DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 01/22/2026 has been received and considered by the examiner. Minor amendments were made to Claim 55 that did not change its scope. Claims 1-34 were previously canceled, and claims 35-60 remain pending.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
On page 9 of their remarks, the Applicant argues that “Jiang does not suggest updating the uplink timing advance based on the round-trip time”, adding that “[b]ecause the round-trip time is determined only after the timing advance is updated, it cannot serve as a basis for updating the uplink timing advance as specified in claims 34 and 48” (Applicant Remarks, p. 9).
However, the examiner respectfully submits that this passage reveals a misunderstanding of both Jiang and the previous office action. In mapping the claim limitation requiring that “the update is based on one or more parameters, and the new uplink timing advance is a change of uplink transmission timing relative to the previous uplink timing advance”, the previous action mapped the phrase “associated with a positional relationship” in paragraph 0075 of Jiang to the claimed “one or more parameters”. Paragraph 0047 of Jiang further elaborates on the cited disclosure, stating, “the distance from the terminal to the satellite and the distance from the satellite to the base station will change, resulting in the change of the round-trip time between the terminal and the base station”, and further explains that the terminal needs to “adjust the uplink timing advance, so as to ensure that the adjusted uplink timing advance meets the change in a current round trip time (RTT for short)” (Jiang, 0047).
From these passages, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Jiang teaches (i) calculating an uplink timing advance based on relative movement between a base station and a UE and (ii) round trip time corresponds to the UE’s position relative to the base station. Thus, although the Applicant is correct that paragraph 0048 of Jiang teaches updating the local value of a round-trip time stored at a user device, Jiang also teaches that the real-world value of the round-trip time is a function of the device’s position relative to the base station and depends directly on the “movement of the aerial device” used to update the “uplink timing advance” (Jiang, 0048). In Jiang, the uplink timing advance is updated based on the real-world round trip time – or positional data interchangeable with it - and the local value of the round-trip time stored at the UE is then updated based on the uplink timing advance. Thus, the rejection based on Jiang is properly maintained.
Next, on page 10 of their remarks, the Applicant argues against the rejection of claims 42, 46, 55, and 59 based on Wang, writing, “while Wang discloses that a terminal device may obtain a location of a base station and use that information for timing advance calculations, Wang does not teach that the base station actively transmits parameters to the terminal device. Wang is silent as to how the terminal device obtains the base station location and does not describe any signaling from the base station that conveys its location” (Remarks, p. 10).
However, the Examiner respectfully submits that the Applicant’s reading of paragraph 0125 of Wang, the passage cited to address the contested limitation in the previous office action, does not account for its full disclosure and context. Wang states that “[t]he target cell may include a terminal device without a positioning function, or may include a terminal device with a positioning function.... In other words, a preamble format required for the terminal device with the positioning function corresponds to a shorter preamble length” (Wang, 0125). From this, a person of ordinary skill would conclude that although the Applicant is correct to point out that some terminals “obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance” using “a positioning function”, Wang also teaches that terminals without the positioning function receive the location information through a preamble transmitted by the base station. In other words, the preamble sent to devices with the positioning function is shorter because it does not need to include the position data, but the preamble sent to devices without the positioning function is longer because it does include positioning data. This second scenario clearly anticipates the claim limitation requiring a base station to “transmit, to a user equipment (UE), one or more parameters indicative of a location of the BS”, meaning the rejection based on Wang is properly maintained.
Later on page 10, the Applicant further argues that “Wang does not disclose the base station transmitting one or more parameters indicative of the base station’s location, such as altitude or coordinates of the base station, as expressly required by the claims” (Remarks, p. 10).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, paragraph 0125 of Wang describes a terminal obtaining “a location of a base station such as a satellite” through a preamble transmitted by a base station. In the examiner’s view, there is no meaningful distinction between the broadest reasonable interpretation of “coordinates” and “a location of a base station”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a device sending its location to another device would communicate using some type of coordinates to specify its location.
Additionally, although paragraph 0008 of Wang was not cited in the previous office action, it describes a “network device” that “may directly perform configuration of a random access occasion in a beam” by configuring “target information” including “an orbit height of the network device” (Wang, 0008). Thus, even if Wang did not teach the claim limitation requiring “coordinates of the BS” – which the Examiner does not grant – paragraph 0008 of Wang would anticipate the other possible limitation requiring “an altitude of the BS” because “orbit height” is analogous to “altitude”.
Therefore, in view of the foregoing, the rejection based on Wang is properly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (US 2024/0073845 A1, hereinafter “Jiang”).
As to Claim 35:
Jiang describes a method to update the timing advance between a base station and an aerial vehicle.
Specifically, Jiang teaches:
Determining one or more parameters indicative of movement of the UE relative to a base station (BS)
(“[A] receiving control method is provided, which is performed by a terminal and includes: receiving downlink information is transmitted by a base station, at least after a round-trip time between the terminal and the base station after transmitting uplink information to the base station ... [T]he determined round-trip time is associated with a positional relationship among the terminal ... and the base station at the moment of completing sending the first message” (Jiang, 0005, 0075).
Here, “the determined round-trip time” maps to “determining one or more parameters”,
“associated with a positional relationship” maps to “indicative of movement”,
“the terminal” maps to “the UE”,
“among” maps to “relative to”, and
“the base station” maps to “a base station”).
Updating a previous uplink timing advance to a new uplink timing advance
(“[T]he terminal may update the uplink timing advance first according to the update configuration, and then determine the round-trip time according to the updated timing advance” (Jiang, 0048).
Here, “update the uplink timing advance” maps to “updating a previous uplink timing advance”, and
“the updated timing advance” maps to “a new uplink timing advance”).
The update is based on one or more parameters, and the new uplink timing advance is a change of uplink transmission timing relative to the previous uplink timing advance
(“[T]he terminal may update the timing advance first according to the update configuration, and then determine the round-trip time according to the updated uplink timing advance.... [T]he determined round-trip time is associated with a positional relationship among the terminal, the satellite and the base station” (Jiang, 0048, 0075).
Here, “update” maps to “the update”,
“associated with a positional relationship” maps to “based on one or more parameters”,
“the updated uplink timing advance” maps to “the new uplink timing advance is a change of uplink transmission timing relative to the previous uplink timing advance”).
From the list of:
The one or more parameters comprising at least one of:
An altitude of the UE or BS;
A location of the UE or BS;
A UE speed; or
A UE trajectory
Jiang at least teaches:
A location of the UE or BS;
(“[T]he terminal may update the timing advance first according to the update configuration, and then determine the round-trip time according to the updated uplink timing advance.... [T]he determined round-trip time is associated with a positional relationship among the terminal, the satellite and the base station” (Jiang, 0048).
Here, “a positional relationship” maps to “a location”,
“the terminal” maps to “the UE”, and
“the base station” maps to “BS”).
Transmitting an uplink signal over resources determined using the new uplink timing advance
(“[A] first uplink timing advance used when transmitting the first message of the random access procedure may be updated” (Jiang, 0082).
Here, “used when transmitting” maps to “transmitting ... using”,
“the first message of the random access procedure” maps to “an uplink signal”,
“a first uplink timing advance” maps to “resources”, and
“timing advance ... updated” maps to “determined using the new uplink timing advance”).
As to Claim 48:
Jiang teaches:
One or more processors individually or collectively configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories
(“[A]n electronic device is provided, which includes: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor” (Jiang, 0007).
Here, “a processor” maps to “one or more processors”,
“configured” maps to “individually ... configured” from the list of “individually or collectively configured”, and
“store instructions executable by the processor” maps to “to execute instructions stored on one or more memories”).
Determine one or more parameters indicative of movement of the UE relative to a base station (BS)
(“[A] receiving control method is provided, which is performed by a terminal and includes: receiving downlink information is transmitted by a base station, at least after a round-trip time between the terminal and the base station after transmitting uplink information to the base station ... [T]he determined round-trip time is associated with a positional relationship among the terminal ... and the base station at the moment of completing sending the first message” (Jiang, 0005, 0075).
Here, “the determined round-trip time” maps to “determine one or more parameters”,
“associated with a positional relationship” maps to “indicative of movement”,
“the terminal” maps to “the UE”,
“among” maps to “relative to”, and
“the base station” maps to “a base station”).
Update a previous uplink timing advance to a new uplink timing advance
(“[T]he terminal may update the uplink timing advance first according to the update configuration, and then determine the round-trip time according to the updated timing advance” (Jiang, 0048).
Here, “update the uplink timing advance” maps to “update a previous uplink timing advance”, and
“the updated timing advance” maps to “a new uplink timing advance”).
The update is based on one or more parameters, and the new uplink timing advance is a change of uplink transmission timing relative to the previous uplink timing advance
(“[T]he terminal may update the timing advance first according to the update configuration, and then determine the round-trip time according to the updated uplink timing advance.... [T]he determined round-trip time is associated with a positional relationship among the terminal, the satellite and the base station” (Jiang, 0048, 0075).
Here, “update” maps to “the update”,
“associated with a positional relationship” maps to “based on one or more parameters”,
“the updated uplink timing advance” maps to “the new uplink timing advance is a change of uplink transmission timing relative to the previous uplink timing advance”).
From the list of:
The one or more parameters comprising at least one of:
An altitude of the UE or BS;
A location of the UE or BS;
A UE speed; or
A UE trajectory
Jiang at least teaches:
A location of the UE or BS;
(“[T]he terminal may update the timing advance first according to the update configuration, and then determine the round-trip time according to the updated uplink timing advance.... [T]he determined round-trip time is associated with a positional relationship among the terminal, the satellite and the base station” (Jiang, 0048).
Here, “a positional relationship” maps to “a location”,
“the terminal” maps to “the UE”, and
“the base station” maps to “BS”).
Transmit an uplink signal over resources determined using the new uplink timing advance
(“[A] first uplink timing advance used when transmitting the first message of the random access procedure may be updated” (Jiang, 0082).
Here, “used when transmitting” maps to “transmit ... using”,
“the first message of the random access procedure” maps to “an uplink signal”,
“a first uplink timing advance” maps to “resources”, and
“timing advance ... updated” maps to “determined using the new uplink timing advance”).
Claim(s) 42, 46, 55, and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2022/0225424 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
As to Claim 42:
Wang describes a method for a wireless device to compensate for transmission delay to a network device.
Specifically, Wang teaches:
Transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), one or more parameters indicative a location of the BS, the one or more parameters including at least one of an altitude of the BS or coordinates of the BS
(“[T]he terminal device can obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance required by the terminal device to send a signal ... In other words, a preamble format required for the terminal device with the positioning function corresponds to a shorter preamble length” (Wang, 0125).
Here, “obtain” in the same random access sequence as “a preamble” maps to “transmitting” from the base station’s perspective,
“the terminal device” maps to “a user equipment (UE)”, and
“a location of a base station” maps to “one or more parameters indicative a location of the BS ... including at least ... coordinates of the BS” from the list of “one or more parameters indicative a location of the BS, the one or more parameters including at least one of an altitude of the BS or coordinates of the BS”).
Receiving an uplink communication from the UE, the uplink communication transmitted according to a timing advance determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters
(“[T]he terminal device can obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance required by the terminal device to send a signal ... In other words, a preamble format required for the terminal device with the positioning function corresponds to a shorter preamble length” (Wang, 0125).
Here, “the terminal device send[s] a signal” maps to “receiving an uplink communication from the UE”,
“a timing advance required ... to send a signal” maps to “the uplink communication transmitted according to a timing advance”, and
“obtain a location ... to calculate” maps to “determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters”).
As to Claim 46:
Wang teaches:
The timing advance is determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters and one or more UE-specific parameters
(“[T]he terminal device can obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance required by the terminal to send a signal ... [T]he terminal device with the positioning function still needs to consider an impact from delay spread caused due to a multi-path effect to a decoded signal of a received end” (Wang, 0125).
Here, “a timing advance” maps to “the timing advance”,
“to calculate” maps to “determined based at least in part”,
“a location” maps to “the one or more parameters”, and
“a multi-path effect” maps to “one or more UE-specific parameters” because the set of paths from a UE to the BS will be unique to that UE).
As to Claim 55:
Wang teaches:
One or more processors individually or collectively configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories and to cause the BS
(“The network device includes a processor and a memory. The memory is configured to store computer-readable instructions (or referred to as a computer program)” (Wang, 0043).
Here, “a processor” maps to “one or more processors”,
“computer-readable instructions” map to “individually ... configured to execute instructions” from the list of “individually or collectively configured to execute instructions”,
“the memory is configured to store computer-readable instructions” maps to “configured to execute instructions stored on one or more memories and to cause the BS”).
Transmit, to a user equipment (UE), one or more parameters indicative of a location of the BS, the one or more parameters including at least one of an altitude of the BS or coordinates of the BS
(“[T]he terminal device can obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance required by the terminal device to send a signal ... In other words, a preamble format required for the terminal device with the positioning function corresponds to a shorter preamble length” (Wang, 0125).
Here, “obtain” in the same random access sequence as “a preamble” maps to “transmit” from the base station’s perspective,
“the terminal device” maps to “a user equipment (UE)”, and
“a location of a base station” maps to “one or more parameters indicative of a location of the BS ... including at least ... coordinates of the BS” from the list of “one or more parameters indicative a location of the BS, the one or more parameters including at least one of an altitude of the BS or coordinates of the BS”).
Receive an uplink communication from the UE, the uplink communication transmitted according to a timing advance determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters
(“[T]he terminal device can obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance required by the terminal device to send a signal ... In other words, a preamble format required for the terminal device with the positioning function corresponds to a shorter preamble length” (Wang, 0125).
Here, “the terminal device send[s] a signal” maps to “receive an uplink communication from the UE”,
“a timing advance required ... to send a signal” maps to “the uplink communication transmitted according to a timing advance”, and
“obtain a location ... to calculate” maps to “determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters”).
As to Claim 59:
Wang teaches:
The timing advance is determined based at least in part on the one or more parameters and one or more UE-specific parameters
(“[T]he terminal device can obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance required by the terminal to send a signal ... [T]he terminal device with the positioning function still needs to consider an impact from delay spread caused due to a multi-path effect to a decoded signal of a received end” (Wang, 0125).
Here, “a timing advance” maps to “the timing advance”,
“to calculate” maps to “determined based at least in part”,
“a location” maps to “the one or more parameters”, and
“a multi-path effect” maps to “one or more UE-specific parameters” because the set of paths from a UE to the BS will be unique to that UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2024/0073845 A1) in view of Greenleaf et al. (US 9,922,571 B1, hereinafter “Greenleaf”).
As to Claim 36:
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving, from the BS, the one or more parameters
The one or more parameters are based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance – broadcast (ADS-B)
However, Greenleaf does describe a method to deploy and use ADS-B on small aircraft.
Specifically, Greenleaf teaches:
Receiving, from the BS, the one or more parameters
(“[A] UAV or small aircraft [has] a computer system configured to determine its own location, establish a data link with a remote station ... and send the location information to the remote station in an ADS-B compliant format. The remote station may then transmit the ADS-B compliant information as a virtual ADS-B signal” (Greenleaf col. 1, lines 36-43).
Here, “the remote station may then transmit” maps to “receiving, from the BS”, and
“location” formatted as “ADS-B compliant information” maps to “the one or more parameters”).
The one or more parameters are based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance – broadcast (ADS-B)
(“[A] UAV or small aircraft [has] a computer system configured to determine its own location, establish a data link with a remote station ... and send the location information to the remote station in an ADS-B compliant format. The remote station may then transmit the ADS-B compliant information as a virtual ADS-B signal” (Greenleaf col. 1, lines 36-43).
Here, “location” maps to “the one or more parameters”, and
“in an ADS-B compliant format” maps to “based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance – broadcast (ADS-B)”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Greenleaf’s use of ADS-B into Jiang’s method for updating the timing advance for an airborne UE. ADS-B is a common format for reporting location data that can prove useful in Jiang’s method.
As to Claim 49:
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
Receive, from the BS, the one or more parameters
The one or more parameters are based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance – broadcast (ADS-B)
However, Greenleaf does teach:
Receive, from the BS, the one or more parameters
(“[A] UAV or small aircraft [has] a computer system configured to determine its own location, establish a data link with a remote station ... and send the location information to the remote station in an ADS-B compliant format. The remote station may then transmit the ADS-B compliant information as a virtual ADS-B signal” (Greenleaf col. 1, lines 36-43).
Here, “the remote station may then transmit” maps to “receive, from the BS”, and
“location” formatted as “ADS-B compliant information” maps to “the one or more parameters”).
The one or more parameters are based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance – broadcast (ADS-B)
(“[A] UAV or small aircraft [has] a computer system configured to determine its own location, establish a data link with a remote station ... and send the location information to the remote station in an ADS-B compliant format. The remote station may then transmit the ADS-B compliant information as a virtual ADS-B signal” (Greenleaf col. 1, lines 36-43).
Here, “location” maps to “the one or more parameters”, and
“in an ADS-B compliant format” maps to “based on information provided by an automatic dependent surveillance – broadcast (ADS-B)”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Greenleaf’s use of ADS-B into Jiang’s method for updating the timing advance for an airborne UE. ADS-B is a common format for reporting location data that can prove useful in Jiang’s method.
Claim(s) 37-39 and 50-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2024/0073845 A1) in view of Caretti et al. (US 2015/0208425 A1, hereinafter “Caretti”).
As to Claim 37:
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
The one or more parameters comprise a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval
The timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
However, Caretti does describe a method for minimizing interference in heterogeneous networks.
Specifically, Caretti teaches:
The one or more parameters comprise a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance” maps to “the one or more parameters comprise a ... timing shift”,
“PeNB” maps to “a BS”,
“the uplink symbols” map to “an uplink time interval”, and
“the downlink frame” maps to “a downlink time interval”).
The timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance ... used to shift” maps to “the timing shift”,
“thus aligning the uplink signals” maps to “indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned”,
“the downlink frame” maps to “the downlink time interval”, and
“the respective PeNB” maps to “the BS”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Caretti’s practice of shifting uplink and downlink transmission intervals to align into Jiang’s method for updating the timing advance at an aerial UE. Aligning the transmission intervals helps reduce interference.
As to Claim 38:
Jiang teaches:
Receiving a system information broadcast (SIB) from the BS
(“[T]he terminal may determine the starting moment for ... a boundary of a system information window where the time of the update configuration is located ... the system information block SIB1 being configured to carry common timing related information” (Jiang, 0062).
Here, “SIB1 ... carry[ing] common timing related information” maps to “receiving a system information broadcast (SIB) from the BS”).
The SIB indicating one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing
(“[T]he terminal may determine the starting moment for ... a boundary of a system information window where the time of the update configuration is located ... the system information block SIB1 being configured to carry common timing related information” (Jiang, 0062).
Here, “the system information block SIB1” maps to “the SIB”, and
“configured to carry common timing related information” maps to “indicating ... the BS timing” from the list of “indicating one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing”).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
The BS timing shift
However, Caretti does teach:
The BS timing shift
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “PUEs” maps to “the BS”, and
“time advance ... used to shift” maps to “timing shift”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send the timing advance described in Caretti in a system information block such as the one described in Jiang. The system information already contains timing information, so it would be obvious to use it to convey Caretti’s timing shift.
As to Claim 39:
From the list of:
Receiving ... via one of:
A message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure; or
A message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
Jiang at least teaches:
Receiving ... via one of: ...
A message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
(“[T]he downlink information transmitted by the base station may be a second message of a random access procedure Msg2/MsgB ... [T]he downlink information transmitted by the base station may be a fourth message of a random access procedure Msg4” (Jiang, 0073, 0090).
Here, “downlink information transmitted” maps to “receiving”, and
“Msg2/MsgB” maps to “a message B (MsgB) of a 4-step random access channel (RACH) procedure”).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing shift
However, from this list, Caretti at least teaches:
Receiving ... the BS timing shift
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance ... used to shift” maps to “receiving ... the BS timing shift”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send the timing advance described in Caretti in a random access procedure such as the one described in Jiang. The random access messages are frequently exchanged between the base station and user equipment, so they are obvious candidates to carry information.
As to Claim 50:
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
The one or more parameters comprise a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval
The timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
However, Caretti does teach:
The one or more parameters comprise a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance” maps to “the one or more parameters comprise a ... timing shift”,
“PeNB” maps to “a BS”,
“the uplink symbols” map to “an uplink time interval”, and
“the downlink frame” maps to “a downlink time interval”).
The timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance ... used to shift” maps to “the timing shift”,
“thus aligning the uplink signals” maps to “indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned”,
“the downlink frame” maps to “the downlink time interval”, and
“the respective PeNB” maps to “the BS”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Caretti’s practice of shifting uplink and downlink transmission intervals to align into Jiang’s method for updating the timing advance at an aerial UE. Aligning the transmission intervals helps reduce interference.
As to Claim 51:
Jiang teaches:
Receive a system information broadcast (SIB) from the BS
(“[T]he terminal may determine the starting moment for ... a boundary of a system information window where the time of the update configuration is located ... the system information block SIB1 being configured to carry common timing related information” (Jiang, 0062).
Here, “SIB1 ... carry[ing] common timing related information” maps to “receive a system information broadcast (SIB) from the BS”).
The SIB indicating one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing
(“[T]he terminal may determine the starting moment for ... a boundary of a system information window where the time of the update configuration is located ... the system information block SIB1 being configured to carry common timing related information” (Jiang, 0062).
Here, “the system information block SIB1” maps to “the SIB”, and
“configured to carry common timing related information” maps to “indicating ... the BS timing” from the list of “indicating one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing”).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
The BS timing shift
However, Caretti does teach:
The BS timing shift
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “PUEs” maps to “the BS”, and
“time advance ... used to shift” maps to “timing shift”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send the timing advance described in Caretti in a system information block such as the one described in Jiang. The system information already contains timing information, so it would be obvious to use it to convey Caretti’s timing shift.
As to Claim 52:
From the list of:
Receive ... via one of:
A message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure; or
A message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
Jiang at least teaches:
Receive ... via one of:
A message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
(“[T]he downlink information transmitted by the base station may be a second message of a random access procedure Msg2/MsgB ... [T]he downlink information transmitted by the base station may be a fourth message of a random access procedure Msg4” (Jiang, 0073, 0090).
Here, “downlink information transmitted” maps to “receiving”, and
“Msg2/MsgB” maps to “a message B (MsgB) of a 4-step random access channel (RACH) procedure”).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
Receive one or more of the altitude of the BS, the location of the BS, or the BS timing shift
However, from this list, Caretti at least teaches:
Receive ... the BS timing shift
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance ... used to shift” maps to “receive ... the BS timing shift”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send the timing advance described in Caretti in a random access procedure such as the one described in Jiang. The random access messages are frequently exchanged between the base station and user equipment, so they are obvious candidates to carry information.
Claim(s) 40 and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2024/0073845 A1) in view of Caretti (US 2015/0208425 A1) and further in view of Miranda et al. (US 11,076,372 B2, hereinafter “Miranda”).
As to Claim 40:
The combination of Jiang and Caretti does not explicitly disclose:
A plurality of BS identifiers are stored on the UE
Each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS
A first BS identifier indicates one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS
However, Miranda does describe a method for a vehicle to connect to a base station when entering a new sector.
Specifically, Miranda teaches:
A plurality of BS identifiers are stored on the UE
(“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, “base station identifiers” map to “a plurality of BS identifers”, and
“stored on the vehicle” maps to “stored on the UE”).
Each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS
(“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, “base station identifiers” map to “each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS”).
A first BS identifier indicates one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS
(“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, one of the “base station identifiers” maps to “a first BS identifier”, and
“geographic locations” maps to “indicates ... the location of the BS” from the list of “one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the database described in Miranda that stores the location of each base station into Jiang’s method for adjusting the uplink timing advance for an airborne UE. The timing advance depends on the location of the base station, so it makes sense for the UE to store the position of base stations it needs to calculate a timing advance for.
As to Claim 53:
The combination of Jiang and Caretti does not explicitly disclose:
A plurality of BS identifiers are stored on the UE
Each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS
A first BS identifier indicates one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS
However, Miranda does teach:
A plurality of BS identifiers are stored on the UE
(“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, “base station identifiers” map to “a plurality of BS identifers”, and
“stored on the vehicle” maps to “stored on the UE”).
Each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS
(“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, “base station identifiers” map to “each of the plurality of BS identifiers correspond to a particular BS”).
A first BS identifier indicates one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS
(“Because base stations are generally stationary, a base station database that associated base station identifiers and their geographic locations can be stored on the vehicle” (Miranda col. 3, lines 38-41).
Here, one of the “base station identifiers” maps to “a first BS identifier”, and
“geographic locations” maps to “indicates ... the location of the BS” from the list of “one or more of the altitude of the BS or the location of the BS”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the database described in Miranda that stores the location of each base station into Jiang’s method for adjusting the uplink timing advance for an airborne UE. The timing advance depends on the location of the base station, so it makes sense for the UE to store the position of base stations it needs to calculate a timing advance for.
Claim(s) 41 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2024/0073845 A1) in view of Caretti (US 2015/0208425 A1) and further in view of Grischy et al. (US 2017/0026929 A1, hereinafter “Grischy”).
As to Claim 41:
The combination of Jiang and Caretti does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting a report to the BS, the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates
However, Grischy does describe a method for detecting holes in local wireless coverage.
Specifically, Grischy teaches:
Transmitting a report to the BS, the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates
(“Once the sequence of measurements is completed, the MU takes the report IEs that it formed for these measurements, creates Measurement Report 2 from them, and sends them to the AP.... 5. Subelement [of Report 2]: vendor-specific request to have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” (Grischy, 0075, 0085).
Here, “sends ... Measurement Report 2 ... to the AP” maps to “transmitting a report to the BS”, and
“have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” maps to “the report including an indication of an accuracy of ... the UE coordinates” from the list of “the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Grischy’s practice of having the UE report the accuracy of its estimated location into Jiang’s method for adjusting the uplink timing advance of an airborne UE. Notifying a base station of inaccurate UE coordinates can help prompt more accurate measurements, enabling better timing advance calculation.
As to Claim 54:
The combination of Jiang and Caretti does not explicitly disclose:
Transmit a report to the BS, the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates
However, Grischy does teach:
Transmit a report to the BS, the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates
(“Once the sequence of measurements is completed, the MU takes the report IEs that it formed for these measurements, creates Measurement Report 2 from them, and sends them to the AP.... 5. Subelement [of Report 2]: vendor-specific request to have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” (Grischy, 0075, 0085).
Here, “sends ... Measurement Report 2 ... to the AP” maps to “transmitting a report to the BS”, and
“have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” maps to “the report including an indication of an accuracy of ... the UE coordinates” from the list of “the report including an indication of an accuracy of one or more of the UE altitude or the UE coordinates”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Grischy’s practice of having the UE report the accuracy of its estimated location into Jiang’s method for adjusting the uplink timing advance of an airborne UE. Notifying a base station of inaccurate UE coordinates can help prompt more accurate measurements, enabling better timing advance calculation.
Claim(s) 43-44 and 56-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0225424 A1) in view of Caretti (US 2015/0208425 A1).
As to Claim 43:
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
The one or more parameters comprise an indication of a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval
The timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
However, Caretti does teach:
The one or more parameters comprise an indication of a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance” maps to “the one or more parameters comprise an indication of ... timing shift”,
“PeNB” maps to “a BS”,
“the uplink symbols” map to “an uplink time interval”, and
“the downlink frame” maps to “a downlink time interval”).
The timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance ... used to shift” maps to “the timing shift”,
“thus aligning the uplink signals” maps to “indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned”,
“the downlink frame” maps to “the downlink time interval”, and
“the respective PeNB” maps to “the BS”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Caretti’s practice of shifting uplink and downlink transmission intervals to align into Wang’s method for updating the timing advance at an aerial UE. Aligning the transmission intervals helps reduce interference.
As to Claim 44:
From the list of:
The one or more parameters are transmitted via a system information broadcast (SIB), a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, or a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
Wang at least teaches:
The one or more parameters are transmitted via ... a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, or a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
(“[T]he terminal device can obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance required by the terminal device to send a signal ... In other words, a preamble format required for the terminal device with the positioning function corresponds to a shorter preamble length” (Wang, 0125).
Here, “a location” maps to “the one or more parameters”,
the response to the “preamble” requesting “a location” maps to “transmitted via ... a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, or a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure” because although Wang does not specify whether a 2-step or 4-step RACH is used, the response to a preamble clearly occurs in a random access procedure).
As to Claim 56:
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
The one or more parameters comprise an indication of a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval
The timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
However, Caretti does teach:
The one or more parameters comprise an indication of a BS timing shift between an uplink time interval and a downlink time interval
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance” maps to “the one or more parameters comprise an indication of ... timing shift”,
“PeNB” maps to “a BS”,
“the uplink symbols” map to “an uplink time interval”, and
“the downlink frame” maps to “a downlink time interval”).
The timing shift indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned with the downlink time interval at the BS
(“[E]ach time advance
τ
P
, may be used to shift (anticipate) the downlink frame of the respective PeNB, thus aligning again the uplink symbols of the MUEs and PUEs at each PeNB” (Caretti, 0080).
Here, “time advance ... used to shift” maps to “the timing shift”,
“thus aligning the uplink signals” maps to “indicating whether the uplink time interval is aligned”,
“the downlink frame” maps to “the downlink time interval”, and
“the respective PeNB” maps to “the BS”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Caretti’s practice of shifting uplink and downlink transmission intervals to align into Wang’s method for updating the timing advance at an aerial UE. Aligning the transmission intervals helps reduce interference.
As to Claim 57:
From the list of:
The one or more parameters are transmitted via a system information broadcast (SIB), a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, or a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
Wang at least teaches:
The one or more parameters are transmitted via ... a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, or a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure
(“[T]he terminal device can obtain a location of a base station such as a satellite, to calculate a timing advance required by the terminal device to send a signal ... In other words, a preamble format required for the terminal device with the positioning function corresponds to a shorter preamble length” (Wang, 0125).
Here, “a location” maps to “the one or more parameters”,
the response to the “preamble” requesting “a location” maps to “transmitted via ... a message B (MsgB) of a 2-step random access channel (RACH) procedure, or a message 2 (Msg2) of a 4-step RACH procedure” because although Wang does not specify whether a 2-step or 4-step RACH is used, the response to a preamble clearly occurs in a random access procedure).
Claim(s) 45 and 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0225424 A1) in view of Caretti (US 2015/0208425 A1) and further in view of Grischy (US 2017/0026929 A1).
As to Claim 45:
The combination of Wang and Caretti does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving, from the UE, a report comprising an indication of an accuracy of equipment on the UE, wherein the equipment is configured to provide one or more of an altitude of the UE or a location of the UE
However, Grischy does teach:
Receiving, from the UE, a report comprising an indication of an accuracy of equipment on the UE, wherein the equipment is configured to provide one or more of an altitude of the UE or a location of the UE
(“Once the sequence of measurements is completed, the MU takes the report IEs that it formed for these measurements, creates Measurement Report 2 from them, and sends them to the AP.... 5. Subelement [of Report 2]: vendor-specific request to have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” (Grischy, 0075, 0085).
Here, “sends ... Measurement Report 2 ... to the AP” maps to “receiving, from the UE, a report”, and
“have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” maps to “the report including an indication of an accuracy of equipment on the UE, wherein the UE is configured to provide ... a location of the UE” from the list of “a report comprising an indication of an accuracy of equipment on the UE, wherein the equipment is configured to provide one or more of an altitude of the UE or a location of the UE”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Grischy’s practice of having the UE report the accuracy of its estimated location into Wang’s method for adjusting the uplink timing advance of an airborne UE. Notifying a base station of inaccurate UE coordinates can help prompt more accurate measurements, enabling better timing advance calculation.
As to Claim 58:
The combination of Wang and Caretti does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving, from the UE, a report comprising an indication of an accuracy of equipment on the UE, wherein the equipment is configured to provide one or more of an altitude of the UE or a location of the UE
However, Grischy does teach:
Receiving, from the UE, a report comprising an indication of an accuracy of equipment on the UE, wherein the equipment is configured to provide one or more of an altitude of the UE or a location of the UE
(“Once the sequence of measurements is completed, the MU takes the report IEs that it formed for these measurements, creates Measurement Report 2 from them, and sends them to the AP.... 5. Subelement [of Report 2]: vendor-specific request to have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” (Grischy, 0075, 0085).
Here, “sends ... Measurement Report 2 ... to the AP” maps to “receiving, from the UE, a report”, and
“have the MU tell its estimated accuracy of its reported position” maps to “the report including an indication of an accuracy of equipment on the UE, wherein the UE is configured to provide ... a location of the UE” from the list of “a report comprising an indication of an accuracy of equipment on the UE, wherein the equipment is configured to provide one or more of an altitude of the UE or a location of the UE”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Grischy’s practice of having the UE report the accuracy of its estimated location into Wang’s method for adjusting the uplink timing advance of an airborne UE. Notifying a base station of inaccurate UE coordinates can help prompt more accurate measurements, enabling better timing advance calculation.
Claim(s) 47 and 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022/0225424 A1) in view of Dai et al. (US 2023/0262669 A1, hereinafter “Dai”).
As to Claim 47:
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
The BS is a fixed-location terrestrial BS
The UE is an airborne air vehicle
However, Dai does describe methods for scheduling non-terrestrial network communications.
Specifically, Dai teaches:
The BS is a fixed-location terrestrial BS
(“Ground/base station 130 also communicates with airborne UE 142 over communications station 135” (Dai, 0021).
Here, “ground/base station 130” maps to “the BS is a fixed-location terrestrial BS”).
The UE is an airborne air vehicle
(“Ground/base station 130 also communicates with airborne UE 142 over communications station 135” (Dai, 0021).
Here, “airborne UE 142” maps to “the UE is an airborne air vehicle”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Wang’s method for adjusting a timing advance to the network described in Dai. An aerial UE also needs to periodically recalculate its timing advance after it moves, making it obvious to apply a method to adjust its timing advance.
As to Claim 60:
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
The BS is a fixed-location terrestrial BS
The UE is an airborne air vehicle
However, Dai does teach:
The BS is a fixed-location terrestrial BS
(“Ground/base station 130 also communicates with airborne UE 142 over communications station 135” (Dai, 0021).
Here, “ground/base station 130” maps to “the BS is a fixed-location terrestrial BS”).
The UE is an airborne air vehicle
(“Ground/base station 130 also communicates with airborne UE 142 over communications station 135” (Dai, 0021).
Here, “airborne UE 142” maps to “the UE is an airborne air vehicle”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Wang’s method for adjusting a timing advance to the network described in Dai. An aerial UE also needs to periodically recalculate its timing advance after it moves, making it obvious to apply a method to adjust its timing advance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jiang et al. (US 12,369,133 B2, hereinafter “Jiang2”) describes a method to update an uplink timing advance based on a satellite’s position.
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477