DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 09/04/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 12, 15, 19-20, 23, 26-27, and 30 have been amended and claims 2-3, 5-7, 10-11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24-25 and 28-29 were previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/04/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (US-20200052853-A1).
Regarding the independent claims 1, 12, 23, and 27, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Regarding all dependent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below. The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. (US-20200336340 A1) in view of Sun et al. (CN-110324124 B), please refer to the attached English language translation version, and further in view of Qin et al. (US-20200052853-A1), here in referred to as Qin2.
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Qin teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, the figure describes an apparatus for wireless communications at a UE. [0007] states “the method includes: receiving, by user equipment UE, SRS resource configuration information sent by a base station” that implies the UE and BS are communicated wirelessly, [0038], lines 1-12), comprising: at least one processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to(as shown in Fig. 5, the UE may include a processor to control the transceiver and execute the programs that stored in memory to perform the method functions. [0019] states “The processor is configured to control the transceiver to send and receive a signal, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke, from the memory, and run the computer program, to enable the terminal device to perform the method,” [0025]): receive, from a base station, signaling indicating an indirect assignment of one or more slots for a plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets (Fig. 2 and [0007] states “The method includes: receiving, by user equipment UE, SRS resource configuration information sent by a base station; receiving, by the UE, downlink control information downlink control information (DCI) sent by the base station; and sending, by the UE, an SRS in a determined slot and symbol, where the determined symbol is determined by the UE based on the SRS resource configuration information.” abstract, lines 8-11, [0010], lines 12-16, [0012], [0090] describe that the UE may receive signaling from the BS, which can include configuration information that specified the SRS resources sets and their associated functions in addition to parameters that help the UE flexibility determine the slots and symbols for transmitting the SRS based on the resource configuration, [0084], lines 7-10, [0129], lines 7-10); determine that a first slot of the one or more slots is available for the indirect assignment for at least a first sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets (Abstract, lines 4-7, [0007], lines 9-13, [0127], lines 1-3, based on the receiving the SRS resource configuration information and DCI from the BS, the UE determines the slot and symbol for transmitting the SRS, the determination includes evaluate whether a specific slot is available for the SRS set, as stated in [0007] “the UE may determine, based on the SRS resource configuration, the symbol for sending the SRS, and may further determine the slot for sending the SRS, thereby resolving a problem of when to transmit the SRS.” and [0012] states “the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information used to indicate an SRS resource set, the SRS resource set includes one or more SRS resources” that explain the determining the availability of the slot of the one or more slots for the indirect assignment for sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets, [0010], lines 1-4) based at least in part on first characteristics of the first sounding reference signal resource set, second characteristics of the first slot (Table 2 and [0007] lines 9-13 states “the UE may determine, based on the SRS resource configuration, the symbol for sending the SRS, and may further determine the slot for sending the SRS, thereby resolving a problem of when to transmit the SRS. “ that implies the UE uses the characteristics information of the SRS resource set and the slot, as shown in Table 2, and as stated in [0011] “the SRS resource configuration information includes information used to indicate the symbol for transmitting the SRS, the information used to indicate the symbol for transmitting the SRS is used to indicate content including a location of a start symbol S of a resource, in one slot, for transmitting the SRS, a quantity N of symbols of the resource for transmitting the SRS, and a repetition factor r of the resource for transmitting the SRS“. Table 3n-Table 7n, [0079], lines 8-11, and [0128], lines 1-7, describe the determination is based on first the characteristics of the SRS resource set which include, characteristics of the first slot, such as slot timing values (k), slot aggregation(X), configured values (ΔDL, ΔUL),can be used by the UE combining with the first characteristics to determine whether the slot is suitable for transmitting SRS. [0009], describes the slot timing, [0103] 12-15 recites the number of slots aggregation for the transmission and [0118] illustrates the symbol availability within the slot, these paragraphs describe the characteristics that combined the SRS resource configuration information with appropriate slot for transmission, as described in [0011]) , wherein the second characteristics of the first slot comprise a quantity of symbols of the first slot ([0015] states “the SRS resource configuration information includes information used to indicate a symbol for transmitting the SRS, the information used to indicate the symbol for transmitting the SRS is used to indicate content including a location of a start symbol S of a resource, in one slot, for transmitting the SRS, a quantity N of symbols of the resource for transmitting the SRS, and a repetition factor r of the resource for transmitting the SRS, and any two of S, N, or r are jointly encoded, or S, N, and r are jointly encoded “ that means the characteristics of the slot comprise a quantity of symbols of that slot. [0083], lines 7-12, [0074], lines 11-15, Table 3n, [0060], lines 4-6 and Table 2, the UE may obtain the quantity of symbols of the SRS resource based on the DSRS and Table 3n, hence, the second characteristics of the slot comprise the quantity of symbols (N), which is used to determine how the SRS transmission fits within slots allocated resources, [0007], lines 9-13; and communicate with the base station in the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment ([0027] states “The UE sends the SRS in the determined slot and symbol, where the determined symbol is determined by the UE based on the SRS resource configuration information “ [0039], and [0126]-[0128] describe that the he UE transmits the SRS in the determined slot and symbol, and when the UE identified the first slot as available then it proceeds to transmit the SRS in that slot to the BS as shown in Fig. 2).
Qin fails to teach and a guard period in the first slot , and wherein the first slot is determined to be available for the indirect assignment based at least in part on the quantity of symbols of the first slot being greater than or equal to a quantity of symbols associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set and the guard period.
However, Sun teaches and maintaining a guard period in the first slot (Page 2, paragraph 5 states “when the terminal antenna is switched and transmitted, the different SRS resources in one SRS resource set need to reserve at least 15us of antenna switching time delay as protection interval the minimum interval defined as shown in Table 1”, see attached translated of Table 1, that implies specified the a guard period (protection interval) should be maintained when the terminal (UE) antenna is switched for transmission, where Table 1 shows the minimum guard is defined based on subcarrier bandwidth, which also confirms the ability of the slot to accommodate the required SRS resource set depends on both the required protection period and number SRS resources. Page 2, paragraphs 3- 5 and Figs. 3-5 describe the guard interval ties to the specific SRS resource set being transmitted, the configurations example for antennas switching which explicitly mention the SRS resources in a resource set are sent on different symbols and the guard interval is reserved between these symbols to ensure proper transmission. See also the attached translated figures 3-5 and Example 2, Page 7 which describes how the SRS is splinted across two consecutive slots to accommodate the delay of the antenna switching. That also confirms , due to the need of guard period, the SRS resource set is split across two consecutive slots where the guard period limited in how many SRS resource set can be sent in each slot (e.g., n+4 and n+5, as also described in Page 10 Para. 1 and Page 7 Para. 5), and wherein the first slot is determined to be available for the indirect assignment based at least in part on the quantity of symbols of the first slot being greater than or equal to a quantity of symbols associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set and the guard period ( claim 2 states “obtaining the number A of the most transmission SRS resource in the time slot n + k, wherein A is an integer greater than or equal to1; transmitting the B SRS resource in the SRS resource set associated with the target non-periodic SRS triggering state in the time slot n + k, wherein B is an integer greater than or equal to 1, B is less than or equal to A, and B is less than or equal to the number of SRS resources in the set of SRS resources.” and Page 6 Para. 4 states “Specifically, the step 102 comprises: obtaining the number A of the most transmission SRS resource in the time slot n + k, wherein A is an integer greater than or equal to 1; the number of the most transmission SRS resource in the time slot n + k is determined by the time slot format and the network side configuration, the time slot format can be configured by the network device through high layer signaling or special signaling (e.g., radio resource control RRC signaling), see also the example provided in Page 6 Para. 7 that states “For example, the SRS resource set associated with the target non-periodic SRS triggering state comprises 6 SRS resources, the number A of the most transmission SRS resource in the time slot n + k is 3, then in the time slot n + k transmission with the target non-periodic SRS triggering state associated with the SRS resource set in the 3 SRS resource set (i.e., B is equal to 3)” see also Page 2, paragraphs 3- 5 and Figs. 3-5 . That implies if the number of SRS resources of the resources set is greater than A, then the only A will be transmitted, which means the slot is only considered for full assignment when the number of available symbols (after guard period) is greater or equal to the required number of the SRS resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin to incorporate the teachings of Sun (in analogous art) by adding determine that the first slot is available for the indirect assignment based at least in part on maintaining a guard period in the first slot the guard period associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set and based at least in part on a set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal to ensure the transmission of the SRS resources within the resource set is seamless and avoid conflicts or failures during antenna switching (Sun, Page 9, paragraph 6).
Qin and Sun fail to teach wherein the guard period is between the first sounding reference signal resource set and a second sounding reference signal resource set.
However, Qin2 teaches wherein the guard period is between the first sounding reference signal resource set and a second sounding reference signal resource set ([0028]-[0029] states that the value of Y is quantized value of a guard period between resource groups and a time interval between two reference signal resource groups is specified to avoid a problem that signal quality of some symbols may deteriorate due to a very short time domain distance between different signals. [0059] explicitly discloses “Y may be understood as a quantized value of a guard period between resource groups. In this embodiment of this application, a time interval between two reference signal resource groups is specified, so as to avoid a problem that signal quality of some symbols may deteriorate due to a very short time domain distance between different signals. “see also [0075], [0251]-[0252] that confirm guard period can be between two different SRS resources sets ,such as first and second SRS resources sets.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Qin2 (in analogous art) by adding wherein the guard period is between the first sounding reference signal resource set and a second sounding reference signal resource set to ensure improve the signal quality and the performance as having suitable time period for antenna switching from the first set of SRS resources to a different antenna group used by the second set (Qin2, [0029], [0230]).
Regarding claim 2 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions to communicate with the base station in the first slot are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to ([0007] states “receiving, by user equipment UE, SRS resource configuration information sent by a base station; receiving, by the UE, downlink control information downlink control information (DCI) sent by the base station; and sending, by the UE, an SRS in a determined slot and symbol, where the determined symbol is determined by the UE based on the SRS resource configuration information. : that implies the UE can communicate with the BS in specific slot based on the instructions that ae provided through DCI. [0020], [0021], lines 10-13, [0142], the processor in the UE and BS as shown in Fig. 5-6, configured to control the transceiver (send and receive signals regardless the slot number), invoke the computer program (instructions) from the memory so that the apparatus performs an SRS transmission method as required): transmit, in the first slot, a first sounding reference signal in the first sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the signaling ([0027] states “The UE sends the SRS in the determined slot and symbol, where the determined symbol is determined by the UE based on the SRS resource configuration information”, [0126], [0127], that indicate upon determine the slot and the symbol based on the SRS resource configuration information, which includes details about the SRS resource set, the UE transmit the SRS in the sounding reference signal resource set).
Regarding claim 3 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 2,
Qin fails to teach wherein the guard period associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set and based at least in part on a set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal.
However, Sun teaches the guard period associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set ( Page 2, paragraphs 3- 5, Figs. 2-3 describe the guard interval ties to the specific SRS resource set being transmitted, the configurations example for antennas switching which explicitly mention the SRS resources in a resource set are sent on different symbols and the guard interval is reserved between these symbols to ensure proper transmission. Page 2, paragraph 5 states “when the terminal antenna is switched and transmitted, the different SRS resources in one SRS resource set need to reserve at least 15us of antenna switching time delay as protection interval the minimum interval defined as shown in Table 1”, see attached Table 1, That implies specified the a guard period (protection interval) should be maintained when the terminal (UE) antenna is switched for transmission, where Table 1 shows the minimum guard is defined based on subcarrier bandwidth. Page 2, paragraphs 3- 5, Figs. 2-3 describe the guard interval ties to the specific SRS resource set being transmitted, the configurations example for antennas switching which explicitly mention the SRS resources in a resource set are sent on different symbols and the guard interval is reserved between these symbols to ensure proper transmission) and based at least in part on a set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal (Page 2, paragraphs 1- 4, specified the configuration of the UE antenna switching transmission based on the UE capability and the SRS port(s) associated with the SRS resource set. Each SRS resource corresponds to specific UE antenna port or port pairs, e.g., IT2R, 2T4R, and 1T4R, where the guard interval is reserved between different SRS resources in the same resource set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Sun (in analogous art) by adding determine that the first slot is available for the indirect assignment based at least in part on maintaining a guard period in the first slot the guard period associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set and based at least in part on a set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal to ensure the transmission of the SRS resources within the resource set is seamless and avoid conflicts or failures during antenna switching (Sun, Page 9, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 2,
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (as shown in Fig. 5, the UE may include a processor to control the transceiver and execute the programs that stored in memory to perform the method functions. [0019] states “The processor is configured to control the transceiver to send and receive a signal, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke, from the memory, and run the computer program, to enable the terminal device to perform the method,” [0025]): transmit the second sounding reference signal in a second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets based at least in part on the signaling ([0027], lines 1-7, [0126], [0127], upon determine the slot and the symbol based on the SRS resource configuration information (signaling), which includes details about the SRS resource set, the UE transmit the SRS in the sounding reference signal resource set. [0091] and claim 8, SRSs are sent on SRS resources in different groups by using different antennas or antenna groups, and the different antenna groups are antenna groups including at least one different antenna).
Regarding claim 5 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 4.
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (as shown in Fig. 5, the UE may include a processor to control the transceiver and execute the programs that stored in memory to perform the method functions. [0019] states “The processor is configured to control the transceiver to send and receive a signal, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke, from the memory, and run the computer program, to enable the terminal device to perform the method,” [0025]):
Qin fails to teach maintain the guard period between the first sounding reference signal resource set and the second sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the signaling, a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, and a second set of ports associated with the second sounding reference signal.
However, Sun teaches maintain the guard period between the first sounding reference signal resource set and the second sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the signaling (Page 2, paragraphs 5 and Table 1, Page 9, paragraphs 8-9, specified the guard interval must be maintained between different SRS resources within one SRS resource set. Which is necessary to for antenna switching delay, as shown in Table 1, the subcarrier bandwidth 15 KHz, the guard interval is 1 symbol and the subcarrier bandwidth 120 KHz, the guard interval is 2 symbol, to ensure a proper transmission and avoid conflict during the transmission of the SRS resource), a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, and a second set of ports associated with the second sounding reference signal (Page 2, paragraphs 2- 4, describe the association of different sets of ports with different SRSs, the first set of ports for the first SRS implied by “each SRS comprises 1 SRS port, each SRS port corresponding to different terminal antenna port” , and the second set of ports for the second SRS indicated by “when the terminal uses the 2T4R antenna switching transmission, high layer signaling configured 1 SRS resource set containing 2 SRS resources, 2 SRS resources are transmitted on different symbols, each SRS resource comprises 1 SRS port pair, each SRS port pair corresponding to different terminal antenna port pair.” Paragraph 4 also confirms that the different SRS resources are associated with distinct sets of ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Sun (in analogous art) by adding maintain a guard period between the first sounding reference signal resource set and the second sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the signaling, a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, and a second set of ports associated with the second sounding reference signal to ensure the transmission of the SRS resources within the resource set is seamless and avoid conflicts or failures during antenna switching (Sun, Page 9, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 4,
Qin further teaches wherein the second sounding reference signal in the second sounding reference signal resource set is transmitted in the first slot or a second slot of the one or more slots ([0104] and [0117] describes how the UE determine the slot and symbol for the SRS transmitting based on the received of the configuration information. [0100]-[0101] state “[0100] S203. The UE determines, based on the received SRS resource configuration information, a slot and symbol for sending an SRS. [0101] a slot in which the UE sends the SRS is an (n+k).sup.th slot” which implies the transmission may occur on the first, second, or any slot based on the configuration, as shown in Fig. 2, [0133], describe the slot for SRS transmission is not fixed, the flexibility to transmit the SRS in different slots within the allocated frame or in slot aggregation (multiple slots to be allocated for SRS transmission).
Regarding claim 7 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (as shown in Fig. 5, the UE may include a processor to control the transceiver and execute the programs that stored in memory to perform the method functions. [0019] states “The processor is configured to control the transceiver to send and receive a signal, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke, from the memory, and run the computer program, to enable the terminal device to perform the method,” [0025]) to: determine the quantity of symbols in the first slot ([0067], lines 1-7, [0047], claim 6, lines 5-9, [0027] describe that the UE determines the quantity of symbols in the first slot (N) based on the SRS resource configuration information), the quantity of symbols comprising uplink symbols, flexible symbols, or both ([0011], lines 1-10, [0047], [0106], [0113], and Tables 1 and 7, describe the flexibility in determining the slot and the symbols for SRS transmission as uplink symbols or others avoiding the conflict with other uplink transmission, which depending on the configuration and the availability of resources).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 7,
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (as shown in Fig. 5, the UE may include a processor to control the transceiver and execute the programs that stored in memory to perform the method functions. [0019] states “The processor is configured to control the transceiver to send and receive a signal, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke, from the memory, and run the computer program, to enable the terminal device to perform the method,” [0025]) to: suppress transmitting, in the first slot, a first sounding reference signal in the first sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the quantity of symbols ([0115] and [0128], lines 1-7, “If a sum of a quantity of symbols for the SRS and a quantity of symbols for the PUCCH is greater than a quantity of symbols in a slot, the UE does not transmit the SRS”, that implies suppress transmitting, in the slot, based on the quantity of symbols to ensure the SRS transmission adheres to the constraints of the available resources),
Qin fails to teach a guard period associated with the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets.
However, Sun teaches a guard period associated with the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets (Claim 14, page 18, describes the apparatus suppress (stop) the transmission based on the guard, when there is a collision between the time-domine occupied symbols of different SRS resource set, the apparatus selects a target SRS resource set for transmission and suppresses the transmission the other conflicting SRS resource sets in the target time slot).
the second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets, a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, a second set of ports associated with a second sounding reference signal in the second sounding reference signal resource set, or any combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Sun (in analogous art) by adding suppress transmitting a second sounding reference signal in a second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets under certain conditions to ensure the transmission of the SRS resources within the resource set is seamless and avoid conflicts or failures during antenna switching (Sun, Page 9, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 7,
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (as shown in Fig. 5, the UE may include a processor to control the transceiver and execute the programs that stored in memory to perform the method functions. [0019] states “The processor is configured to control the transceiver to send and receive a signal, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke, from the memory, and run the computer program, to enable the terminal device to perform the method,” [0025]) to: transmit, in the first slot, a first sounding reference signal in the first sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the quantity of symbols ([0027], lines 7-18, and [0128], lines 1-7, the SRS configuration information includes details about the quantity N of symbols, the repetition factor r , and location of the start symbol S, these parameters are jointly encoded and used to determine whether they meet a constraint relationship for transmitting the SRS. If the quantity N of symbols in the SRS configuration meets the constants, the apparatus transmit the SRS in the determined slot and symbol, as confirmed in [0011] “the SRS resource configuration information includes information used to indicate the symbol for transmitting the SRS, the information used to indicate the symbol for transmitting the SRS is used to indicate content including a location of a start symbol S of a resource, in one slot, for transmitting the SRS, a quantity N of symbols of the resource for transmitting the SRS, and a repetition factor r of the resource for transmitting the SRS, and any two of S, N, or r are jointly encoded, or S. N, and r are jointly encoded. Joint encoding performed on any two or three of S, N. and r meets a specific constraint relationship”), the first characteristics of the first sounding reference signal resource set (Table 3n-Table 7n, [0079], lines 8-11, [0128], lines 1-7, the determination is based on first the characteristics of the SRS resource set which includes, [0047]-[0050], location of the start symbol (S) of the resource in one slot, quantity of symbols (N) and repetition factor (r) and then jointly encoded and they must satisfy predefined constraints, [0076], lines 15-19, [0081], [0067], 4-5, if these characteristics of the SRS resource set do not align the available resources in the slot, the apparatus may suppress the transmission), the second characteristics of the first slot, third characteristics of the signaling, or any combination thereof;
and suppress transmitting the second sounding reference signal in a second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets ([0080], lines 6-11, [0125], [0118], [0104], lines 20-25, illustrate the possibility reasons of suppressing the transmission of the SRS in SRS resource set under certain conditions, such as constraint violation, resource conflicts, priority management and capability limitations) based at least in part on the quantity of symbols ([0115] and [0128], lines 1-7, “If a sum of a quantity of symbols for the SRS and a quantity of symbols for the PUCCH is greater than a quantity of symbols in a slot, the UE does not transmit the SRS” , to ensure the SRS transmission adheres to the constraints of the available resources), the first characteristics of the first sounding reference signal resource set (Table 3n-Table 7n, [0079], lines 8-11, [0128], lines 1-7, the determination is based on first the characteristics of the SRS resource set which includes, [0047]-[0050], location of the start symbol (S) of the resource in one slot, quantity of symbols (N) and repetition factor (r) and then jointly encoded and they must satisfy predefined constraints, [0076], lines 15-19, [0081], [0067], 4-5, if these characteristics of the SRS resource set do not align the available resources in the slot, the apparatus may suppress the transmission), the second characteristics of the first slot, the third characteristics of the signaling, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 9,
Qin further teaches wherein the third characteristics of the signaling comprise first control signaling associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set ([0096]-[0097], the DCI as a control signaling used to trigger SRS transmission for at least one SRS resource or resource set, the two types of DCI (Uplink and downlink , [0098] and [0116]) which are directly associated with SRS resources such as timing, frequency and symbol parameters [0011] to configure and trigger SRS transmission [0007]), a first type of the first control signaling ([0116], the DCI can be the uplink DCI, the DCI may include physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduling information, or the DCI includes a PUSCH time domain information indication, where k value, which is a value in a candidate set of k values, may be calculated to determine the timing of SRS transmission, [0010], lines 4-8 ), second control signaling associated with the second sounding reference signal resource set, a second type of the second control signaling, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Qin, Sun and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 9,
Qin further teaches wherein the first characteristics of the first sounding reference signal resource set comprise a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal (0084], SRS resource set functions, characteristics, may include at least two of beam management, antenna polling (antenna switching), codebook-based transmission, and non-codebook-based transmission These functions inherently involve the use of ports [0092], the base station indicates at least one SRS resource in the SRS resource set and corresponding codebook information, so that the UE performs PUSCH transmission on a port of the indicated SRS resource by using a codebook determined based on the codebook information, [0091], lines 7-10), an identifier associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set ( [0012], the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information used to indicate an SRS resource set, [0084], the configuration information of the SRS resource set includes an SRS resource set function configuration), a quantity of sounding reference signal resources in the first sounding reference signal resource set (Table 4n, and [0015], explicitly mention that the SRS recourse configuration includes details about the quantity of symbols that can be used for transmission the SRS), a quantity of reference signal symbols in the first sounding reference signal resource set, a transmission power associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set, a reference signal codebook associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set, a frequency sounding configuration associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set, or any combination thereof.
As to claims 23-26, see similar rejections to claims 1- 4, respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. (US-20200336340 A1) in view of Sun et al. (CN-110324124 B), in view of Manolakos et al. (US-20190254061 A1), and further in view of Qin et al. (US-20200052853-A1), here in referred to as Qin2.
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Qin teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a base station, comprising (Fig. 1, the figure describes an apparatus for wireless communications at a BS. [0022], lines 1-12 states “The communications apparatus includes that the communications apparatus may be the network device in the foregoing method designs, or may be a chip disposed in a network device): at least one processor; memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 5, [0020], [0022] states “The communications apparatus includes: a memory, configured to store computer-executable program code; a communications interface; and a processor. The processor is coupled to the memory and the communications interface. The program code stored in the memory includes an instruction. When the processor executes the instruction, the communications apparatus is enabled to perform the method performed by the network device”, [0025] as shown in Fig. 4 and 6, the BS may include a processor to control the transceiver and execute the programs that stored in memory to perform the method functions): transmit, to a user equipment (UE), signaling indicating an indirect assignment of one or more slots for a plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets (Fig. 2, [0090], [0012], abstract, lines 8-11, [0010], lines 12-16, the UE may receive signaling from the BS, which can include configuration information that specified the SRS resources sets and their associated functions in addition to parameters that help the UE flexibility determine the slots and symbols for transmitting the SRS based on the resource configuration, [0084], lines 7-10, [0129], lines 7-10); determine that a first slot of the one or more slots is available for the indirect assignment for at least a first sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets (Abstract, lines 4-7, [0007], lines 9-13, [0127], lines 1-3, based on the receiving the SRS resource configuration information and DCI from the BS, the UE determines the slot and symbol for transmitting the SRS, the determination includes evaluate whether a specific slot is available for the SRS set, as stated in [0007] “the UE may determine, based on the SRS resource configuration, the symbol for sending the SRS, and may further determine the slot for sending the SRS, thereby resolving a problem of when to transmit the SRS.” and [0012] states “the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information used to indicate an SRS resource set, the SRS resource set includes one or more SRS resources” that explain the determining the availability of the slot of the one or more slots for the indirect assignment for sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets, [0010], lines 1-4) based at least in part on first characteristics of the first sounding reference signal resource set, second characteristics of the first slot (Table 2 and [0007] lines 9-13 states “the UE may determine, based on the SRS resource configuration, the symbol for sending the SRS, and may further determine the slot for sending the SRS, thereby resolving a problem of when to transmit the SRS. “ that implies the UE uses the characteristics information of the SRS resource set and the slot, as shown in Table 2, and as stated in [0011] “the SRS resource configuration information includes information used to indicate the symbol for transmitting the SRS, the information used to indicate the symbol for transmitting the SRS is used to indicate content including a location of a start symbol S of a resource, in one slot, for transmitting the SRS, a quantity N of symbols of the resource for transmitting the SRS, and a repetition factor r of the resource for transmitting the SRS“. Table 3n-Table 7n, [0079], lines 8-11, and [0128], lines 1-7, describe the determination is based on first the characteristics of the SRS resource set which include, characteristics of the first slot, such as slot timing values (k), slot aggregation(X), configured values (ΔDL, ΔUL),can be used by the UE combining with the first characteristics to determine whether the slot is suitable for transmitting SRS. [0009], describes the slot timing, [0103] 12-15 recites the number of slots aggregation for the transmission and [0118] illustrates the symbol availability within the slot, these paragraphs describe the characteristics that combined the SRS resource configuration information with appropriate slot for transmission, as described in [0011]) wherein the second characteristics of the first slot comprise a quantity of symbols of the first slot ([0015] states “the SRS resource configuration information includes information used to indicate a symbol for transmitting the SRS, the information used to indicate the symbol for transmitting the SRS is used to indicate content including a location of a start symbol S of a resource, in one slot, for transmitting the SRS, a quantity N of symbols of the resource for transmitting the SRS, and a repetition factor r of the resource for transmitting the SRS, and any two of S, N, or r are jointly encoded, or S, N, and r are jointly encoded “ that means the characteristics of the slot comprise a quantity of symbols of that slot. [0083], lines 7-12, [0074], lines 11-15, Table 3n, [0060], lines 4-6 and Table 2, the UE may obtain the quantity of symbols of the SRS resource based on the DSRS and Table 3n, hence, the second characteristics of the slot comprise the quantity of symbols (N), which is used to determine how the SRS transmission fits within slots allocated resources, [0007], lines 9-13);
Qin fails to teach and a guard period in the first slot , and wherein the first slot is determined to be available for the indirect assignment based at least in part on the quantity of symbols of the first slot being greater than or equal to a quantity of symbols associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set and the guard period.
However, Sun teaches and maintaining a guard period in the first slot (Page 2, paragraph 5 states “when the terminal antenna is switched and transmitted, the different SRS resources in one SRS resource set need to reserve at least 15us of antenna switching time delay as protection interval the minimum interval defined as shown in Table 1”, see attached Table 1, that implies specified the a guard period (protection interval) should be maintained when the terminal (UE) antenna is switched for transmission, where Table 1 shows the minimum guard is defined based on subcarrier bandwidth, which also confirms the ability of the slot to accommodate the required SRS resource set depends on both the required protection period and number SRS resources. Page 2, paragraphs 3- 5 and Figs. 3-5 describe the guard interval ties to the specific SRS resource set being transmitted, the configurations example for antennas switching which explicitly mention the SRS resources in a resource set are sent on different symbols and the guard interval is reserved between these symbols to ensure proper transmission. See also the translated figures 3-5 and Example 2, Page 7 which describes how the SRS is splinted across two consecutive slots to accommodate the delay of the antenna switching. That also confirms , due to the need of guard period, the SRS resource set is split across two consecutive slots where the guard period limited in how many SRS resource set can be sent in each slot (e.g., n+4 and n+5, as also described in Page 10 Para. 1 and Page 7 Para. 5), and wherein the first slot is determined to be available for the indirect assignment based at least in part on the quantity of symbols of the first slot being greater than or equal to a quantity of symbols associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set and the guard period ( claim 2 states “obtaining the number A of the most transmission SRS resource in the time slot n + k, wherein A is an integer greater than or equal to1; transmitting the B SRS resource in the SRS resource set associated with the target non-periodic SRS triggering state in the time slot n + k, wherein B is an integer greater than or equal to 1, B is less than or equal to A, and B is less than or equal to the number of SRS resources in the set of SRS resources.” and Page 6 Para. 4 states “Specifically, the step 102 comprises: obtaining the number A of the most transmission SRS resource in the time slot n + k, wherein A is an integer greater than or equal to 1; the number of the most transmission SRS resource in the time slot n + k is determined by the time slot format and the network side configuration, the time slot format can be configured by the network device through high layer signaling or special signaling (e.g., radio resource control RRC signaling), see also the example provided in Page 6 Para. 7 that states “For example, the SRS resource set associated with the target non-periodic SRS triggering state comprises 6 SRS resources, the number A of the most transmission SRS resource in the time slot n + k is 3, then in the time slot n + k transmission with the target non-periodic SRS triggering state associated with the SRS resource set in the 3 SRS resource set (i.e., B is equal to 3)” see also Page 2, paragraphs 3- 5 and Figs. 3-5. That implies if the number of SRS resources of the resources set is greater than A, then the only A will be transmitted, which means the slot is only considered for full assignment when the number of available symbols (after guard period) is greater or equal to the required number of the SRS resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin to incorporate the teachings of Sun (in analogous art) by adding determine that the first slot is available for the indirect assignment based at least in part on maintaining a guard period in the first slot the guard period associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set and based at least in part on a set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal to ensure the transmission of the SRS resources within the resource set is seamless and avoid conflicts or failures during antenna switching (Sun, Page 9, paragraph 6).
Qin, and Sun do not explicitly teach monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment.
However, Manolakos teaches monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment ([0007], lines 9-11, [0027], lines3-5, [0146], lines 14-18, the BS can monitor SRS resources in the first slot, [0177], if the offset is zero, the BS expects the UE to transmit the SRS in the first slot and monitors the corresponding SRS resources, [0164], Fig. 6 (step 635) and Fig. 20 (step 2020, explicitly illustrate the BS can monitor the signaling from the UE in the first slot when it is determined to be the appropriate slot for the indirect assignment [0288], lines 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by adding monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment to perform channel estimation where the base station may use the channel estimate for identifying whether a particular frequency band is experiencing high levels of interference and/or noise, and make frequency dependent scheduling determinations based on one or more determined channel estimates (Manolakos, [0004], lines 5-13).
Qin, Sun and Manolakos fail to teach wherein the guard period is between the first sounding reference signal resource set and a second sounding reference signal resource set.
However, Qin2 teaches wherein the guard period is between the first sounding reference signal resource set and a second sounding reference signal resource set ([0028]-[0029] states that the value of Y is quantized value of a guard period between resource groups and a time interval between two reference signal resource groups is specified to avoid a problem that signal quality of some symbols may deteriorate due to a very short time domain distance between different signals. [0059] explicitly discloses “Y may be understood as a quantized value of a guard period between resource groups. In this embodiment of this application, a time interval between two reference signal resource groups is specified, so as to avoid a problem that signal quality of some symbols may deteriorate due to a very short time domain distance between different signals. “see also [0075], [0251]-[0252] that confirm guard period can be between two different SRS resources sets ,such as first and second SRS resources sets.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun in view of Manolakos to incorporate the teachings of Qin2 (in analogous art) by adding wherein the guard period is between the first sounding reference signal resource set and a second sounding reference signal resource set to ensure improve the signal quality and the performance as having suitable time period for antenna switching from the first set of SRS resources to a different antenna group used by the second set (Qin2, [0029], [0230]).
Regarding claim 13 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 12.
Qin does not teach, but Manolakos teaches wherein the instructions to monitor for the signaling from the UE in the at least the portion of the first slot are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus ([0072], lines 3-13, Figs. 12-15 describe the monitoring components (including a processor and memory [0257]), the processor may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions, which are responsible to observe the SRS resource of the determined transmission time interval TTI, which can include a portion of the first slot, [0288]) to: monitor, in the first slot, for a first sounding reference signal in the first sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the signaling ([0146], line 14-16, [0145], lines 17-2, [0096], lines 8-13, [0163], lines 7-10, the BS monitors , in the first slot, for the a first SRS in the SRS resources based on the signaling from the UE such as DCI, the time line examples (Figs 4-5), shows the scenario where the BS monitor the SRS resource in the first slot which depending on the offset information and UE’s capability in the processing [0100, lines 21-25, and [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by adding monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment to perform channel estimation where the base station may use the channel estimate for identifying whether a particular frequency band is experiencing high levels of interference and/or noise, and make frequency dependent scheduling determinations based on one or more determined channel estimates (Manolakos, [0004], lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 14 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 13.
Qin fails to teach, but Manolakos teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus ([0072], lines 3-13, Figs. 12-15 describe the monitoring components (including a processor and memory [0257]), the memory controller may be integrated into processor . Processor may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting reference signal transmission and triggering)) to: suppress monitoring for the signaling from the UE in the guard period in the first slot based at least in part on the signaling ([0250], lines 8-14, Figs. 3 and 5, [0163], 7-10, [0100], lines 21-25, emphasize the BS focuses monitoring on the configuration resources based on the signaling from the UE , as shown in these figures as a portion of slot where no uplink or downlink transmission occur, since the BS configured to monitor only the SRS resource set, it means that the BS does not monitor the guard or other unused portion of slot) and a set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal ([0068], Figs. 3 and 5, [0153], the BS monitors a specific symbol periods and ports that defined for the SRS resource, the SRS resource is associated with a set of ports, the SRS resource may span 1, 2, or 4 symbols and is associated with a set of ports and the BS monitor these ports during the configured SRS resource periods. The guard period is not associated with these ports, further supporting the BS does not monitor the guard period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by adding monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment to perform channel estimation where the base station may use the channel estimate for identifying whether a particular frequency band is experiencing high levels of interference and/or noise, and make frequency dependent scheduling determinations based on one or more determined channel estimates (Manolakos, [0004], lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 13.
Qin does not teach, but Manolakos teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus ([0072], lines 3-13, Figs. 12-15 describe the monitoring components (including a processor and memory [0257]), the memory controller may be integrated into processor . Processor may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting reference signal transmission and triggering)) to: monitor for a second sounding reference signal in the second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets based at least in part on the signaling (Abstract, lines 13-15, [0046], Figs. 4-6 and 20, [0159], [0175], lines 13-16, [0249], the BS monitor the second SRS in a second SRS resource sets based on the signaling such as a grant or configuration information where the signaling determines the timing and location of the SRS transmission and the BS monitor on the specific SRS resource set [0100], lines 20-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by adding monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment to perform channel estimation where the base station may use the channel estimate for identifying whether a particular frequency band is experiencing high levels of interference and/or noise, and make frequency dependent scheduling determinations based on one or more determined channel estimates (Manolakos, [0004], lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 16 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 15.
Qin does not explicitly teach a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, and a second set of ports associated with the second sounding reference signal.
However, Sun teaches a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, and a second set of ports associated with the second sounding reference signal (Page 2, paragraphs 2- 4, describe the association of different sets of ports with different SRSs, the first set of ports for the first SRS implied by “each SRS comprises 1 SRS port, each SRS port corresponding to different terminal antenna port” , and the second set of ports for the second SRS indicated by “when the terminal uses the 2T4R antenna switching transmission, high layer signaling configured 1 SRS resource set containing 2 SRS resources, 2 SRS resources are transmitted on different symbols, each SRS resource comprises 1 SRS port pair, each SRS port pair corresponding to different terminal antenna port pair.” Paragraph 4 also confirms that the different SRS resources are associated with distinct sets of ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin to incorporate the teachings of Sun (in analogous art) by adding suppress transmitting a second sounding reference signal in a second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets under certain conditions to ensure the transmission of the SRS resources within the resource set is seamless and avoid conflicts or failures during antenna switching (Sun, Page 9, paragraph 6).
Qin does not teach, but Manolakos teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to ([0072], lines 3-13, Figs. 12-15 describe the monitoring components (including a processor and memory [0257]), the memory controller may be integrated into processor . Processor may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting reference signal transmission and triggering)): suppress monitoring for the signaling from the UE in the guard period between the first sounding reference signal resource set and the second sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the signaling (Figs. 3-4, [0158], as shown the guards period as a specified tome intervals within a slot where no uplink and downlink transmission occur, there are used to avoid interference or to allow for timing adjustments between transmissions, [0167], lines 6-8, where the BS monitors a specific SRS resource for the UE’s transmissions and BS uses signaling to determine the timing of the UE’s SRS transmissions, [0100], line 20-25, for efficient use of resources, [0003], lines 7-9),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by adding monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment to perform channel estimation where the base station may use the channel estimate for identifying whether a particular frequency band is experiencing high levels of interference and/or noise, and make frequency dependent scheduling determinations based on one or more determined channel estimates (Manolakos, [0004], lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 17 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 15.
Qin does not teach, but Manolakos teaches wherein the instructions to monitor for the second sounding reference signal are executable by the at least one processor to cause apparatus to ([0072], lines 3-13, Figs. 12-15 describe the monitoring components (including a processor and memory [0257]), the memory controller may be integrated into processor . Processor may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting reference signal transmission and triggering)): monitor for the second sounding reference signal in the first slot or a second slot of the one or more slots ([0047] and [0178], lines 1-18, the apparatus can monitor the second SRS in the second slot of the slots as determined by the TTI offset relative to the grant, where the second slot is identified based on the offset information , which may indicated a delay or slot index following the first slot that included the grant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by adding monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment to perform channel estimation where the base station may use the channel estimate for identifying whether a particular frequency band is experiencing high levels of interference and/or noise, and make frequency dependent scheduling determinations based on one or more determined channel estimates (Manolakos, [0004], lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 18 (Previously Presented), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 12.
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus ([Fig. 5, [0020], [0022] states “The communications apparatus includes: a memory, configured to store computer-executable program code; a communications interface; and a processor. The processor is coupled to the memory and the communications interface. The program code stored in the memory includes an instruction. When the processor executes the instruction, the communications apparatus is enabled to perform the method performed by the network device”, [0025] as shown in Fig. 4 and 6, the BS may include a processor to control the transceiver and execute the programs that stored in memory to perform the method functions) to: determine the quantity of symbols in the first slot ([0067], lines 1-7, [0047], claim 6, lines 5-9, [0027], the apparatus determines the quantity of symbols in the first slot (N) based on the SRS resource configuration information), the quantity of symbols comprising uplink symbols, flexible symbols, or both ([0011], lines 1-10, [0047], [0106], [0113], and Tables 1 and 7, describe the flexibility in determining the slot and the symbols for SRS transmission as uplink symbols or others avoiding the conflict with other uplink transmission, which depending on the configuration and the availability of resources).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 18.
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus ([0021], lines 10-13, Claim 1, [0100-[0101], the processor of the apparatus executes the instructions that stored in the memory to perform the method functions, [0117], lines 13-15) to:
Qin does not explicitly teach a guard period associated with the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets, a second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets, a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, a second set of ports associated with a second sounding reference signal in the second sounding reference signal resource set, or any combination thereof.
However, Sun teaches a guard period associated with the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets (Claim 14, page 18, describes the apparatus suppress (stop) the transmission based on the guard, when there is a collision between the time-domine occupied symbols of different SRS resource set, the apparatus selects a target SRS resource set for transmission and suppresses the transmission the other conflicting SRS resource sets in the target time slot) the second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets, a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, a second set of ports associated with a second sounding reference signal in the second sounding reference signal resource set, or any combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin to incorporate the teachings of Sun (in analogous art) by adding the first sounding reference signal resource set and the second sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the signaling, a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal, and a second set of ports associated with the second sounding reference signal to ensure the transmission of the SRS resources within the resource set is seamless and avoid conflicts or failures during antenna switching (Sun, Page 9, paragraph 6).
Qin fails to teach suppress monitoring, in the first slot, for a first sounding reference signal in the first sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the quantity of symbols.
However, Manolakos teaches suppress monitoring, in the first slot, for a first sounding reference signal in the first sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the quantity of symbols ([0145], lines 8-20, [0221], Fig. 4, [0218], Fig. 6, [0169], the monitoring based on the quantity of symbols such as, capability information and symbol delay [0221] and [0145] the when the delay exceeded a certain value, the monitoring is suppressed in the first slot and monitoring shifts to the subsequent slot as shown in Fig. 4, the determination of second TTI , [0218] and Fig. 6, the steps 615 and 630, if the first number of symbol period exceeded the available symbols in the first slot, the apparatus suppress the monitoring In the first slot and monitor the SRS resource in the second slot, and also depend on the slot offset and symbol period as stated in [0169] and Fig. 5),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by adding suppress monitoring for the signaling from the UE in a guard period between the first sounding reference signal resource set and the second sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the signaling to perform channel estimation where the base station may use the channel estimate for identifying whether a particular frequency band is experiencing high levels of interference and/or noise, and make frequency dependent scheduling determinations based on one or more determined channel estimates (Manolakos, [0004], lines 5-13 and [0098]).
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 18.
Qin further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus ([0021], lines 10-13, Claim 1, [0100-[0101], the processor of the apparatus executes the instructions that stored in the memory to perform the method functions, [0117], lines 13-15) to:
Qin fails to teach monitor, in the first slot, for a first sounding reference signal in the first sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the quantity of symbols.
However, Manolakos teaches: monitor, in the first slot, for a first sounding reference signal in the first sounding reference signal resource set based at least in part on the quantity of symbols ([0145], lines 8-20, [0221], Fig. 4, [0218], Fig. 6, [0169], the monitoring based on the quantity of symbols such as, capability information and symbol delay [0221] and [0145] the when the delay is less than or equal the difference between the control channel and the SRS resource in the first slot, the BS monitors the SRS in the first slot as shown in Fig. 4, difference 425-a, the determination of second TTI , [0218], [0190] and Fig. 6, the steps 625 and 635, if the UE processing delay allows for transmission SRS resource in the first slot, the monitors the SRS resource in the first slot, and also depend on the earlier available slot and slot offset and symbol period as stated in [0146], lines 12-18, [0163]- [0164] and Fig. 4), the first characteristics of the first sounding reference signal resource set ([0175], lines 7-10, [0100], lines 21-25, the BS monitors the SRS resource based on the configuration, ensuring it aligns with the predefined characteristics of the first SRS resource set, [0164], [0249], the monitoring can be achieved by monitoring component which included in the BS, [0292]), the second characteristics of the first slot, third characteristics of the signaling, or any combination thereof; and
Manolakos further teaches suppress monitoring for a second sounding reference signal in the second sounding reference signal resource set of the plurality of sounding reference signal resource sets based at least in part on the signaling, the quantity of symbols ([0099], lines 7-11, [0292], Fig. 13, the BS included the monitoring component 1340, which can be used to determine whether to monitor or suppress specific SRS resource set, where the signaling can include quantity of symbols [0163], lines 7-10, the SRS resource may be adjacent symbol periods, and may be located in the last symbol or symbols of a slot n. In some examples, SRS resource 415 may span 1 symbol, 2 symbols, or 4 symbols), the first characteristics of the first sounding reference signal resource set, the second characteristics of the first slot, the third characteristics of the signaling, or any combination thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qin in view of Sun in view of Qin2 to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos (in analogous art) by adding monitor for signaling from the UE in at least a portion of the first slot based at least in part on determining that the first slot is indicated for the indirect assignment to perform channel estimation where the base station may use the channel estimate for identifying whether a particular frequency band is experiencing high levels of interference and/or noise, and make frequency dependent scheduling determinations based on one or more determined channel estimates (Manolakos, [0004], lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 21 (Original), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 20.
Qin further teaches wherein the third characteristics of the signaling comprise first control signaling associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set ([0096]-[0097], the DCI as a control signaling used to trigger SRS transmission for at least one SRS resource or resource set, the two types of DCI (Uplink and downlink , [0098] and [0116]) which are directly associated with SRS resources such as timing, frequency and symbol parameters [0011] to configure and trigger SRS transmission [0007]), a first type of the first control signaling ([0116], the DCI can be the uplink DCI, the DCI may include physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduling information, or the DCI includes a PUSCH time domain information indication, where k value, which is a value in a candidate set of k values, may be calculated to determine the timing of SRS transmission, [0010], lines 4-8 ), second control signaling associated with the second sounding reference signal resource set, a second type of the second control signaling, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 22 (Original), Qin, Sun, Manolakos and Qin2 teach the apparatus of claim 20.
Qin further teaches wherein the first characteristics of the first sounding reference signal resource set comprise a first set of ports associated with the first sounding reference signal (0084], SRS resource set functions, characteristics, may include at least two of beam management, antenna polling (antenna switching), codebook-based transmission, and non-codebook-based transmission These functions inherently involve the use of ports [0092], the base station indicates at least one SRS resource in the SRS resource set and corresponding codebook information, so that the UE performs PUSCH transmission on a port of the indicated SRS resource by using a codebook determined based on the codebook information, [0091], lines 7-10), an identifier associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set ( [0012], the SRS resource configuration information includes configuration information used to indicate an SRS resource set, [0084], the configuration information of the SRS resource set includes an SRS resource set function configuration), a quantity of sounding reference signal resources in the first sounding reference signal resource set (Table 4n, and [0015], explicitly mention that the SRS recourse configuration includes details about the quantity of symbols that can be used for transmission the SRS), a quantity of reference signal symbols in the first sounding reference signal resource set, a transmission power associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set, a reference signal codebook associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set, a frequency sounding configuration associated with the first sounding reference signal resource set, or any combination thereof.
As to claims 27-30 see similar rejections to claims 12-15 respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Choi et al. (US-20200366531-A1), Kim et al. (US-20120069794-A1), Chen et al. (US-20180219654-A1), Piao et al. (CN-109923828-B) teach methods to support guard periods for SRS resource sets in wireless communication systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463