This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 12/29/2025.
Claims 1-6, 8-13 & 29-34 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 7 & 14 have been cancelled. Claims 15-28 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13 & 29 have been amended. Note that claims 5 & 12 indicate that these claims have been currently amended but examiner could not find any amendments to these claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to objection of claim 29 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 29 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to rejections of claims 2, 6 & 13 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 2, 6 & 13 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 4, 9 & 11, applicant submits that amendments to these claims traverse the rejections to these claims under 35 USC 112(b). Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 112(b), a claim must provide sufficient antecedent basis for all limitations in the claim in order to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention (see §MPEP 2173.05(e)).
Claim 4 recites “wherein the first candidate symbol is a first symbol that does not bear the DMRS on the second PUSCH after a target symbol, the target symbol being the earliest one that bears the DMRS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (see discussion in “claim rejections - 35 § 112” section of this office action).
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the second PUSCH, among PUSCHs of repeated transmissions, is adjacent to the first PUSCH and bears the DMRS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (see discussion in “claim rejections - 35 § 112” section of this office action).
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the first candidate symbol is a first symbol that does not bear a DMRS after a target symbol on the second PUSCH, the target symbol being the earliest one that bears the DMRS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (see discussion in “claim rejections - 35 § 112” section of this office action).
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains rejections to claims 4, 9 & 11 under 35 USC 112(b).
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that claim 1 is patentable because Choi fails to disclose all the limitations of amended claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that a claimed invention may be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 when the invention is anticipated (or is “not novel”) over a disclosure that is available as prior art that teaches every element required by the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation (see §MPEP 2131).
Applicant argues that Choi fails to disclose “determining, by the terminal device, a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS; and mapping, by the terminal device, the UCI to a position of the symbol that is available for bearing the DMRS, wherein the UCI comprises at least one of a HARQ-ACK and CSl" because in the claimed invention, the UCI is mapped directly into the position of the symbol that was originally designated for (available for) the DMRS, while Choi teaches a different mapping strategy in Fig 26 & [0254] where the UCI is mapped in a symbol immediately after the corresponding DMRS, with fig 26 showing a distinct gap where the DMRS would have been and thus Choi does not utilize the available DMRS symbol itself. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, while fig 26 & [0254] disclose one embodiment of Choi, Fig 26 & [0254] were never cited in the rejection of claim 1. The rejection of claim 1 is based on a different embodiment of Choi disclosed in fig 25 & [0253] which clearly shows and states a UCI being mapped at a position “starting from a designated symbol in the PUSCH repetition from which the DMRS is omitted”.
Applicant argues that the phrase “from which the DMRS is omitted” modifies “the PUSCH repetition” not the “designated symbol”, and merely limits the position of the designated symbol to be the first symbol of the PUSCH repetition and does not define the designated symbol as a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that under a broadest reasonable interpretation, a DMRS being “omitted” from a symbol can be interpreted as the symbol being available for bearing the DMRS but not transmitting the DMRS (i.e. omitting the DMRS in the symbol). Further, fig 31 & [0250] of Choi clearly shows that the first symbol of rep #1 (i.e. the first PUSCH) is available for transmitting the DMRS.
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on Choi.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims of the current application recite “at least one of A and B”. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting “at least one of A and B” to be either A, or B, or A and B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 8, 9 & 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “determining, by the terminal device, a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites that “no Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) is borne by a current first PUSCH”, and there is no explanation of any other DMRS prior to this limitation. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as “determining, by the terminal device, a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing a DMRS”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the first candidate symbol is a first symbol that does not bear the DMRS on the second PUSCH after a target symbol, the target symbol being the earliest one that bears the DMRS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “The earliest one” has not previously been defined. Further, claim 1 recites “determining, by the terminal device, a symbol on the first PUCCH that is available for bearing the DMRS” and claim 2 recites “determining, by the terminal device, a second PUSCH that bears a DMRS, from PUSCHs of repeated transmissions adjacent to the first PUSCH”. Since claim 4 depends on both claims 1 & 2, it is unclear whether “the DMRS” as highlighted in claim 4 above refers to “the DMRS” of claim 1 or “the DMRS on the second PUSCH” of claim 2. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claim as “wherein the first candidate symbol is a first symbol that does not bear the DMRS on the second PUSCH after a target symbol, the target symbol being the earliest symbol that bears the DMRS on the second PUSCH”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “receiving, by the network device, the UCI at a position of a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 recites that “no Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) is borne by a current first PUSCH”, and there is no explanation of any other DMRS prior to this limitation. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as “receiving, by the network device, the UCI at a position of a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing a DMRS”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the second PUSCH, among PUSCHs of repeated transmissions, is adjacent to the first PUSCH and bears the DMRS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8, for which claim 9 is dependent, recites that “no Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) is borne by a current first PUSCH”, and there is no explanation of any other DMRS prior to this limitation. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as “wherein the second PUSCH, among PUSCHs of repeated transmissions, is adjacent to the first PUSCH and bears a DMRS”
Claim 11 recites the limitation “wherein the first candidate symbol is a first symbol that does not bear a DMRS after a target symbol on the second PUSCH, the target symbol being the earliest one that bears the DMRS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “The earliest one” has not previously been defined. Further, claim 8 recites “receiving, by the network device, the UCI at a position of a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS”. Since claim 11 depends on claim 8, it is unclear whether “the DMRS” as highlighted in claim 11 above refers to “the DMRS” of claim 8 or “a DMRS after a target symbol on the second PUSCH” of claim 11. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claim as “wherein the first candidate symbol is a first symbol that does not bear a DMRS on the second PUSCH after a target symbol, the target symbol being the earliest symbol that bears the DMRS on the second PUSCH”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13 & 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20220104224)(herein after “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a resource mapping method for uplink control information (UCI), (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a resource mapping method for UCI.), comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, that a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) overlaps with a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and that no Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) is borne by a current first PUSCH (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a UE determining, by being configured and indicated, that a PUSCH repetition (i.e. a first PUSCH), from which a DMRS is omitted, is to be transmitted on the same symbol (i.e. overlapping) with a PUCCH.);
performing, by the terminal device, resource mapping on the UCI according to a target resource mapping mode of the UCI, wherein the target resource mapping mode is configured to map the UCI to a PUSCH resource (Fig 25 & [0253] discloses a target resource mapping mode where a UE performs resource mapping of a UCI to a first symbol of a PUSCH rep #1 (i.e. the first PUSCH).); and
sending, by the terminal device, the UCI to a network device through the mapped resource (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a UCI may be transmitted through the mapped resource starting from first symbol of PUSCH rep #1. [0010] discloses that the transmitting of PUSCH repetitions is from a terminal device (e.g. a UE) to a base station (e.g. a network device).),
wherein performing resource mapping on the UCI according to the target resource mapping mode of the UCI, comprises: determining, by the terminal device, a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose that a UE may determine, by being configured and indicated, a designated symbol of first PUSCH rep #1 from which a DMRS has been omitted (i.e. a symbol that is available for bearing a DMRS but the DMRS is omitted.); and
mapping, by the terminal device, the UCI to a position of the symbol that is available for bearing the DMRS, wherein the UCI comprises at least one of a HARQ-ACK and CSI (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose the UE mapping the UCI to a designated symbol in the first PUSCH rep #1 from which the DMRS is omitted (i.e. a symbol that is available for bearing a DMRS but the DMRS is omitted). [0085] discloses that the UCI that the UE transmits to a base station may include HARQ-ACK and CSI.).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses wherein performing resource mapping on the UCI according to the target resource mapping mode of the UCI, comprises: determining, by the terminal device, a second PUSCH that bears a DMRS, from PUSCHs of repeated transmissions adjacent to the first PUSCH (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose determining by the UE a repeated PUSCH rep #0 (i.e. a second PUSCH) adjacent to the first PUSCH rep #1, that includes a DMRS.); and
mapping, by the terminal device, the UCI to a candidate symbol of at least one of the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose mapping, by the UE, the UCI to the first symbol (i.e. a candidate symbol) of the first PUSCH rep #1.).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses wherein mapping the UCI to the candidate symbol of at least one of the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH, comprises: mapping, by the terminal device, a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) to a position of a first candidate symbol of the second PUSCH ([0085] discloses that the UCI that the UE transmits to a base station may include DL/UL HARQ-ACK/NACK. Fig 27 & [0255] disclose that the UCI (and thus HARQ-ACK) may be mapped, by the UE, to a symbol (i.e. a first candidate symbol) immediately after a DMRS of second PUSCH rep #0.); and/or
mapping, by the terminal device, Channel State Information (CSI) to a position of a second candidate symbol of the first PUSCH ([0085] discloses that the UCI that the UE transmits to a base station may include CSI that includes CQI, PMI and RI. Fig 26 & [0254] disclose that the UCI (and thus CSI) may be mapped, by the UE, to a symbol (i.e. a second candidate symbol) immediately after the first symbol that would have been occupied by a DMRS if the DMRS was not omitted, of the first PUSCH rep #1.).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses wherein the first candidate symbol is a first symbol that does not bear the DMRS on the second PUSCH after a target symbol, the target symbol being the earliest one that bears the DMRS (Fig 27 and [0255] discloses the first candidate symbol for mapping the UCI is the symbol immediately following a first DMRS (i.e. a target symbol which is the earliest symbol that bears a DMRS) on the second PUSCH rep #0 and there is no second DMRS after the first DMRS in the target symbol.).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses wherein the second candidate symbol is a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose that the second candidate symbol may be a designated symbol in the first PUSCH rep #1 from which the DMRS is omitted (i.e. a symbol that is available for bearing a DMRS but the DMRS is omitted.).).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses wherein the second candidate symbol is a first symbol on the first PUSCH (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose that the second candidate symbol may be a designated symbol in the first symbol of the first PUSCH rep #1.).
Regarding Claim 8, Choi discloses a resource mapping method for uplink control information (UCI) (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a resource mapping method for UCI.), comprising:
receiving, by a network device, the UCI sent on a mapped resource by a terminal device, wherein a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) overlaps with a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), no Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) is borne by a current first PUSCH (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a UE may transmit a PUSCH rep #1 (i.e. a first PUSCH), from which a DMRS is omitted, on the same symbol (i.e. overlapping) with a PUCCH, and that a UCI may be mapped in the first symbol of PUSCH rep #1. [0011] discloses that a UE may transmit the first PUSCH to a base station (i.e. a network device receives the first PUSCH including UCI transmitted by the UE.), and the UCI is mapped to a PUSCH resource according to a target resource mapping mode (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a target resource mapping mode where the UCI is mapped in the first symbol in PUSCH rep #1), and
receiving, by the network device, the UCI at a position of a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS, wherein the UCI comprises at least one of a HARQ-ACK and CSI (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose the UE mapping the UCI to a designated symbol in the first PUSCH rep #1 from which the DMRS is omitted (i.e. a symbol that is available for bearing a DMRS but the DMRS is omitted). [0085] discloses that the UCI that the UE transmits to a base station may include HARQ-ACK and CSI. [0011] discloses that a UE may transmit the first PUSCH to a base station (i.e. a network device receives the first PUSCH including UCI transmitted by the UE at a position of a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS.).).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses further comprising: receiving, by the network device, the UCI at a position of a candidate symbol of at least one of the first PUSCH and a second PUSCH, wherein the second PUSCH, among PUSCHs of repeated transmissions, is adjacent to the first PUSCH and bears the DMRS (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a UE may transmit a repeated PUSCH rep #0 (i.e. a second PUSCH) adjacent to the first PUSCH rep #1, that includes a DMRS. Fig 25 & [0253] disclose mapping, by the UE, the UCI to the first symbol (i.e. a candidate symbol) of the first PUSCH rep #1. [0011] discloses that a UE may transmit the first PUSCH and the second PUSCH to a base station (i.e. a network device receives the first PUSCH including UCI transmitted by the UE.).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses further comprising: receiving, by the network device, a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) at a position of a first candidate symbol of the second PUSCH ([0085] discloses that the UCI that the UE transmits to a base station may include DL/UL HARQ-ACK/NACK. Fig 27 & [0255] disclose that the UCI (and thus HARQ-ACK) may be mapped, by the UE, to a symbol (i.e. a first candidate symbol) immediately after a DMRS of second PUSCH rep #0. [0011] discloses that a UE may transmit the second PUSCH to a base station (i.e. a network device receives the second PUSCH including HARQ-ACK included in the UCI transmitted by the UE at the first candidate symbol position.); and/or
receiving, by the network device, Channel State Information (CSI) at a position of a second candidate symbol of the first PUSCH ([0085] discloses that the UCI that the UE transmits to a base station may include CSI that includes CQI, PMI and RI. Fig 26 & [0254] disclose that the UCI (and thus CSI) may be mapped, by the UE, to a symbol (i.e. a second candidate symbol) immediately after the first symbol that would have been occupied by a DMRS if the DMRS was not omitted, of the first PUSCH rep #1. [0011] discloses that a UE may transmit the first PUSCH to a base station (i.e. a network device receives the first PUSCH including CSI included in the UCI transmitted by the UE at the second candidate symbol position.).
Regarding Claim 11, Choi discloses wherein the first candidate symbol is a first symbol that does not bear a DMRS after a target symbol on the second PUSCH, the target symbol being the earliest one that bears the DMRS (Fig 27 and [0255] discloses the first candidate symbol for mapping the UCI is the symbol immediately following a first DMRS (i.e. a target symbol which is the earliest symbol that bears a DMRS) on the second PUSCH rep #0 and there is no second DMRS after the first DMRS in the target symbol.).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses wherein the second candidate symbol is a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose that the second candidate symbol may be a designated symbol in the first PUSCH rep #1 from which the DMRS is omitted (i.e. a symbol that is available for bearing a DMRS but the DMRS is omitted.).).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses wherein the second candidate symbol is a first symbol on the first PUSCH (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose that the second candidate symbol may be a designated symbol in the first symbol of the first PUSCH rep #1.).
Regarding claim 29, Choi discloses a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory having a computer program stored therein, the processor executing the computer program stored in the memory (Fig 11, [0022] & [0140]-[0142] discloses a UE (i.e. a communication device) that may include a processor 110 and a memory 130 configured to store a control program, wherein the processor may execute instructions or programs stored in the memory.) to cause the device to:
determine that a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) overlaps with a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and that no Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) is borne by a current first PUSCH (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a UE determining, by being configured and indicated, that a PUSCH repetition (i.e. a first PUSCH), from which a DMRS is omitted, is to be transmitted on the same symbol (i.e. overlapping) with a PUCCH.);
perform resource mapping on the UCI according to a target resource mapping mode of the UCI, wherein the target resource mapping mode is configured to map the UCI to a PUSCH resource (Fig 25 & [0253] discloses a target resource mapping mode where a UE performs resource mapping of a UCI to a first symbol of a PUSCH rep #1 (i.e. the first PUSCH).); and
send the UCI to a network device through the mapped resource (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose a UCI may be transmitted through the mapped resource starting from first symbol of PUSCH rep #1. [0010] discloses that the transmitting of PUSCH repetitions is from a terminal device (e.g. a UE) to a base station (e.g. a network device).), wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine a symbol on the first PUSCH that is available for bearing the DMRS (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose that a UE may determine, by being configured and indicated, a designated symbol of first PUSCH rep #1 from which a DMRS has been omitted (i.e. a symbol that is available for bearing a DMRS but the DMRS is omitted.); and
map the UCI to a position of the symbol that is available for bearing the DMRS, wherein the UCI comprises at least one of a HARQ-ACK and CSI (Fig 25 & [0253] disclose the UE mapping the UCI to a designated symbol in the first PUSCH rep #1 from which the DMRS is omitted (i.e. a symbol that is available for bearing a DMRS but the DMRS is omitted). [0085] discloses that the UCI that the UE transmits to a base station may include HARQ-ACK and CSI.).
Regarding claim 30, Choi discloses a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory having a computer program stored therein, the processor executing the computer program stored in the memory to cause the device to perform the method of claim 8 (Fig 11, [0022] & [0140]-[0142] discloses a UE (i.e. a communication device) that may include a processor 110 and a memory 130 configured to store a control program, wherein the processor may execute instructions or programs stored in the memory to perform embodiments of the disclosed inventions including fig 25 & [0253] that disclose the method of claim 8.).
Regarding Claim 31, Choi discloses a communication device, comprising: a processor and an interface circuit, wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive code instructions and transmit the code instructions to the processor (Fig 11, [0022] & [0140]-[0142] disclose a UE (i.e. a communication device) that may include a processor 110 and a memory 130, including an interface circuit connecting processor 110 to memory 130. [0147] discloses that memory 130 stores prescribed programs (i.e. receives code instructions). [0142] discloses the processor may execute various instructions or programs (i.e. transmitted to the processor by the memory through the circuit interface shown in fig. 11.).); and
the processor is configured to run the code instructions to perform the method of claim 1 ([0142] discloses the processor may execute instructions or programs stored in the memory to perform embodiments of the disclosed inventions including fig 25 & [0253] that disclose the method of claim 1.).
Regarding claim 32, Choi discloses a communication device, comprising: a processor and an interface circuit, wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive code instructions and transmit the code instructions to the processor (Fig 11, [0022] & [0140]-[0142] discloses a UE (i.e. a communication device) that may include a processor 110 and a memory 130, including an interface circuit connecting processor 110 to memory 130. [0147] discloses that memory 130 stores prescribed programs (i.e. receives code instructions). [0142] discloses the processor may execute various instructions or programs (i.e. transmitted to the processor by the memory through the circuit interface shown in fig. 11.).); and the processor is configured to run the code instructions to perform the method of claim 8 ([0142] discloses the processor may execute instructions or programs stored in the memory to perform embodiments of the disclosed inventions including fig 25 & [0253] that disclose the method of claim 8.).
Regarding Claim 33, Choi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions which, when executed, cause the method of claim 1 to be implemented (Fig 11, [0022], [0140]-[0142] & [0147] disclose a memory 130 (i.e. a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) configured to store a control program for which instructions can be executed by a processor to perform embodiments of the disclosed inventions including fig 25 & [0253] that disclose the method of claim 1.).
Regarding claim 34, Choi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions which, when executed, cause the method of claim 8 to be implemented (Fig 11, [0022], [0140]-[0142] & [0147] disclose a memory 130 (i.e. a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) configured to store a control program for which instructions can be executed by a processor to perform embodiments of the disclosed inventions including fig 25 & [0253] that disclose the method of claim 8.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419