Election/Restrictions
Applicant's reply to the Restriction Requirement, dated July 20, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has elected, without traverse, Group I, claims 1, 4, 7-8, 15, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 34, 41-42 and 51, drawn to methods for treating cancer, IDO1 as the species of first immune checkpoint polypeptide, PD-L1 as the species of second immune checkpoint polypeptide, an anti-PD-1 antibody as the species of immune checkpoint inhibitor, administering the IDO1 polypeptide and the PD-L1 polypeptide as a first composition and the anti-PD-1 antibody as a second composition, and metastatic melanoma as the species of cancer.
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 15, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 34-36, 41-44, 47-49 and 51 are pending in the application. Claims 35-36, 43-44, and 47-49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 20, 2026.
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 15, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 34, 41-42 and 51 are therefore under examination before the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 15, 21, 26-27, 31, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clinical Trial NCT03047928 (version V4 (2018-10-30), retrieved from the Internet at https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03047928?tab=history&a=4#version-content-panel).
Clinical Trial NCT03047928 teaches a method of treating metastatic melanoma, comprising administering the anti-PD-1 antibody nivolumab and a peptide vaccine consisting of programmed death ligand 1 (PD-L1) and Indoleamine 2,3-dioxygenase (IDO) peptides (page 6, brief summary), which is pertinent to claims 1, 7-8, 15, 21, 27, and 31.
Clinical Trial NCT03047928 further teaches that the patient may be anti PD-1/PD-L1 naïve (page 11), which is pertinent to claim 4.
Clinical Trial NCT03047928 further teaches that the PD-L1 peptide and IDO peptides are administered as a vaccine (i.e., a first composition), and nivolumab is administered separately (i.e., as a second composition) (pages 8-9), which is pertinent to claim 21.
Clinical Trial NCT03047928 further teaches that this method may result in progression-free treatment for up to 24 months (i.e., 2 years) (page 10), which is pertinent to claims 26 and 51.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 34, and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinical Trial NCT03047928 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gambichler (Br J Dermatol. 2020 May;182(5):1214-1220).
The teachings of Clinical Trial NCT03047928 have been discussed supra. However, Clinical Trial NCT03047928 does not teach an immune profile.
Gambichler teaches that the frequency of CD4+ regulator T cells significantly decreases after the first cycle of immunotherapy with nivolumab, and this decrease is associated with better clinical outcomes in patients with melanoma (page 1214: "Results").
Gambichler further teaches that the cell populations are determined by FACS sorting on peripheral blood (page 1215: "Blood cells and flow cytometry for lymphocyte subsets").
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Clinical Trial NCT03047928 and Gambichler to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since both Clinical Trial NCT03047928 and Gambichler are concerned with cancer immunotherapy for melanoma. As Clinical Trial NCT03047928 teaches, methods of treating metastatic melanoma with combinations of nivolumab and PD-L1/IDO peptide vaccines were known in the art. Gambichler teaches that decreases in CD4+ Tregs are indicative of responsiveness to nivolumab in patients with melanoma. One of ordinary skill would therefore be motivated to perform the immune profiling of Gambichler in order to select suitable patients for the method of Clinical Trial NCT03047928. Each component would perform its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more that predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 15, 21, 26-27, 30-31, 34, 41-42 and 51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,669,078 in view of Clinical Trial NCT03047928 and Gambichler.
The '078 patent claims a method of treating cancer, comprising administering a PD-L1 polypeptide (claim 11).
However, the '078 patent does not claim a second polypeptide or an immune checkpoint inhibitor.
Clinical Trial NCT03047928 teaches a method of treating metastatic melanoma, comprising administering the anti-PD-1 antibody nivolumab and a peptide vaccine consisting of programmed death ligand 1 (PD-L1) and Indoleamine 2,3-dioxygenase (IDO) peptides (page 6, brief summary), which is pertinent to claims 1, 7-8, 15, 21, 27, and 31.
Clinical Trial NCT03047928 further teaches that the patient may be anti PD-1/PD-L1 naïve (page 11), which is pertinent to claim 4.
Clinical Trial NCT03047928 further teaches that the PD-L1 peptide and IDO peptides are administered as a vaccine (i.e., a first composition), and nivolumab is administered separately (i.e., as a second composition) (pages 8-9), which is pertinent to claim 21.
Clinical Trial NCT03047928 further teaches that this method may result in progression-free treatment for up to 24 months (i.e., 2 years) (page 10), which is pertinent to claims 26 and 51.
Gambichler teaches that the frequency of CD4+ regulator T cells significantly decreases after the first cycle of immunotherapy with nivolumab, and this decrease is associated with better clinical outcomes in patients with melanoma (page 1214: "Results").
Gambichler further teaches that the cell populations are determined by FACS sorting on peripheral blood (page 1215: "Blood cells and flow cytometry for lymphocyte subsets").
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the claims of the '078 patent teachings of Clinical Trial NCT03047928 and Gambichler to arrive at the claimed invention. As Clinical Trial NCT03047928 teaches, methods of treating metastatic melanoma with combinations of nivolumab and PD-L1/IDO peptide vaccines were known in the art. One such PD-L1 peptide vaccine is claimed by the '078 patent. Gambichler teaches that decreases in CD4+ Tregs are indicative of responsiveness to nivolumab in patients with melanoma. One of ordinary skill would therefore be motivated to perform the immune profiling of Gambichler in order to select suitable patients for the method of Clinical Trial NCT03047928, and using the peptide of the '078 patent. Each component would perform its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more that predictable results.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642