DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
Please note that for internal reasons to USPTO, this application has been reassigned.
Receipt of applicant’s remarks and claim amendments filed on 07/01/2026 are acknowledged.
In light of claim amendments, previous 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
However, applicants’ arguments for the previous 103 rejection and nonstatutory double patenting rejections are found not persuasive. Accordingly, the previous rejections are maintained. Please see the examiners response to applicants arguments below.
A new Claim Objection and 112(b) rejection are also made.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ main argument is that applicant respectfully notes that the problem to be solved by the present claims can be stated as that of providing alternative stapled peptides with advantageous binding properties. This problem is solved by the peptides provided in claim 1, which have the position of the hydrocarbon stable closer to the Beclin 1-peptide binding interface, leading to enhanced binding affinity by ~10-30 fold. Thus, as shown by the affinity data in the present application, the peptides of SEQ ID NO..
In Table 2, the position of R8 or S5 is same for all sequences, other than SEQ ID NO:78. There is no comparative data for the same sequence, with varying the positions of R8 and S5. The data shown is nothing but replacing various amino acids with other amino acids in the peptides and its effects on Kd.
As explained in the rejection, Zhao et al. (381) teaches that introducing the hydrocarbon link at a different position as compared to that of the instant application. Zhao et al. (381) further teach that the hydrocarbon stapled peptide of the reference comprises unnatural amino acids at any positions i and i+7, and in the case of positions 197 and 204, these unnatural amino acids are linked by means of hydrocarbons that stabilize the α-helical structure of Beclin-1 (see SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 and [0084]).
Though Zhao et al (381) do not show data, and it does not mean that the properties of peptides of Zhao differ from applicants claimed peptides, since applicants response failed to compare the peptides of Zhao with claimed peptides. In other words, the peptides of Zhao are expected to show similar Kd values, absent evidence to the contrary.
The compared data with SP4 is not relevant, since its sequence differs from the claimed sequence.
Claim Objections/Sequence Compliance
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: 37 CFR 1.821(d) states that where the claims recite a sequence the sequence identifier (SEQ ID NO) must be included. The applicants have provided a sequence listing, but have not included the corresponding sequence identifiers in claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 4, the cited “including a sequence of RLIQELEDVEKNRKV” is not clear. Is this sequence in addition to 191-205 of Beclin 1? Also, it is not clear what is excluded?
Is claimed fifth and twelfth amino acid residues pointing to the fragment of sequence residues from 191-205 of Beclin 1 or Beclin 1-targeting stapled peptide?
There are several “comprises” in the claim language.
Are SEQ ID NO: 21 and 32 part of staple peptide in addition to 191-205 of Beclin 1 or applicants intend to say “select staple peptide is selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO:21 and SEQ ID NO:32”?
Claims 2 and 5 recite R8 residue and S5 residue, though specification defined these, but it would be clearer if claims define these in the claim language. Further, it is not clear where exactly these are located, specifically, with in the 191-205 fragment or outside of this fragment, since in the preamble the product recites term “comprises”.
Therefore, the metes and bounds of claims are not clear and so, claims are rendered indefinite.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 4 are interpreted with the following claim language:
A Beclin 1-targeting stapled peptide comprises a peptide fragment of Beclin 1 and a hydrocarbon staple;
wherein peptide fragment of Beclin 1 has at least 66.7% sequence identical to amino acid residues 191- 205 of Beclin 1 (RLIQELEDVEKNRKV or SEQ ID NO:77);
wherein a fifth amino acid residue and a twelfth amino acid residue of the peptide fragment of Beclin 1 are connected by the hydrocarbon staple to stabilize an a-helical structure of the stapled peptide; and
wherein the peptide fragment of Beclin 1 is selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO.21 and SEQ ID NO.32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180002381 A1, hereinafter Zhao et al. (381).
With regard to claim 1, Zhao et al. (381) teach designed peptide analogs that promote autophagy by specifically targeting the Beclin1-Vps34 complex (see [0003]). More specifically, they disclose a hydrocarbon-stapled polypeptide, wherein the hydrocarbon-stapled polypeptide comprises an amino acid sequence that is at least 85% identical to amino acid residues 191-205 of rat Beclin 1 (SEQ ID NO: 17 of the reference: RLIQELEDVEKNRKV), or amino acids 193-207 of human Beclin 1 (SEQ ID NO: 18 of the reference: RLIQELEDVEKNRKI) (see [0013]), thereby meeting the limitation that the stapled peptide is at least 66.7% identical to the amino acid residues 191-205 of Beclin 1. They further teach that a hydrocarbon staple 13 carbons in length is introduced to link residues 197 and 204 of the stapled peptide based on the 191-205 residues of Beclin 1 (see [0084]). This link is introduced to stabilize the α-helical structure of the Beclin-1 and modulate protein-protein interactions without interfering with binding (see [0098], [0101]), providing a clear motivation to introduce the hydrocarbon connection. For this invention, the α-helical segment corresponding to residues 191-205 within the Beclin 1 coil domain was used and modified by substituting the residues at positions 191, 194, 195, 201 and 205 (see [0084]). Zhao et al. (381) do, however, introduce the hydrocarbon link at a different position as compared to that of the instant application, as the hydrocarbon of their invention links unnatural amino acid positions 197 and 204 as opposed to 195 and 202 (see SEQ ID Nos: 1-12 and [0084]). Zhao et al. (381) further teach that the hydrocarbon stapled peptide of the reference comprises unnatural amino acids at any positions i and i+7, and, as discussed above, in the case of positions 197 and 204, these unnatural amino acids are linked by means of hydrocarbons that stabilize the α-helical structure of Beclin-1 (see SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 and [0084]). In other words, Zhao et al. (381) show that linking unnatural amino acids in positions i and i+7 within the range of positions 191-205, specifically positions 197 and 204, provides benefits in stabilizing the α-helical structure of Beclin 1, and they further suggest substituting unnatural amino acids at any i and i+7 positions within positions 191-205 (see [0084]). This provides a clear motivation to try to link any of the unnatural amino acid positions between 191-205 according to i and i+7 with a reasonable expectation of α-helical stabilization as evidenced by linking unnatural amino acid positions 197 and 204 with hydrocarbons. Given that the embodiments of the invention utilize modified positions of 191-205 of Beclin-1 (see [0084]), there are only eight possible connections/pairs between positions 191-205 that fit the requirement of linking positions i and i+7. Namely, positions 191-198, 192-199, 193-200, and so on through 198-205. Given the beneficial results in stabilizing the α-helical structure of Beclin-1 and the very limited possible positions to link within positions 191-205 following i and i+7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to try to link the fifth and twelfth amino acids in the residues 191-205 with a reasonable expectation of stabilizing the α-helical structure.
With regard to claim 2, Zhao et al. (381) disclose that the hydrocarbon stapled peptide contain (R)-2-amino-2-methyl-9-decenoic acid residues and (S)-2-amino-2-methyl-6-heptenoic acid residues (see SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 in the sequence listing of the reference). Zhao et al. (381) also explicitly teach that the stapled peptide comprises “R8” and “S5” residues (see Stapled peptide (I)).
With regard to claim 4, as discussed above, Zhao et al. (381) teach the hydrocarbon stapled peptide discussed above, and they also teach its integration into a pharmaceutical composition (see [0068]).
With regard to claim 5, as discussed above, Zhao et al. (381) disclose that the hydrocarbon stapled peptide contain (R)-2-amino-2-methyl-9-decenoic acid residues and (S)-2-amino-2-methyl-6-heptenoic acid residues (see SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 in the sequence listing of the reference). Zhao et al. (381) also explicitly teach that the stapled peptide comprises “R8” and “S5” residues (see Stapled peptide (I)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,618,939 B2, hereinafter Zhao et al. (939) in view of US 20180002381 A1, hereinafter Zhao et al. (381).
With regard to claim 1, Zhao et al. (939) claim a hydrocarbon-stapled polypeptide designed to target Beclin 1 selected from the group comprising SEQ ID Nos: 1-12 (see claim 1). Zhao et al. (939) do not, however, explicitly claim which amino acids are connected by the hydrocarbons.
As discussed above, Zhao et al. (381) teach designed peptide analogs that promote autophagy by specifically targeting the Beclin1-Vps34 complex (see [0003]). More specifically, they disclose hydrocarbon-stapled polypeptides (SEQ ID Nos: 1-12), wherein the hydrocarbon-stapled polypeptide comprises an amino acid sequence that is at least 85% identical to amino acid residues 191-205 of rat Beclin 1 (SEQ ID NO: 17 of the reference: RLIQELEDVEKNRKV), or amino acids 193-207 of human Beclin 1 (SEQ ID NO: 18 of the reference: RLIQELEDVEKNRKI) (see [0013]). Here, SEQ ID Nos: 1-12 of Zhao et al. (939) are identical to SEQ ID Nos: 1-12 of Zhao et al. (381), so they similarly meet the limitation of being 85% identical to Beclin 1 (see SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 of Zhao et al. (381) and Zhao et al. (939). Zhao et al. (381) further teach that a hydrocarbon staple 13 carbons in length is introduced to link residues 197 and 204 of the stapled peptide (see [0084]). This link is introduced to stabilize the α-helical structure of the Beclin-1 and modulate protein-protein interactions without interfering with binding (see [0098], [0101]), providing a clear motivation to link the amino acid positions suggested by Zhao et al. (381). For this invention, the α-helical segment corresponding to residues 191-205 within the Beclin 1 coil domain was used and modified by substituting the residues at positions 191, 194, 195, 201 and 205 (see [0084]). Zhao et al. (381) do, however, introduce the hydrocarbon link at a different position as compared to that of the instant application, as the hydrocarbon of their invention link unnatural amino acid positions 197 and 204 as opposed to 195 and 202 (see SEQ ID Nos: 1-12 and [0084]). Zhao et al. (381) further teach that the hydrocarbon stapled peptide of the reference comprises unnatural amino acids at any positions i and i+7, and, as discussed above, in the case of positions 197 and 204, these unnatural amino acids are linked by means of hydrocarbons that stabilize the α-helical structure of Beclin-1 (see SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 and [0084]). In other words, Zhao et al. (381) show that linking unnatural amino acids in positions i and i+7 within the range of positions 191-205, specifically positions 197 and 204, provides benefits in stabilizing the α-helical structure of Beclin 1, and they further suggest substituting unnatural amino acids at any I and i+7 positions within positions 191-205 (see [0084]). This provides a clear motivation to try to link any of the positions between 191-205 according to i and i+7 with a reasonable expectation of α-helical stabilization as evidenced by linking unnatural amino acid positions 197 and 204 with hydrocarbons. Given that the embodiments of the invention utilize modified positions of 191-205 of Beclin-1 (see [0084]), there are only eight possible connections/pairs between positions 191-205 that fit the requirement of linking positions i and i+7. Namely, positions 191-198, 192-199, 193-200, and so on through 198-205. Given the beneficial results in stabilizing the α-helical structure of Beclin-1 and the very limited possible positions to link within positions 191-205 following i and i+7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to try to link the fifth and twelfth amino acids in the residues 191-205 with a reasonable expectation of stabilizing the α-helical structure. In other words, given that Zhao et al. (939) use a hydrocarbon stapled peptide of the exact same sequence identity (SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 of both references), and given that Zhao et al. (381) provide clear motivations to link any residues i and i+7 within 191-205, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to link any of the eight possible connections with a reasonable expectation of stabilization the α-helical structure.
With regard to claim 2, Zhao et al. (939) disclose that the hydrocarbon stapled peptide contain (R)-2-amino-2-methyl-9-decenoic acid residues and (S)-2-amino-2-methyl-6-heptenoic acid residues (see SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 in the sequence listing of the reference).
With regard to claim 4, Zhao et al. (939) claim a pharmaceutical composition comprising the hydrocarbon-stapled polypeptide discussed above (see claim 2).
With regard to claim 5, as discussed above, Zhao et al. (939) disclose that the hydrocarbon stapled peptide contain (R)-2-amino-2-methyl-9-decenoic acid residues and (S)-2-amino-2-methyl-6-heptenoic acid residues (see SEQ ID NOs: 1-12 in the sequence listing of the reference).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658