DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 12-15, 18, 20, and 21 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 15, and 21 are independent claims. Claims 11, 16, 17, and 19 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 12, 13, 15, 18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alonso Ruiz et al. (US 2020/0301556 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Alonso Ruiz teaches a method comprising:
outputting, for display by a display device, a graphical user interface of an application executing at a computing device, wherein the graphical user interface comprises displayed application contents (multifunction device 100 of FIG. 1A and [0063], FIG. 23L and [0330-0334], [0208]: see user interface 502 of an application executing at a computing device/multifunction device 100 which includes touch-sensitive display system 112. The GUI comprises displayed application contents, such as the apple symbol, two square icons in the bottom left corner of the image of a device, and control symbols “<” and “>”); and
responsive to receiving, by the computing device, an indication of a start of a user input swipe gesture (FIGS. 23L-N and [0330-0334]: see start of a user input swipe gesture represented by contact 23222-a and movement 2324 as seen in FIGS. 23L-N):
outputting, for display by the display device, a scaled down version of the graphical user interface of the application, wherein the scaled down version is reduced in size by a scaling factor, wherein a horizontal dimension and a vertical dimension of the scaled down version are each reduced by the scaling factor such that the displayed application contents of the graphical user interface are visible in the scaled down version ([0208], FIGS. 23L-M and [0330-0334]: as seen in FIG. 23M, a scaled down version of the GUI is displayed as represented by representation 508, which is scaled down in both the horizontal and vertical dimensions by the scaling factor. Note that the displayed application contents including the apple symbol, two square icons in the bottom left corner of the image of a device, and control symbols “<” and “>” are scaled down but remain visible in the scaled down version);
adjusting the scaled down version based on dynamic adjustment of the scaling factor according to an amount of displacement of the user input swipe gesture ([0208], FIGS. 23M-N, and [0330-0334]: as seen in FIG. 23N, the scaled down version of FIG. 23M is adjusted according to an amount of displacement of the user input as the user continues swiping to the right. In this example, the scaling factor dynamically increases as the user increases an amount of displacement. Note that the displayed application contents including the apple symbol, two square icons in the bottom left corner of the image of a device, and control symbols “<” and “>” are scaled down but remain visible in the scaled down version);
outputting, for display by the display device, and at least partially concealed by the scaled down version of the graphical user interface of the application, a visual indication of a result of the user input swipe gesture (FIGS. 23M-N and [0330-0334], [0208]: a visual indication of a result is represented by at least representation 510, which is at least partially concealed by the scaled down version as seen in either FIG. 23M or FIG. 23N); and
responsive to receiving, by the computing device, an indication of a commitment of the user input swipe gesture, outputting, for display by the display device, a graphical user interface that corresponds to the result of the user input swipe gesture (FIGS. 23L-O in light of FIGS. 23I-K and [0330-0334]: as seen in FIG. 23J and 23O, the user swipes past boundary 2312 and boundary 2320, respectively, these boundaries corresponding to each other. The release of the movement past this boundary 2320/2312 results in display of a graphical user interface seen in FIG. 23K).
Regarding claim 3, Alonso Ruiz further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the graphical user interface of the application comprises a home page of the application, and wherein the graphical user interface that corresponds to the result of the user input swipe gesture comprises a home page of an operating system of the computing device (FIG. 5Q and [0240], [0340], [0358]: see example home screen card 554. As stated in [0358], “In some embodiments, the stack includes (1026) user interface representations for a home screen (e.g., representations of any of one or more user interfaces accessible immediately after the startup of the device, such as a notification center, a search UI, or a springboard or dashboard showing applications available on the device, such as representation 554 of user interface 552 of a home screen in FIG. 5Q)”. Thus, the graphical user interface of the application comprises a home page of the application, within the stack, and the subsequent graphical user interface that corresponds to the result comprises a home page of an operating system of the computing device, like representation 554).
Regarding claim 4, Alonso Ruiz further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the start of the user input swipe gesture comprises:
receiving an indication of a swipe gesture originating at an edge of the display device, the swipe gesture having at least a displacement in a direction perpendicular to the edge (FIGS. 23L-N and [0330-0334]: see the swipe gesture having displacement in a horizontal direction which is perpendicular to the left vertical edge).
Regarding claim 5, Alonso Ruiz further teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the edge is a vertical edge of the display device in an orientation of the display device at a time at which the indication of the start of the user input swipe gesture was received (FIGS. 23L-N and [0330-0334]: see the swipe gesture having displacement in a horizontal direction which is perpendicular to the left vertical edge).
Regarding claim 6, Alonso Ruiz further teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising:
determining whether the displacement of the swipe gesture in the direction perpendicular to the edge is greater than a commitment threshold (FIGS. 23L-N, in light of FIGS. 23I-K, and [0330-0334]: crossing boundary 2320, which corresponds to boundary 2312, is a commitment threshold),
wherein receiving the indication of the commitment of the user input swipe gesture comprises receiving, by the computing device, an indication that the user input swipe gesture has been released while the displacement of the swipe gesture in the direction perpendicular to the edge is greater than the commitment threshold (FIG. 23K and [0330-0334]: the user input swipe gesture has been released while the displacement is greater than the commitment threshold/boundary 2320, which corresponds to boundary 2312).
Regarding claim 7, Alonso Ruiz further teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising:
generating, by the computing device, haptic feedback that indicates when the displacement of the swipe gesture in the direction perpendicular to the edge crosses the commitment threshold ([0346] and [0541]: crossing the commitment threshold causes generation of haptic feedback).
Regarding claim 12, Alonso Ruiz further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
responsive to receiving, by the computing device, an indication of a non-commitment of the user input swipe gesture, outputting, for display by the display device, an unscaled version of the graphical user interface of the application (FIGS. 23L-R and [0330-0334]: movement to the left of boundary 2320 and then to the left of boundary 2318 reverses the feedback, which results in an unscaled version of the graphical user interface seen in FIG. 23L).
Regarding claim 13, Alonso Ruiz further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the user input swipe gesture originates at an edge of the display device, wherein the displacement is measured in a direction perpendicular to the edge ([0208], FIGS. 23L-N and [0330-0334]: the user input swipe gesture originates at an edge, as seen in FIG. 23L. As the user continues to swipe to the right, displacement is measured in a horizontal direction which is perpendicular to the left vertical edge).
Regarding claims 15, 18, and 20, the claims recite a computing device comprising: a display device; one or more processors; and a memory that stores instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors (multifunction device 100 of FIG. 1A and [0063]: a computing device/multifunction device 100 includes touch-sensitive display system 112, processors 120, and memory 102) to perform operations corresponding to the method of claims 1, 6, and 12, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claim 21, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing device (multifunction device 100 of FIG. 1A and [0063], [0008], and claim 12), cause the one or more processors to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alonso Ruiz et al. (US 2020/0301556 A1), in view of Chen (US 2023/0229462 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Alonso Ruiz teaches the method of claim 1. Alonso Ruiz further teaches wherein the graphical user interface of the application comprises a current page of the application (FIG. 23L and [0208]: user interface 502 comprises a current page of the application).
Alonso Ruiz does not explicitly teach wherein the graphical user interface that corresponds to the result of the user input swipe gesture comprises a previous page of the application.
Chen teaches wherein the graphical user interface that corresponds to the result of the user input swipe gesture comprises a previous page of the application (Table 1 and [0077-0078]: for example, sliding right from the left edge allows navigation to a previous page of the application. See this in the context of FIGS. 8A-B which shows sliding, but in a different direction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alonso Ruiz to incorporate the teachings of Chen so as to have wherein the graphical user interface that corresponds to the result of the user input swipe gesture comprises a previous page of the application. Doing so would allow the user to navigate at a more granular, application-specific level. In this way, the user may more efficiently traverse pages within a singular application particularly relevant to the user at that time. In this way, the user is not only limited to navigating between different applications.
Claims 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alonso Ruiz et al. (US 2020/0301556 A1), in view of Wang (US 2016/0041702 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Alonso Ruiz teaches the method of claim 4. Alonso Ruiz does not explicitly teach further comprising: responsive to receiving, by the computing device, the indication of the start of the user input swipe gesture: outputting, for display by the display device and proximate to the edge, a graphical element indicating that a back gesture is being recognized.
Wang teaches responsive to receiving, by the computing device, the indication of the start of the user input swipe gesture (FIGS. 8-12 and [0043-0050]: as seen in the example of FIG. 9, indication of the start corresponds to at least the user performing pull gesture from position 20 to 21):
outputting, for display by the display device and proximate to the edge, a graphical element indicating that a back gesture is being recognized (FIGS. 8-12 and [0043-0050]: continuing the example of FIG. 9, a graphical element indicating a back gesture is being recognized is represented by menu item 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alonso Ruiz to incorporate the teachings of Wang so as to include responsive to receiving, by the computing device, the indication of the start of the user input swipe gesture: outputting, for display by the display device and proximate to the edge, a graphical element indicating that a back gesture is being recognized. Doing so would allow the user to confirm that they are performing the intended gesture to navigate to the correct content. This would prevent wasting of processing resources by helping prevent the user from mistakenly accessing irrelevant content.
Regarding claim 9, Alonso Ruiz in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 8.
Wang further teaches outputting the graphical element indicating that the back gesture is being recognized comprises: adjusting, based on whether release of the user input swipe gesture will commit, an appearance of the graphical element (FIGS. 8-12 and [0043-0050]: continuing the example of FIG. 9, if the user swipes left, then, as seen in FIG. 10, the graphical element/menu item 29 changes in appearance, indicating that release of the user input swipe gesture will commit; See the rationale provided for the rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 10, Alonso Ruiz in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 9. Alonso Ruiz further teaches wherein determining that release of the user input swipe gesture will commit comprises determining that the displacement of the swipe gesture in the direction perpendicular to the edge is greater than a commitment threshold (FIG. 23K and [0330-0334]: the user input swipe gesture has been released while the displacement is greater than the commitment threshold/boundary 2320, which corresponds to boundary 2312).
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alonso Ruiz et al. (US 2020/0301556 A1), in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0268883 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Alonso Ruiz teaches the method of claim 13.
Alonso Ruiz does not explicitly teach wherein determining the scaling factor comprises: determining, as a non-linear function of the displacement of the swipe gesture in the direction perpendicular to the edge, the scaling factor.
Kim teaches wherein determining the scaling factor comprises: determining, as a non-linear function of the displacement of the swipe gesture in the direction perpendicular to the edge, the scaling factor ([0017], [0019], FIGS. 6A-C and [0126-0133]: the scaling factor, as a non-linear function, is determined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alonso Ruiz to incorporate the teachings of Kim and have wherein determining the scaling factor comprises: determining, as a non-linear function of the displacement of the swipe gesture in the direction perpendicular to the edge, the scaling factor. Doing so would provide a visually appealing scaling effect to alert the user of a change in the displayed content so as to encourage more precise and effective navigation to the desired content.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, Applicant argues:
As for amended independent claim 1, Ruiz’s representation 508 of web browsing user interface 502 in FIGS. 23L-N “illustrates a user interface that undergoes a lateral displacement where portions of the interface are moved beyond the display boundaries. In contrast, amended claim 1 recites that ‘a horizontal dimension and a vertical dimension of the scaled down version are each reduced by the scaling factor’ and that ‘the displayed application contents of the graphical user interface are visible in the scaled down version’” (p. 9 of Remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding point (a), Applicant’s amendments have changed the scope of claim 1. Nevertheless, Alonso Ruiz still anticipates the claim. The newly amended limitations are concisely taught by Alonso Ruiz’s FIGS. 23L-M and [0330-0334]. Starting from FIG. 23L, a user input swipe gesture originates from a left vertical edge. As seen in FIG. 23L, “displayed application contents” include the apple symbol, two square icons in the bottom left corner of the image of a device, and control symbols “<” and “>”.
As the gesture continues horizontally to the right, a scaled down version of the GUI is displayed as represented by representation 508 seen in FIG. 23M. This scaling down occurs in both the horizontal and vertical dimension, and the displayed application contents, including the apple symbol, two square icons in the bottom left corner of the image of a device, and control symbols “<” and “>” remain visible in FIG. 23M. As the gesture further continues to the right, the scaled down version is adjusted according to an amount of displacement of the user input as seen in FIG. 23N.
In this example, the scaling factor is dynamically increased as the user increases an amount of displacement, resulting in the further scaling down of representation 508 seen in FIG. 23N. Similar to the progression from FIG. 23L to FIG. 23M, this scaling down occurs in both the horizontal and vertical dimension, and the displayed application contents, including the apple symbol, two square icons in the bottom left corner of the image of a device, and control symbols “<” and “>” remain visible in FIG. 23N. Overall, the element “displayed application contents” does not require, for example, the entirety of the GUI of the application. That is, not all content displayed in the GUI of FIG. 23L is necessarily part of the “displayed application contents” and, as such, not all content is required to be visible in the scaled down version. The “displayed application contents”, as currently claimed, may be an arbitrary portion of the GUI. As such, Alonso Ruiz teaches all limitations of the amended claim.
In conclusion, amended independent claims 1, 15, and 21 are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alonso Ruiz et al. (US 2020/0301556 A1). The dependent claims accordingly remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including:
US 2012/0023453 A1: reducing size of view in hierarchical user interface
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171