DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The current abstract has the reference numbers of each element. Suggested amendment to delete the reference numbers in the abstract
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “arranged outside regions configured to overlie joints of the wearer” renders the claim unclear. It is not clear whether the pneumatic inserts should overlie the joints of the wearer or in regions that do not overlie the joints of the wearer. Please indicate what regions of the body the pneumatic inserts should cover relative to the joints and soft tissues of the wearer. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as the pneumatic inserts should cover the joints of the wearer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 18-20, 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natonson in view of Hatton further in view of Rybchinskya (US 2017/0354525) further in view of Lee (US 2011/0093003).
Regarding claim 1, Natonson teaches a compression suit comprising:
a fabric suit configured to be worn on a body of a wearer (paragraph [0018] “The garment useful in the present invention may be made from a multidirectional stretchable material” Figure 1, shows a suit meant to be applied to on a body); and
a pneumatic system for generating pressure and transferring it to soft tissues of the wearer (paragraph [0006] “the pressurizing mechanism pneumatically coupled to the inflatable bladders” The examiner notes when the bladders are inflated pressure will be applied on the soft tissues of the patient.), the pneumatic system comprising:
a plurality of pneumatic inserts attached to the fabric suit at locations configured to overlie soft-tissue regions of the wearer (paragraph [0024] “Each portion 12, 14, 16 includes a shell of lightweight, strong, breathable, and expandable material such as nylon (or similar), enclosing and securing one or more inflatable bladders 18” The examiner is interpreting the inflatable bladders as the pneumatic inserts. The examiner notes in figure 1, the bladders in elements 12, 14, and 15 are in areas where the suit interacts with soft tissues.)
and arranged outside regions configured to overlie joints of the wearer; (The examiner notes in figure 1, the bladders in elements 12, 14, and 15 are in areas where the suit interacts with joints.)
a pneumatic pump Each valve 20 may be connected to a hose 26, which in turn, may be connected to a pressurizing mechanism 24, for the purposes of gas transferal. The pressurizing mechanism 24 may include a pump, a pre-compressed gas source, or any other safe useable alternative.”)
a plurality of air-supply hoses fluidly coupling the pneumatic pump to the pneumatic inserts (The examiner notes figure 1, element 26 as the hose. Paragraph [0024] “Each valve 20 may be connected to a hose 26” The examiner notes there are multiple valves so there are a plurality of hoses connected to those valves.); and
However, Natonson fails to teach
a tubular system positioned on a back portion of the fabric suit and fluidly coupled to the pneumatic pump,
the tubular system comprising two inflatable rubber tubes disposed on a surface of the back portion of the fabric suit and spaced apart from one another,
However, Hatton teaches a tubular system positioned on a back portion of the fabric suit and fluidly coupled to the pneumatic pump and the tubular system comprising two inflatable rubber tubes disposed on a surface of the back portion of the fabric suit and spaced apart from one another (figure 3, elements 28, 29, shown to be on the back of a user and spaced apart on each side of the body).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the compression suit in Natonson with the tube system in Hatton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that this type of structure can support inflation pressures which may reach, for example, several kg/cm.sup.2 (1 kg/cm.sup.2 = 14.2 pounds per square inch). See col 1, line 23 of Hatton.
However, both Natonson and Hatton fail to teach
each inflatable rubber tube being retained against the surface by a plurality of separate non-stretchable fabric bands spaced along a length of the respective inflatable rubber tube,
each non-stretchable fabric band extending transversely across the respective inflatable rubber tube and having opposite end portions secured to the fabric suit on opposite sides of the respective inflatable rubber tube,
wherein inflation of the two inflatable rubber tubes increases respective diameters thereof and generates forces in the non-stretchable fabric bands that cause the tubular system to exert pressure on soft tissues of the wearer.
Rybchinskya teaches
each inflatable rubber tube being retained against the surface by a plurality of separate fabric bands spaced along a length of the respective inflatable rubber tube, (paragraph [0035] “installed therein pneumatic chambers 3 (located under the lacing)” The examiner notes in figure 2, the lacing covers the pneumatic chambers on the back of the suit.)
fabric band extending transversely across the respective inflatable rubber tube and having opposite end portions secured to the fabric suit on opposite sides of the respective inflatable rubber tube (The examiner notes the lacing in red boxes is in zig zag pattern thus having opposite end portions secured to the fabric suit on opposite sides of the respective inflatable rubber tube.)
,
wherein inflation of the two inflatable rubber tubes increases respective diameters thereof and generates forces in the fabric bands that cause the tubular system to exert pressure on soft tissues of the wearer. (The examiner is modifying the system taught by Natonson and Hatton to have the fabric bands taught by Rybchinskya, therefore when the tubes are inflated the diameters would inherently increase and generate force on the fabric bands which would exert pressure on the user.)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Natonson and Hatton to have the fabric bands taught by Rybchinskya. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that the location of the pockets covers of pneumatic chambers of unloading system in the front and rear surfaces of the pressure shell longitudinally eliminates critical bends of pneumatic chambers in which they lose their ability to hold the axial load, as well as allow a support joints in the most vulnerable areas: hip—and the rear side of the acetabulum, the knee joint—medially, without locking the possibility of joints movements. See paragraph [0012] of Rybchinskya.
However, Natonson, Hatton, and Rybchinskya fail to teach that the fabric bands are non-stretchable fabric.
Lee teaches a non-stretchable fabric band (paragraph [0032] “the band 20 may be made from other suitable non-stretchable fabrics”).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Natonson, Hatton, and Rybchinskya to use a non-stretchable fabric for a band as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that constraining the abdomen of the patient throughout the procedure while concurrently maintaining mobility of the patient's legs would reduce the pooling of blood within the patient's abdominal internal organs while concurrently allowing for unencumbered movement of the patient's legs. See paragraph [0010] of Lee.
Regarding claim 18, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee teach the suit of claim 1, and Natonson further teaches wherein the pneumatic inserts comprise air bags disposed in pockets sewn onto the fabric suit. (paragraph [0024] “Each inflatable bladder 18 may contain a valve 20, appropriate for the transferal of air or other safely-used gas, into or out of the inflatable bladder 18.” The examiner is interpreting the inflatable bladders to be the air bags and the surrounding sewn garment area around the inflatable bladder to be the pocket.)
Regarding claim 19, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee teach the suit of claim 1, and Natonson further teaches wherein the pneumatic inserts include respective pneumatic inserts positioned on arm portions, forearm portions, thigh portions, and shank portions of the fabric suit. (paragraph [0023] “The garment of this invention may be configured to be worn over any portion of the body, including the head, arms, legs, torso, hands, and feet.”)
Regarding claim 20, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee teach the suit of claim 1 and Natonson further teaches further comprising an abdominal compressor connected to the pneumatic system and positioned to exert pressure on a lower abdomen and a front portion of a pelvis of the wearer. (Fig. 1, torso portion 12 and pants/leg portion 16 with bladders inflated would exert pressure on the lower abdomen and front part of the pelvis, where the garment can be a unitard, paragraph [0023] “The garment may also take the form of a suit such as a unitard worn over the torso and arms and legs (i.e., a flexible compression unitard)”).
Regarding claim 23, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee teach the suit of claim 1 and Natonson further teaches wherein, upon reaching a selected pressure, the pneumatic pump is configured to enter a pressure-monitoring state and maintain the selected pressure by adding air in response to detecting a decrease in pressure. (paragraph [0025] “Using feedback it receives from each pressure sensor 22, the controller mechanism 28 will control the amount of gas pressure within each corresponding inflatable bladder 18, by controlling the operation of the pressurizing mechanism 24 via wiring 30 (although wireless control may be a possibility as well).”)
Regarding claim 24, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee teach the suit of claim 1 and Natonson further teaches wherein the fabric suit comprises detachable sleeve portions and detachable leg portions. (paragraph [0016] “the garment is such that each of its portions are separately detachable.”)
Regarding claim 25, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee teach the suit of claim 1 and Natonson further teaches further comprising a control panel configured to select a pressure level and to select different pressure values for different parts of the wearer's body. (paragraph [0026] “The controller mechanism 28 may be manually adjusted by the wearer to maximize inflatable bladder 18 effectiveness and comfort, or may be automatically operated according to built-in control criteria”)
Regarding claim 26, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee teach the suit of claim 1, and Rybchinskya further teaches wherein portions of each inflatable rubber tube located between adjacent non-stretchable fabric bands remain uncovered by the non-stretchable fabric bands. (The examiner notes in figure 2 that portions of the tubes remain uncovered by non-stretchable fabric bands.)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the suit of claim 1 in view of Rybchinksya. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that the location of the pockets covers of pneumatic chambers of unloading system in the front and rear surfaces of the pressure shell longitudinally eliminates critical bends of pneumatic chambers in which they lose their ability to hold the axial load, as well as allow a support joints in the most vulnerable areas: hip—and the rear side of the acetabulum, the knee joint—medially, without locking the possibility of joints movements. See paragraph [0012] of Rybchinskya.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natonson in view of Hatton further in view of Rybchinskya further in view of Lee further in view of Mah (US 6757916).
Regarding claim 21, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee teach the suit of claim 20, but fails to teach wherein the pneumatic system is configured to establish respective pressures in the abdominal compressor, the tubular system, and the pneumatic inserts, and wherein at least two of the respective pressures are different from one another.
Mah teaches wherein the pneumatic system is configured to establish respective pressures in the abdominal compressor, the tubular system, and the pneumatic inserts, and wherein at least two of the respective pressures are different from one another. (column 5, line 4 “It is likely that the garment will contain a combination of pneumatic and electromechanical tactors which each transmit a different sensation to the wearer.” And column 6, line 52 “Each auxiliary bladder 42, 44, 46, 48, 50 or 52 (or 60) can be individually inflated to a different pressure to obtain the counterforce needed on the body”)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the compression suit in claim 20 to have different pressures present in the suit as taught in Mah. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that this is a known technique to improve similar devices for creating a compression suit and yielding the predictable results of a compression suit pressure system that is customizable to a patient’s condition and needs.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natonson in view of Hatton further in view of Rybchinskya further in view of Lee further in view of Mah further in view of Griffith (US 9827667).
Regarding claim 22, Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, Lee, and Mah teach the suit of claim 21 but fail to teach wherein the respective pressures in the abdominal compressor, the tubular system, and the pneumatic inserts are independently adjustable.
Griffith teaches wherein the respective pressures in the abdominal compressor, the tubular system, and the pneumatic inserts are independently adjustable. (column 4, line 39 “In various embodiments, groups and/or individual chambers 310 of an actuator 110 can be inflated and/or deflated in any suitable pattern or configuration”)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the compression suit in claim 21 with the pressure regulation system in Griffith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to recognize that this is a known technique to improve similar devices for creating a compression suit and yielding the predictable results of a compression suit pressure system that is customizable to a patient’s condition and needs.
Response to Arguments
Claim objections and 35 USC 112 (b)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim objections to claims 1-9 and 112(b) rejections of claims 4, 9, 11-13, 15, and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and 112(b) rejection have been withdrawn. However, the arguments are moot due to claims 2-17 being cancelled.
35 USC 102 (a)(2) and 35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the previous combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding amended claim 1, Natonson in view of Hatton teaches a compressible suit with a tubular system located on the back of the suit. In combination with Rybchinskya and Lee, the prior art teaches a compressible suit with a tubular system on the back covered in non-stretchable fabric bands. See the new claim 1 rejection.
The examiner and applicant agree that Natonson discloses a garment with inflatable bladders, hoses, and a pressurizing mechanism. Hatton teaches two inflatable tubes on the back of the suit. The examiner notes that they are not using Hatton to teach the cell-encasing but the tube placement alone. Rybchinskya teaches fabric bands to provide compressive forces on back of the suit. Lee teaches the use of a non-stretchable fabric band for compression. The examiner specifically notes that they are using Lee for the teaching of the use of the fabric as it is known in the prior art to be used for compression. The proposed reconstruction of Natonson, Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee has cited rationale and specific technical reason in the updated claim 1 rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, see the cited rationales from Hatton, Rybchinskya, and Lee.
Claims 18-26 are dependent on amended claim 1 and the rejections have been updated according to the amended claim 1 rejection.
Therefore, the amended claim 1, and dependent claims 18-26 are not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791