DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 21, 41 have been amended. The status of claim 1-21, 41 and 61 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that Yi et al (US 2023/0239125 A1 does not disclose an indication of an enabled/non-enabled implicit TCI update rule and activation of TCI codepoint(s) based on the indication as claimed. As the Office points out, Yi merely relates to an indication to activate TCI states from a TCI state pool. The Office has not shown where Yi indicates whether an implicit TCI update rule is enabled followed by an activation of a TCI codepoint that is based on the indication of whether the implicit TCI update rule is enabled.”:
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Yi under the broadest reasonable interpretation does disclose the above claim elements.
In particular, Yi discloses transmission and reception of MAC-CE indication that activates TCI states of TCI state pool, the UE that applies the TCI state when an update mechanism is used (section 0399) and the MAC-CE command or activation is directly associated with TCI states that relates to one or more codepoints (section 0235, 0239, 0440, 0404-0409-TCI updates based on the MAC-CEs and based on rule).
Moreover, the Examiner respectfully submits that Yi discloses the enablement aspect to the TCI state based on the activation of a TCI codepoint because the MACE CE commands or activation is relating to TCI states associated with one or more codepoints because the UE or the wireless device that applies a TCI state when an update is used. Applying of a TCI state when an update is use or updating of the TCI state based on the reception of MAC CE activation or command is a form of enablement.
To summarize, the Office Action has shown that YI indicates whether an implicit TCI update rule is enabled followed by an activation of a TCI codepoint that is based on the indication of whether the implicit TCI update rule is enabled.”
In view of the above, the rejection is maintained as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 5, 7-18, 21, 41, 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yi et al (US 2023/0239125 A1, Provisional application No. 63/125,750, filed on December 15, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Yi et al (US 2023/0239125 A1, Provisional application No. 63/125,750, filed on December 15, 2020) discloses a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1A to fig. 1B, UE 156 A/wireless device 160 coupled to gNB 160A or base station 160A, section 0045-0052, 0054-0064) for wireless communication (fig. 15, wireless device 1502 coupled to base station 1504, the wireless device 1502 receives downlink transmissions, section 0204-0212), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 15, memory 1524 of the wireless device coupled to a processing system 1518 and antennas 0204-0212); and one or more processors (fig. 15, memory 1524 of the wireless device coupled to a processing system 1518 and antennas 0204-0212), coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 15, memory 1524 of the wireless device coupled to a processing system 1518 and antennas 0204-0212), configured to: receive (see, the wireless device receives one or more message indicating transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for downlink transmissions, a MAC control element (MACE-CE) activating a plurality of TCI states of the TCI states, abstract, section 0164, 0295, 0420, fig. 15, wireless device 1502 coupled to base station 1504, the wireless device 1502 receives downlink transmissions, section 0204-0212), an indication (see, MAC CE indicating activation of one or more active TCI states of the TCI state pool, the UE then applies the TCI state when an update mechanism is used, section 0399) that indicates whether a medium access control control element (MAC-CE)-based implicit transmission configuration indicator (TCI) update rule is enabled (0422-the wireless device determines update based on whether common beam update associated TCI state is enabled/configured, see, based on the MCE CE indicating one or more TCI states, the wireless device updates or activates the one or more first TCI states, section 0421); and receive (noted: the base station transmits a DCI comprising a TCI codepoint after the UE wireless device receives an activation MACE CE, section 0239), a MAC-CE that activates one or more TCI codepoints (see, the wireless device receives one or more MACE CE commands indication TCI states corresponding to one or more codepoints, section 0235) based at least in part on the indication (see, the wireless device may determines DL TCI state as the downlink TCI states relating to the one or more first active TCI states or the Default TCI states based on the one or more TCI active states (e.g. lowest codepoint TCI states), section 0440, noted: the base station transmits a DCI comprising a TCI codepoint after the UE wireless device receives an activation MACE CE, section 0239).
Regarding claim 2, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the MAC-CE that activates (see, the base station indicates one or more TCI states to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling , MACE CE , and/or a DCI) or MAC-CE commands to activated a subset of TCI states from the mother of set of TCI states, section 0164, 0226, 0235) the one or more TCI codepoints (see, based on MACE CE commands indicating up to eight TCI states, the UE applies mapping between TCI states and the one or more codepoints, section 0235) is based at least in part on the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule when the indication indicates that the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule is enabled (see, the wireless device may determine update/apply/activate the TCI based on rule, section 0406, 0422, 0436, noted: the activation of TCI states are indicated in MAC-CE commands, section 0235, 0417-0418)
Regarding claim 3, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the MAC-CE that activates the one or more TCI codepoints is based at least in part on a MAC-CE based TCI activation rule (see, the wireless device applies the mapping between the one or more TCI states and the one or more codepoints based on MAC CE commands, section 0235, see, updating or activation of the TCI states based on MAC CE activation indication, section 0469-0470) when the indication indicates that the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule is not enabled (see, TCI-Present In DCI not enabled or disabled with respect to TCI indication, section 0362, 0371, 0226, 0231).
Regarding claim 4, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the MAC-CE based TCI activation rule (see, the wireless device applies the mapping between the one or more TCI states and the one or more codepoints based on MAC CE commands, section 0235, see, updating or activation of the TCI states based on MAC CE activation indication, section 0469-0470) is associated with applying a TCI state to a set of channels (see, the wireless device receives a MAC CE at time T1 where the activation MAC CE activates one or more states for received PDSCHs, section 0239) or reference signals associated with a TCI codepoint (see, receiving a DCI in relation to a TCI codepoint, section 0239), after a MAC-CE activation time, when a MAC-CE activates the TCI codepoint mapped to the TCI state (see, the wireless device receives a DCI comprising a TCI codepoint after receiving of the MAC CE activation at time T1, section 0239).
Regarding claim 5, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein one or more predetermined activated TCI codepoints are applied to one or more predetermined sets of channels (see, uplink signals via uplink channels based on the TCI state, and update in the TCI that may be applied to a plurality of downlink/uplink channels, section 0398,0465) or reference signals when the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule is enabled (see, the wireless device applies the mapping between the one or more TCI states and the one or more codepoints based on MAC CE commands, section 0235, see, updating or activation of the TCI states based on MAC CE activation indication, section 0469-0470).
Regarding claim 7, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication, are configured to receive the indication via a radio resource control flag (see, RRC messages with respect to the common beam updates relating to the one or more TCI states, section 0379, 0381, 0396-0398, noted: RRC configured TCI states in relation to one or more codepoint of a DCI field, section 0235-0236).
Regarding claim 8, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication, are configured to receive the indication via an indicator in a MAC-CE that is used for TCI activation (see, an activation command via MAC-CE indicating activation of TCI states that the wireless device, section 0235, 0297, 0420).
Regarding claim 9, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication, are configured to receive the indication via an indicator in downlink control information (DCI) (see, the wireless device may determine up to k points that may be used in a DCI indicating an activation or updated of the DL TCI state, section 0416-0417) , wherein the DCI is associated with a TCI update that includes or does not include a downlink/uplink transmission (see, the wireless device may determine up to k points that may be used in a DCI indicating an activation or updated of the DL TCI state of CORESET pool of a serving cell, section 0416-0417, noted: downlink and/or uplink associated with TCI update, section 0422), or wherein the DCI is not associated with the TCI update and is used for scheduling the downlink/uplink transmission.
Regarding claim 10, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule (see, update mechanism with respect to TCI state, section 0226, 0366, 0375, noted: update based on rule, section 0406-0407) is associated with applying one predetermined activated TCI codepoint (see, TCI codepoints based on activation command, section 0235) to a plurality of channels or reference signals (see, the RRC signaling comprising/indicating configuration parameters that include TCI states, the configuration parameters may comprise for uplink data and/or uplink control channels, section 0235-0236, 0375).
Regarding claim 11, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule (see, the wireless device updates or activates the one or more TCI states based on whether the beam update mechanism is used/enabled, section 0435-0436, noted: the TCI updated is based on first rule, section ) is associated with applying multiple predetermined activated TCI codepoints (see, MAC CE commands indicating up to K TCI states associated with one or more codepoints, section 0235-0236) to multiple predetermined sets of channels (see, uplink control channels relating to TCI states, section 0235-0236) or reference signals.
Regarding claim 12, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule is associated with applying multiple TCI states mapped to a predetermined activated TCI codepoint ( see, MAC CE commands indicating up to K TCI states associated with one or more codepoints, section 0235-0236) to multiple predetermined sets of channels (section 0235-0236, see, update that is applied to TCI state for uplink control channels) or reference signals.
Regarding claim 13, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule is associated with applying multiple TCI states (see, codepoints that may be used in a DCIC indicating an activation or an update of the TCI state among the TCI states, section 0235, 0417, 0420) mapped to a predetermined activated TCI codepoint to multiple TCI states originally configured (see, based on MACE CE commands indicating up to eight TCI states, the UE applies mapping between TCI states and the one or more cocdepoints, section 0235) or indicated for a channel (see, active TCI states for downlink section 0420-0421) or reference signal.
Regarding claim 14, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the indication instructs the UE to use the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule or a MAC-CE based TCI activation rule (see, update based on first rule, section 0406-0407), and wherein the indication is signaled via radio resource control signaling (see, RRC messages with respect to update and/or apply a TCI state, section 0235-0237), a MAC-CE (see, the wireless device receives one or more MAC CE commands to activates a subset of TCI states, applies update to a TCCI state, section 0226), or downlink control information.
Regarding claim 15, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein one or more predetermined activated TCI codepoints associated with the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule (see, the wireless device determines codepoints that may be used in DCI indicating an activation or an update of the TCI state, section 0416-0417, 0422) are determined based at least in part on TCI codepoints mapped to a quantity of TCI states (see, the wireless device may apply mapping between the one or more TCI states and the one or more codepoints based on received MAC CE commands indicating up eight TCI states, updates a TCI state accordingly, section 0235-0236).
Regarding claim 16, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein one or more predetermined activated TCI codepoints (see, the wireless device determines codepoints that may be used in DCI indicating an activation or an updated of the TCI state, section 0416-0417) associated with the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule are mapped to a quantity of TCI states (see, the wireless device may apply mapping between the one or more TCI states and the one or more codepoints based on received MAC CE commands indicating up eight TCI states, updates a TCI state accordingly, section 0235-0236).
Regarding claim 17, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein an applied channel or reference signal associated with the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule includes one or more of a physical downlink control channel (see, the wireless device activates or updates the one or more first active TCI states for downlink, the activation indication is received in MAC CE section 0420-0421), a physical downlink shared channel, a channel state information reference signal, a physical uplink control channel, a physical uplink shared channel (see, the wireless device receives a MAC CE at time T1 where the activation MAC CE activates one or more states for received PDSCHs, section 0239), or a sounding reference signal, and wherein the applied channel or reference signal is based at least in part on originally configured or indicated channels or reference signals with a quantity of TCI states (see, the wireless device may apply mapping between the one or more TCI states and the one or more codepoints based on received MAC CE commands indicating up eight TCI states, updates a TCI state accordingly, section 0235-0236).
Regarding claim 18, Yi ‘125 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein an activated TCI state associated with the MAC-CE (noted: the wireless device determines codepoints that may be used in DCI indicating an activation or an update of the TCI state, section 0416-0417) based implicit TCI update rule includes one or more of a joint downlink/uplink TCI state (see, the wireless determines the initial DCL TCI and/or the initial UL TCI states depending on whether a joint/unified common beam update is used/enabled with respect to TCI state pool based on the rule, section 0422), a separate downlink common TCI state, a separate uplink common TCI state, a legacy single-channel downlink TCI state, or a legacy single-channel uplink spatial relation.
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Yi et al (US 2023/0239125 A1) discloses a base station (fig. 15, base station 1504 coupled to wireless device /UE 1502, section 0045-0052, 0054-0064, the base station transmits or indicate one or more TCI states to the UE via RRC signaling, MAC CE, and/or a DCI, section 0164) for wireless communication (see, the wireless device receives one or more message indicating transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for downlink transmissions, a MAC control element (MACE-CE) activating a plurality of TCI states of the TCI states, abstract, section 0164, 0295, 0399-0400, 0420), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 15, memory 1524 coupled to processing system 1518, section 0054-0064); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 15, memory 1524 coupled to processing system 1518, section 0054-0064), configured to: transmit (see, the wireless device receives one or more message indicating transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for downlink transmissions, a MAC control element (MAC-CE) activating a plurality of TCI states of the TCI states, abstract, section 0164, 0295, 0420), to a user equipment (UE) (fig. 15, wireless device 1502 coupled to base station 1504, the wireless device 1502 receives downlink transmissions, section 0204-0212), an indication (see, MAC CE indicating activation of one or more active TCI states of the TCI state pool, the UE then applies the TCI state in relation to an update, section 0399) that indicates whether a medium access control control element (MAC-CE)-based implicit transmission configuration indicator (TCI) update rule is enabled (see, based on the MCE CE indicating one or more TCI states, the wireless device updates or activates the one or more first TCI states, section 0421, 0422-the wireless device determines update based on whether common beam update associated TCI state is enabled/configured); and transmit, to the UE, a MAC-CE that activates one or more TCI codepoints based at least in part on the indication (see, the wireless device may determine DL TCI state as the downlink TCI states relating to the one or more first active TCI states or the Default TCI states based on the one or more TCI active states (e.g. lowest codepoint TCI states), section 0440, noted: the base station transmits a DCI comprising a TCI codepoint after the UE wireless device receives an activation MAC-CE, 0239).
Regarding claim 41 (Currently Amended), Yi ‘125 discloses a method of wireless communication performed (see, the wireless device receives one or more message indicating transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for downlink transmissions, a MAC control element (MACE-CE) activating a plurality of TCI states of the TCI states, abstract, section 0164, 0295, 0420) by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1A to fig. 1B, UE 156 A/wireless device 160 coupled to gNB 160A or base station 160A, section 0045-0052, 0054-0064), comprising: receiving (see, the wireless device receives one or more message indicating transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for downlink transmissions, a MAC control element (MACE-CE) activating a plurality of TCI states of the TCI states, abstract, section 0164, 0295, 0420, see, the base station which configures the UE with a configuration of TCI states, MAC-CE activation command for the TCI, section 0295) an indication (see, MAC CE indicating activation of one or more active TCI states of the TCI state pool, the UE then applies the TCI state when an update mechanism is used, section 0399) that indicates whether a medium access control control element (MAC-CE)-based implicit transmission configuration indicator (TCI) update rule is enabled (see, the wireless device may determine whether joint/common beam update is enabled/configured based on TCI pools, updating based on a rule, section 0422, 0436, noted: The TCI states are communicated via MAC-CE activation command, section 0164, 0295, 0420); and receiving (see, the wireless device receives one or more MACE CE commands indication TCI states corresponding to one or more codepoints, section 0235), , a MAC-CE that activates one or more TCI codepoints (see, the wireless device receives one or more MACE CE commands indication TCI states corresponding to one or more codepoints, section 0235) based at least in part on the indication (see, the wireless device may determines DL TCI state as the downlink TCI states relating to the one or more first active TCI states or the Default TCI states based on the one or more TCI active states (e.g. lowest codepoint TCI states), section 0440, noted: the base transmits a DCI comprising a TCI codepoint after the UE wireless device receives an activation MACE CE, section 0239).
Regarding claim 61, Yi ‘125 discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a base station (fig. 15, base station 1504 coupled to wireless device /UE 1502, section 0045-0052, 0054-0064, the base station transmits or indicate one or more TCI states to the UE via RRC signaling, MAC CE, and/or a DCI, section 0164), comprising: transmitting (see, the base station transmits MAC CE to the UE to activate TCI states, section 0164, 0239, 0226), to a user equipment (UE) (see, the UE receives one or more MAC CE commands to activate TCI states, including TCI-Present In DCI is enabled, section 0226), an indication (see, MAC CE indicating activation of one or more active TCI states of the TCI state pool, the UE then applies the TCI state in relation to an update, section 0399) that indicates whether a medium access control control element (MAC-CE)-based implicit transmission configuration indicator (TCI) update rule is enabled (see, based on the MCE CE indicating one or more TCI states, the wireless device updates or activates the one or more first TCI states, section 0421, 0422-the wireless device determines update based on whether common beam update associated TCI state is enabled/configured in the first rule); and transmitting, to the UE, a MAC-CE that activates one or more TCI codepoints based at least in part on the indication (see, the wireless device may determine DL TCI state as the downlink TCI states relating to the one or more first active TCI states or the Default TCI states based on the one or more TCI active states (e.g. lowest codepoint TCI states), section 0440, noted: the base station transmits a DCI comprising a TCI codepoint after the UE wireless device receives an activation MAC-CE, 0239).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “wherein the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule is associated with applying a first activated TCI codepoint to a plurality of channels or reference signals to prevent a transmission of additional downlink control information” recited in claim 6.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “ wherein one or more applied TCI states according to the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule are overwritten by one or more TCI states later selected by a TCI-updating downlink control information” recited in claim 19.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “wherein one or more applied TCI states according to the MAC-CE based implicit TCI update rule cannot be overwritten by one or more TCI states later selected by a TCI-updating downlink control information” recited in claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473