DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on June 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-18 and 20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0159510 A1) in view of Yadav et al. (“Yadav”, Nanoscale, 2019, 11, 12755).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kim discloses a manufacturing method comprising the steps of: adding a catalyst and a first ionomer to a solvent and dispersing the same, thereby producing a dispersed mixtures, adding a second ionomer to the dispersed mixture, thereby producing a coating composition, and applying the coating composition directly onto at least one side of the polymer electrolyte membrane (abstract).
Kim teaches at least a portion of the second ionomer may not be coated on the surface of the catalyst ([0021]) and may be in the form of particles ([0054]).
Kim teaches a platinum-based metal and/or a non-platinum-based metal is used as the catalyst ([0048]).
Kim teaches a carrier (i.e. supporting material) is impregnated with a catalyst metal ([0052]).
Kim teaches the first and second ionomers may be identical or different from each other ([0011]).
Further regarding claim 1 and with regard to claim 7, Kim does not teach a heat-dissipating material in the second composite from the list claimed in claim 7.
However, Yadav discloses boron nitride (title) for use in fuel cells (p.12755, col. 2) and teaches h-BN has received much attention as a viable nanofiller for PEMs due to it having better thermal, mechanical, and electrical properties (p.12756, col. 1). The excellent properties of h-BN can improve fuel cell performance with the existing PEMs using h-BN as a filler (p.12756, col. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to add boron nitride as a nanofiller to the catalyst layer for fuel cell of Kim to improve fuel cell performance with better thermal, mechanical, and electrical properties (p.12756, col. 1), as taught by Yadav.
As to claim 3, Kim teaches each of the first and second ionomers may have an equivalent weight (EW) ranging from 600 g/eq to 1100 g/eq, and the equivalent weight of the first ionomer may be different from the equivalent weight of the second ionomer ([0012]).
As to claim 4, Kim teaches one of the first and second ionomers may be a fluorine-based ionomer, and the other may be a hydrocarbon-based ionomer ([0016]).
As to claim 5, Kim teaches the first ionomer may be a first hydrocarbon-based ionomer, and the second ionomer may be a second hydrocarbon-based ionomer, and the first may be different from the second ([0015]).
As to claim 6, Kim teaches each of the first and second ionomers may be a fluorinated polymer including a fluorinated carbon backbone and may have different side-chain lengths ([0013]).
As to claim 8, Kim teaches the carrier may be (i) a carbon-based carrier, (ii) porous inorganic oxide, or (iii) zeolite ([0053]).
As to claim 9, Kim teaches catalyst particles ([0054]) and teaches the catalyst may be a platinum-based metal and/or a non-platinum-based metal or an alloy ([0048]).
As to claims 10 and 11, Kim teaches adding a functional additive including a radical scavenger, a gas barrier particle, and an oxygen evolution reaction (OER) catalyst ([0090]).
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746