shown)), configured to engage with said track element (6,8) and comprising means for coupling to the information physical carrier, an overall configuration of said support device (exhibit display booth) being such that the an arrangement of the information physical carrier coupled to said cursor element can be varied by sliding said cursor element (support shelves 10 or other supporting members (not shown)) with respect to said track element (6,8); and a second exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4, figure 1) arranged laterally with respect to said exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4, figure 1) and connected to said exposing surface by means of one or more hinges (20), which allow rotation of said second exposing surface around an axis (R).
Holztrager does not teach comprising means for coupling to the information physical carrier.
Bauer teaches a panel (10) for covering a slat board (12) of a slat wall (11) includes a face portion (22) having a hook member (23) at its lower end and another hook member (24) at its upper end. The hook members (23, 24) are adapted to engage the lateral edges of the slat board (12) so that the face portion (22) is adjacent to the slat board (12). Bauer also teaches opposed upper and lower tabs (29, 30) can be provided at the ends of face portion (22) so that graphic or other decorative material may be held therebetween. The panel (10) correspond to the claimed means for coupling to the information physical carrier.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct support device (exhibit display booth) taught by Holztrager with the panel for covering a slat board of a slat wall as taught by Bauer with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to selectively display information on the exhibit panel.
Regarding claim 2, Holztrager teaches said exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4, figure 1) is a flat surface, which develops according to two main a longitudinal development direction (L) and a transversal development direction (T) directions, respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Holztrager teaches said track element (6,8) has a development direction according to a straight line (B).
Regarding claim 4, Holztrager teaches said straight line (B) is parallel to a longitudinal development direction (L) of said exposing surface.
Regarding claim 5, Holztrager teaches said straight line (B) is parallel to a transversal development direction (T) of said exposing surface.
Regarding claim 6, Holztrager teaches said track element is shaped like a recess, re-entering with respect to said exposing surface.
Regarding claim 7, Holztrager teaches said track element has an operating surface (front surface of profile or support member 6) protruding with respect to said exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4).
Regarding claim 8, Bauer teaches said cursor element (panel 10) comprises a concave portion (28, 22, 26, figure 5) shaped in a complementary manner to said operating surface (front surface of backboard 4) to house inside thereof at least a portion of said track element (spaced boards or slats 12) protruding with respect to said exposing surface.
Regarding claim 10, Bauer teaches said coupling means comprises an elastically deformable clip element (tabs 29 and 30) for retaining the information physical carrier (image 40).
Regarding claim 12, Holztrager teaches a support device (exhibit display booth comprising a plurality of slatwall exhibit panels (2) hinged together (figure 1)). The support device comprising: - an exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4, figure 1), comprising a track element (spaced profiles or support members 6 defining a groove 8 therebetween); a cursor element (support shelves 10 or other supporting members (not shown)), configured to engage with said track element (6,8) and means (hinges 20) for connecting to additional support devices (exhibit panels 2), which said additional support devices (exhibit panels 2) carry the same connection means (hinge 20) that are the same as the means for connecting.
Holztrager does not teach comprising means for coupling to the information physical carrier, such that an arrangement of the information physical carrier coupled to said cursor element can be varied by sliding said cursor element with respect to said track element,
Bauer teaches a panel (10) for covering a slat board (12) of a slat wall (11) includes a face portion (22) having a hook member (23) at its lower end and another hook member (24) at its upper end. The hook members (23, 24) are adapted to engage the lateral edges of the slat board (12) so that the face portion (22) is adjacent to the slat board (12). Bauer also teaches opposed upper and lower tabs (29, 30) can be provided at the ends of face portion (22) so that graphic or other decorative material may be held therebetween. The panel (10) correspond to the claimed means for coupling to the information physical carrier.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct support device (exhibit display booth) taught by Holztrager with the panel (10) for covering a slat board (12) of a slat wall (11) as taught by Bauer with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to selectively display information on the exhibit panel.
Regarding claim 13, Holztrager teaches said exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4, figure 1) is a flat surface, which develops according to two main a longitudinal development direction (L) and a transversal development direction (T) directions, respectively.
Regarding claim 14, Holztrager teaches said track element (6,8) has a development direction according to a straight line (B).
Regarding claim 15, Holztrager teaches said straight line (B) is parallel to a longitudinal development direction (L) of said exposing surface.
Regarding claim 16, Holztrager teaches said straight line (B) is parallel to a transversal development direction (T) of said exposing surface.
Regarding claim 17, Holztrager teaches said track element is shaped like a recess, re-entering with respect to said exposing surface.
Regarding claim 18, Holztrager teaches said track element has an operating surface (front surface of profile or support member 6) protruding with respect to said exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4).
Regarding claim 19, Bauer teaches said cursor element (panel 10) comprises a concave portion (28, 22, 26, figure 5) shaped in a complementary manner to said operating surface (front surface of backboard 4) to house inside thereof at least a portion of said track element (spaced boards or slats 12) protruding with respect to said exposing surface.
Regarding claim 20, Bauer teaches said coupling means comprises an elastically deformable clip element (tabs 29 and 30) for retaining the information physical carrier (image 40).
Regarding claim 21, Holztrager teaches a second exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4, figure 1) arranged laterally with respect to said exposing surface (front surface of backboard 4, figure 1) and connected to said exposing surface by means of one or more hinges (20), which allow rotation of said second exposing surface around an axis (R).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631