Election/Restrictions
Claim 35 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (group II, an aerosol generating device), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/27/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the clean out tube of McGrath is not a fixing element because the tube does not prevent the heating module 50 from moving away from the internal support structure. The examiner disagrees. The effect of the fixing element in the claim is not specified and therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is clear that the tube fixes the housing through which passes to the housing’s internal support structure [0113]. In addition, McGrath discloses that the tube, “…is arranged to support and locate the heater arrangement 23 in the chamber 160.” [0087]
The applicant argues that the o-ring 41d is not in contact (and therefore cannot be compressed between) with the housing module and the body and is instead between the body and the clean-out tube (or fixing element). The examiner disagrees. McGrath discloses that the housing module (50) is the entire arrangement including the clean out tube (see figure 7). This results in the o-ring being compressed between the internal support structure and the housing module (because the module includes the end tube).
The applicant argues that claim 18 recites distinct relationships among the housing part, the body, the fixing element, and the elastomeric seal. The examiner disagrees. The fixing element is not claimed as a distinct element and is instead claimed as part of the housing (“fixing the housing part to the body with a fixing element that extends through an attachment opening of the housing part”). Therefore, the fixing element can be considered part of the housing.
The applicant argues that the fixing element in claim 18 is a single element. This is incorrect. The claim is comprising in scope and therefore more than one fixing element is not excluded by the current claim language.
The applicant argues that the screws of McGrath do not penetrate through an opening. The examiner disagrees. As illustrated in figure 13 and 14, the member 15a and 15b have openings (cutaway portions, 16i) and curved cutaway portions for the screws. These are considered to be openings. The term opening is interpreted using the broadest reasonable interpretation to mean an open area and does not mean that it must be a through hole with material all around it.
The applicant argues that the office action does not explain how the threaded connection of Rebensdorf would modifying McGrath. The examiner disagrees. The office action discusses replacing the friction fit attachment using o-rings of McGrath with a threaded connection and o-ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to use the screw fixation and parallel compression of the o-ring disclosed by Rebensdorf to connect the tube and housing. It is notoriously well known that threaded screw connections are alternatives to fiction fit fixation of two parts (friction fit being the method of fixation disclosed by McGrath et al. and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to attach two part together with a o-ring and threads instead of an o-ring and friction fit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-20 and 22-27is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGrath et al. (US 20220192261 A1, with priority to GB1904748.9A).
Regarding claim 18-20, and 22, McGrath et al. disclose positioning a housing module (50, see figures 6 (bottom portion) and 8 below) inside a body of an aerosol generating device and fixing the housing to the body using an end tube (41, i.e. fixing element) that extends through an attachment opening of the housing part (i.e. part 53 or others), and an elastomeric seal (41d, o-ring) is compressed between the side of the housing part (41) and the body (37, figure 6, sides face one another), and the fixing element 41 protrudes through an opening in the elastomeric seal (i.e. the o-ring has a hollow center)[0113].
Regarding claim 22, the seal is compressed by a force (i.e. between two walls) that is perpendicular to the direction that the fixing element extends through the seal.
Regarding claim 24, the o-ring as shown is overmolded over a connection port (tube 41) configured to be connected to an external connector (37).
Regarding claims 25 and 27, the housing part is removably fixed to the body with the at least one fixing element as illustrated and removal would not damage either part.
Regarding claim 18, 23, and 26, McGrath et al. disclose positioning a housing on a body with a fixing element (41 and 73e) and n elastomeric seal (15a, 15b, see figures 10, 12, 13, and 14 below) where the fixing elements extends through an attachment opening of the housing part compressing the seal where the housing surrounds the seal. The fixing elements include tube 41 and screws 43 and the corresponding central and peripheral opening as shown in figures 12-14).
Claim(s) 18 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCoy (US 20010039953 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 34, McCory discloses a housing that partially defines an outer surface of an aerosol generating device (smoke is considered an aerosol). The body (13) has a fixing element (outer surface 7, with threads illustrated) that extends through an attachment opening (12) of the housing part (8). A elastomeric seal, ring 2, is compressed between the fixing element the (7), the body (13), and the housing (8). Attaching the fixing element through an opening in the elastomeric seal (i.e. the seal is a ring and the fixing element passes through the center) forms the device. See figure 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGrath et al. (US 20220192261 A1, with priority to GB1904748.9A) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Rebensdorf (US 20040084055).
Regarding claim 21, McGrath et al. do not disclose that the o-ring is compressed in a direction that is “mainly in a direction parallel to a direction in which the at least one fixing element extends through the attachment opening.” However, it is well-known in the art to use different types of connections. For instance, Rebensdorf discloses a smoking article with a fixing element and an o-ring to seal the connection. The o-ring is arranged on the end surface of one element and is compressed in a longitudinal direction (i.e. parallel to the fixing element extension through the o-ring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing to use the screw fixation and parallel compression of the o-ring disclosed by Rebensdorf to connect the tube and housing. It is notoriously well known that threaded screw connections are alternatives to fiction fit fixation of two parts (friction fit being the method of fixation disclosed by McGrath et al. and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to attach two part together with a o-ring and threads instead of an o-ring and friction fit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747