Claim(s) 1, 3-11 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaqwaguchi et al 12,064,908 (see col. 6, lines 11-13) in view of JP 2020-139085 (see page 10 of the translation, lines 6-10).
The claims are rejected essentially for reasons of record. Note that the primary reference (see col. 6, lines 11-13) discloses the gap width 20 as being between .05-2 mm, .1-1 mm and most preferably between .1-.6 mm, the latter lying completely within the instant range of . 1 to .7 mm. Also, JP -085 (see page 10 of the translation, lines 6-10) teaches that a photochromic lens would have between 100-5,000 ppm and preferably 100-3000 ppm of photochromic additive, the upper range of either lying within the instant range of 1,000 to 7,000 ppm. On this basis. It is submitted as being well within the skill level of the art to choose the instant lens layer thickness and photochromic compound amount as the instant values are certainly taught in the prior art as applied. JP -085 also discloses that the performance of the lens incorporating the photochromic additive “differs depending on the type of the naphthopyran compound” used. Presumably, the performance noted in JP -085 would include certain parameters—ie, at least coloring—noted by applicant in the instant Tables 1-4. Applicant has suggested that the instant .7 mm thickness is crucial in providing a showing of unexpected results for the instant thickness and photochromic additive amount and pointed out Examples 7-9 and Comparative Example 2 as evidence of such. However, while it is agreed that a comparison of Example 7 with Examples 8 and 9 and Comparative Example 2 would show that a .7 mm thickness (ie, Ex. 7) provides a better product, a comparison of Examples 1-4 with Examples 5 and 6 do not provide such a showing. Examples 1-4 have the instant .7 mm thickness, while Example 5 has a 1.2 mm thickness and Example 6 has a 2.0 mm thickness. Indeed, it would appear that a comparison of Examples 1-6 shows that a .7 mm thickness is not crucial to achieving markedly better properties for coloring or (lack of) striae than thicknesses of 1.2 mm or even 2.0 mm. At this juncture, it cannot be determined that any unexpected result is derived from the instant numerical values and hence the claims are maintained as being obvious over the prior art as applied. It is also noted that different concentrations of the additive are used in the different sets of Examples and it is not clear exactly how that would affect the final results. It is respectfully submitted that a probative showing of unexpected results based on the instant numerical values has not been presented at this point.
2.Applicant's arguments filed October 23, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant suggests that the applied references do not disclose the instant numerical ranges for layer thickness and photochromic additive content nor do they recognize the criticality of the instant thickness. However, as noted in paragraph 1, supra, the applied art does in fact teach the instant thickness and additive content. While applicant suggests that the results of instant Examples 7-9 show an unexpected result for a thickness of .7 mm, it is submitted that such is not shown in Examples 1-6 and hence there is no probative indication of any unexpected results for this layer thickness and photochromic additive concentration.
3.THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATHIEU D VARGOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742