DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites “a first feed” in line 2, and later recites another “a first feed” in line 6. It is not clear if the first feed recited in line 6 refers to the first feed of line 2 or if it is an additional first feed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 17, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 20170149139) in view of Vazquez et al. (US 20210044012).
Regarding claim 16:
Wong et al. disclose (in Figs. 1, 6 and 7) an antenna (100), comprising a switch (152), a first radiator (12), a second radiator (13), a first feed (19), a first feeder (through 16), and a second feeder (through 17), wherein the switch (152) is connected between the first feed (19) and the second radiator (13), the first feed (19) is configured to connect to a radio frequency front-end (defined as the communication module), the first feed (19) is electrically connected to the first radiator (12) through the first feeder (through 16), and the first feed (19) is electrically connected to the second radiator (13) through the second feeder (through 17); wherein when the switch (152) is turned on, the first feed (19) feeds a first radio frequency signal into the first radiator (12) and the second radiator (13), the first radiator (12) and the second radiator (13) receive second radio frequency signals (Para. 0018, Lines 8-9) and the first radiator (12) and the second radiator (13) are coupled to each other through at least a slot (accommodating 151) between the first radiator (12) and the second radiator (13) and are configured to generate a first resonance (Para. 0018, Lines 8-9); and wherein when the switch (152) is turned off, the first feed (19) feeds the first radio frequency signal into the first radiator (12), and the first radiator (12) is coupled to and excites the second radiator (13).
Wong et al. are silent on that the received second radio frequency signals are of a same frequency.
Vazquez et al. disclose wireless devices (in Figs. 3 and 8) can include multiple antennas that convey radio-frequency signals at the same frequency (Para. 0004, Lines 9-11; Para. 0007, Lines 5-9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the received second radio frequency signals are of a same frequency as taught by Vazquez et al. into the device of Wong et al. for the benefit of providing antenna structures with the ability to cover communications frequencies of interest (Para. 0038, Lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17:
Wong et al. disclose the switch (152) is disposed on the second feeder (along 17).
Regarding claim 28:
Wong et al. disclose a communication device (in Figs. 1, 6 and 7), comprising a radio frequency front-end (defined by the communication module) and an antenna (11), wherein the radio frequency front-end (defined by the communication module) is connected to a first feed (19), and is configured to perform at least one of: feeding a first radio frequency signal into the antenna (11), or receiving a second radio frequency signal received by the antenna (11; Para. 0018, Lines 8-9), and wherein the antenna comprises: a switch (152), a first radiator (12), a second radiator (13), a first feed (19), a first feeder (through 16), and a second feeder (through 17), wherein the switch (152) is connected between the first feed (through 16) and the second radiator (13), the first feed (19) is electrically connected to the first radiator (12) through the first feeder (through 16), and the first feed (19) is electrically connected to the second radiator (13) through the second feeder (through 17); wherein when the switch (152) is turned on, the first feed (19) feeds a third radio frequency signal into the first radiator (12) and the second radiator (13), the first radiator (12) and the second radiator (13) receive fourth radio frequency signals, and the first radiator (12) and the second radiator (13) are coupled to each other through at least a slot (accommodating 151) between the first radiator (12) and the second radiator (13) and are configured to generate a first resonance wherein when the switch is turned off, the first feed (19) feeds the third radio frequency signal into the first radiator (12), and the first radiator (12) is coupled to and excites the second radiator (13).
Wong et al. are silent on that the received fourth radio frequency signals are of a same frequency.
Vazquez et al. disclose wireless devices (in Figs. 3 and 8) can include multiple antennas that convey radio-frequency signals at the same frequency (Para. 0004, Lines 9-11; Para. 0007, Lines 5-9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the received second radio frequency signals are of a same frequency as taught by Vazquez et al. into the device of Wong et al. for the benefit of providing antenna structures with the ability to cover communications frequencies of interest (Para. 0038, Lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 31:
Wong et al. disclose the switch (152) is disposed on the second feeder (along 17).
Claims 21-22, 30, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 20170149139) in view of Vazquez et al. (US 20210044012) as applied to claim 16 and further in view of Fan (CN211350951U).
Regarding claims 21 and 33:
Wong as modified are silent on that the first feed is configured to provide third radio frequency signals of a low band, a medium band, and a high band, the low band has a frequency range between 700 MHz and 1000 MHz, the medium band has a frequency range between 1500 MHz and 2200 MHz, and the high band has a frequency range between 2300 MHz and 2700 MHz.
Fan discloses the first feed is configured to provide third radio frequency signals of a low band, a medium band, and a high band, the low band has a frequency range between 700 MHz and 1000 MHz, the medium band has a frequency range between 1500 MHz and 2200 MHz, and the high band has a frequency range between 2300 MHz and 2700 MHz (Para. 0045, Lines 322-323). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna at the frequency band of 1500 MHz and 2200 MHz, and 2300 MHz and 2700 MHz as taught by Fan into the modified device of Wong since the lengths of the first radiator and the second radiator can be adjusted according to the working frequency bands of the first radio frequency signal and the second radio frequency signal (Para. 0059, Lines 466-467).
Regarding claims 22 and 34:
Wong as modified are silent on that the first feed is configured to provide a fourth radio frequency signal of a first band, the antenna further comprises a second feed and a third feeder, the second feed is configured to connect to the radio frequency front-end, the second feed is electrically connected to the second radiator through the third feeder, and the second feed is configured to provide a fifth radio frequency signal of a second band, wherein the first band is one of a low band, a medium band, and a high band, the second band is another one of the low band, the medium band, and the high band, and wherein the low band has a frequency range between 700 MHz and 1000 MHz, the medium band has a frequency range between 1500 MHz and 2200 MHz, and the high band has a frequency range between 2300 MHz and 2700 MHz.
Fan discloses the feed is configured to provide third radio frequency signals of a low band, a medium band, and a high band, the low band has a frequency range between 700 MHz and 1000 MHz, the medium band has a frequency range between 1500 MHz and 2200 MHz, and the high band has a frequency range between 2300 MHz and 2700 MHz (Para. 0043, Lines 289-300; Para. 0044, Lines 309-312; Para. 0045, Lines 316-323).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna at the frequency band of 1500 MHz and 2200 MHz, and 2300 MHz and 2700 MHz as taught by Fan into the modified device of Wong since the lengths of the first radiator and the second radiator can be adjusted according to the working frequency bands
Regarding claim 30:
Wong as modified do not explicitly disclose the communication device comprises a frame, the frame is made of a non-metal material, and a first radiator and a second radiator are spaced from each other and are both disposed against the frame.
Fan discloses the communication device comprises a frame (110), the frame (110) is made of a non-metal material (111), and a first radiator (113) and a second radiator (115) are spaced from each other and are both disposed against the frame (110).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the frame as a non-metal material and the first and second radiator spaced from each other and against the frame as taught by Fan into the modified device of Wong for the benefit of improving the space utilization rate of the gap and the conductive frame without affecting the performance of the antenna (Para. 0051, Lines 9-12; Para. 0014, Lines 7-10).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 20170149139) in view of Vazquez et al. (US 20210044012) as applied to claim 16 and further in view of Svendsen et al. (US 20210083364).
Regarding claim 18:
Wong as modified are silent on that the antenna further comprises a plurality of phase shifters disposed in parallel on the second feeder and connected between the switch and the second radiator, phase adjustment values of the plurality of phase shifters are different, and the switch is connected to the plurality of phase shifters in a switchable manner to adjust a phase of the first radio frequency signal fed by the first feed into the second radiator.
Svendsen et al. disclose (in Figs. 11A, 11B) the antenna (10) further comprises a plurality of phase shifters (112) disposed in parallel on the second feeder (120) and connected between the switch (110) and the second radiator (52), phase adjustment values (xo, yo, zo) of the plurality of phase shifters (112) are different, and the switch (110) is connected to the plurality of phase shifters (112) in a switchable manner to adjust a phase of the first radio frequency signal fed by the first feed (100) into the second radiator (52).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna further comprises a plurality of phase shifters disposed in parallel on the second feeder and connected between the switch and the second radiator, phase adjustment values of the plurality of phase shifters are different, and the switch is connected to the plurality of phase shifters in a switchable manner to adjust a phase of the first radio frequency signal fed by the first feed into the second radiator as taught by Svendsen et al. into the modified device of Wong for the benefit of changing the radiation pattern as desired and providing necessary isolation between the nodes (Para. 0219, Lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 19:
Wong as modified are silent on that the plurality of phase shifters comprises a first phase shifter, a second phase shifter, and a third phase shifter, a phase adjustment value of the first phase shifter is 0 degree, a phase adjustment value of the second phase shifter is 90 degrees, and a phase adjustment value of the third phase shifter is 180 degrees.
Svendsen et al. disclose the phase shift between the ports can for example be from 0 to 180 degrees (Para. 0219, Lines 4-5; Para. 0231, Lines 6-8; Para. 0234, Lines 6-7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the plurality of phase shifters comprises a first phase shifter, a second phase shifter, and a third phase shifter, a phase adjustment value of the first phase shifter is 0 degree, a phase adjustment value of the second phase shifter is 90 degrees, and a phase adjustment value of the third phase shifter is 180 degrees as taught by Svendsen et al. the modified device of Wong for the benefit of changing the radiation pattern as desired and providing necessary isolation between the nodes (Para. 0219, Lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 20:
Wong as modified are silent on that the antenna further comprises a phase regulator disposed on the second feeder and connected between the switch and the second radiator; and wherein when the switch is turned on, the phase regulator adjusts a phase of the first radio frequency signal fed by the first feed into the second radiator.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design consideration to the phase shifters as phase regulators especially when isolation and optimization of power flow between transmission lines are of utmost importance, and since such design consideration would have been knowledge within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art, thereby suggesting the obviousness of the design consideration.
Claims 23 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 20170149139) in view of Vazquez et al. (US 20210044012) and Fan (CN211350951U) as applied to claim 16 and further in view of QIAO et al. (CN111628298A).
Regarding claim 23 and 35:
Wong as modified are silent on that the antenna further comprises a first filter and a second filter, the first filter is disposed on the second feeder and connected between the first feed and the second radiator to filter the fifth radio frequency signal of the second band, and the second filter is disposed on the third feeder and connected between the second feed and the second radiator to filter the fourth radio frequency signal of the first band.
QIAO et al. disclose (in Fig. 6) the antenna (100) further comprises a first filter (40) and a second filter (30), the first filter (40) is disposed on the second feeder (along the line connecting to D) and connected between the first feed (20) and the second radiator (13) to filter the fifth radio frequency signal of the second band, and the second filter (30) is disposed on the third feeder (along the wire connecting 30 to 20) and connected between the second feed (along the line connecting to C) and the second radiator (13) to filter the fourth radio frequency signal of the first band.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the filters in the antenna device as taught by QIAO into the modified device of Wong for the benefit of the required antenna mode while avoiding increasing the antenna layout space (Para. 0010, Lines 95-97; Para. 0057, Lines 505-508).
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 20170149139) in view of Vazquez et al. (US 20210044012) as applied to claim 16 and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20170244818).
Regarding claims 24-27:
Wong as modified are silent on that the antenna further comprises a first tuning circuit, one end of the first tuning circuit is grounded, another end is connected to the first radiator, and the first tuning circuit is configured to adjust an electrical length of the first radiator as required by claim 24; the first tuning circuit comprises a plurality of different first tuning elements and a first switching switch, the plurality of different first tuning elements are connected to the first radiator, one end of the first switching switch is grounded, and another end of the first switching switch is connected to the plurality of different first tuning elements in a switchable manner to adjust the electrical length of the first radiator as required by claim 25; the antenna further comprises a second tuning circuit, one end of the second tuning circuit is grounded, another end of the second tuning circuit is connected to the second radiator, and the second tuning circuit is configured to adjust an electrical length of the second radiator as required by claim 26; and the second tuning circuit comprises a plurality of different second tuning elements and a second switching switch, the plurality of different second tuning elements are connected to the second radiator, one end of the second switching switch is grounded, and another end of the second switching switch is connected to the plurality of different second tuning elements in a switchable manner, to adjust the electrical length of the second radiator as required by claim 27.
Kim et al. disclose (in Fig. 3) the antenna (300) further comprises a first tuning circuit (355, 356 and 359), one end of the first tuning circuit (355, 356 and 359) is grounded (to 310), another end is connected to the first radiator (302; See Fig. 3), and the first tuning circuit (355, 356 and 359) is configured to adjust an electrical length of the first radiator (302); the first tuning circuit (355, 356 and 359) comprises a plurality of different first tuning elements (355, 356 and 359) and a first switching switch (350), the plurality of different first tuning elements (355, 356 and 359) are connected to the first radiator (302), one end of the first switching (350) switch is grounded (to 350), and another end of the first switching (350) switch is connected to the plurality of different first tuning elements (355, 356 and 359) in a switchable manner to adjust the electrical length of the first radiator (302); the antenna (300) further comprises a second tuning circuit (365, 382, 384 and 395), one end of the second tuning circuit (365, 382, 384 and 395) is grounded (to 390), another end of the second tuning circuit (365, 382, 384 and 395) is connected to the second radiator (304), and the second tuning circuit (365, 382, 384 and 395) is configured to adjust an electrical length of the second radiator (304); the second tuning circuit (365, 382, 384 and 395) comprises a plurality of different second tuning elements (365, 382, 384 and 395) and a second switching switch (disposed in 380), the plurality of different second tuning elements (365, 382, 384 and 395) are connected to the second radiator (304), one end of the second switching (disposed in 380 via 382 and 384) switch is grounded (to 390), and another end of the second switching (disposed in 380) switch is connected to the plurality of different second tuning elements (365 and 395) in a switchable manner, to adjust the electrical length of the second radiator (304).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the tuning circuits and arranged as taught by Kim et al. into the modified device of Wong for the benefit of frequency-tuning the first antenna and the second antenna, thereby providing efficient communication performance of the first antenna and the second antenna when compared to antenna configurations of conventional electronic device (Para. 0275, Lines 4-8).
Conclusion
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845