DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 9/2/2026 does not put the application in condition for allowance.
Examiner withdraws all rejections in the prior office action due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita (US Pub No. 2018/0316054) in view of Fanous (US Pub No. 2017/0207448)
Regarding Claim 1, Matsushita et al. teaches an electrolyte for a nonaqueous secondary battery [Fig. 2, 0087, 0015],
the nonaqueous secondary battery comprising a lithium-free transition metal
sulfide as a cathode active material [0171, molybdenum sulfide],
the electrolyte comprising
an organic solvent containing a chain carbonate compound [ethyl methyl carbonate, 0057]
lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) [0173], and
an additive [vinylene carbonate, 0173].
Matsushita et al. is silent on a composition represented by the formula M1Sx, wherein M1 represent one or more transition metals, and x is 2.1 to 10, and wherein the lithium-free transition metal sulfide comprises a vanadium sulfide.
Fanous et al. teaches the use of vanadium sulfide [0073] or molybdenum sulfide [0077] as an active cathode material in a battery [0073, 0077] used to provide improved capacity and electrical conductivity [0065].
Since Matsushita et al. teaches the use of a active cathode material made of molybdenum sulfide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to replace molybdenum sulfide of Matsushita et al. with the vanadium sulfide of Fanous et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional cathode active material in the art and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 2, within the combination above, modified Matsushita teaches wherein the additive is at least one member selected from the group consisting of vinylene carbonate (VC) and fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) [see rejection of claim 1, 0173]
Regarding Claim 3, within the combination above, modified Matsushita et al. is silent on wherein the content of the chain carbonate compound is two to four times the content of the lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) on a molar ratio basis.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the electrolyte, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the electrolyte changed, the precise parameters of the electrolyte would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the content of the chain carbonate compound is two to four times the content of the lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) on a molar ratio basis.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the electrolyte to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 4, within the combination above, modified Matsushita et al. is silent on wherein the content of the additive is 2.5 wt% to 10 wt% based on the total amount of the electrolyte taken as 100 wt%.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the electrolyte, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the electrolyte changed, the precise parameters of the electrolyte would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the content of the additive is 2.5 wt% to 10 wt% based on the total amount of the electrolyte taken as 100 wt%.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the electrolyte to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 5, within the combination above, modified Matsushita teaches wherein the chain carbonate compound is at least one member selected from the group consisting of dimethyl carbonate (DMC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), and ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC) [see rejection of claim 1, 0057].
Regarding Claim 6, within the combination above, modified Matsushita teaches wherein the lithium-free transition metal sulfide is at least one member selected from the group consisting of vanadium sulfides [see rejection of claim 1].
Regarding Claim 8, within the combination above, modified Matsushita teaches which is a lithium-ion secondary battery [Fig. 2, 0087, 0015].
Regarding Claim 9, within the combination above, modified Matsushita et al. is silent on wherein x is 3-8 [See rejection of claim 1].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 8-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728