DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 5/28/26. Claims 1 and 6 have been amended. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto USPA_20180188387_A1 in view of Kuriwada WO_2020189284_A1 (see English equivalent: USPA_2022002617_A1) and Yoshida TW_201518391_A (see machine English translation).
1. Regarding Claim 1, Morimoto discloses a scintillator array (corresponds to claimed scintillator structure) including a plurality of scintillator segments (corresponds to claimed scintillators) wherein each scintillator segment comprises a phosphor and a reflective layer is applied to said scintillator segment (Abstract and paragraph 0036, Fig. 1)
2. However, Morimoto does not disclose using a resin in its scintillator segment.
3. Kuriwada discloses using both a resin and phosphor in its scintillators (Title) and further discloses that in doing so its scintillator exhibits an effect of having a brightness of an equivalent level with less afterglow as compared to a ceramic scintillator (paragraph 0031). Kuriwada further discloses that said resin can comprise a curing initiator (corresponds to claimed curing agent) (Claim 3). Furthermore, Yoshida discloses a curable epoxy resin composition such as 3,2-epoxy-4-(2-oxiranyl)cyclohexane (3-vinyl-7-oxabicyclo [4.1.0]heptane (Page 7) offers heat resistance and superior mechanical properties (Pages 7-8).
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the scintillator segment, of Morimoto, by also using a resin with a curing agent alongside its phosphor, as disclosed by Kuriwada, and in particular, to use a 3,2-epoxy-4-(2-oxiranyl)cyclohexane (3-vinyl-7-oxabicyclo [4.1.0]heptane resin, of Yoshida. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain the afore-described brightness, mechanical strength, and heat resistance.
5. Regarding Claim 2, Morimoto in view of Kuriwada and Yoshida suggests using a resin in its reflective layer (Morimoto: Abstract).
Claim(s) 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto USPA_20180188387_A1 in view of Kuriwada WO_2020189284_A1 (see English equivalent: USPA_2022002617_A1) and Yoshida TW_201518391_A (see machine English translation), as applied to Claims 1 and 2, and in view of Armstrong USPA_20030236388_A1.
6. Regarding Claims 3-9, Morimoto in view of Kuriwada and Yoshida does not disclose the claimed resin.
7. Armstrong discloses a layer of light-scattering epoxy resin that is casted over an array (paragraphs 0049, 0050) wherein said array is a composed of a plurality of scinitillator bars that are separated by light-scattering material (corresponds to claimed phosphor) and a resin (paragraph 0050). Armstrong discloses that said resin can include a curing agent such as phthalic anhydrides (Abstract and paragraph 0034) (corresponds to instant Claims 3, 4, 7, and 8). Armstrong also discloses using a hexfluorophosphate curing catalyst (paragraph 0037) (corresponds to instant Claims 5 and 9). Alternatively, Armstrong further discloses the use of organophosphorus compounds as thermal stabilizers (corresponds to claimed curing catalyst) (paragraph 0039), as is being claimed in instant Claim 9. Additionally, Armstrong discloses that said resin can be 3,4-epoxycyclohexylmethyl-3,4-epoxycyclohexane carboxylate (paragraph 0026), as is being claimed in instant Claim 6. Finally, Armstrong discloses that its invention forms polymeric bonding materials that are more resistant to damage by high-energy radiation, whose light transparency does not substantially change upon being exposed to high-energy radiation over an extended period of time, that are also easily processed and applied in the manufacture of scintillator arrays (paragraph 0005).
8. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention, of Morimoto in view of Kuriwada and Yoshida, by using the afore-described ingredients, of Armstrong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain the aforementioned benefits from Armstrong.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 3, 2026