Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I (claims 16-24) in the reply filed on 3/04/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction as presented was based on original PCT claims. The argument is moot, as the common technical feature is taught by Sayed et al. (US 2022/0183357).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 25-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected groups/inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement as noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18, 21, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sayed et al. (US 2022/0183357).
Regarding claim 16 and 24, Sayed discloses Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-9, Sayed et al disclose a an aerosol generating device (100) including a housing (102) including a hole (104) for accommodating an aerosol-generating article and a guide (202) separated from the hole (104), and a lid/cover (108a) that moves between a first position ( open position ) and a second position ( closed position ) along the guide (202) in order to open and close the hole (104) [0019], wherein when the cover (108) is located in the first position, the hole (104) is opened, and when the lid/cover (108) is located in the second position, the hole (108) is closed (see, [0038], [0067-0080] and figures 9A-9E below).
The cover element (second portion, 108b, as illustrated in figure 7 below) creates a cavity below the cover where a busing (214, i.e. guide element) protrudes from the housing (216) and is received in the cover cavity. The busing is considered to be a leg and engages an elastic element (spring 206) as illustrated.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been inherent that a portion of the force created by the elastic element would have been in the downward direction in both the open and closed positions.
Regarding claim 18, the cover element as illustrated in figure 7 above has protrusions on both sides of the long axis (204). These first and second protrusions engage recesses 202 on each side of the base and the first and second protrusion and recess engage each other when the element is in the closed position and the open position.
Regarding claim 21, the cover element (108b as shown in figure 7 above) has a channel (the raised area between the protrusion along the edges of the long axis) that receives the leg of the guide element and engages and inner surface (the protrusion) of the guide slot.
Regarding claim 23, the cover element as illustrated in figure 7 above has protrusions on both sides of the long axis (204) which are considered guide protrusions. These first and second protrusions engage recesses 202 (i.e. guide recesses) on each side of the base and the first and second protrusion and recess engage each other when the element is in the closed position and the open position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20, and 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19, the prior art does not disclose or suggest making the spring cavity hermetically closed with respect to an inner compartment of the housing.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art does not disclose or suggest making the head of the leg with a width larger than the width of the leg.
Regarding claim 22, while Sayed et al. disclose that the cover is composed of a bottom part and a top cap, the cavity element of Sayed et al. that receives the guide element is not between the top cap and bottom part. Instead, cavity element of Sayed et al. is below the bottom part. Therefore, the structure is disclosed or suggested by Sayed et al.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747