DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to RCE/Amendment filed 09/17/2026.
Claims 19-21, 24-37 and 39-41 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 19-21 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) Applicant argued the cited references do not disclose the features of "receiving a sixth operation performed by the user on the first target service" and, "in response to receiving the sixth operation, completing, by the electronic device, the first target service, exiting the first service widget, and displaying the application interface of the first application." Avraham does not describe an operation performed by the user on a target service. Avraham does not describe the completion of any service, the exiting of any service widget, or the display of an application interface in response to an operation performed on a service.
Per A), The Examiner respectfully disagrees in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Zhang teaches the limitation of the first service widget comprises a first target service, and in a process in which the electronic device displays the first service widget, the electronic device continues running the first application (Zhang, para.145-147; Fig.4(b), service widget “TV payment” comprises payment service with “Smart TV” app running in background),. Avraham teaches a device for switching control between application elements wherein in response to receiving an operation, completing, a first target service, exiting a first service widget, and displaying the application interface of a first application (Avraham, para.16, 19, incoming call switches App1 to phone app; after exiting phone app, focus is returned to first app:App1; Fig.1, step 109).
B) Applicant argued Freund does not describe any interactive graphical element as comprising a plurality of sub-services, and Freund does not describe selecting among sub-services of any element., different sub-services of a same element being displayed at different times. Freund results of the application would be the substitution of one element providing access to one application for a different element providing access to a different application. It would not be a third service widget that displays, in place of a first sub-service, a second sub-service that is one of the plurality of sub-services of the same first target service.
Per B), The Examiner respectfully disagrees in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Zhang teaches the limitation of the first target service comprises a plurality of sub-services (Zhang, Fig.3(b), 4(b); para.6-7, 140, 147, plurality of sub-services:payment methods : Huawei/Alipay/WeChat). Freund is combined with Zhang to teach the third service widget displays the second sub-service in place of the first sub-service (Freund, Fig.3B-3C, different service options 104-i, j, k; col.13, lines 10-27; col.13, line 55-col.14, line 4, service options dynamically change according to selected service widget).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21, 24-30, 32-37 and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“Zhang”, US 2023/0140946) in view of Avraham et al. (“Avraham”, US 2015/0379160) in view of Freund et al. (“Freund”, US 9,658,739) and further in view of Tyler et al. (“Tyler”, US 2021/0286510).
As per claim 19, Zhang teaches an electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the memory, the memory stores a computer program, and when the processor invokes the computer program (Zhang, Fig.1, device 100, processor 110, memory 121; para.65, 96), the electronic device is enabled to perform:
receiving a first operation of a user in a first state (Zhang, Fig.4(a), tapping control 401; para.146), wherein the electronic device is running a first application when the first operation is received, and the electronic device displays an application interface of the first application in the first state (Zhang, Fig.4(a), first application displays Smart TV interface); and
displaying a first service widget in response to the first operation, wherein the first service widget comprises a first target service, and in a process in which the electronic device displays the first service widget, the electronic device continues running the first application (Zhang, para.145-147; Fig.4(b), service widget “TV payment” comprises payment service with “Smart TV” app running in background), wherein the first target service comprises a plurality of sub-services, and displaying the first service widget in response to the first operation comprises displaying a first sub-service in the first service widget that is recommended by the electronic device (Zhang, Fig.3(b), 4(b); para.6-7, 140, 147, plurality of sub-services:payment methods : Huawei/Alipay/WeChat).
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach receiving a sixth operation performed by the user on the first target service; and in response to receiving the sixth operation, completing, by the electronic device, the first target service, exiting the first service widget, and displaying the application interface of the first application. Avraham teaches a device for switching control between application elements wherein in response to receiving an operation, completing, a first target service, exiting a first service widget, and displaying the application interface of a first application (Avraham, para.16, 19, incoming call switches App1 to phone app; after exiting phone app, focus is returned to first app:App1; Fig.1, step 109). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Avraham’s teaching with Zhang’s device in order to regain focus to a previous application.
Although, the device of Zhang and Avraham teaches displaying a first/second sub-service that is recommended wherein the second sub-service is one of the plurality of sub-services of the first target service, the second sub-service is different from the first sub-service (Zhang, Fig.3(b), 4(b); para.6-7, 140, 147, plurality of sub-services:payment methods:Huawei/Alipay/WeChat), the device of Zhang and Avraham does not teach the widget to be based on a current location of the electronic device or a current time when the first operation is received; receiving a third operation of the user in a third state, wherein one or more of the following information of the electronic device in the third state and the first state are different: current location of the electronic device and current time; and displaying a third service widget in response to receiving the third operation, wherein the third service widget comprises a second sub-service that is recommended by the electronic device based on a current location of the electronic device or current time when the third operation is received and the third service widget displays the second sub-service in place of the first sub-service. Freund teaches a method of displaying service widgets based on a current location of the electronic device or a current time when the first operation is received (Freund, col.13, lines 13-54, elements displayed based on current calendar time and/or geo location) that includes receiving a user operation (Freund, col.12, line 63-col.13, line 12, selection of a graphical element), wherein the following information of the electronic device in the third state and the first state are different: a current location of the electronic device and a current time of the electronic device (Freund, col.13, lines 13-54, elements displayed based on current calendar time and/or geo location); and displaying a third service widget in response to receiving the user operation, wherein the third service widget comprises a second sub-service that is recommended by the electronic device based on a current location of the electronic device or current time when the third operation is received (Freund, Fig.3A-C; col.11, lines 17-60, recommender logic; col.13, lines 10-54, col.14, lines 5-20, listed graphical elements change as elements are selected) and the third service widget displays the second sub-service in place of the first sub-service (Freund, Fig.3B-3C, different service options 104-i, j, k; col.13, lines 10-27; col.13, line 55-col.14, line 4, service options dynamically change according to selected service widget). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Freund’s teaching with the method of Zhang and Avraham in order to display services relevant to the context of the user’s usage (Freund, col.3, lines 45-64).
Although, the method of Zhang, Avraham and Freund teaches displaying the first service widget over the application layer (Zhang, para.145-147; Fig.4(b), service widget “TV payment” comprises payment service with “Smart TV” app running in background ), the method of Zhang, Avraham and Freund does not teach performing a blurring operation on the application interface of the first application to obtain a blurred layer, and displaying the first service widget over the blurred layer. Tyler teaches a method of displaying widgets over an application interface that includes performing a blurring operation on the application interface of the first application to obtain a blurred layer, and displaying the first service widget over the blurred layer (Tyler, Fig.5A9, blurred layer 5054; para.245, 360, 507, widgets displayed over blurred background interface). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Tyler’s teaching with the method of Zhang, Avraham and Freund in order to focus the user’s attention on the current selectable elements.
Claims 20-21 are similar in scope to claim 19, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
As per claim 24, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 21, further comprising:
receiving a fourth operation performed by the user on the first service widget (Zhang, Fig.3(b), 4(b); para.140, 147, selection of one of the plurality of payment methods: Huawei/Alipay/WeChat); and
switching the first sub-service in the first service widget to a third sub-service in response to receiving the fourth operation, wherein the third sub-service is comprised in the plurality of sub-services, and the third sub-service is different from the first sub-service (Zhang, Fig.3(b), 4(b); para.140, 147, plurality of payment methods: Huawei/Alipay/WeChat).
As per claim 25, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 21, further comprising:
after the first service widget is displayed, receiving a fifth operation performed by the user on the first service widget (Zhang, Fig.3(b), 4(b); para.140, 147, selection of one of the plurality of payment methods: Huawei/Alipay/WeChat); and
switching the first target service in the first service widget to a third target service in response to receiving the fifth operation (Zhang, Fig.3(b), 4(b); para.140, 147, switching of payment methods: Huawei/Alipay/WeChat).
As per claim 26, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the first service widget and a second service widget each comprise a first area and a second area (Freund, col.13, lines 10-54; Fig.3A-3D-1, first area:toolbar 104 displayed beside selected graphical element in second area), each first area comprises one or more service options (Freund, col.13, lines 10-54; Fig.3A-3D-1, toolbar 104 includes service options), and each second area is used to display service information corresponding to a selected service option (Freund, col.13, lines 10-54; Fig.3A-3D-1, selected graphical element information displayed in second area).
As per claim 27, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 26, wherein each first area comprises a first sub-area and a second sub-area, and each first sub-area is used to display a first-type service option (Freund, col.13, lines 10-54; Fig.3A-3D-1; col.14, line 54-col.15, line 13, service options 104-c/104-b set by user), and each second sub-area is used to display a second-type service option (Freund, col.13, lines 10-54; Fig.3A-3D-1; col.14, line 54-col.15, line 13, remaining service options 104-f/104-g/104-j/etc recommended).
As per claim 28, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 27, wherein each first-type service option is a service option preset by the user, and each second-type service option is a service option recommended by the electronic device to the user (Freund, col.13, lines 10-54; Fig.3A-3D-1; col.14, line 54-col.15, line 13, service options 104-c/104-b set by user and remaining service options 104-f/104-g/104-j/etc recommended).
As per claim 29, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 28, wherein a service corresponding to each second-type service option is a second-type service, and the second-type services comprise the first target service, a second target service, or a third target service (Freund, col.13, lines 10-54; Fig.3A-3D-1; col.14, line 54-col.15, line 13, remaining service options 104-f/104-g/104-j/etc are recommended target services).
As per claim 30, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 26, wherein the first service widget and the second service widget comprise a plurality of same service options (Freund, Fig.3B-3C, same service options 104-b,c,f,g), and an order of a plurality of service options in a first area of the first service widget is different from an order of a plurality of service options in a first area of the second service widget (Freund, col.13, lines 10-27; col.13, line 55-col.14, line 4, order of service options dynamically change according to selected service widget).
As per claim 32, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 26, wherein at least one service option is different in a plurality of service options comprised in the first service widget and a plurality of service options comprised in the second service widget (Freund, Fig.3B-3C, different service options 104-i, j, k; col.13, lines 10-27; col.13, line 55-col.14, line 4, service options dynamically change according to selected service widget).
As per claim 33, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 32, wherein the plurality of service options comprised in the first service widget comprises a first service option, the first service option is different from the plurality of service options comprised in the second service widget (Freund, Fig.3B-3C, different service options 104-i, j, k; col.13, lines 10-27; col.13, line 55-col.14, line 4, service options dynamically change according to selected service widget), and a service corresponding to the first service option is the first target service (Freund, Fig.1A, first target service 104-b in first service widget).
As per claim 34, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 32, wherein the plurality of service options comprised in the second service widget comprises a second service option, the second service option is different from the plurality of service options comprised in the first service widget (Freund, Fig.3B-3C, different service options 104-i, j, k; col.13, lines 10-27; col.13, line 55-col.14, line 4, service options dynamically change according to selected service widget), and a service corresponding to the second service option is a second target service (Freund, Fig.1A, second target service 104-c in second service widget).
As per claim 35, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 26, wherein the one or more service options comprise one or more of the following services: a code scanning service, a payment service, a collection service, a check-in service, or a transport service (Zhang, Fig.3(b), 4(b); para.140, 147, plurality of payment services: Huawei/Alipay/WeChat).
As per claim 36, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein the first application comprises an application that supports playback of video or audio content, and the electronic device keeps the first application playing a video or audio in the process in which the electronic device displays the first service widget (Zhang, Fig.11, para.177, video may be playing when push icon is displayed; Avraham, para.47, return contents may be video/audio).
As per claim 37, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein in the first state, the electronic device is in any one of the following states: a screen-off state, a screen-on locked state, or a screen-on unlocked state (Zhang, Fig.4(a)-4(b) screen-on unlocked state).
Claims 39 and 41 are similar in scope to claim 26, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 40 is similar in scope to claim 27, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“Zhang”, US 2023/0140946), Avraham et al. (“Avraham”, US 2015/0379160), Freund et al. (“Freund”, US 9,658,739) and Tyler et al. (“Tyler”, US 2021/0286510) in view of Both et al. (“Both”, US 2007/0186186).
As per claim 31, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler teaches the method according to claim 30, wherein a service option corresponding to the first target service is located at a first location in the first area of the first service widget, and a service option corresponding to a second target service is located at a second location in the first area of the first service widget (Freund, Fig.1A, first target service 104-b in first service widget in first location; second target service 104-c in second location in first service widget).
However, the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler does not teach wherein the service option corresponding to the second target service is located at a third location in the first area of the second service widget, and the service option corresponding to the first target service is located at a fourth location in the first area of the second service widget, wherein a location of the first location in the first area is the same as a location of the third location in the first area; and a location of the second location in the first area is the same as or different from a location of the fourth location in the first area.
Both teaches a method of selecting service icons wherein the service option corresponding to the second target service is located at a third location in the first area of the second service widget, and the service option corresponding to the first target service is located at a fourth location in the first area of the second service widget, wherein a location of the first location in the first area is the same as a location of the third location in the first area; and a location of the second location in the first area is the same as or different from a location of the fourth location in the first area (Both, Fig.2A-D, Fig.7; para.27, 36, 61, selection position displays the service option corresponding to the target service). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Both’s teaching with the method of Zhang, Avraham, Freund and Tyler in order to display the selected option in a designated position that is distinguished from other options.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miloseski et al. (US 2019/0014205) teaches a method of blurring the background when an overlay is displayed.
Xiao et al. (US 2021/0200391) teaches a method of blurring the background when overlapped by a panel.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda Muhebbullah
Examiner, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174