DETAILED ACTION
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 8/14/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35, 37, 42-43, 46, 48, 50, 55-56, and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (US 2023/0422195 A1, hereinafter “Yao”).
As to Claims 35 and 48:
Yao (“Timing Advance Maintenance in Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN)) describes a method for a UE to update an uplink timing advance for satellite communications.
Specifically, Yao teaches:
Determining one or more parameters indicative of movement of the UE relative to a base station (BS)
Yao teaches that “base station 122 [in Fig. 1] may ... signal the ephemeris information of satellite 160-1 so that UE 110 may derive the TA value based on the signaled ephemeris information and the UE’s GNSS location information” (Yao, 0069). Elsewhere, Yao adds that the satellite 160-1 may “operate regeneratively” to “operat[e] as a base station”, meaning “functions performed by a base station may also, or alternatively, be performed by a satellite” (Yao, 0014).
Fig. 2 in Yao (pictured below for convenience) also depicts relative movement between a UE and a satellite base station. In describing Fig. 2, Yao explains that “satellite 160 may monitor movements of UE 110 and determine a velocity and trajectory based on the movements of UE 110” and “communicate a UE-specific timing drift rate to UE 110” (Yao, 0062).
Here, “signal[ling] the ephemeris information” maps to “determining one or more parameters indicative of movement of the UE relative to a base station (BS)”, and
the satellite “performing” the “functions performed by a base station” maps to “a base station (BS)”.
Updating a previous uplink timing advance to a new uplink timing advance
In describing Fig. 2, Yao teaches that the satellite 160 may “monitor movements of UE 110 and determine a velocity and trajectory based on the movements of UE 110” and “communicate a UE-specific timing drift rate to UE 110”; furthermore, in describing Fig. 7, Yao teaches that a “base station” may “detect a trigger, event, condition, etc., associated with sending a joint TA command” which require that “a TA value of UE 110 is to be updated”, and Yao clarifies that this event “may include a changes [sic] in the location of satellite 160” (Yao, 0062-0064).
Here, “a TA value of UE 110 is to be updated” maps to “updating a previous uplink timing advance to a new uplink timing advance”.
The update is based on the one or more parameters, and the new uplink timing advance is a change of uplink transmission timing relative to the previous uplink timing advance
In describing Fig. 7, Yao teaches that a “base station” may “detect a trigger, event, condition, etc., associated with sending a joint TA command” which results in a “scenario in which a TA value of UE 110 is to be updated”, and Yao clarifies that this event “may include a changes [sic] in the location of satellite 160” (Yao, 0064).
Elsewhere, Yao clarifies that “satellite ephemeris information” can include “a location of the satellite, velocity, orbital trajectory, etc.)” (Yao, 0047).
Figs. 5 and 6, as well as the accompanying descriptions in paragraphs 0061-0063 of Yao, also show timing advance updates in steps 510 and 602/616, respectively.
Here, a “scenario in which a TA value of UE 110 is to be updated” based on “changes in the location of satellite 160” maps to “the update is based on the one or more parameters”, and
“a TA value ... is to be updated” maps to “the new uplink timing advance is a change of uplink transmission timing relative to the previous uplink timing advance”.
From the list of:
The one or more parameters comprising at least one of: an altitude of the UE or BS; a location of the UE or BS; a UE speed; or a UE trajectory
Yao at least teaches:
The one or more parameters comprising ... an altitude of the ... BS
“In some implementations, the common timing drift rate may vary based on a relative orbital direction and altitude of the corresponding satellite” (Yao, 0046).
Here, “altitude of the corresponding satellite” maps to “an altitude of the ... BS”.
The one or more parameters comprising ... a location of the UE or BS
“[T]he UE-specific TA based on information such as, a location of the UE ... satellite ephemeris information ... etc” (Yao, 0017).
Also, in describing Fig. 7, Yao teaches that a “base station” may “detect a trigger, event, condition, etc., associated with sending a joint TA command” which results in a “scenario in which a TA value of UE 110 is to be updated”, and Yao clarifies that this event “may include a changes [sic] in the location of satellite 160” (Yao, 0064). Yao clarifies elsewhere that “satellite ephemeris information” can include “a location of the satellite, velocity, orbital trajectory, etc.)” (Yao, 0047).
Here, “a location of the UE” maps to “a location of the UE”, and
“satellite ephemeris information” maps to “a location of the ... BS”.
The one or more parameters comprising ... a location of the ... BS
In describing Fig. 7, Yao teaches that a “base station” may “detect a trigger, event, condition, etc., associated with sending a joint TA command” which results in a “scenario in which a TA value of UE 110 is to be updated”, and Yao clarifies that this event “may include a changes [sic] in the location of satellite 160” (Yao, 0064).
Elsewhere, Yao clarifies that “satellite ephemeris information” can include “a location of the satellite, velocity, orbital trajectory, etc.)” (Yao, 0047).
Here, “a location of the satellite” maps to “the one or more parameters comprising ... a location of the ... BS”.
The one or more parameters comprising ... a UE speed; or a UE trajectory
To describe Fig. 6, Yao explains that “satellite 160 [in Fig. 1] may monitor movements of UE 110 and determine a velocity and trajectory based on the movements of UE 110” to “determine that a UE-specific timing drift rate is to be determined and communicated to UE 110 (at 606 [in Fig. 6])” (Yao, 0062).
Here, “a velocity ... of UE 110” maps to “a UE speed”, and
“trajectory ... of UE 110” maps to “a UE trajectory”.
Transmitting an uplink signal over resources determined using the new uplink timing advance
Yao teaches that “UE 110 may continue modifying the TA value for UL transmissions” (Yao, 0064). Step 370 of Fig. 3 also depicts a UE “update[ing] TA value based on joint TA command and timing drift rate”.
Here, “UL transmissions” sent with the “modif[ied] ... TA value” map to “transmitting an uplink signal over resources determined using the new uplink timing advance”.
Claim 48 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 35 in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires:
One or more processors individually or collectively configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories
Yao teaches that “a user Equipment (UE) device may comprise ... a memory device configured to store instructions; and one or more processors, connected to the RF circuitry and memory device, and configured to perform the instructions” (Yao, 0098).
As to Claims 37, 43, 50, and 56:
Yao teaches:
The one or more parameters comprise a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval, the timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
Yao explains that a designated reference point (RP) (e.g., base station, satellite, etc.)” may “measure or determine alignment and or/derive appropriate TA value adjustments” to achieve “timing alignment of UL and DL frames” (Yao, 0016). Figures 5-7 in Yao also depict a base station instructing a UE to update its timing advance value based on a TA adjustment (see, for example, steps 516-520 in Fig. 5).
Here, the “TA command” in step 518 of Fig. 5 designed to achieve “timing alignment of UL and DL frames” corresponds to “A BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval”, and
“TA value adjustments” meant to achieve “timing alignment between UL and DL frames” map to “the timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS”.
Claim 43 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 37 from the base station’s perspective.
Claim 50 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 37 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Claim 56 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 37 in the form of an apparatus claim from the base station’s perspective.
As to Claim 42 and 55:
Yao teaches:
Transmitting, to user equipment (UE), one or more parameters indicative of a location of the BS, the one or more parameters including at least one of an altitude of the BS or coordinates of the BS
Yao describes a “base station 122” that may “signal the ephemeris information of satellite 160-1 so that UE 110 may derive the TA value based on the signaled ephemeris information” (Yao, 0069). Yao also clarifies that “[i]n some implementations, the satellite may be capable of operating as a base station” and “functions performed by a base station may also, or alternatively, be performed by a satellite in a given scenario” (Yao, 0014), and also that “satellite ephemeris information” may include “a location of the satellite” (Yao, 0047).
Fig. 2 in Yao (pictured in the mapping for Claim 35) also depicts relative movement between a UE and a satellite base station. In describing Fig. 2, Yao explains that “satellite 160 may monitor movements of UE 110 and determine a velocity and trajectory based on the movements of UE 110” and “communicate a UE-specific timing drift rate to UE 110” (Yao, 0062).
Here, “signal[ling] the ephemeris information of satellite 160-1” to “UE 110” maps to “transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), one or more parameters indicative of a location of the BS”,
a “satellite” that is “operating as a base station” maps to “the BS”, and
“a location of the satellite” maps to “coordinates of the BS” from the list of “the one or more parameters including at least one of an altitude of the BS or coordinates of the BS”.
Receiving an uplink communication from the UE, the uplink communication transmitted according to a timing advance determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters
Yao teaches that a UE may “send UL transmissions to base station 122 based on the TA value as modified”, clarifying that the “trigger, event, condition, etc., associated with sending a joint TA command and timing drift rate” can “include a changes [sic] in the location of satellite 160” (Yao, 0064-0065). Step 716 in Fig. 7 further illustrates the UE using this updated TA value, and Step 370 of Fig. 3 also depicts a UE “update[ing] TA value based on joint TA command and timing drift rate”.
Here, “UL transmissions” using “the TA value as modified” maps to “receiving an uplink communication from the UE, the uplink communication transmitted according to a timing advance”, and
The “TA value” that has been “modified” using the “timing drift rate” derived from “the location of satellite 160” maps to “a timing advance determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters”.
Claim 55 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 42 in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires:
One or more processors individually or collectively configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories
Yao teaches that “[e]xamples herein can include ... at least one machine-readable medium including executable instructions that, when performed by a machine (e.g., a processor (e.g., processor, etc.) [sic] with memory ... cause the machine to perform acts of the method” (Yao, 0097).
As to Claims 46 and 59:
Yao teaches:
The timing advance is determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters and one or more UE-specific parameters
Yao teaches that “base station 122 [in Fig. 1] may ... signal the ephemeris information of satellite 160-1 so that UE 110 may derive the TA value based on the signaled ephemeris information and the UE’s GNSS location information” (Yao, 0069).
Here, “satellite ephemeris information” maps to “the one or more parameters”, and
“the UE’s GNSS location information” maps to “one or more UE-specific parameters”.
Claim 59 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 46 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 2023/0422195 A1) in view of Heilman et al. (US 2016/0071420 A1, hereinafter “Heilman”).
As to Claims 36 and 49:
Yao teaches:
Receiving, from the BS, the one or more parameters
Yao describes a “base station 122 [in Fig. 1]” that may “signal the ephemeris information of satellite 160-1 so that UE 110 may derive the TA value based on the signaled ephemeris information” (Yao, 0069). Elsewhere, Yao adds that the satellite 160-1 may “operate regeneratively” to “operat[e] as a base station”, meaning “functions performed by a base station may also, or alternatively, be performed by a satellite” (Yao, 0014).
Here, “satellite 160-1” that is “operat[ing] as a base station” to “signal the ephemeris information of satellite 160-1” to “UE 110” maps to “receiving, from the BS, the one or more parameters”.
Yao does not explicitly disclose:
The one or more parameters are based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance-broadcast (ADS-B)
However, Heilman does describe an aircraft that can broadcast its location information obtained via ADS-B.
Specifically, Heilman teaches:
The one or more parameters are based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance-broadcast (ADS-B)
Heilman describes a “AFCS [automated flight control system]” that “may have an ADS-B module” which “is a cooperative surveillance technology in which an aircraft determines its position via satellite navigation and periodically broadcasts it, enabling the aircraft to be tracked or to identify itself to other aircraft and ground-based stations equipped with ADS-B transceivers” (Heilman, 0043).
Here, the “position” generated and broadcasted by the “ADS-B module” maps to “one or more parameters [that] are based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance-broadcast (ADS-B)”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ADS-B to obtain the location data Yao uses to update an uplink timing advance. As Heilman explains, ADS-B “enabl[es] the aircraft to be tracked or to identify itself to other aircraft and ground-based stations” (Heilman, 0043).
Claim 49 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 36 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 38-39, 44, 51-52, and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 2023/0422195 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2022/0086780 A1, hereinafter “Tsai”).
As to Claims 38 and 51:
Yao does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a system information broadcast (SIB) from the BS, the SIB indicating one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing shift
However, Tsai does describe a method for a UE in a non-terrestrial network to calculate a specific timing advance for itself and report it to the network.
Specifically, Tsai teaches:
Receiving a system information broadcast (SIB) from the BS, the SIB indicating one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing shift
Tsai teaches that “satellite location information is received, from the BS, via system information” (Tsai, 0012). Tsai also clarifies that the “satellite or unnamed aircraft system (UAS) platform” may function “regenerative[ly]”, which “may be effectively equivalent to having all or part of a BS (e.g., a gNB) functions onboard the satellite (or a UAS platform)” (Tsai, 0143).
Here, “satellite location information” that is “received, from the BS, via system information” for a “regenerative” satellite maps to “receiving a system information broadcast (SIB) from the BS”, and
“satellite location information ... received, from the BS via system information” corresponds to “the SIB indicating ... the location of the BS”,
from the list of “the SIB indicating one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing shift”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tsai’s method for sending BS location in a system information block into Yao’s method for calculating a UE-specific timing advance adjustment. As Tsai explains, providing a UE with information to calculate the timing advance itself makes it “substantially more accurate” (Tsai, Abstract).
Claim 51 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 38 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 39 and 52:
Yao does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing shift via one of:
A message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure; or
A message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
However, Tsai does teach:
Receiving one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing shift via one of:
A message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure; or
A message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
Tsai describes a “TA” that “may ... be updated based on a TA command field in an Msg2, [or] an MsgB” (Tsai, 0147).
Here, the “TA” maps to “the BS timing shift” from the list of “one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing shift”,
“MsgB” maps to “a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure”, and
“Msg2” maps to “a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tsai’s method for sending BS location in a system information block into Yao’s method for calculating a UE-specific timing advance adjustment. As Tsai explains, providing a UE with information to calculate the timing advance itself makes it “substantially more accurate” (Tsai, Abstract).
Claim 52 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 39 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 44 and 57:
Yao does not explicitly disclose:
The one or more parameters are transmitted via a system information broadcast (SIB), a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, or a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
However, Tsai does teach:
The one or more parameters are transmitted via a system information broadcast (SIB), a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, or a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
Tsai teaches that “satellite location information is received, from the BS, via system information” (Tsai, 0012). Tsai also clarifies that the “satellite or unnamed aircraft system (UAS) platform” may function “regenerative[ly]”, which “may be effectively equivalent to having all or part of a BS (e.g., a gNB) functions onboard the satellite (or a UAS platform)” (Tsai, 0143).
Tsai also separately teaches that a “TA” that “may ... be updated based on a TA command field in an Msg2, [or] an MsgB” (Tsai, 0147).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tsai’s method for sending BS location in a system information block into Yao’s method for calculating a UE-specific timing advance adjustment. As Tsai explains, providing a UE with information to calculate the timing advance itself makes it “substantially more accurate” (Tsai, Abstract).
Claim 57 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 44 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 40, 47, 53, and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 2023/0422195 A1) in view of Miranda et al. (US 11,076,372 B1, hereinafter “Miranda”).
As to Claims 40 and 53:
Yao does not explicitly disclose:
A plurality of BS identifiers are stored on the UE
Each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS
A first BS identifier indicates one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS
However, Miranda does describe a method for a vehicle to connect to a base station when entering a new sector.
Specifically, Miranda teaches:
A plurality of BS identifiers are stored on the UE
“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, “base station identifiers” map to “a plurality of BS identifers”, and
“stored on the vehicle” maps to “stored on the UE”.
Each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS
“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, “base station identifiers” map to “each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS”.
A first BS identifier indicates one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS
“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, one of the “base station identifiers” maps to “a first BS identifier”, and
“geographic locations” maps to “indicates ... the location of the BS” from the list of “one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the database described in Miranda that stores the location of each base station into Yao’s method for adjusting a UE’s uplink timing advance. The timing advance depends on the location of the base station, so it makes sense for the UE to store the position of base stations it needs to calculate a timing advance for.
Claim 53 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 40 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 47 and 60:
Yao does not explicitly disclose:
The BS is a fixed-location terrestrial BS, and wherein the UE is an airborne air vehicle
However, Miranda does teach:
The BS is a fixed-location terrestrial BS, and wherein the UE is an airborne air vehicle
Fig. 1 in Miranda shows that the UE (element 100) is an airplane, and the base station (elements 142 and 145) is a tower on the ground.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Yao’s method for configuring a UE-specific timing advance to the aerial UE and terrestrial base station addressed in Miranda. These devices also experience movement relative to each other, meaning the benefits of Yao’s method also apply in this scenario.
Claim 60 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 47 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 41, 45, 54, and 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 2023/0422195 A1) in view of Grischy et al. (US 2017/0026929 A1, hereinafter “Grischy”).
As to Claims 41, 45, 54, and 58:
Yao does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting a report to the BS, the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates
However, Grischy does describe a method for detecting holes in local wireless coverage.
Specifically, Grischy teaches:
Transmitting a report to the BS, the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates
“Once the sequence of measurements is completed, the MU takes the report IEs that it formed for these measurements, creates Measurement Report 2 from them, and sends them to the AP.... 5. Subelement [of Report 2]: vendor-specific request to have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” (Grischy, 0075, 0085).
Here, “sends ... Measurement Report 2 ... to the AP” maps to “transmitting a report to the BS”, and
“have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” maps to “the report including an indication of an accuracy of ... the UE coordinates” from the list of “the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Grischy’s practice of having the UE report the accuracy of its estimated location into Yao’s method for adjusting a UE’s uplink timing advance. Notifying a base station of inaccurate UE coordinates can help prompt more accurate measurements, enabling better timing advance calculation.
Claim 45 introduces substantially the same limitations as Claim 41 from the network device’s perspective.
Claim 54 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 41 from the base station’s perspective.
Claim 58 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 41 in the form of an apparatus claim from the base station’s perspective.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sun et al. (US 2024/0057002 A1) describes an alternative method to configure a UE-specific timing advance for communicating with a satellite.
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477