Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 25-26, the phrase "compounds I-1 through I-56, I-58, I-62 through I-152, I-154 through I-161, I-157, I-59 through I-61, I-53" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what are the structural limitations of the above compounds as “I-57….” are not known chemical names in the art and are not chemical formulas. As to the extent of the above compounds being of the same compounds found in applicants’ specifications, it is improper to import limitations from the specifications into the claims without properly showing the structure of the compounds in the claims.
For prior art purposes examiner in interpreting the compounds of “I-57…” to be of the same compounds with its structural limitations as in applicants’ specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-16, 18-19, 21-24 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fink et al. (WO 2019178129 A1).
Regarding claims 1-10, 12-16, 18-19, 21-24 and 26-29, Fink teaches a method of treating a plasma kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema (relevant to claims 27-29) comprising administering to a patient in need thereof a compound of Formula (I)
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. Wherein
(relevant to claims 1-10, 12-16) (para. 0038) and in some embodiments the compound is
,
,
, .
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to have developed formula (II), (III), (V), (VI), (VII), (VIII) and I-57
of claimed invention to treat kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema. One would have been motivated to do so from the teachings of Fink of the above compounds and general formula (I) with its embodiments to treat kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema wherein CyA is 5- to 6- membered heteroarylene having 1-4 heteroatoms selected from oxygen, nitrogen, or sulfur which includes
. There is a reasonable expectation of treating kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema comprising administering formula (II), (III), (V), (VI), (VII), (VIII) and I-57
of claimed invention from the teaching of Fink.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 12-29 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15-34 of copending Application No. 18/550,306 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending ‘306 teaches a treatment of kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema comprising administration of compounds that over laps the embodiments of claim 1 of claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, 12-17, 20, 22 and 26-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of copending Application No. 18/550,486 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-30 of copending ‘486 teaches a treatment of kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema comprising administration of compounds that over laps the embodiments of claim 1 of claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10, 12-16, 18-19 and 21-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 17/024,189 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-17 of copending ‘189 teaches a treatment of kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema comprising administration of compounds that over laps the embodiments of claim 1 of claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10, 12-16, 18-19 and 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-36 of U.S. Patent No. 12065448. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 18-36 of U.S ‘448 teaches a treatment of kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema comprising administration of compounds that over laps the embodiments of claim 1 of claimed invention.
Claims 1-10, 12-16, 18-19, 21-24 and 26-29 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20, 22-37 and 39-50 of U.S. Patent No. 11352356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S ‘356 teaches a treatment of kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema comprising administration of compounds that over laps the embodiments of claim 1 of claimed invention and compound
.
Claims 1-10, 12-16, 18-19, 21-24 and 26-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 and 21-33 of U.S. Patent No. 12441724. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S ‘724 teaches a treatment of kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema comprising administration of compounds that over laps the embodiments of claim 1 of claimed invention and compound
.
Claims 1-10, 12-16, 20-22 and 25-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-12, 16, 20-22, 32, 36-37, 39 and 42-43 of U.S. Patent No. 11787796. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S ‘796 teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising compounds that over laps with claim 1 of claimed invention and compounds
as well as other compounds of claimed invention compounds I-62 through I-152.
Claims 1-10, 12-16, 20-22 and 25-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 13, 15-16, 20-22, 27, 32, 35-37 and 41 of U.S. Patent No. 12221441. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S ‘441 teaches a pharmaceutical composition for the treatment of kallikrein-mediated disease or disorder of hereditary angioedema or diabetic macular edema comprising compounds that over laps with claim 1 of claimed invention and compounds
as well as other compounds of claimed invention compounds I-62 through I-152.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MIKHAIL O'DONNEL. ROBINSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/MIKHAIL O'DONNEL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627