Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-25 in the reply filed on 4/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art cited does not contain the special technical feature and the claims were misinterpreted. This is not found persuasive because the special technical feature has been found to be obvious over Yan et al. (CN 208480616 U) in view of Matsuzaki (EP 1612902A2) (see IDS received 5/01/2026).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 26-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement as noted above.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the protruding structure is hook-shaped” (see claim 19) and “the adhesive at least partially covers at least one of the first mechanical engagement feature and the second mechanical engagement feature” (claim 20), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 208480616 U) in view of Matsuzaki (EP 1612902A2).
Regarding claims 16, 17, and 25, Yan et al. disclose an aerosol-generating device with a housing of the main body 5 constituting a first housing part defining a first portion of the outer surface of the aerosol-generating device) is at least partially inserted into and non-detachably connected at its distal end to a substantially tubular shell 12 (equivalent to a second housing part defining a second portion of the outer surface of the aerosol-generating device, the non-detachable connection may be achieved by press fit, welding, bonding or the like.
Although Yan et al. disclose several attachment means (“press fit, welding, bonding, or the like”), Yan et al. do not expressly disclose using a snap-fit connection with a first and second mechanical engagement feature that operate together and that the first and second housing parts are connected to each other by an adhesive.
However, Matsuzaki discloses a waterproof case for electronics and discloses two portions of a housing that are connected by both a snap-fit connection with first and second mechanical engagement features as well as an adhesive (wall 18/19 and wall 15, respectively or vise versa).
A protrusion (20) with a slant (20a) is shown on the inner wall of second case member 12. The protrusion snaps into hole 14 and the outer wall of the first case member (11) and is locked into place by the perpendicular wall of the protrusion that is opposite the slant.
Adhesive (13) is located in a recessed section (17) of the first case and glues together a section of the second case (18) providing waterproof sealing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the snap-fit and adhesive connection of two housing parts in place of the connections disclosed in Yan et al. In addition, Yan et al. discloses that the disclosed connections can be used, “or the like” directing one of ordinary skill that other connection means can be used. One of ordinary skill would consider the connection of Matsuzaki even though it is outside the smoking art because it is a method of making a waterproof connection for an electronic housing. One of ordinary skill would understand that the housing of Yan et al. is essentially an electronic housing because it contains a battery and circuit board and provides power and control to the vaporizer.
Regarding claim 18, The protrusion 20 is deformable as the wall it is on is deflected by the tapered top surface (15b) and it remains deflected until the protrusion “snaps” into the hole [0014]-[0016].
Regarding claim 19, the protrusion 20 acts as a hook and prevents release due to the shape as illustrated. Please note, no hook is presently illustrated by the application (see drawing objection above).
Regarding claim 20-24, the adhesive as illustrated by Matsuzaki is with in a receiving portion that receives the insertion portion of the other housing and the adhesive surrounds, is between, or is in contact an insertion portion of the other housing allowing the adhesive to at least partially cover the first and second mechanical engagement features (i.e. walls 18, 19, and 15).
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747