DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/23 is considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 9/15/26 has been considered.
Claims Analysis
As best understood, the limitation, “raised portion aligned with the device electrical contact” may be interpreted as the raised portion being present on both sides of the device electrical contact since there are no further definition for how it is aligned. Figure 2b does not show any alignment but
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-13, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carlson et al. (WO2018/112454).
Regarding claim 1, the Carson et al. reference discloses a battery-powered system comprising a device; and a battery for supplying power to the device, the device comprising a recess for receiving the battery (70), the recess defining a bottom and opposing first and second sides. A device electrical contact disposed at the bottom of the recess (94); and disposed at each of the first and second sides a front guide element (58 or can be interpreted as 114); a back guide element (step groove turns into back wall); and a spacer comprising a raised portion (98) aligned with the device electrical contact and a first ramp (106) disposed between the raised portion and the front guide element. The battery defining a front end, a back end opposite of the front end, opposing first and second sides, and a device-facing major surface, the battery comprising: disposed at each of the first and second sides, a front guide element and a back guide element, the front and back guide elements constructed to mate with the front and back guide elements of the device, respectively, such that when the front and back guide elements are mated, the battery is in a locked position; and a battery electrical contact disposed along the device-facing major surface, constructed to operatively couple with the device electrical contact when the battery is in the locked position (Fig. 1-7).
Regarding claim 2, the Carson et al. reference discloses the device further comprises a seal (the surface of 94 that is sealed by 154 by contact with each other).
The claim limitation, “optionally wherein the seal is constructed to create a seal between the device bottom and the device facing major surface of the battery, further optionally wherein the seal is constructure to create a seal around a contact region between the device electrical contact and the battery electrical contact,” and specifically, “optionally” are not positively recited and will be interpreted as such.
Regarding claim 4, the Carson et al. reference discloses the front guide element (also can be interpreted by 114) of the device comprises a locking post orthogonal to the bottom ( 130, 122).
Regarding claim 5, the Carson et al. reference discloses wherein the device comprises a locking clip (114) and the battery comprises a groove (182) constructed to receive the locking clip.
The limitation, “optionally wherein the locking clip is disposed along the bottom of the recess and the groove is disposed along the device-facing major surface” is not positively claimed and will be interpreted as such.
Regarding claim 6, the Carson et al. reference discloses the battery-powered system of claim 5, wherein the locking clip comprises a spring arm and a protrusion disposed at a free end of the spring arm (122).
Regarding claim 7, the Carson et al. reference discloses wherein the back guide element and spacer (98) of the device are integrally formed (the step groove shoulder turning into the back wall).
Regarding claim 8, the Carson et al. reference discloses of any one of claims 1, wherein the back guide element of the device comprises a slot (hole) parallel to the bottom.
Regarding claim 9, the Carson et al. reference discloses wherein the spacer prevents parts of the battery other than the battery electrical contact from contacting the device electrical contact (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, the Carson et al. reference discloses wherein the spacer comprises a second ramp (58) opposite of the first ramp.
Regarding claim 11, the Carson et al. reference discloses the front guide element of the battery comprises a forward sloping surface constructed to engage the second ramp when the battery is being slid forward into the recess (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, the Carson et al. reference discloses wherein the front guide element of the battery comprises a backward sloping surface constructed to engage the first ramp when the battery is being slid backward away from the recess (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, the Carson et al. reference discloses wherein the front guide element (114) of the battery comprises a locking surface constructed to mate with the front guide element of the device.
Regarding claim 15, the Carson et al. reference discloses wherein the battery electrical contact comprises contact to a circuit board (claim 6).
The limitation “flexible” is considered broad since the ascertain requisite degree is unknown.
Regarding claim 17, the Carson et al. reference wherein the second ramp has an angle of less 90 degrees relative to the bottom (as can be seen on Fig. 2 it is not perpendicular).
Regarding claim 18, the Carson et al. reference discloses the front guide element of the device comprises a third ramp and wherein the third ramp has an angle of less than 90 degrees relative to the bottom (the first area with 106).
Regarding claim 19, the Carson et al. reference discloses 19 wherein the front guide element of the battery comprises a forward sloping surface having an angle of less than 90 degrees relative to the device-facing major surface (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, the Carson et al. reference discloses wherein the front guide element of the battery comprises a backward sloping surface having an angle of less than 90 degrees relative to the device-facing major surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 14,16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752