DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 1/20/26. Claims 5 and 9 have been amended. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong USPA_20030236388_A1 in view of Yoshida TW_201518391_A (see machine English translation).
1. Regarding Claims 1-9, Armstrong discloses a layer of light-scattering epoxy resin (corresponds to claimed reflective layer of resin corresponds to instant Claim 2) that is casted over an array (paragraphs 0049, 0050) wherein said array is a composed of a plurality of scinitillator bars (corresponds to claimed plurality of cells) that are separated by light-scattering material (corresponds to claimed phosphor) and a resin (paragraph 0050). Armstrong discloses that said resin can include a curing agent such as phthalic anhydrides (Abstract and paragraph 0034) (corresponds to instant Claims 3, 4, 7, and 8). Armstrong also discloses using a hexfluorophosphate curing catalyst (paragraph 0037) (corresponds to instant Claims 5 and 9). Alternatively, Armstrong further discloses the use of organophosphorus compounds as thermal stabilizers (corresponds to claimed curing catalyst) (paragraph 0039), as is being claimed in instant Claim 9. Also, Armstrong discloses that said resin can be 3,4-epoxycyclohexylmethyl-3,4-epoxycyclohexane carboxylate (paragraph 0026), as is being claimed in instant Claim 6.
2. However, Armstrong does not disclose the claimed bi-7-oxabicyclo heptane.
3. Yoshida discloses a curable epoxy resin composition such as 3,2-epoxy-4-(2-oxiranyl)cyclohexane (3-vinyl-7-oxabicyclo [4.1.0]heptane (Page 7) offers heat resistance and superior mechanical properties (Pages 7-8).
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the resin, of Armstrong, by also using 3,2-epoxy-4-(2-oxiranyl)cyclohexane (3-vinyl-7-oxabicyclo [4.1.0]heptane, of Yoshida. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain mechanical strength and heat resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants state: “The Examiner asserts that Armstrong discloses a layer of light-scattering epoxy resin "casted over an array composed of a plurality of scintillator bars (corresponds to claimed plurality of cells) that are separated by light-scattering material (corresponds to claimed phosphor) and a resin." (See Office Action, pages 2 and 3). Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection. Armstrong teaches resin compositions for use in forming reflector elements 30 and a periphery layer 40, not cells. (See Armstrong, FIG. 1 and paras. [0006] and [0049]).”
The Examiner respectfully submits that the word “cells” has not been defined by Applicants in their Specification. As such, it is within reason to interpret the plurality of scinitillator bars, of Armstrong, as meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “cells”.
Applicants state: “However, Armstrong never describes the scintillator elements 20 as containing a resin and a phosphor as recited in claims 1 and 6 of the present application. (See Armstrong, para. [0049]).”
The Examiner respectfully submits that said plurality of scinitillator bars (corresponds to claimed plurality of cells) are separated by light-scattering material (corresponds to claimed phosphor) and a resin (paragraph 0050).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 April 1, 2026