DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashima et al. US 2013/0268165 A1.
Independent Claims 1, 9: Hashima discloses an electric utility vehicle (10) used by a method for operating an electric utility vehicle, as per claim 9, the electric utility vehicle comprising:
an electrically driven component (46);
a user actuable input device (76); and
an electronic processor (50) configured to:
receive an input from the user actuable input device (a switch to “economy mode”);
determine, based on the input, an operational mode (“economy mode”) for the electric utility vehicle; and
operate the electrically driven component based on the operational mode to limit an amount of electrical power consumed by the electrically driven component (see para. [0075], lns. 1-3, 9-11; para. [0076], the final four lines-[0077], ln. 9; para. [0079]), as per claims 1, 9.
Dependent Claims 3-5, 7-8, 11-13, 15-16: Hashima further discloses wherein the electronic processor (50) is further configured to:
determine a maximum value for an operational characteristic (a motor rotational speed, see para. [0077], lns. 1-9) of the electrically driven component (46) based on the operational mode (“economy mode”); and
operate the electrically driven component based on the operational mode by issuing commands based on the maximum value to a controller (52) for the electrically driven component (via 74 as seen in Fig. 4, see also para. [0075], lns. 1-3, 9-11; para. [0076], the final four lines-[0077], ln. 9; para. [0079]), as per claims 3, 11;
wherein the electronic processor (50) is further configured to determine a maximum value by determining one of a maximum speed (a motor rotational speed, see para. [0077], lns. 1-9) or a maximum power, as per claims 4, 12;
wherein the electronic processor (50) is further configured to issue commands to the controller (52) by sending a message on a communication bus (CAN, seen in Fig. 4) of the electric utility vehicle (10), as per claims 5, 13;
wherein the electrically driven component (46) is an electric deck motor (para. [0039], lns. 1-6), as per claims 7, 15;
wherein the operational mode (“economy mode”) is one selected from the group consisting of a standard mode (“nice mode”) and an eco-mode (“economy mode”), as per claims 8, 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashima et al. in view of Holeton et al. WO 2021/071655 A1.
Dependent Claims 2, 6, 10, 14: The vehicle and associated method are disclosed as applied above. However, Hashima fails to disclose an electronic display coupled to the electronic processor, wherein the electronic processor is further configured to control the electronic display to, responsive to receiving the input, present a graphical indicator based on the operational mode, as per claims 2, 10;
wherein the input from the user actuable input device is one selected from the group consisting of a digital high input, a digital low input, an analog voltage range, and a variable analog voltage, as per claims 6, 14.
Holeton discloses a similar electric utility vehicle (10) comprising an electronic display (78) coupled to the electronic processor (90), wherein the electronic processor is further configured to control the electronic display to, responsive to receiving the input (at 410), present a graphical indicator based on the operational mode (see para. [00100], lns. 7-8), as per claims 2, 10;
wherein the input from the user actuable input device (410, Figs. 15-16) is one selected from the group consisting of a digital high input, a digital low input, an analog voltage range, and a variable analog voltage (see para. [0145], lns. 1-2, voltage is the standard protocol for dial 410), as per claims 6, 14.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mode display and variable analog voltage input device of Holeton on the electric utility vehicle of Hashima in order to visually provide the current operational mode to the user and to provide a simple and easily manipulatable mode adjustment knob.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTOL-892. Weed et al. US 2020/0198561 A1 discloses a similar electric utility vehicle with different operating modes however does not disclose a mower deck accessory.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 April 2, 2026