DETAILED ACTION
Priority and Status of the Claims
1. This application is a 371 PCT/CN2022/081361 03/17/2022, which claims benefit of the provisional application: 63265004 12/06/2021, and 63162125 03/17/2021.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Oslob et al. US 2014/0378464 A1, Oslob et al. US 2014/0378491 A1, Kay et al. CAS: 98: 34604, 1983, and Hu et al. CN 110698415 (i.e., also see English-translated version) respectively.
Applicants claim a compound of formula (I),
, or a tautomer, cis- or trans-isomer, mesomer, racemate, enantiomer, diastereomer, or mixture thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate, or prodrug thereof, wherein Ring A represents
or
, R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4, see claim 1.
Oslob et al. ‘464 discloses 11 compounds in claim 18, see columns 63-64. They clearly anticipate the instant compounds of formula (I), wherein ring A represents
R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4.
Oslob et al. ‘491 discloses 4 compounds in claim 20, see column 22. They clearly anticipate the instant compounds of formula (I), wherein ring A represents
R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4.
Kay et al. ‘604 discloses 2 compounds in claim 20, see RN: 68098-44-2 and 68098-46-4. They clearly anticipate the instant compounds of formula (I), wherein ring A represents
, R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4.
Hu et al. ‘415 discloses 30 compounds from I-1 to I-30 on pages 12-15 or see pages 21-24 of Hu et al. ‘415 English-translated version. They clearly anticipate the instant compounds of formula (I), wherein ring A represents
R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, naphthyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being
obvious over Oslob et al. US 2014/0378464 A1, Oslob et al. US 2014/0378491 A1,
and Hu et al. CN 110698415 (i.e., also see English-translated version) respectively.
Applicants claim a compound/composition of formula (I),
, or a tautomer, cis- or trans-isomer, mesomer, racemate, enantiomer, diastereomer, or mixture thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate, or prodrug thereof, wherein Ring A represents
or
, R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4, see claim 1. Dependent claims 4-6, 9 and 15-20 further limit the scope of compound, i.e., specific variables R1 and R3 are hydrogen, alkyl, cycloakyl or heteroaryl, n is 0, 1 or 2, methods of use for treating hypertrophic cardiomyopathy or heart failure.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP §2141.01)
Oslob et al. ‘464 discloses a compound/composition of the formula:
, R1-R3 are alkyl, cycloalkyl, phenyl, heteroaryl or heterocycle, R4 is H, X is H or F. Oslob et al. ‘464 compounds/compositions read on the instant compounds of formula (I), wherein ring A represents
R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4. Oslob et al. ‘464 compounds/compositions are used for treating heart disease including hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, see columns 62-64.
Oslob et al. ‘491 discloses a compound/composition of the formula:
, R1-R3 are alkyl, cycloalkyl, phenyl, heteroaryl or heterocycle, R4 is H, X is H or F. Oslob et al. ‘464 compounds/compositions read on the instant
compounds of formula (I), wherein ring A represents
R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4. Oslob et al. ‘491 compounds/compositions are used for treating heart disease including hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, see columns 21-23.
Hu et al. ‘415 discloses compounds/compositions of formula (I),
, wherein R1-R2 are alkyl, phenyl, heteroaryl or heterocycle, and X is H or F, Cl, Br or I, Hu et al. ‘415 compounds/compositions read on the instant compounds of formula (I), wherein ring A represents
R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, naphthyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4.
Hu et al. ‘4i5 compounds/compositions are used for treating heart disease including hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, see pages 2-5.
Determination of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between instant claims and Oslob et al. ‘464 and ‘491, and Hu et al. ‘415 is that the instant compounds of formula (I) are embraced within the scope of
Oslob et al. ‘464 and ‘491, and Hu et al. ‘415. It is noted that the instant ring A of formula (I) represents
or
, while Oslob et al. ‘464 and ‘491, and Hu et al. ‘415 represent
at the same position. Oslob et al. ‘464 and ‘491, and Hu et al. ‘415 read on the instant compounds/composition and methods of use in claims 1, 4-6, 9 and 15-20.
Finding of prima facie obviousness-rational and motivation (MPEP §2142-2143)
One having ordinary skill in the art would find the claims 1, 4-6, 9 and 15-20 prima facie obvious because one would be motivated to employ the compound/ composition and methods of use of Oslob et al. ‘464 and ‘491, and Hu et al. ‘415 to obtain instant invention.
The motivation to make the claimed comounds/compositions and methods of use derived from the known compound/composition and methods of use of Oslob et al. ‘464 and ‘491, and Hu et al. ‘415 would possess similar activity to that which is claimed in the reference.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1 is are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Zhang et al. co-pending application No. 18/253,704.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other and reasons are as follows.
Applicants claim a compound/composition of formula (I),
, or a tautomer, cis- or trans-isomer, mesomer, racemate, enantiomer, diastereomer, or mixture thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate, or prodrug thereof, wherein Ring A represents
or
, R is –(CR1R2)nR3, R1 and R2 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl or heteroaryl, R3 is hydrogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, phenyl, or heteroaryl, R’ is alkyl, alkoxy, cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl or heteroaryl, and n is 0-4, see claim 1.
Zhang et al. ‘704 claims a compound of formula (I),
, wherein ring A is cycloalkyl, heterocycle, aryl or heteroaryl, R1, R2, R3a, and R3b are hydrogen, alkyl, halogen, and R0 is alkyl or
L1 is a covalent bond and ring B is cycloalkyl, heterocycle, aryl or heteroaryl, see claim 1.
The difference between instant claims and Zhang et al. ‘704 is that the instant
claims are embraced within the scope of Zhang et al. ‘704. It is noted that the instant ring A of formula (I) represents
or
, while Zhang et al. ‘704 represent
at the same position.
One having ordinary skill in the art would find the claim 1 prima facie obvious because one would be motivated to employ the compound of Zhang et al. ‘704 to obtain instant invention.
The motivation to make the claimed compounds derived from the known compounds of Zhang et al. ‘704 would possess similar activity to that which is claimed in the reference.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
7. Claims 14 is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious over the record, and therefore are allowable.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 7-8 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to REI TSANG SHIAO whose telephone number is
(571)272-0707. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30 am-5:00 pm.
/REI TSANG SHIAO/
Rei-tsang Shiao, Ph.D.Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
December 30, 2025