DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application 18/550,876, filed 09/15/2023, is a 371 National Stage Entry of international patent application PCT/EP2022/057154, filed 03/18/2022, and claims foreign priority to European patent applications EP 21163830.9, EP 21163835.8, and EP 21163833.3, all filed 03/19/2021.
Status of Action/Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 12/4/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-23 are currently pending in this application and are presented for examination on the merits for patentability.
Rejection(s) not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections presently being applied to the instant application.
Note: This is a second non-final office action that is prompted by further consideration of the instant claims and the prior art.
Claim Interpretation
As discussed in the previous office action (9/4/2025), the claims recite “a butyl alcohol polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymer.” This is not a commonly recited name in the prior art, which typically recites such block copolymers as EO/PO block copolymers with a butyl base, as evidenced by “EO/PO Block Copolymers.” Stepan, available online 09/22/2020, accessed via WebArchive.org., https://www.stepan.com/content/dam/stepan-dot-com/webdam/website-product-documents/literature/agricultural-solutions/EOPO_Ag_RnDv2.pdf (p. 2 Toximul block copolymers). The recitation of “butyl alcohol polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymer” will be interpreted as interchangeable with any recitation of a copolymer propyleneoxide-ethyleneoxide (abbreviated as either EO/PO or PO/EO) block copolymer with a butyl or butanol base. Therefore, any recitation of a butyl PO/EO block copolymer will therefore read upon “a butyl alcohol polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymer.” This interpretation finds support in the instant specification which states that the term “butyl alcohol polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymer” is interchangeable with copolymer butanol PO (propylene oxide)/EO (ethylene oxide) (see instant specification p. 4 lines 4-7).
Further, as discussed in the previous office action, the claims (e.g. claim 8) recite that the acrylic graft copolymer comprises a “methyacrylic acid backbone” (emphasis added). This is not a commonly recited name in the prior art, which typically recites such backbones as “methacrylic acid.” For evidence see the abstract of Liang, W. et al. (1999). Langmuir, 16(3), 1306-1310 (cited in PTO-892). Because it appears the term “methyacrylic” is being used to describe a methacrylic backbone on a graft copolymer, any recitation of a “methyacrylic” acid backbone will be interpreted to mean a “methacrylic” acid backbone.
New/Maintained Claim Objections/Rejections
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 recites a “methyacrylic acid backbone” (emphasis added). However, the claim should instead recite “methacrylic acid backbone” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12, 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The specification, while being enabling for protection against a broad spectrum of nematode pests and diseases and for reducing nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant, the specification does not reasonably provide enablement for prevention of nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
To be enabling, the specification of the patent must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Explaining what is meant by “undue experimentation,” the Federal Circuit has stated:
The test is not merely quantitative, since a considerable amount of experimentation is permissible, if it is merely routine, or if the specification in question provides a reasonable amount of guidance with respect to the direction in which the experimentation should proceed to enable the determination of how to practice a desired embodiment of the claimed invention. PPG v. Guardian, 75 F.3d 1558, 1564 (Fed. Cir. 1996).[1]
The factors that may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation are set forth by In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 where the court set forth the eight factors to consider when assessing if a disclosure would have required undue experimentation. Citing Ex parte Formal, 230 USPQ 546 (BdApls 1986) at 547 the court recited eight factors:
1) the quantity of experimentation necessary,
2) the amount of direction or guidance provided,
3) the presence or absence of working examples,
4) the nature of the invention,
5) the state of the prior art,
6) the relative skill of those in the art,
7) the predictability of the art, and
8) the breadth of the claims.
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099, 1108, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons:
The nature of the invention, relative skill level, and breadth of the claims
The instant invention is directed to methods of using an aqueous suspension concentrate composition containing cyclobutrifluram to reduce or prevent nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant (emphasis added).
The complex nature of the claims is greatly exacerbated by the breath of the claims. The claims encompass broad ways that an aqueous suspension concentrate composition containing cyclobutrifluram prevents nematicidal or fungicidal damage to a plant. The relative skill of those in the art is high, that of an MD or PhD.
The state and predictability of the art
The state of the art recognizes that cyclobutrifluram provides broad spectrum control of nematodes and key fungal diseases, particularly soil-borne diseases. As illustrative of the state of the art, the examiner cites Anon.; "Syngenta announces TYMIRIUM technology brand"; 07 May 2020; pp.1-2; URL:https:/Awww.syngenta.com/en/company/media/syngenta-news/year/2020/syngenta-announces-tymirium-tm-technology-brand (cited in IDS).
The lack of significant guidance from the specification or the prior art with regard to preventing nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant makes practicing the scope of the invention unpredictable. Since the instant specification provides no limiting definition of the term “prevention”, the examiner will adopt the broadest reasonable interpretation for it. The Merriam-Webster’s Online Dictionary defines “prevent” as “to keep from happening or existing”, i.e., to completely eradicate.
The claims are thus very broad insofar as they recite prevention of nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant, i.e., the complete eradication of the same. While such “prevention” might theoretically be possible under strictly controlled laboratory conditions, as a practical matter it is nearly impossible to achieve in the “real world;” complications such as infection by any nematodes or fungi besides the nematodes and/or key fungi/soil-borne diseases controlled by cyclobutrifluram, failure of the concentrate composition to properly adhere to the seeds, plant or locus of the plant being treated for protection, and/or development of nematicidal or fungicidal population immunity is always a risk.
The amount of direction or guidance provided and the presence or absence of working examples
The specification provides no direction or guidance for preventing nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant. The specification only states that cyclobutrifluram provides protection against a broad spectrum of nematode pests and diseases across major crops and geographies (instant specification p. 1 lines 9-15). This guidance fails to address the complete eradication of all nematocidal or fungicidal damage in a plant. Due to the limited guidance in the art surrounding preventing all nematocidal or fungicidal damage in a plant, one of ordinary skill would undergo undue experimentation in deducing which nematocidal and fungicidal damage can be eradicated by the instantly claimed cyclobutrifluram suspension concentrate, at what effective concentrations, etc.
There are no provided working examples of the specification directed towards preventing nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant. The principles, preferred embodiments, and modes of operation described in the specification fail to enable prevention of nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant.
The quantity of experimentation necessary
Because of the known unpredictability of the art, and in the absence of experimental evidence, no one skilled in the art would accept the assertion that the instantly claimed method of applying the aqueous suspension concentrate composition to a seed, plant, or locus of a plant could be predictably used to prevent nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant as inferred by the claim and contemplated by the specification. Accordingly, the instant claims do not comply with the enablement requirement of §112, since to practice the invention claimed in the patent a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation, with no assurance of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argued that claim 11 is amended to recite a method of controlling nematode or fungal pests and thus rejection the enablement rejection above should be withdrawn.
In response, while applicant have amended claim 13 appropriately, claim 11 has not been amended and still recites the limitations which present enablement issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “biocide”, and the claim also recites “preservative” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN-111990405-A (Shao, Y. et al) published 11/27/2020 (cited, with machine translation, in PTO-892) in view of US 6,559,156 B1 (Dimitrova, G.) published 05/06/2003 (cited in PTO-892), “EO/PO Block Copolymers.” Stepan, available online 09/22/2020, accessed via WebArchive.org., https://www.stepan.com/content/dam/stepan-dot-com/webdam/website-product-documents/literature/agricultural-solutions/EOPO_Ag_RnDv2.pdf (cited in PTO-892), WO 2021/055316 A1 (Ponasik, J. A. et al) published 03/25/2021, qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2) based on filing date of 09/15/2020 (cited in PTO-892) and Martin (US20210015098A1) as evidenced by Anon.; “Toximul 8315” 01 June 2015; pp. 1-2 https:/www.stepan.com/content/dam/stepan-dot-com/webdan/website-product-documents/product-bulletins/surfactants/TOXIMUL8315.pdf (cited in IDS, hereinafter “Toximul 8315 specification sheet”) and Liang, W. et al. (1999). Langmuir, 16(3), 1306-1310 (cited in PTO-892).
Shao teaches a nematicidal agricultural composition containing fluopyram (e.g. further pesticidal ingredient) and cyclobutrifluram wherein the mass ratio of fluopyram to cyclobutrifluram in the agricultural composition is 20:1-1:30 (claims 1 and 2). Shao teaches the composition is formulated in an agriculturally acceptable formulation, with components including adjuvants or carriers to assist the efficacy of the fluopyram and cyclobutrifluram (claim 3). Shao teaches the use of a 400 g/L fluopyram-cyclobutrifluram suspension, and demonstrates its improved efficacy against Meloidogyne incognita inoculated on root seedlings compared to a suspension of fluopyram alone and a suspension of cyclobutrifluram alone ([0023]-[0030]). The Examiner calculates the concentration of cyclobutrifluram in the disclosed 400 g/L suspension to be roughly 387 g/L in the suspension when in a mass ratio of fluopyram to cyclobutrifluram is 1:30. Shao also exemplifies the use of a similar preparation of fluopyram-cyclobutrifluram in controlling peanut root knot nematodes ([0036]-[0039]).
Shao teaches that, in order to fully exert the efficacy of the active ingredients in the pesticide, they can be prepared in a formulation that is convenient for application; the dosage form can include suspensions, and when forming said dosage form the ordinarily skilled artisan will know that, in addition to using the pesticide containing nematicidal active ingredients, a variety of adjuvants are needed, such as one or more of a dispersion medium, a dispersant, an emulsifier, a wetting agent, a thickener, defoaming agent, antifreeze agent, disintegrant, binder, filler, carrier, and the like ([0015]). This addition of adjuvants, particularly defoaming agent, antifreeze agent, thickener, and carrier, read on instant claims 9, 10 and 18.
Shao teaches the nematicidal agricultural composition can be applied in various ways, including seed soaking; soil-borne nematodes are preferentially controlled by soil treatment such as seed soaking and seed coating ([0016]). Thus, Shao teaches an article of manufacture comprising a seed and a seed coating composition as recited in claims 22 and 23.
Shao differs from the instantly claimed invention in that it fails to teach the cyclobutrifluram is present in an aqueous suspension concentrate composition, which includes 1-30 g/L of a sulfosuccinate wetting agent, 5-50 g/L of a butyl polyalkylene oxide block copolymer, and 2.5-35 g/L of a sodium lignosulfonate, as recited in instant claims. Shao fails to teach the composition further comprises 1-55 g/L of an acrylic graft copolymer, and that the acrylic graft copolymer comprises a methacrylic acid backbone. Shao fails to teach that the butyl polyalkylene oxide block copolymer is a butyl alcohol polyoxyethylene-polyoxypropylene block copolymer, as recited in instant claims. Additionally, Shao fails to teach that said composition comprises 450 to 600 g/L of cyclobutrifluram, or 450 g/L or 500 g/L of cyclobutrifluram, as recited in instant claims. Shao fails to teach the specific concentration ranges for cyclobutrifluram, sulfosuccinate wetting agent, butyl polyalkylene oxide block copolymer, sodium lignosulfonate, and acrylic graft copolymer, as recited in instant claims. Shao also fails to teach that the composition further comprises from 5 to 120 g/L of a pigment as recited in instant claim 7.
Because Shao doesn’t teach the full composition of instant claims, Shao also differs from the instantly claimed invention in that it fails to teach a method of reducing or preventing nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant/method of controlling nematode or fungal pests in a plant comprising applying a composition to either the seed of a plant, or to the plant or to the locus thereof, wherein the plant is selected from a long list which includes peanut, as recited in instant claims. Also due to the fact that Shao doesn’t teach this method, Shao also doesn’t teach the method applying to the seed wherein the composition comprises a further pesticidally active ingredient, as recited in instant claims.
Dimitrova teaches an aqueous suspension concentrate formulation that contains high proportions of the fungicide pyrimethanil (Col. 1 lines 6-12). Dimitrova teaches formulations which include 50-80 % w/v of active ingredient pyrimethanil, 0.2 to 5% w/v of a polyoxyethylene-polyoxyproplyene block copolymer surfactant and 0.2 to 5% w/v of naphthalene formaldehyde condensate surfactant do not solidify when milled and exhibit low propensity to crystallize when stored for long periods (Abstract; Col. 2 lines 17-19). As evidenced by the instant specification, polyoxyethylene-polyoxyproplyene can be abbreviated as “PO/EO” (see instant specification p. 4 lines 4-7). Dimitrova teaches the use of a variety of components in its formulations (Col. 2 lines 4-8). Dimitrova teaches the use of “Atlox 4913,” a polymethyl methacrylate-polyethylene glycol graft copolymer, which acts as a dispersant in most of the exemplified formulations (Col. 2 lines 12-13; Col. 2 lines 55-56; Table 1 Formulation numbers 1-12, 14, and 16-24). As evidenced by Liang, “Atlox 4913” consists of poly(methyl-methacrylate) methacrylic acid backbone and polyethlene oxide side chains (Abstract); therefore, “Atlox 4913” reads on an acrylic graft copolymer comprising a methacrylic acid backbone (see Claim Interpretation section supra). Dimitrova teaches that the formulations which include the PO/EO block copolymer, antifoam adjuvant, “Atlox 4913” exhibit no milling problems (Col. 2 lines 55-56; Table 1 Formulation numbers 23 and 12).
Stepan teaches that TOXIMUL 8315 is a butyl-based ethylene oxide/propylene oxide (EO/PO) block copolymer which can be used as a dispersant, emulsifier and wetting agent in water-based formulation types in agricultural solutions (p. 1; p. 2 Properties, “Toximul 8315”). Stepan teaches TOXIMUL 8315 is used in suspension concentrate formulations types (p. 3 “TOXIMUL 8315”). As evidenced by the Toximul 8315 specification sheet, TOXIMUL 8315 is a butyl polyalkylene oxide block copolymer (p. 1); therefore, TOXIMUL 8315 reads on a butyl polyalkylene oxide block copolymer, more specifically a butyl PO/EO block copolymer (see Claim Interpretation section supra).
Martin teaches compositions for pesticidal activity and specifically suspension concentrate compositions wherein the composition includes wetting agent and dispersing agent. Martin teaches using sodium dioctyl sulfosuccinate as wetting agent and sodium lignosulfonates as dispersing agent in the compositions disclosed (e.g. para 0425-0447; Abstract; Claims).
Ponasik teaches suspending active ingredients into suspension allows for improved distribution of active ingredients over crops during many delivery systems (p. 80 [0230]). Ponasik teaches exemplary component ranges for water-based suspension concentrates (p. 81 “Exemplary Component Ranges for Suspension Concentrates”). Ponasik teaches common components within suspension concentrates (wherein water serves as the continuous phase) are present at the following concentrations: 5-20 g/L for wetting agents or co-dispersants (used to facilitate milling process) and 20-60 g/L for dispersants (used to assist in dispersing active ingredients in the concentrate and/or on dilution in water) (p. 81 [0231]).
Regarding the aqueous suspension concentrate composition comprising, in addition to cyclobutrifluram and the adjuvants taught by Shao, a sulfosuccinate wetting agent, butyl polyalkylene oxide block copolymer, sodium lignosulfonate, and acrylic graft copolymer (as recited, with concentration ranges, collectively in instant claims), it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to: (1) formulate the suspension of Shao (containing the nematicidal ingredients and adjuvants) into an aqueous suspension concentrate formulation; (2) add the ingredients dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate, butyl polyalkylene oxide block copolymer “TOXIMUL 8315” (which is a butyl-based EO/PO block copolymer), sodium lignosulphonate and polymethyl methacrylate-polyethylene glycol graft copolymer “Atlox 4913” (which has a methacrylic acid backbone), and; (3) perform routine optimization on the amount of each added ingredient, and arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to perform modification (1) because Shao teaches its nematicidal actives are effective in a suspension formulation, in combination with adjuvants such as antifreeze, antifoaming, and thickening agents, for application to plants affected by nematodes, and Dimitrova teaches its aqueous suspension concentrate to be an agricultural formulation exhibiting a lack of milling problems when comprising adjuvants and high proportions of fungicide. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have thus been motivated to formulate an aqueous suspension concentrate, like Dimitrova’s, comprising the nematicidal actives and adjuvants of Shao to allow for incorporation of high proportions of active agents cyclobutrifluram and fluopyram without causing milling problems. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success doing so based on the fact that Shao teaches its agricultural actives are used in a suspension formulation, and an aqueous suspension concentrate is a suspension formulation.
The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to perform modification (2) because (a) dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate is a wetting agent which can be included as wetting agent in suspension concentrates as disclosed by Martin (b) “TOXIMUL 8315” is a butyl EO/PO block copolymer surfactant and wetting agent used in agricultural suspension concentrates, and Dimitrova teaches that the use of EO/PO block copolymer surfactant in its aqueous suspension concentrate allows for improved milling effects and prevents storage problems, (c) sodium lignosulfonate is a dispersant which can be included as dispersing agent in suspension concentrates as disclosed by Martin and (d) the acrylic graft copolymer “Atlox 4913” is a dispersant which, when formulated in Dimitrova’s aqueous suspension concentrate, results in a composition with desirable milling effects; the ordinarily skilled artisan would seek to include these ingredients into the aqueous suspension concentrate containing Shao’s nematicidal actives in order to harness the desirable effects of each wetting agent and dispersant for the resulting aqueous suspension concentrate. The ordinarily skilled artisan would find a reasonable expectation of success performing modification (2) based on the fact that Shao teaches the ordinarily skilled artisan will know that adjuvants, particularly wetting agents and dispersants, are necessary in the formulation, and Dimitrova, Martin and Stepan collectively teach that the adjuvants dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate, sodium lignosulfonate, “TOXIMUL 8315,” and “Atlox 4913” are wetting agents and dispersants successfully used in aqueous suspension concentrate formulations. As discussed supra, Shao teaches that in addition to using the pesticide containing nematicidal active ingredients, a variety of adjuvants are needed, such as one or more of a dispersion medium, a dispersant, an emulsifier, a wetting agent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the wetting agent and dispersing agent known in the art and specifically for suspension concentrate as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. see MPEP 2141 KSR International CO. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
The ordinarily skilled artisan would have then performed modification (3) in order to perform routine optimization on the amounts of wetting agent and dispersants being added to the aqueous suspension concentrate composition, for the purpose of optimizing the milling, wetting and dispersion properties of the resulting suspension concentrate composition, and arrive at the instantly claimed amount limitations for sulfosuccinate wetting agent, butyl polyalkylene oxide block copolymer, sodium lignosulfonate, and acrylic graft copolymer. Dimitrova and Martin establish the purpose of EO/PO block copolymer and dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate to be wetting agents in the aqueous suspension concentrate, and the purpose of “Atlox 4913” and sodium lignosulfonate to be dispersants in the aqueous suspension concentrate. Additionally, Ponasik establishes that the amounts of wetting agent and dispersant in a suspension concentrate composition are important, by stating that typical amounts for each of the wetting agent and dispersant are within 5-20 g/L and 20-60 g/L, respectively, in order to facilitate improved milling effects and dispersion of active ingredients. Therefore, the teachings of Dimitrova, Martin and Ponasik establish that the amounts of wetting agents and dispersants in an aqueous suspension concentrate composition are results-effective variables, with the observable results being improved wettability, milling, and dispersion properties when used together in a suspension concentrate composition. Ponasik teaches a finite range of concentrations for wetting agent and dispersant in an aqueous suspension concentrate composition with which the ordinarily skilled artisan can perform routine optimization with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimize the wettability and dispersion properties of the resulting composition. Ponasik’s taught concentration ranges for wetting agent and dispersant overlap, and thus render obvious, the claimed amount ranges for sulfosuccinate wetting agent, butyl poylalkylene oxide block copolymer, sodium lignosulfonate, and acrylic graft copolymer. Additionally, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 (I) and (II) for discussions on overlapping ranges and optimization within prior art conditions through routine experimentation.
Regarding the concentration of cyclobutrifluram, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to perform routine optimization on the amount of cyclobutrifluram in the agricultural composition when incorporating Shao’s fluopyram and cyclobutrifluram into an aqueous suspension concentrate, for the purpose of optimizing nematicidal activity of the resulting composition, and arrive at the instantly claimed concentration range for cyclobutrifluram. Shao teaches the mass ratio of fluopyram to cyclobutrifluram in the agricultural composition is 20:1-1:30 (claims 1 and 2). Shao teaches the use of a 400 g/L fluopyram-cyclobutrifluram suspension, and demonstrates its improved efficacy against Meloidogyne incognita inoculated on root seedlings compared to a suspension of fluopyram alone and a suspension of cyclobutrifluram alone ([0023]-[0030]). The Examiner calculates the concentration of cyclobutrifluram in the disclosed 400 g/L suspension to be roughly 387 g/L in the suspension when in a mass ratio of fluopyram to cyclobutrifluram is 1:30. While 387 g/L of cyclobutrifluram does not read on the claim amount of cyclobutrifluram, Shao establishes that the amounts of fluopyram and cyclobutrifluram in the suspension are results-effective variables, with the observable result being the nematicidal activity against nematodes. It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to perform routine optimization with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimize the nematicidal activity when combining the two ingredients into the aqueous suspension concentrate rendered obvious by the collective teachings. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding the method of reducing or preventing nematicidal or fungicidal damage in a plant/controlling pests in a seed of plant as recited in instant claims (wherein the claimed composition is applied to the seed of a plant, or the plant or locus thereof, wherein the plant is chosen from a group including peanut, and wherein the composition comprises a further pesticidally active ingredient), it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to apply the resulting aqueous suspension concentrate rendered obvious by the collective teachings to the seeds of a peanut plant using seed soaking or seed coating, and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It is noted that a seed is interpreted broadly to be a plant, and therefore, when applying the composition to a seed, claims 11, 13 and 20 are satisfied by the method. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Shao teaches its combination of cyclobutrifluram and fluopyram (interpreted as a further pesticidally active agent) is effective in controlling peanut root knot nematodes, and that soil-borne nematodes are preferentially controlled by soil treatment such as seed soaking and seed coating. Therefore, the ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use the composition rendered obvious by the collective teachings by applying the aqueous suspension concentrate to seeds of peanut plant in order to control and reduce damage caused by soil-borne root knot nematodes affecting peanut plants. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success applying the composition rendered obvious by the collective teachings to peanut seeds in order to reduce damage from root knot nematodes because Shao teaches this combination of nematicidal actives cyclobutrifluram and fluopyram to be effective against peanut root knot nematodes.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN-111990405-A (Shao, Y. et al) published 11/27/2020 (cited, with machine translation, in PTO-892) in view of US 6,559,156 B1 (Dimitrova, G.) published 05/06/2003 (cited in PTO-892), “EO/PO Block Copolymers.” Stepan, available online 09/22/2020, accessed via WebArchive.org., https://www.stepan.com/content/dam/stepan-dot-com/webdam/website-product-documents/literature/agricultural-solutions/EOPO_Ag_RnDv2.pdf (cited in PTO-892), and WO 2021/055316 A1 (Ponasik, J. A. et al) published 03/25/2021, qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2) based on filing date of 09/15/2020 (cited in PTO-892), Martin (US20210015098A1), with evidence from Anon.; “Toximul 8315” 01 June 2015; pp. 1-2 https:/www.stepan.com/content/dam/stepan-dot-com/webdan/website-product-documents/product-bulletins/surfactants/TOXIMUL8315.pdf (cited in IDS, hereinafter “Toximul 8315 specification sheet”) and Liang, W. et al. (1999). Langmuir, 16(3), 1306-1310 (cited in PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 8-23 above, and further in view of “FD&C Blue 1 Powder Technical Data Sheet” Spectra Colors Corporation, 02/03/2014, https://spectracolors.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/5.FC_.0010P0-TDS.pdf (cited in PTO-892).
The teachings of Shao, Dimitrova, Martin, Stepan, and Ponasik, and evidence from Toximul 8315 specification sheet and Liang, as they pertain to instant claims 1-2, 4, 8-23, are addressed supra. Additionally, Ponasik teaches its formulations may include colorants, for instance in order to provide product identification and anti-counterfeiting, to identify specific products for health and safety reasons, and to reveal where an otherwise largely transparent formulation has been applied, for instance to ensure complete coverage with minimal duplicative coverage; one of ordinary skill will recognize that there are several agriculturally acceptable colorants available, with a representative example being FD&C Blue No.1 (p. 76 [0223]).
The collective teachings differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to teach the composition further comprises 5 to 120 g/L of a pigment, as recited in instant claim 7.
Spectra Colors Corporation teaches that FD&C Blue 1 powder is soluble in water at 20 g/100 mL at 28 ºC (p. 1 “Solubility”). This is equivalent to 200 g/L.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinarily skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add FD&C Blue No.1 to the aqueous suspension concentrate rendered obvious by the collective teachings, and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinarily skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform routine optimization on the amount of said added FD&C Blue No.1, and arrive at the instantly claimed concentration range for pigment. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to add FD&C Blue No.1 to the aqueous suspension concentrate used to treat seeds against nematicidal infection in order to provide product identification and anti-counterfeiting, to identify specific products for health and safety reasons, and to reveal where an otherwise largely transparent formulation has been applied. The ordinarily skilled artisan would find a reasonable expectation of success using FD&C Blue No.1 in the aqueous suspension concentrate composition because Ponasik teaches that FD&C Blue No. 1 is a well-known agriculturally acceptable colorant. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have also performed routine optimization on the amount of FD&C Blue No. 1 added to the aqueous suspension concentrate composition in order to optimize the effects of the colorant on the color of the composition. A finite concentration range for the amount of colorant FD&C Blue No. 1 is taught by Spectra Colors Coropration, which teaches that the solubility/saturation point of the composition is 200 g/L in water (which is the base of the aqueous suspension concentrate composition). Thus, the ordinarily skilled artisan has a finite concentration range (0-200 g/L) with which routine optimization of the amount of dissolved FD&C Blue No. 1 in the aqueous suspension concentrate is reasonable. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success working within this concentration range to perform routine optimization because FD&C Blue No. 1 is a well-known agriculturally acceptable colorant that is soluble in the aqueous suspension concentrate’s base (water) up to 200 g/L. The finite concentration range of 0-200 g/L for FD&C Blue No. 1 encompasses, and thus renders obvious, the claimed amount range for pigment recited in instant claim 7. Additionally, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 (I) and (II).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-22 of copending Application No. 18/551,255 in view of Shao et al. (CN111990405), US 6,559,156 B1 (Dimitrova, G.) published 05/06/2003 (cited in PTO-892) and “EO/PO Block Copolymers.” Stepan, available online 09/22/2020, accessed via WebArchive.org., https://www.stepan.com/content/dam/stepan-dot-com/webdam/website-product-documents/literature/agricultural-solutions/EOPO_Ag_RnDv2.pdf (cited in PTO-892), as evidenced by Anon.; “Toximul 8315” 01 June 2015; pp. 1-2 https:/www.stepan.com/content/dam/stepan-dot-com/webdan/website-product-documents/product-bulletins/surfactants/TOXIMUL8315.pdf (cited in IDS, hereinafter “Toximul 8315 specification sheet”) and Liang, W. et al. (1999). Langmuir, 16(3), 1306-1310 (cited in PTO-892).
‘255 claims an aqueous suspension concentrate composition comprising 100-300 g/liter cyclobutrifluram, 25 to 126 g/L of a vegetable oil, 25-125 g/L of an oleyl alcohol polyglycol ether, 20 to 120 g/L of a pigment, 1-30 g/L of a sodium dioctyl sulfosuccinate wetting agent, 5-50 g/L of a butanol propylene oxide and ethylene oxide copolymer, and (vii) 2.5 to 35 g/L of a sodium lignosulfonate. ’255 further claims the aqueous composition comprises 1 to 55 gram / liter of an acrylic graft copolymer. ‘255 claims a method of controlling pests in a seed/plant comprising applying a composition according to claim 1 to the seed/plant, wherein the plant is selected from barley, brassica head and stem vegetables, bean, carrot, chickpea, corn, cotton, cowpea, curcurbits, drybeans, field peas, garden beans, garlic, lentils, lettuce, millet, oat, onion, peanut, peas, potato, rice, rye, sorghum, soybean, sugarbeet, sunflower, triticale, canola, oil seed rape seed, sweet corn, and wheat, and wherein the composition comprises a further pesticidally active ingredient. ‘255 claims an article of manufacture comprising a seed and a seed coating composition of claims 1 and 16 of ‘255.
’255 fails to claim the acrylic graft copolymer comprises a methyacrylic acid backbone, as recited in instant claim 6. ’255 fails to claim the aqueous suspension concentrate composition further comprises one or more additional ingredients selected from an anti-freeze agent, an anti-foam agent, a thickening agent, a biocide (preservative), a buffering agent, and/or a stabilizer, as recited in instant claims. Also, ‘255 fails to teach the amount of cyclobutrifluram recited in instant claims.
The teachings of Shao, Dimitrova, Stepan discussed supra are incorporated herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to use the ingredient (1) “Atlox 4913” (which has a methacrylic acid backbone, as the as the acrylic graft copolymer, (2) an antifoam agent, in the aqueous suspension concentrate composition of ’255 and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because (1) the acrylic graft copolymer “Atlox 4913” is a dispersant which, when formulated in Dimitrova’s aqueous suspension concentrate, results in a composition with desirable milling effects, and (2) antifoam is used in Dimitrova’s aqueous suspension concentrate resulting in a composition with desirable milling effects and no documented foaming issues. The ordinarily skilled artisan would seek to include these ingredients into the aqueous suspension concentrate of App’255 in order to harness the desirable effects of the wetting agent, dispersant and antifoam agent for the resulting aqueous suspension concentrate. The ordinarily skilled artisan would find a reasonable expectation of success using these ingredients based on the fact that App’255 teaches an aqueous suspension concentrate composition comprising an agricultural active ingredient, and Dimitrova and Stepan collectively teach that the adjuvants “Atlox 4913” and antifoam are adjuvants successfully used in aqueous suspension concentrate formulations.
Regarding the concentration of cyclobutrifluram, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to perform routine optimization on the amount of cyclobutrifluram in the agricultural composition for the purpose of optimizing nematicidal activity of the resulting composition, and arrive at the instantly claimed concentration range for cyclobutrifluram. Shao establishes that the amounts of fluopyram and cyclobutrifluram in the suspension are results-effective variables, with the observable result being the nematicidal activity against nematodes. It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to perform routine optimization with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimize the nematicidal activity when combining the ingredients into the aqueous suspension concentrate rendered obvious by the collective teachings. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argued Dimitrova teachings of Polyfon H (sodium lignosulfonate) and Aerosol OT/S (sulfosuccinate) are included in formulations which are comparative examples and not in formulations 1 and 2 which are inventive examples.
In response, applicant’s arguments are rendered moot in view of the modified rejections above which do not utilize Dimitrova for teachings of sodium lignosulfonate and sulfosuccinate.
Applicant argued Shao does not teach the amount of cyclobutrifluram as recited in the amended claims.
In response, as discussed supra, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to perform routine optimization on the amount of cyclobutrifluram in the agricultural composition for the purpose of optimizing nematicidal activity of the resulting composition, and arrive at the instantly claimed concentration range for cyclobutrifluram. Shao establishes that the amounts of fluopyram and cyclobutrifluram in the suspension are results-effective variables, with the observable result being the nematicidal activity against nematodes. It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to perform routine optimization with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to optimize the nematicidal activity when combining the ingredients into the aqueous suspension concentrate rendered obvious by the collective teachings. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/ALI S SAEED/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
[1] As pointed out by the court in In re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498 at 504 (CCPA 1976), the key word is “undue”, not “experimentation”.