DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a force distribution structure in claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 18, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rolandi et al. (2015/0305739).
Rolandi discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 17: A medical implant (Fig. 13a, 15a, and 16-17c), that is adapted to close an opening (Fig. 18a-20), wherein the medical implant comprises at least one mechanical anchor (the microanchors seen in Fig. 13a-16, [0087], [0104], and [0122]) comprising at least one barb (Fig. 6a-d and [0104]), said anchor being adapted to puncture at least one of the patch and biological tissue (Fig. 16-17c and [0250]) such as to fix the medical implant to said tissue (Fig. 16-17c and [0250]) and is adapted to be deployed by a delivery device (where it can be deployed by a delivery device).
It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim 18: comprising an adhesive composition ([0022-23] and [0247]).
Claim 28: wherein the at least one mechanical anchor comprises at least one needle ([0102], [0122], and [0157]).
Claim 29: wherein the mechanical anchor comprises an adhesive material ([0247]).
Claim(s) 17 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruff (5,342,376).
Ruff discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 17: A medical implant (2, 12, 22, 32, 42) (Fig. 1-6), that is adapted to close an opening (Fig. 11), wherein the medical implant comprises at least one mechanical anchor (6, 15, 16, 26, 27, 36, 37, 46) (Fig. 1-6) comprising at least one barb (6, 16, 26, 36, 46) (Fig. 1-6 and Col. 4 Lines 5-17) said anchor being adapted to puncture at least one of the patch and biological tissue (Fig. 11) such as to fix the medical implant to said tissue (Fig. 11) and is adapted to be deployed by a delivery device (80) (Fig. 10-11).
It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim 30: A catheter device, characterized in that the catheter device (80) is adapted to deploy a medical implant according to claim 17 (Fig. 10-11) and comprises a mechanism (P) (Fig. 10-11) to apply a mechanical force to the implant and to pierce a tissue by means of a mechanical anchor (Fig. 10-11).
It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sholev et al. (8,500,762).
Sholev discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 17: A medical implant (Fig. 3a-d), that is adapted to close an opening (Abstract), wherein the medical implant comprises at least one mechanical anchor (200) (Fig. 2a-3d, abstract, Col. 3 Lines 1-3, and Col. 4 Lines 35-55) comprising at least one barb (201) (Fig. 5g-i), said anchor being adapted to puncture at least one of the patch (2) and biological tissue such as to fix the medical implant to said tissue (Fig. 2a-3d, abstract, Col. 3 Lines 1-3, and Col. 4 Lines 35-55),and is adapted to be deployed by a delivery device (Col. 3 Lines 1-3, and Col. 4 Lines 35-55).
It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim 19: wherein the at least one of the mechanical anchor and the implant comprises a magnetic element (252) adapted to connect the medical implant and the mechanical anchor at least partially via a magnetic force (Fig. 2a-3d, Col. 15 Lines 60-65, and Col. 16 Lines 60-63).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (2012/0179176).
Wilson discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 31: A medical implant (300) (Fig. 3b-c), comprising an adhesive (345, 346) (Fig. 3b-c and [0096]), wherein the adhesive is arranged on at least a first surface (Fig. 3b-c) of the medical implant and formed in a pattern (Fig. 3b-c and [0096]).
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (2015/0335872).
Yang discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 31: A medical implant (Fig. 1a-c and 7c-d), comprising an adhesive (100, 506, [0056]) (Fig. 1a-c and 7c-d), wherein the adhesive is arranged on at least a first surface (Fig. 1a-c and 7c-d), of the medical implant and formed in a pattern (Fig. 2).
Claim 32: wherein the pattern comprises at least one spike (end of the needle as seen in Fig. 1a-2 and 7c-d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18, 20-24, and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (2015/0335872) in view of Karp et al. (2013/0331792).
Claim 17:
Yang discloses a medical implant (Fig. 7c-d), that is adapted to close an opening (Fig. 7c-d and [0102-0103]), wherein the medical implant comprises at least one mechanical anchor (506, 100) (Fig. 7c-d and [0102-0103]), said anchor being adapted to puncture at least one of the patch (502) and biological tissue such as to fix the medical implant to said tissue (Fig. 7c-d and [0102-0103]),and is adapted to be deployed by a delivery device (Fig. 7c-d where it can be deployed by a delivery device).
It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Yang teaches all the claimed limitations discussed above, however Yang does not specify that the mechanical anchor comprises at least one barb.
Karp discloses another well-known medical device which has at least one mechanical anchor which is a needle that has at least one barb (Fig. 1-2 and [0015-16]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mechanical anchor of Yang to have at least one barb, as taught by Karp, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Yang with barbs in view of the teachings of Karp, in order to improve the grip on tissue by having more areas where the device connects to the tissue.
Yang further discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 18: comprising an adhesive composition (Fig. 7c-d and [0102-0103]).
Claim 20: wherein at least one mechanical anchor comprises at least one cavity ([0107] where it has a hollow lumen/cavity).
Claim 21: wherein the surface of at least one mechanical anchors comprises micro-sized holes that are connected to the at least one cavity ([0107]).
Claim 22: wherein a releasable substance is disposed in at least one cavity of at least one mechanical anchor ([0107]).
Claim 23: wherein the releasable substance comprises an adhesive composition ([0104-0107]).
Claim 24: wherein the releasable substance comprises a pharmacologically active substance ([0105-0107]).
Claim 26: wherein the mechanical anchors are adapted to reduce their size upon exposure to humidity ([0005]).
Claim 27: comprising a force distribution structure that is connected to the mechanical anchors such that it distributes a mechanical pressure applied to the medical implant among to the among the at least one mechanical anchor ([0012]).
Claim 28: wherein the at least one mechanical anchor comprises at least one needle (Fig. 7c-d and [0102-0103]).
Claim 29: wherein the mechanical anchor comprises an adhesive material (Fig. 7c-d and [0102-0103]).
Claim(s) 17, 18, 20-25, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naimark et al. (2003/0073979) in view of Karp et al. (2013/0331792).
Claim 17:
Naimark discloses a medical implant (Fig. 2a-b), that is adapted to close an opening (Abstract), wherein the medical implant comprises at least one mechanical anchor (micro-needles seen in Fig. 2b and [0030] and [0057], hooks in [0030]) (Fig. 2b and [0057-58]), said anchor being adapted to puncture at least one of the patch (20) and biological tissue such as to fix the medical implant to said tissue (Fig. 2b, [0030], and [0057-58]),and is adapted to be deployed by a delivery device (Fig. 4a-b, [0005], and [0040]).
It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Naimark teaches all the claimed limitations discussed above, however Naimark does not specify that the mechanical anchor comprises at least one barb.
Karp discloses another well-known medical device which has at least one mechanical anchor which is a needle that has at least one barb (Fig. 1-2 and [0015-16]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mechanical anchor of Naimark to have at least one barb, as taught by Karp, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Naimark with barbs in view of the teachings of Karp, in order to improve the grip on tissue by having more areas where the device connects to the tissue.
Naimark further discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 18: wherein the implant comprises an adhesive composition ([0030], [0037], [0046], and [0054]).
Claim 20: wherein at least one mechanical anchor comprises at least one cavity ([0059-60] and [0064]).
Claim 21: wherein the surface of at least one mechanical anchors comprises micro-sized holes that are connected to the at least one cavity ([0059-60] and [0064]).
Claim 22: wherein a releasable substance is disposed in at least one cavity of at least one mechanical anchor ([0059-60] and [0064]).
Claim 23: wherein the releasable substance comprises an adhesive composition ([0057]).
Claim 24: wherein the releasable substance comprises a pharmacologically active substance ([0068-69]).
Claim 25: wherein the medical implant comprises thrombogenic elements ([0046], [0070], and [0083]).
Claim 28: wherein the at least one mechanical anchor comprises at least one needle ([0030] and [0057]).
Claim 29: wherein the mechanical anchor comprises an adhesive material ([0030], [0037], [0046], and [0054]).
Claim 30: A catheter device, characterized in that the catheter device (150) is adapted to deploy a medical device according to claim 17 (Fig. 4a-b, [0005], and [0040]).
It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments. filed 9/18/25, with respect to the Yang and Naimark references have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/25 with respect to the Sholev and Wilson references have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sholev does not disclose that the at least one mechanical anchor comprises at least one barb. The examiner disagrees, as seen in the rejection above, Sholev does disclose at least one mechanical anchor (200) comprising at least one barb (201) (Fig. 5g-i).
Applicant further argues that Wilson does not disclose an adhesive is arranged on at least a first surface of the medical implant since it appears to be an adhesive sandwiched between a mesh and a barrier of a prosthesis.
The examiner disagrees, the claim is reciting a medical implant that has an adhesive in a pattern on a surface of the implant, it does not differentiate a medical implant that has an adhesive between two surfaces with one that does not.
Furthermore, it appears to the examiner that Wilson teaches a medical implant (300) (Fig. 3b-c), comprising an adhesive (345, 346) (Fig. 3b-c and [0096]), wherein the adhesive is arranged on at least a first surface (Fig. 3b-c) of the medical implant and formed in a pattern (Fig. 3b-c and [0096]); hence the rejection was maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art appears to teach the claimed limitations.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771